We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tikehau -- Truly A Pearl in The Tuamotus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tikehau
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tikehau -- Truly A Pearl in The Tuamotus”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved the Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort. The weather was beautiful every day. Our spacious, attractive deluxe private overwater bungalow suite was a perfect place to unwind and enjoy our favorite kind of vacation away from the fast, hurried pace of everyday on the U.S. East Coast. We enjoyed snorkeling the warm blue waters each day, and seeing colorful, varied, marine life right from our deck. Spectacular sunsets, as well as a night sky full of stars made for a truly romantic vacation and a memorable birthday. The staff at the Pearl were wonderful and very nice to speak with and always helpful and took care of us and other guests. The meals were one of the best, with variety every day and plenty to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring this remote atoll, by kayaking, walking on the sandy motus, and taking a boat shuttle to the main town, riding bicycles down the quiet streets of this paradise in the South Pacific. The scuba diving was excellent in Tuheiva Pass, with vast numbers of different species of fish including pelagics such, white tip sharks and bump head wrasse. We also had the pleasure of watching a couple of manta rays feeding inside of the protection of the lagoon. It was a wonderful beginning to our 2nd trip in 7 years to F. P. and we highly recommend this beautiful resort and hope we can return.

Room Tip: West facing for sunsets, spend extra for the farthest overwater suites are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELCALLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    234
    91
    44
    18
See reviews for
104
707
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay WI
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just left the Pearl Beach Resort on Tikehau. The OWB are outstanding. We rented 2 one for us one for kids Private quite with great views and good breeze Snorkeling around the resort is best in the whole atoll Dont waste money on going out on a boat. Food is good but menu never changes so after 4 days I was ready for something different. Drinks are very weak and bartenders are easily confused. If you don't speak French this is not the place for you. The reception personal are uniquely different We did not find them to be friendly or wanting to help. Everything was more important than you
Not sure if we would ever stay at a Pearl Resort again

Room Tip: Any overwater bungalow was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aussiedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikehau, Direttore generale at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear AussiDogs,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your very recent stay in our hotel. As the General Manager, I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, and I'm also surprised you did not tell me about it when I came to the restaurant in the evening (as I always do, at least once during each guest's stay).
Therefore I'm surprised you found the Desk team not willing to help, as it is definitely not the feedback I usually receive, and from my entire hotel team, to say the truth.
Regarding the Restaurant, we always prepare "Special Meals" when requested, to change from the regular menu. It is true it usually happens starting the 4th or 5th day of stay. It is a pity you did not tell us, because there is nothing easier to propose to our Guests.
I really wish you will keep a good impression about Polynesia, if not of the Pearl of Tikehau.
Thank you again for your time and for visiting us in our hidden paradise
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The bungalows are very nice, and quite private, considering the small size of the sandbar on which they're built. Design and comfort level are up to the usual Pearl standard of excellence. The food is good, though the dinners are a bit inconsistent. Watch out for the lagoon oyster dish in curry sauce....definitely not something for everyone. Dining in French Polynesia is always a compromise given the paucity of local ingredients; especially so on Tikehau, which is quite remote. On the other hand, it's the remoteness which gives access to the wonderland of marine life in the lagoon. And you will not find a more relaxing place to stay. Tahiti guides warn of the "no-no" flies, but we found them manageable. What surprised us, though, was how changeable the weather could be, and how dramatically the tropical storms could blow over this relatively flat spot, unimpeded by any terrain.

Room Tip: we like the beach bungalows, as they are quieter than the over-water units; however, those especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahardy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is the perfect place to disconnect and relax. The property and beaches were beautiful and the people were friendly and helpful. We also had one of the best massages EVER at the spa. I would recommend you make sure to plug the mosquito repellant dispenser (provided in your room) into the wall when you first check in as I was eaten alive in my sleep our first night there. You will probably also want to upgrade to the Deluxe over water bungalow as they are the only ones with A/C and ladders that go all the way down to the water. We were a bit disappointed with the dining selections on the dinner menu and also would have preferred that dinner begin earlier (restaurant doesn't open for dinner until 7PM). Overall we enjoyed our experience, just watch for those pesky mosquitoes and bring snacks as there is nowhere to get food if you happen to skip lunch or eat early and you will starve by the time you get your dinner around 8PM.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Tikehau is a beautiful Island and the best place to stay is one of the Overwater-bungalows of Pearl Resort. We have been staying in that hotel two years ago already and came back because of the friendly staff and the nice location.Everything was clean and well maintained, great service and good food at the restaurant. Cocktails are soso and need a little more attention. We went diving almost every day with Topdive, particularly enjoying the mantas at the old pearl-farm. Anne, the new director is very friendly and helpful. What a wonderful,e perfect hideout!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wikinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

First, I would say it is beautiful and remote....a perfect way to disconnect. 2nd I would say make sure to get a Deluxe Overwater Bungalow as regular overwater bungalows do not have the ladder down to the water and have to use a shared ladder. We went snorkelling daily and swam with sharks and rays and even saw an octopus! We went on the bird island excursion which was wonderful! Swam with Manta rays! They speered fish while we snorkelled and then prepared the fresh fish. It was my favorite meal during our stay. We stayed a week. We are not scuba divers but we did do the beginners scuba which was lovely. We swam with sea turtles and shark and so much more! The cell towers were down and the Wifi was slow so we were forced to relax and disconnect which was frustrating at first but absolutely perfect the morme we got used to it. Going into town is a bit of waste as you are there for a while without anything to do (not even shopping) There is a small grocery store where you can pick up some snacks though. The food at the restaurant was the greatest disappointment. I would not recommend getting a meal plan and just ordering a la carte. I preferred the lunch menu. Dinner was redundant and food over or undercooked. Dinner didn't start until 7pm at the earliest and can be a time consuming affair. Breakfast was a disappoinment as well. You could tell that the "fresh fruit" could be days old as well as the "fresh pancakes" Breakfast was exactly the same every day! You definitely do not come here for the food. I was disappointed they didn't have more fresh coconut! oh well. Bottom line is that this place is perfect for getting away and disconnecting and enjoying the company of the person you are with in an absolutely beautiful place. Our typical day: Get up and have breakfast. Take a walk around the island (this takes about 20min) Feed the fish leftover bread from breakfast. go snorkel, read, take a nap, maybe have some lunch, do a little kayaking and more snorkelling, take another nap and get ready for dinner, dinner and finally feed leftovers from dinner to the fish and the shark. That is so much fun! Make sure to take leftovers back to your bungalow!

Room Tip: get a deluxe over water bungalow that is west facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manishab71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We ended our three week stay in FP with a two night stay at the Pearl. Overwater bungalow was large with a beautiful verandah with table and chair and loungers. Deep water for swimming.
Our walk to the reef was fantastic. Food was enjoyable and the small infinity pool nice.
Every staff member we came across were lovely, and the Pearl should be happy to have such pleasant staff working for them. Our room was cleaned every day and rated a 10 on that scale.
Fantastic lighting under the bungalow for night fish/shark watching. So enjoyable.
We would not hesitate to return to the Pearl and the beautiful atoll of Tikehau

Room Tip: Enjoy it's beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nearnorthOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tikehau
0.0 mi away
Village Temanoha
Village Temanoha
#1 of 1 in Cook's Bay
56 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tikehau Ninamu Resort
Tikehau Ninamu Resort
#2 of 2 in Tikehau
219 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pension Justine
Pension Justine
#3 of 8 in Tikehau
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pension Hotu
Pension Hotu
#5 of 8 in Tikehau
190 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tikehau Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Pension Coconut Beach, Tikehau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort

Property: Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Address: BP.20 Tuherahera, 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Tuamotu Archipelago > Tikehau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tikehau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered to be one of the most beautiful atolls in Polynesia, Tikehau is a graceful oval crown of small islets with an interior lagoon 16 miles across and a pass for small boats through the coral reef. The Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort is a Pearl to discover in the Tuamotu islands. The resort welcomes guests to this 4 hectare tropical paradise. Located on a secluded pink sandy beach fringed with coconut trees, the Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort offers 13 beach bungalows with air conditioning and 24 over water bungalows and suites. All bungalows, designed in true Polynesian style, are very spacious (55m²) and are equipped with a fan, mini bar, coffee / tea making facilities, direct dial phone, safe, television and private veranda. The over water bungalows include a glass section of the floor from which you can enjoy the spectacular underwater life of the lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikehau Pearl Beach Hotel Tikehau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing