We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must "be cool" to stay here & enjoy a private island experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tikehau Ninamu Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tikehau
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You must "be cool" to stay here & enjoy a private island experience!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I will cut to the chase - you must "be cool" to stay here! You are on a small island complete with great boats, water toys and a wonderful staff constantly hustling to keep you happy, but you are on an small island! So you need to go with the flow! If you eat fresh fish for multiple meals, fish you may have caught on one of Chris' amazing fishing trips, then be grateful. We also enjoyed a spectacular pizza night made in the outdoor pizza oven with the fun group of guests and staff all eating together at one table. The Chef is amazing, blowing us away on every meal! Ask Lynn to shake you up one of her killer cocktails! She is a sweetheart. What I loved most is being completely detached from the world. You can find cell phone, internet connection and even a TV on the island if you look for it, but choosing to go without it was pure bliss! I read a book a day while enjoying Chris' snorkeling excursions and diving with the amazing Tikehau Plonge Dive Center-- the highlight was seeing a hammerhead shark! I can't imagine coming here without a scuba license. The dive boat will come pick you up on the island. The bungalows were open air and comfortable. If you can't break away from the overwater bungalows with air conditioning, etc found around the area, then stick to the big hotels! The Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort is a good place to go for a few nights after a visit to Ninamu. I highly recommend a few nights at Ninamu IF you are cool!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalHouseguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    12
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
145
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Alberta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are a skilled surfer, kite boarder or water sports fanatic, this is definitely the place for you.
If you are looking for a relaxed vacation with high quality accommodation & Polynesian culture, this may not be for you.
The variety of activities & toys is unmatched, the location is great, & the staff skills, friendliness & efforts to please the guests could not be better.
The food is organic, fresh & superb, BUT there are no choices & if you have a special diet or, for example, don’t like fish, you will be disappointed (in 5 days we were only served seafood).
The price is very high ($400 per person) but includes all activities & food, BUT if the weather is bad there may be no activities on offer (in 5 days we had only 2 brief, poor snorkelling outings).
The bungalows are beautifully designed & creative with great use of wood, coral & shells, BUT most are in the woods with no views & open to the elements & rain, so in bad weather your bungalow may have numerous leaks & your clothes, furniture, bedding & towels will be unpleasantly damp & musty smelling after a couple of days.
The resort is very environmentally friendly (e.g. solar, organic & conservation conscious), BUT even though your bedding & towels may be damp & smelly they will not be changed (in 4 nights ours were not) & the room cleaning & hot water may be unreliable.
Although our host was very apologetic about the weather & the consequent lack of activities (this is a tropical location, rain is frequent & storms may be severe) no effort was made to compensate for the situation. Some suggestions….videos & talks for the group (e.g. our host is an elite, world class surfer & competition organizer with great stories & media resources); a round or two of beers on the house to cheer people up (the bar is heavily used in bad weather & the prices/profits are high enough to justify a couple on the house); special meal nights with more variety to spoil the guests & elevate the spirits; a note/disclaimer on the website warning guests that occasional storms may severely restrict activities or eliminate them altogether would serve to diffuse some of the disappointment.
We have to say that the Ninamu website is more than a little misleading in presenting pictures & descriptions of ideal weather, the best bungalows & food varieties. We are also somewhat mystified by the unanimously ecstatic reviews on TripAdvisor (a total of 17 in 2012).
We were lucky enough to have booked the excellent Tikehau Pearl Beach right after the Ninamu & have never been happier to get to a wonderful hotel, dry out, & luxuriate in genuine Polynesian hospitality at half the price (including food).
Sadly, we will not be back & are not able to recommend the Ninamu to others (without extensive disclaimers). Sorry, Chris, you are a nice guy & extremely competent, but this was not for us!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Hare88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninamu, Manager at Tikehau Ninamu Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our establishment
Unfortunately for you the weather was 40 knotts and sideways rain for everyday you were here 24 hrs pretty much by 24
Being a small resort owner operator I try to communicate as much as possible with my guests and however it wasnt possible for me to sit down with you and watch a movie as running a resort on a isolated island I pretty much have a wet shorts and t shirt on all day all night running around tieing boats down and gutters etc etc As it was bording on cyclonic
Housekeeping is done daily and if you had a problem as advised on arrival just come and see me and ill have it sorted straight away as we did with all of your other requests
In finishing Id like to say that our website is very clear and our reviews are very well earned anything that suggests otherwise is pretty much a low shot at my business your entitled to your opinion but for you to suggest that we fabricate anything reviews or photos is totally incorrect and unjust
In finishing I hope you get better weather on your next vacation and enjoy the moment
regards chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

we had a fantastic trip there. place is amazing, food unreal. and staff is made up of great people. i cant wait to get back there soon...chris and his staff are constantly working hard to insure your stay there is great and filled with fun. tons of activities filled all the days and it is a rare and special place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you made the trip to long french polynesia this is not to be missed. We stayed in Ninamu for 5 nights in late May 2012. (Sorry for the late review). One of a kind rooms that will not be duplicated, a private retreat beyond compare, and Chris and the staff makes sure everyone has an opportunity to do as much or as little as they like. Even the 2 dogs on the island mingle with guests or the sharks that swim by. Chris heads up daily adventures that are fun for all. Swim with Manata's, picnic, snorkeling, paddle boarding,and my personal favorite Fishing with Chris when ever possible.
Ninamu is small private island that was a great way to kick off our holiday. The pictures on the internet do not lie, the rooms are amazing with each one having its own flair. The islands is gorgeous, and is easy to walk around or to walk out to the break.
Know there is no ordering from a menu so do not expect a variety to choose from. Food is FRESH, healhty and well prepared, desserts were a nice treat.
The sun, sea, and breeze shining through our bedroom was an amazing way to wake up everyday.
In closing this is truly a resort not to be missed. Great for families or couples.

Room Tip: check out the miki miki bungalow-what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in Ninamu almost two months ago – time flew since we came back, but at Ninamu time seemed to last eternally. This holiday easily entered our top 3 holidays ever. The reviews posted on Tripadvisor have the potential to raise the expectations one has of this place. Based of the reviews, we were thinking that Ninamu might be good but we really didn't have any expectations. That seemed to be the right mindset, not that the expectations wouldn’t have been met, simply it is so special to be in this place that one will appreciate it best when no previous benchmark has been set.



Chris, Greta, and Christian put in lots of effort and are genuinely very nice people. They will go the extra 10 miles to make everyone happy and at ease. Initially, we doubted whether a private island with only a few bungalows would be the right destination for us as we really value our privacy and usually prefer to be anonymous within a larger hotel. But Ninamu is a different world. You will have all the freedom to be by yourself, or mix with others as you like. It turned out that we met many nice people there, which made our holiday even better.



We were very happy to stay in an OWB first on Moorea and when we were totally relaxed in amazing luxury, we got to Ninamu. This was a great order. Both the OWB and Ninamu are very different experiences and it would be very hard to pick one over another. If we really had to, we would probably favour Ninamu.



Some people in previous reviews mentioned that not everything is great at Ninamu and that there are some inconveniences. To be clear on this, you’re not staying in the standard 5 star luxury hotel. You will be on an island in the middle of nowhere, which means there will be some inconveniences compared to the world that we’re used to, e.g. you’ll need quick shower skills due to the potential limited supply of water during long times of good weather. It also means that you’ll be in touch with nature as at no other place on this planet. Being in such a natural environment, eating organic food and fresh fish daily heavily outweighs any of the little inconveniences you might encounter on this island.



So you think you went to a private island to sit on the beach and do nothing? Well, you can, but you’ll be tempted by all the activities that Chris or Christian will come up with on a daily basis to see things around the Tikehau atoll. We went snorkeling and fishing at the pass, visited the birth island, Eden isle, went swimming with manta rays, cruising through the lagoon, dolphin watching, etc, etc. Around the island there’s enough to do as well: kayaking, paddle boats, discovering the reef, walking to the next islet or around the island, snorkeling and so forth.



What we found remarkable, and worth sharing so that future visitors make the right choice, many people stayed 3 or 4 days on the island regretted not staying longer. The reason for many to stay 3 or 4 days was that they were on honeymoon and liked to see more islands. Everyone regretted not staying longer! We stayed for a week and we even would have loved to stay longer. If you would want to see more islands, then 1 week is probably the max, but you’ll want to stay longer than 3 or 4 days!



Also we’d like to make mention of Grant and Joe, the temporary staff at Ninamu. Grant is a great camera man and compiled a “Ninamu trip video” out of all the footage for many couples on the island, how nice is that! We now have a fantastic memory of our holiday. The problem is that just a memory is not enough – we’ve never been back to any of our holiday destinations, but we’re hoping to come back to Ninamu in 2 or 3 years!



Before closing off, when you visit, don’t forget to make a walk around the island at night and watch the stars. It’s amazing! The whole Milky Way is there for you to stare at.



Thanks Chris, Greta, Christian, Grant and Joe!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzzzy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location in a Paradise, where beautyfull people managing the resort makes feel you like in a family, providing you any kind of attention and confort, in a friendly and professional manner. You forget to be a client and are going to stay there in a peacefull atmosphere, where sports and boat excursions are daily arranged. What makes Ninamu different is the passion that Chris and Greta put in their work, and in the great effort that thay are acting to make you feel at nome, and into an exotic Paradise at the same time. A special thanks to Christienne, a wonderfull person and very professional. Unforgettable the special ninamu cocktail. Finally, Ninamu is a Resort very aware of this environmental footprint, oprating with attention to environment, i.e. Self generating energy by sun, purifing rain water for human purposes, reducinng waste production. A very sustainable resort, with wonderfull bungalows very well equiped, built with natural materials. Fresh food prepared in a sublime manner. You are really close to be a different person when coming back from Ninamu.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We chose Ninamu mainly because of the remote location and all the fantastic reviews. We wanted to escape from winter and get some sun and unwind and this was the perfect place to do it, although I didn't end up doing as much lying around as I expected since there was always so much to do - snorkelling with enormous manta rays, visiting bird island and little Eden, a bike ride around a nearby village...the time ended up flying and when it came time to leave I couldn't believe we had been there for 10 days. I have been to remote islands before where there was not much to do and you can get bored lying on the beach all day, but there is so much to do on Ninamu that you forget you are in the middle of nowhere.

Because we were there for such a long stay we got to try out a couple of different bungalows which was great, they are all beautiful in a rustic way and it's amazing falling asleep to the sound of the wind rustling through the palm trees.

All the staff were just fantastic - too numerous to mention but thanks to all, especially those who were involved in the making of some very tasty pina coladas (you know who you are), and Christiane, who gave me her beautiful hat after I commented on it, as soon as the sun comes out in Sydney I will be wearing it! Chris and Greta were so accomodating and covered everyone's requirements with ease. The food was great and very healthy - lots of fish and salad with yummy desserts.

Overall we had an amazing time and returned home refreshed and relaxed, and dreaming of returning to Ninamu.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tikehau hotels
3.9 mi away
Tikehau Pearl Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Pension Hotu
Pension Hotu
#5 of 8 in Tikehau
189 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pension Justine
Pension Justine
#4 of 8 in Tikehau
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tikehau Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Pension Coconut Beach, Tikehau
0.0 mi away
Aito Motel Colette
Aito Motel Colette
#3 of 8 in Tikehau
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tikehau Ninamu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tikehau Ninamu Resort

Property: Tikehau Ninamu Resort
Address: Tikehau | Tikehau, 98778, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Tuamotu Archipelago > Tikehau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tikehau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tikehau Ninamu Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ninamu Resort is an all-inclusive destination catering to luxury seeking outdoor enthusiasts. Hidden away on a motu in the southwest corner of the French Polynesian atoll of Tikehau, Ninamu serves as the perfect launch pad for divers, fishermen, kiteboarders, surfers, paddlers or anyone who simply loves relaxing in and around tropical waters that are bursting with life and energy. Everyone should experience a pristine atoll in the middle of the South Pacific once in their life, your private paradise awaits! You'll stay in an artisan solar powered bungalow built from material found on the island. Dine on gourmet food grown on our 100 percent organic farm and fish that are caught in the surrounding ocean. Daily activities include all water sports, snorkeling, deep-sea fishing, spear fishing, kite-surfing, kayaking, atoll excursions and memories to last a lifetime. The best pink sand beach in French Polynesia surrounds the island. We are an all-inclusive rate of taxes, water transport, all meals, all water excursions and equipment, excluding alcoholic beverages, deep-sea fishing and SCUBA. Children 12 years and under are half off. Children 2 years and under are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Tikehau Ninamu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikehau Ninamu Hotel Tikehau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing