We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Island!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tikehau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We honeymooned here in January of 2013 (a little delayed on the review, but I've been craving to go back!)

The hotel itself was beautiful and amazing. On the smaller end, but I actually preferred it that way. There were very few people there when we stayed, which made it even more private. The staff was amazing while we were there. Always helpful and wanting to make sure you have everything you need!

Tikehau is very remote, and I actually chose this island over Rangiroa because I knew there would be a TON less people here than on Rangiroa, and I was looking for quiet and low key as this was the last stop in our trip to FP and we just came from Bora Bora which was much busier.

We stayed in a beach bungalow and loved it. Thankfully there was A/C in the one we stayed in because unfortunately it was windy and rainy the entire three days we were there (which meant LOTS of bugs) but, thats ok, we were prepared with bug spray. Because of the weather we did not get to snorkel or really enjoy the water at all (that's what you get when you chose to visit during rainy season!) But we knew to expect that going into it.

The resort actually has a small activity like room and in it there was a small library of books, so my husband and I picked a book, brought it back to the room and literally spent a good portion of our three days reading on the deck, which I absolutely cannot complain about! We also decided to get a couples massage, which was amazing (highly recommend it!).

My other suggestion is, there is a boat that the resort has that goes back and forth from the resort to the main town (near the airport) a couple times a day. At the local shop you can rent bikes and ride around that part of the island. This was actually the highlight of this portion of our trip. for several hours we were able to ride alone the water of the small town, see how they lived and enjoy the ocean side of the island while there. I highly highly recommend doing this! It is can easily be done in a half a day.

I would definitely recommend staying here! I would love to go back again someday so I can truly enjoy the island and all it has to offer (making sure I don't go during rainy season next time!)

Room Tip: get the red tuna at dinner!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 974 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Overwater Bungalows were incredible (we were in the deluxe ones). Food was best in FP we had. Most of the staff are great and helpful. Very relaxing in a beautiful spot.

Snorkelers Beware: there are NO snorkel tours in Tikehau according to the resort management. You can tag along with TopDive and see the Mantas and snorkel the reef near the pass for 1/2 and that was really neat. After that, you can snorkel under the bungalows for another 1/2 day which is very good also. Now you are done: you can take a lagoon excursion and snorkel with the mantas again or go on a motu picnic and do a little there. Bummer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnWohlfahrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We did a 12 day trip to FP with three different destinations, our first being the Tikehau Pearl. Going in, I knew that the primacy and recency effect may lead to either the first or the last being the favorite. And my wife and I's favorites were in fact the first and last for very similar reasons. This is a small resort in an incredibly pure and natural location. I have scuba'd in many different locations, but the ocean dives in Tikehau exposed me to a diversity and abundance of marine wildlife I had never experienced before. Additionally, sea kayaks were readily available for anyone to venture as far as they were comfortable and physically able to do. This allows you to head off to private motus that seem untouched by man (of course we knew different but it is easy to think so). We beach combed, snorkeled and just enjoyed being alone with no one around at all. The staff at the Pearl are very friendly and they have a TopDive shop on the resort and the dive master was very friendly and customer oriented. We stayed in a premium over water bungalow that was very airy when wanted but allowed us to seal it at night to keep bugs to a minimum and run the AC to keep it cool. We had very good snorkeling right off our deck and the fish are used to being hand fed and are quite friendly. You can also see small black tip sharks swimming around with you which is an experience people pay for at Bora Bora.

Room Tip: The best room would seem to be the beach suite with small plunge pool. But I cannot imagine how muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarlinHinckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikehau, Directeur général at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Ia Orana dear Carlin Hinckley

Thank you for your kind message. It is a pleasure for us to read that you did enjoy your stay with us at the Pearl.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a Suite Overwater Bungalow for a week and it was amazing. The location itself is remote and extremely isolated from society, but this is what gives it it's charm. The seclusion bring such peace. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the food well prepared. We will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikehau, Directeur général at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear John Michael J

Thank you so much for your very kind message.
We are all happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon
Warm regards from Tikehau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed for seven nights at the Pearl with an overwater bungalow. Upon arrival, we were shown to bungalow 7 which sits in a commanding position over the channel between the ocean and the lagoon. It's absolutely perfect with a 200 degree view and a front row seat of amazing sunsets.

Let's talk about expectations;

Yes, there is not a lot to do at the resort. Walk the beach, snorkel, scuba, visit bird island, mark time by breakfast, lunch, dinner... all these are true. You come to this resort to get away from the noise of life so don't expect a quick visit and full-time internet access (to be fair, it's slow and sucks). If you get bored easily, bring a book. If that's not your idea of fun, don't come. If your family can't entertain themselves with the myriad of fish, natural wonders, bountiful crabs and need TV and stimulation, leave them at home.

Many of the people we say in our time there seemed to be from other parts of French Polynesia, for whom this resort is a quick weekend away trip. They delighted in their short stays and the ability to unplug. At the time we perhaps saw less than 50% occupancy.

We had considered Bora Bora and the other resort-focused islands but this one appealed the most. I wanted to stay somewhere where the resort population was less than 50 in number - and the Pearl fulfilled that wish. I had no desire to see the beauty of French Polynesia with 600 of my closest friends.

Service was flawless; good food, good presentation and customer service from everyone was exceptionally attentive and what you would expect of a resort. Try getting that service at a large resort.

Only one negative really; if you stay more than 4 days, 3 nights, you may find the lunch/dinner menu limiting. By the end of our time, we were glad of the Friday night menu change that brought a couple of new dishes into rotation. On the plus side, we found that the staff were happy to take requests (I got omelettes in the morning).

Is it expensive? Yes, and no. For visitors from the US, they may find that everything being between $15-$25 (lunch and dinner) could wear on you. $6 for a litre bottle of sparkling water... $35 for a decent bottle of wine. So yes, it's just like eating out at a nice restaurant for lunch and dinner. Which you generally don't do.

Look at it this way - you are on vacation. You spent 18 hours flying here, to come to a speck in the South Pacific and relax. Enjoy it. Visit the spa and have a massage (we did). Enjoy the food and wine. Don't come all this way to nickel and dime the experience. If you are interested, they will email you the menu (incl prices) up front.

I've also seen complaints about "creatures". You're in the Pacific on an island. Yes, there will be flies (generally in the morning and at lunch) at the restaurant. Not so much at night for dinner. There may also be lizards in your bungalow and if you are on the beach, crabs if you are lucky! It's the tropics so expect that these nuisances may appear. They won't ruin your holiday so don't get fixated on them.

Would we return? If we lived closer, yes, but for short breaks. However remember that this resort, this experience for many is a once-in-a-lifetime holiday. This is a bucket-list holiday. This is one of those times that we loved but doing it again is unlikely - for us, the world has many more experiences waiting. However if you have not, and your dream is to sleep in a bungalow over the water, with direct ocean access and the opportunity to swim with fish, do it.

I'm sure it's not an approved activity, but perhaps smuggle the odd roll from lunch or dinner and feed the fish from your deck. It's an experience.

(my review rates "fitness centre" - that will be the beach and the ocean).

Room Tip: Ask for the over-lagoon premium bungalows. Number 7 is the best in the entire resort!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spbutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were so looking forward to visiting this amazing looking atoll, but were disappointed with the experience.

We booked for 4 nights and were looking forward to seeing the amazing fish and lagoon. It rained heavily for three days, and there is nothing to do there other than walk the 100m from one end of the beach to the other, drink pretty bad coffee, or swim in the pool in the rain.

While the resort is clean, and the staff OK the resort needs a significant amount of structural maintenance. The villas sit on poles with rusting reinforcement and chunks of concrete missing. Our room was flooded with the heavy rain, and we had to ask for mosquito nets after a hot and and buzzy night.

The resort is expensive compared to other resorts in French Polynesia.

Alternatives: Stay on the nearby Rangiroa Atoll that has a little more going on, stay at the excellent Moorea Pearl Beach Resort that is well maintained and there is plenty to do on a wet day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lambton71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikehau, Direttore generale at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Lambton71,

Thank you for your time, sharing your feelings regarding your last stay with us.
I'm sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay. I can understand your disappointment about the weather. Indeed, just like in all the other islands, especially if you had the bad luck to stay with us when we had 3 days of rain in a row which we are not responsible for (not often in Tikehau, as it is an atoll), there is not much to do. Especially in Tikehau where it is all about nature, remote place and outside activities. In this case, it is true that Moorea and the Pearl Resort may be more convenient, because the choice of activities is larger and shopping is possible. But then, the experience is also completely different and you cannot compare the 2 destinations, just like with Rangiroa.
It is true that some works need to be done in the hotel, that's why we have been doing some works in the bungalows (outside and Inside) since January, in the Suites, and Overwater standard and Premium's bungalows especially.
Again, I'm sorry you were so disappointed about your stay. I still hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Polynesia.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our 2 and 1/2 week getaway to French Polynesia. Our vacation ended with a 4 night stay at the Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort. The first and most important thing to note about this resort - it is incredibly and undeniably remote. The location is pristine and you truly feel that you have found a private island paradise. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a friendly polynesian welcome and shown to our overwater bungalow. While their overwater bungalows are certainly nice, they are on the smaller side, quite close together, near the reception area, and lack air conditioning. We were able to upgrade to one of their overwater suites which was significantly larger, in a much more private area of the resort, well spaced for added privacy, and the luxury of air conditioning. Our stay here was great and we absolutely loved the authentic polynesian feel and flavor. That being said, it is important to address some of the more negative aspects that others have pointed out. I was extremely surprised to read that some travelers had issues with the staff being rude and treating them poorly. While their primary languages are French and Tahitian, we never once felt "brushed off" for attempting to communicate in English. We did not come across any staff members at this resort who we would classify as rude and it is unfortunate that their difficulty with understanding English would come across to some as them not caring. In addition, there have been several comments regarding the poor quality and lack of variety in food choices. It is true that their menu is limited, and you only have this one option as far as dining goes. Though they do not have a great variety, we found the food to be quite good and felt that we had plenty of options for our time there. I could see that staying for an extended period of time could create more of an issue with regards to food. A great tip would be to take one of their many ferries to the main town area. There is a small shop where you can buy basic groceries along with wine and beer. This can help keep some of your expenses down as the food at this resort, like all of French Polynesia, is very pricey! During our stay, we took advantage of the Top Dive facility located at the resort, a great feature, and enjoyed the incredible underwater life that Tikehau has to offer. The snorkeling was very nice as well and there is a great coral garden right under the bungalows to enjoy. Some areas for improvement would be the frozen drinks at the bar (blended would be great instead of pina colada mix shaken over ice) and the overall comfort of the beds (especially in the suites since you are paying extra). The addition of a small gym/workout area would be a plus as well! Overall, this was the perfect ending to our honeymoon in paradise. If you are expecting a completely luxurious retreat where you will be waited on and fussed over, this is probably not the place for you! The feel is as laid back and relaxed as the island itself. The water is more beautiful than you can imagine and the stars at night will literally take your breath away. We would happily return to Tikehau Pearl Beach resort and definitely recommend it to others!

Room Tip: If you can swing it, pay the extra for an overwater suite as opposed to their regular overwater bung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Asil086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tikehau hotels
3.9 mi away
Tikehau Ninamu Resort
Tikehau Ninamu Resort
#2 of 2 in Tikehau
235 reviews
2 mi away
Pension Hotu
Pension Hotu
#5 of 8 in Tikehau
200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais Royal Tikehau
Relais Royal Tikehau
#1 of 4 in Tikehau
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pension Justine
Pension Justine
#3 of 8 in Tikehau
62 reviews
0 mi away
Tikehau Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Hakamanu Lodge
Hakamanu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tuherahera
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort

Address: BP.20 Tuherahera, 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Tuamotu Archipelago > Tikehau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tikehau
Price Range: $364 - $806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered to be one of the most beautiful atolls in Polynesia, Tikehau is a graceful oval crown of small islets with an interior lagoon 16 miles across and a pass for small boats through the coral reef. The Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort is a Pearl to discover in the Tuamotu islands. The resort welcomes guests to this 4 hectare tropical paradise. Located on a secluded pink sandy beach fringed with coconut trees, the Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort offers 13 beach bungalows with air conditioning and 24 over water bungalows and suites. All bungalows, designed in true Polynesian style, are very spacious (55m²) and are equipped with a fan, mini bar, coffee / tea making facilities, direct dial phone, safe, television and private veranda. The over water bungalows include a glass section of the floor from which you can enjoy the spectacular underwater life of the lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikehau Pearl Beach Hotel Tikehau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing