We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$880
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$244
$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$604
$585
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (996)
Filter reviews
996 results
Traveler rating
571
253
105
47
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
253
105
47
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverwater suitetikehau pearlbora boraour honeymoonbeach bungalowbird islandfishair conditioningfrench polynesiameal planpearl beachdive masterscuba divingmarine lifemotu picniclounge chairsdeserted island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 996 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all, just to set the expectations straight, this place is for remote nature lovers. So if you like jet skis, entertainers, events etc, not the place for you. But, if you are looking for the Robinson Crusoe experience with an amazing wild life and remote habitat, connecting with nature by yourself in silence - look nowhere else. We went to Bora Bora's and Moorea after Tikehau and we were looking for flights back the moment we arrived at the hotel. Don't forget to dive at Tikehau - you would be missing one of the best dive experiences available on this earth. Rooms are clean, beautiful. There is a great coral right in front of the hotel for snorkeling. One thing to watch out for is current - you need to be a good swimmer to comfortable snorkel around in the strong current that doesn't seem to quiet down. Breakfast is wonderful, lunch and dinner are good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t-dev-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikehau, General Manager at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear T-Dev 7

We are happy to read that we were able to share the beauty of our motu with you, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in our Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed August 29 thru Sept 2. Weather was sunny the entire time. This island is my favorite in that the beauty is beyond one's imagination. The resort is small, and there were not many guests during our stay which made it seem as if we were on a deserted island with all the luxuries. The staff is very gracious, accomodating, and always smiling. We were treated as if we were royalty; at breakfast the waitress poured each cup of coffee and hot milk for us, and brought the made-to-order omelete - with a flower - to our table. We stayed in beach bungalow #24 which was in a terrific location. It was very spacious and the bathroom is outdoors. The only problem was that the lighting was very dim; had to shower and dress for dinner before 6:00. Dinner menu is somewhat limited, but the portions are generous (maybe too much). Snorkeling in front of the bungalow was better than on the other islands; water was very warm but refreshing. Blue Nui is the dive shop located at the hotel. The only other diver - other than the dive master - on the day that I went diving was, I believe, part of the dive company. That made it even more enjoyable. A one-tank dive cost 8500cfp. There is a boat which leaves from the hotel to the village 3 times daily', is free, and returns to the hotel about 3 hours later. Be sure to bring a bike, also free, Village is very pretty and clean, with several varieties of flowers. The oean side is worth seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gypsy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikehau, General Manager at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Gipsy02

Thank you for your very nice message.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Tuamotu, and we hope to welcome you again soon

Sunny regards from Tikehau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The best thing we did on honeymoon was leave Bora Bora after a week there and spend our second week at the idylic and secluded Pearl Beach Tikehau.

From the first glimpse of the tiny atoll from the plane it strikes you how insignificantly small it is compared to anywhere else you've stayed in Tahiti. It really is in the middle of the Pacific and when you're on it you can't see land in any direction outside the atoll. Which can be a little frightening when you start wondering about the frequency of big waves and you realise the tallest thing on the atoll is the closest cocont palm... and I haven't climbed a tree since I was eight years old.

But the isolation, the romance, the fact that you really are on a tiny atoll in the middle of the tropical Pacific is the most liberating feeling in the world.

Our welcome at the resort was top class: a conch shell was blown to herald our arrival and fresh, chilled cocktails greeted us once we stepped off the boat.

There are only around 40 bungalows on the resort and not many staff. We opted for a WEST-FACING premium overwater bungalow and were pleasantly surprised. Sheltered from the prevailing winds, (unlike those on the other side - poor sods), cool in the morning, afternoon sun and perfect sunsets in the evening. Definately don't get an east facing if you can help it.

The usual Pearl Beach touches were in effect with traditional Tahitian furnishings and decor, accented with crisp, fresh white linen. The added touches of fresh flowers in our room each day and free (big) bottles of water was a lovely bonus. The room was spacious with a double sink, large fully tiled shower, privatae toilet, plenty of mirrors, full-sized bath, king sized bed, LCD TV, chaise lounge, chairs and glass coffee table to feed the fish from as well as bedside tables and a writing desk. The rooms were always made up perfectly and were very, very clean.

Outside we found two wooden sun loungers with comfy mattresses, a private dining area with lots of seating, coffee table, outdoor fresh-water shower and swimming platform. The water was much deeper than at Pearl Beach Bora Bora and there was a lot more to see.

Waves roared on the outside of the atoll as the Pacific smashed against the reef. And on the inside the lagoon is as still as a mill pond.

Sitting on the deck one night, around midnight, we even saw a manta ray! but more often than not there's plenty of tropical fish (some quite big), sting ray, reef sharks etc. It's all well and good feeding the fish from the deck with bits of bread left over from breakfast but the real fun begins when you save up a few bits of bacon, sausage or fish skeletons and rattle them through the water in the evening to feed the sharks. On one occasion we counted 8 reef sharks circling the bungalow, some up to 6ft long.

The weather (in March) was changeable which added to the moodiness of the location. The occasional tropical storm puncuuated our otherwise stinking hot cloudless sunny days. Watching the weather change and the colours of the ocean with it was magical. Thankfully, as with tropical weather, any clouds were soon dispersed meaning we could venture outdoors once more. And actually the odd patch of rain was welcome respite to allow sunburn and heat to subside.

BEST THINGS:
- Feeding the fish and sharks from our private decking.

- Lagoon Fishing Trip, booked from the activity desk. Well worth the half-day excursion. We scampered around the atoll with our captain catching hermit crabs from underneath palm trees and shrubs (who knew that's where the little buggers lived?) then drove out over glassy water to a fishing spot where Captain taught us how to use the hand lines. We caught around 20 fish between the two of us. We kept 7 which the resort chef cooked up for dinner for us that night and the rest we gave to the captain to take home.

- Atoll Picnic day which was our best time with manta rays: around 4 of them in total. We spent around 40 minutes with them which was amazing and got lots of photos, albeit poor quality using the disposable underwater camera that we bought from Bora Bora.

- Also on the Atoll Picnic was a trip to Bird Island which was great! Loads of birds and baby birds: red footed boobies, white terns, black terns and kestrels nesting in the crooks of trees so close you could almost (but woudln't dare) reach out and touch them.

- Lunch on the Atoll Picnic excursion consisted of fresh caught tropical fish that the Captain had speared during one of our snorkel trips. We all went back to his house on his private Motu (island) where he BBQd it for lunch and served up ice cold beers and fresh salads. Awesome!

- Privacy on Pearl Beach Tikehau is second to none. From the privacy of your terrace to the intimacy at breakfast or dinner. There arent many others on the island and it's very peaceful.

- Beautiful bungalows. Much better than Bora Bora Pearl Beach with loads of room and great facilities.

WORST THINGS:
- I hate bugs. I especially hate cockroaches. Unfortunately for me, when the rain came down during a particularly stormy afternoon, one scampered out from under the fridge. Armed with a rolled up newspaper I opened the fridge to see a family of the blighters hanging out underneath. At this point I screamed and refused to get down from the chaise lounge for 40 minutes until the resort staff and my husband located a can of super-strength fly spray (regular stuff doesn't work). Now it's important to note that roaches doesn't mean the place is dirty. These roaches like clean, warm and dry places so a logical place to go when it rains is into the nearest bungalow. Which was just unfortunate for me, but it didn't ruin my holiday: a couple of stiff drinks was all I needed to settle my nerves.

- Many staff members don't speak English so there were quite a few hiccups with food and wine orders and one of the excursions (Atoll Picnic) was mainly conducted in French to the benefit of the majority of the other guests (totally understandable). But we still felt included and our guides still tried to interpret as much as they could. I think in situations like this you need to actively take responsibility for your own enjoyment of the trip. Ask questions, use sign language or what ever means possible. Don't sit passively back with a face like a bulldog chewing a wasp, moaning about how you can't understand anything.

- Wine selection at the resort was OK but not great. Like Pearl Beach Bora Bora the wine selection was predominately French and there were no tasting notes. We're used to some French wines but mostly new world stuff like that in NZ and Australia. So we found it difficult to order good wine and as the staff weren't able to recommend any (no English) we made uneducated guesses based on price and were often dissappointed.

- Food was OK but they could have done better. Fruit was re-used from one breakfast to another and you could visibly see watermelon getting darker and squishier day by day until it gave up the ghost and was eventually thrown out. Dinners were good but again, could have done better. Thankfully the 7 nights we were there the resort mixed things up a bit from a la carte to local buffet so there was, at least, a difference from one night to the next.

- Service was slow. As we couldn't trust the wines we tried cocktails instead. Big mistake as each one would take around 10 minutes to make. If there was more than one other couple at the bar, we could end up waiting 40 minutes to get served and get a drink. And each time a cocktail was made it tasted totally different (gob-smackingly delicious down to utterly vile) from one bar attendant to the other. Thankfully by day three we knew who made the better cocktails and would save our orders up for the staff member who knew what she was doing. Or we'd just bring our own beers from the fridge in our room, which we would stock up in the afternoons when the bar was empty. Clever eh?

- Oh, and there was no happy hour at the bar. Stink!

All in all Tikehau Pearl Beach was brilliant for honeymooning, snorkeling, manta ray spotting, shark feeding, sunbathing and lounging about working on your tan. The food is OK (3-star) and the resort very relaxed. There are some fantastic excursions where more often than not you'll be the only ones on it and you can get really close to nature at its best. DON'T come here with expectations that (like the Hilton or St Regis) people will do your bidding at the snap of your fingers. DO come here to unwind, slow down, enjoy nature, feel exposed and yet invigorated at the same time. And DO come here on honeymoon. Bring books, insect repellant and industrial strength bug spray if your airline will let you carry it.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a west facing over water premium bungalow. Trust me on this - you won't regret it. It'll be sheltered from the prevailing winds which means when they pick up (and they will) you can leave your terrace doors open and sit outside sheltered, watching the storm. You'll be cool in the mornings, get all the late morning through to end-of-day sun and glorious sunsets as well.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CommsGirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikehau, General Manager at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Comsgirl16,

Thank you for your kind message, and for allowing us to improve the quality of service, which is really important to us.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Tikehau

Warm regards from our Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The place where he resort is located is awesome, probably even better than the bora bora one.
The beach is quite,cthe water is full of shark and manta rays and the landscape is breathless especially at the sunset.
I was personally unhappy of my room as first I was given an overwater bungalow literally opposite to the restaurant with zero privacy and then I moved ( my fault ) to another, still standard overwater, that was put at the very end of the line. Result: 100 % privacy, 100% Wind,zero Sun i might nave been unlucky but believeme the Wind Was the strongest I ve ever seen and the bungalow was not filtering that at all so having curtains literally dancing in the room.
I stayed in bora bora so I know what a Premium bungalow is about and in the end I found the situation in tikehau very particular and I tried to get the best out of it; surely I wold have been disappointed if that was my only experience in polinesia. So all in all my suggestion for the hotel to be very clear that standard overwater my be very exposed to wind and not get the sun for some or most of the day..having known this I d have taken the beach bungalow maybe that face the sea and are pretty nice and surely less expansive

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Silentman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikehau, General Manager at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Mr Silent Man 123,

Thank you for your message.
I apologize if your 1st bungalow did not meet your expectations. It is right that this part of the hotel can be more exposed to the wind, depending on the direction of it, because of the reef. Still, there is always some wind in Tikehau, even in beach bungalows (but it makes the temperatures cooler) and surely during your stay you experienced a very windy day.
I still hope you enjoyed your stay with us, in spite of this inconvenience.

Best regards from Tikehau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Tikehau is the top place to visit if you want to go a bit off the beaten track in French Polynesia (i.e. after Bora Bora), and this resort makes it easier. Standards are definitely lower than in large Bora Bora chains, and the cost is still high, but then again you are in the middle of nowhere where everything, including hot water, is scarce, and rooms are weather-beaten and hard to maintain.

Tikehau is a ring of sand in the middle of the ocean (with lagoon in the middle and ocean surrounding it), and an interrupted ring in that, so staying in one place and walking around in another is impossible: if you want to enjoy the most beautiful spots, you need to stay in the best hotels, and Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort is the only top-end hotel on the island.

Bungalows are made out of local materials and overwater ones have fish-feeding glass viewing holes and private decks, some with panoramic views of the stunning sea. They are spacious, pleasant and equipped with the odd gadget like an ipod docking station. The restaurant serves really excellent food and a great choice of breakfast thanks to an imaginative character of a French chef. Other than that, don’t expect many facilities such as internet, but there is a small spa and a shop.

Waters are clean and full of fish and can be accessed either from your deck or the hotel’s beach, though the highlight is hopping from pink sandbar to pink sandbar a little off the main beach. There is less to do here than on Bora Bora and the highly unstable weather will constantly spoil your plans, which is all the more a reason to stay in a good hotel. Two or three nights are probably sufficient, but don’t make it too short as you may never see Tikehau’s beauty if you are unlucky with the weather.

A great add-on to your French Polynesia holiday. Travelled in September 2010.

Room Tip: Stay in an overwater bungalow if you can, especially a corner one with uninterrupted sea views! (though it is more windy there)
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikehau, Directeur général at Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Alma78,

Thank you for sharing your Tikehau's polynesian experience with us, and "mauruuru" for your very kind message.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the Tuamotus,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews