We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“piece of paradise but the food could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tikehau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

First, I would say it is beautiful and remote....a perfect way to disconnect. 2nd I would say make sure to get a Deluxe Overwater Bungalow as regular overwater bungalows do not have the ladder down to the water and have to use a shared ladder. We went snorkelling daily and swam with sharks and rays and even saw an octopus! We went on the bird island excursion which was wonderful! Swam with Manta rays! They speered fish while we snorkelled and then prepared the fresh fish. It was my favorite meal during our stay. We stayed a week. We are not scuba divers but we did do the beginners scuba which was lovely. We swam with sea turtles and shark and so much more! The cell towers were down and the Wifi was slow so we were forced to relax and disconnect which was frustrating at first but absolutely perfect the morme we got used to it. Going into town is a bit of waste as you are there for a while without anything to do (not even shopping) There is a small grocery store where you can pick up some snacks though. The food at the restaurant was the greatest disappointment. I would not recommend getting a meal plan and just ordering a la carte. I preferred the lunch menu. Dinner was redundant and food over or undercooked. Dinner didn't start until 7pm at the earliest and can be a time consuming affair. Breakfast was a disappoinment as well. You could tell that the "fresh fruit" could be days old as well as the "fresh pancakes" Breakfast was exactly the same every day! You definitely do not come here for the food. I was disappointed they didn't have more fresh coconut! oh well. Bottom line is that this place is perfect for getting away and disconnecting and enjoying the company of the person you are with in an absolutely beautiful place. Our typical day: Get up and have breakfast. Take a walk around the island (this takes about 20min) Feed the fish leftover bread from breakfast. go snorkel, read, take a nap, maybe have some lunch, do a little kayaking and more snorkelling, take another nap and get ready for dinner, dinner and finally feed leftovers from dinner to the fish and the shark. That is so much fun! Make sure to take leftovers back to your bungalow!

Room Tip: get a deluxe over water bungalow that is west facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manishab71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 950 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

We ended our three week stay in FP with a two night stay at the Pearl. Overwater bungalow was large with a beautiful verandah with table and chair and loungers. Deep water for swimming.
Our walk to the reef was fantastic. Food was enjoyable and the small infinity pool nice.
Every staff member we came across were lovely, and the Pearl should be happy to have such pleasant staff working for them. Our room was cleaned every day and rated a 10 on that scale.
Fantastic lighting under the bungalow for night fish/shark watching. So enjoyable.
We would not hesitate to return to the Pearl and the beautiful atoll of Tikehau

Room Tip: Enjoy it's beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nearnorthOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Three words: Deluxe Overwater Bungalow. Located on a tiny, low-lying atoll in the middle of the South Pacific, this destination is not for those seeking anything other than sun, sand, Scuba diving and relaxation. Only accessible via boat, the 400 person "town" is worth a visit but mostly you'll just want to lounge around your room/the beach, go diving off your personal deck and feed fish at night from your in-room operable floor window (be sure to grab some of yesterdays rolls from the restaurant).

Room Tip: Deluxe Overwater Bungalow as far out on the pier as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawsonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our 5th visit to theTikehau Pearl & we found it as delightful as ever.
Despite a tropical storm for the first 3 days of our 6 day stay, the staff went out of their way to ensure that the guests were safe, comfortable & well taken-care of in the very comfortable bungalows (even adding a few unexpected extras to compensate for the weather).
We stayed in one of the excellent, newly-renovated Beach Bungalows for the first 2 nights & then moved to a Premium Overwater - one of our favourite bungalows in all of French Polynesia (this was our 12th trip).
The prices of the bungalows are very reasonable & the restaurant is very good with a good selection of dishes. The small pool is excellent, the beach unbeatable & the snorkeling right around the bungalows is very good indeed.
The lovely, intimate resort has a genuine Polynesian flair & the staff are outstanding.
The manager showed sincere concern for her guests, checking at least once each day to make sure all our needs were being met.
We could not have been happier to be welcomed back to this marvelous resort & had another memorable experience. We will definitely return & continue to recommend it to others without reservation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hare88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Awesome place out in the middle of nowhere, with great diving. Tahiti Travel Planners helped make our arrangements and they were fabulous, as was our adventure in the islands. We also went to the Pearl in Bora Bora which was equally as wonderful, and have to mention the Mai Kai is a great restaurant there on the main island...and the diving in Bora Bora was also top notch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

As a Tahiti Tiare specialist, this was my 4th trip to Tahiti, and honestly, I didn't think I would ever find a more beautiful place than Bora Bora until I went to Tikehau. It's out in the Tuamotus, flat islands covered in pink coral sand and coconut palms. Tikehau is so small, there isn't even a bank on the island, popluation 500. Tiny, remote, clearest water I've ever seen, so the snorkeling is amazing. I stayed at the Tikehau Pearl Nov 26-28, 2012 in an overwater suite with air conditioning and water access. Try to upgrade to one of these if you can. It was really hot and still, so having the aircon was a must. The suite was large, bed super comfy, big bathroom, lovely outdoor deck with lounge chairs and covered outdoor seating. I had bungalow #40, and it was great. It's quite shallow, so you can walk quite a long ways out, and there's lots of coral, so lots of fish. I had some huge parrot fish under my bungalow, and small reef sharks swam by a few times. You need reef/aqua shoes. No need to take snorkle gear as that is provided by the resort. The grounds on this resort are well maintained, the staff friendly and excellent service in the bar, restaurant, and reception desk. I'd like to thank Yahn for doing what he could to get the motu picnic booked for me. They need a minimum of 4 for this excursion, and there ended up with 3 of us, and the tour went. Everyone who goes to Tikehau should do this excursion, about $100/person, 9:15am - 4:30pm. Take your own gear, towel, water, reef shoes with you. First stop is to swim with manta rays. That was pure magic, I choked up when I saw them, they are so incredible. We swam with these gentle giants until they took off into the indigo blue of the lagoon, and then we went to Bird Island. What an amazing place. The island is small, and it takes about an hour to walk around it. We were led by our guide on a path (you need reef shoes or runners) past birds nesting, baby birds sitting on branches, inches away from your camera lense. Like being on an episode of National Georgraphic! We saw nesting blue footed boobies, and lots of fluffy white boobie babies! When we got back to the boat, I could have gone around again. It was super hot, so we asked if we could cool off in the lagoon before getting on the boat, but our guides said - no - too many sharks! About 10 of them swam up to investigate when we first docked. Next up we went to a private motu owned by our Tahitian guide. We swam in a small estuary while they cooked lunch in an outdoor kitchen. Our guide had speared a few fish for lunch, which was grilled on a BBQ, tuna salad, ccoconut rice, and fresh fruit for dessert. Then we went off to a fish farm, which was just a few spindly pens of chicken wire out into the lagoon. There were some nurse sharks, and blue fin tuna. We snorkled around there for a bit while our guide speared a few more fish for their dinner, and then we went back to the Pearl. It was such a great tour, and we were the only 3 people on it. We didn't see any other tour boats all day.

Tikehau is well worth a visit, and the Pearl is a lovely resort. Tikehau is also known for a large variety of fish species, so excellent diving and snorkelling. As a Tiare specialist, I would highly recommend the Tuamotus on your next trip to Tahiti. I'll be back for sure! If you have any questions, feel free to email me: annies@travelg.com

Room Tip: go for the overwater suites with air conditioning and lagoon access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arabella27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Most people would never think about going to Tikehau when they think about going to French Polynesia, but it really is a jewel of a place. The island itself is really small and really pretty to fly into. We flew from Bora Bora to Rangiroa first to let people off the plane and to let others on before we continued onto Tikehau. It's such a beautiful thing to be able to fly over the different islands and atolls around French Polynesia. Absolutely amazing from the sky.

Once we arrived in Tikehau, we were taken by van to a boat launch to catch the boat to the Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort. Upon arrival, we were welcomed with the wonderful conch shell blowing welcome. We checked in and were taken to our beach bungalow which was located right by one set of the overwater bungalows. The beach bungalow was absolutely beautiful and came with it's own little hammock right outside by the deck. The views were amazing and on one side of the resort, you could see the waves crashing from the ocean. The current was pretty strong when snorkeling if you snorkled on the side of the resort where the boat comes in, but once over on the other side, it's a lot calmer. The snorkeling was great and the equipment was pretty good. If I were to go back anywhere that involved water, i would always bring my own snorkel gear.

We did an excursion to Bird Island and also did a motu picnic that was really awesome. Bird Island was cool to walk around, but nothing to write home about. At least not my type of thing. We stopped by a little coral garden along the way to the motu picnic to do a little snorkeling, which was nice but nothing compared to the coral garden we snorkled in Bora Bora over by the Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort.

The food was great, but the service was so so. There was not a lot of people at the resort, maybe about 6 others besides our group of 16, but even so I don't think they are really used to groups at this resort. Our last night there, they had some entertainment which was really cool.

I would highly recommend this resort as a little couple day getaway before or after Bora Bora. I would just always recommend Bora Bora at the end of every trip because you save the best for last.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stpattysgirl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tikehau
0.0 mi away
Village Temanoha
Village Temanoha
#1 of 1 in Cook's Bay
57 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tikehau Ninamu Resort
Tikehau Ninamu Resort
#2 of 2 in Tikehau
227 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pension Hotu
Pension Hotu
#5 of 8 in Tikehau
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Relais Royal Tikehau
Relais Royal Tikehau
#1 of 4 in Tikehau
208 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pension Justine
Pension Justine
#2 of 8 in Tikehau
60 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hakamanu Lodge
Hakamanu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tuherahera
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort

Address: BP.20 Tuherahera, 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Tuamotu Archipelago > Tikehau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tikehau
Price Range: $334 - $973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered to be one of the most beautiful atolls in Polynesia, Tikehau is a graceful oval crown of small islets with an interior lagoon 16 miles across and a pass for small boats through the coral reef. The Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort is a Pearl to discover in the Tuamotu islands. The resort welcomes guests to this 4 hectare tropical paradise. Located on a secluded pink sandy beach fringed with coconut trees, the Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort offers 13 beach bungalows with air conditioning and 24 over water bungalows and suites. All bungalows, designed in true Polynesian style, are very spacious (55m²) and are equipped with a fan, mini bar, coffee / tea making facilities, direct dial phone, safe, television and private veranda. The over water bungalows include a glass section of the floor from which you can enjoy the spectacular underwater life of the lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikehau Pearl Beach Hotel Tikehau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing