We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic experience with kids on Cinco”
other travelers have booked this property
Cosy appartment with a great swimming pool !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy appartment with a great swimming pool !
Walk on the white side ! Infinite beaches
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Cosy appartment with a great swimming pool !
Walk on the white side ! Infinite beaches
As clear as it seems
Lourdes in the sky
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fakarava, Tuamotu Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RafBenN
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience with kids on Cinco”
Reviewed December 23, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Even though we're quite adventurous, we were a little apprehensive having never been sailing before, and especially with 2 young kids (age 3 and 5). However this was a simply fantastic, memorable experience and I am so pleased we did it.

The captain, Jaad is an accomplished sailor, speaks English, French, Spanish perfectly, and is a great cook with local Panamanian influences, as well as Moroccan, French, Spanish. You spend the days on Cinco hopping the short distances from one deserted paradise tropical island to another. The food is excellent. On one sail Jaad caught a fish and the next day we had sashimi.

Jaad's wife Lourdes stayed on another boat with their young baby so Jaad was accompanied by Gwili, a charming local Kuna indian, so we got to learn a little about their way of life.

A few things to note
- If you can, pack light (we didn't). Even with just 2 adult + 2 kids the boat is cosy inside the cabin. All you need is swimming shorts and t-shirts.
- San Blas is very remote. Jaad has all the obvious things onboard (food, water, beer, wine) but there are no shops except for the occasional Kuna family selling bracelets and coconuts! Even the most basic items are a logistical challenge.
- Getting to the boat is a bit of an adventure. You get picked up in Panama City before dawn (not optional). It's a 2 hour SUV drive on a well paved but roller coaster road through the jungle hills to a chaotic dock where you endure 10 minutes of stress while you, your luggage, probably your wife, will all head in separate directions, but somehow you all end up on the right motor-launch going to the right place. It's ~1 hr on the launch to get to Cinco. We were unlucky and on the way out the sea was bumpy and we arrived at Cinco drenched. On the way back it was calm. The SUV, boat and tax cost around $60 per person each way and you need USD cash only.
- It is very warm in the boat at night, especially if there isn't much wind.
- Bring lots of sun screen. It's very easy to get burnt on a boat.
- If your kids can't swim, Jaad provides life jackets for when you are sailing but bring some flotation for them for the islands. The water is very calm and shallow.
- It is very safe. San Blas waters are very calm, almost flat. Cinco is in very good condition. It is a British registered boat. Jaad has British certifications.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
designjun...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 days of spontaneous fun + sun.”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Where do I begin? I almost want to keep this a secret but an authentic traveler shares a hidden gem, right?

I traveled to San Blas with a group of friends, my mom, two teenagers and a week of volunteer work in Nicaragua to ponder and celebrate. I can not say enough nice things about Jaad + Lourdes and the hospitality they treated us to while aboard CINCO. The wonderful company, accommodations, delicious and gorgeous food creations (Lourdes's molten chocolate cake was to die for!) the snorkeling, connecting with local Kuna indians, white sand, clear waters, all of it... seems surreal.

I'm back home in Chicago admiring my stash of molay cloths and daydreaming of our time in San Blas aboard CINCO; laughing, cannon-balling off the boat, watching my mom take tequila shots while swaying in the hammock. It was brilliant, all of it. GO. And go now before the secret is out. It's a hike to get there, but well worth the journey.

Jaad, Lourdes, you two are truly a one of a kind duo! Good luck with the bambino :)

Thanks again for an extra special trip of a lifetime. XX

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeroen K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An experience of a lifetime!”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was definitely the best experience we had during our three-weeks trip to Panama. It was so great to really live amongst this amazing couple and sail across the beautiful San Blas islands. No doubt way better than any other stay in this region. They made us feel welcome from day one.

You visit places you can't go to any other way. Jaad took us fishing and Lourdes makes the best meals! We visited the Kuna indians near Caya Holandeses where we had fresh cooked pulpo, catched just for us in the early morning.

Our best experience was the campfire on one of the deserted island with their friends. Seeing the sky full of stars and stingrays on the way back.

And if that isn't enough they are really good musicians/singers too. Just ask them to sing "Somewhere over the rainbow" for you and be surprised. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: That we had to get off the boat at one point...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El_Chiner...
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My most memorable trip to San Blas”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Last time I visited San Blas, I decided that on my next visit, I'd try to rent a sailboat, since it seemed like a nice way to get to see the islands.

I did some research online about this. Many of the websites dedicated to San Blas sailings show very expensive prices. Luckily, I managed to get the contact information of Jaad and Lourdes, the owners of the Cinco sailboat. Contacting a sailboat's owners is definitely the most economic way to do such a trip.

Cinco is a nice mono-hull sailboat with ample space, for parties of up to 8 people. We were a group of 5 people, two of us Panamanians and the other 3, friends coming from Europe. We loved the boat and its crew; Jaad and Lourdes are very friendly and caring, and their sailing stories are quite interesting. Just having the chance to meet them and talk to them was one the best parts of this trip. They're both excellent cooks and the meals we had during our trip were fabulous, especially since there was a lot of freshly caught seafood.

The San Blas archipelago is a great place to snorkel and the crew from Cinco also provided us with snorkeling equipment and took us to some nice sites, like a wreck in the middle of a coral reef.

I look forward to going back to San Blas with Cinco and its crew and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in sailing this beautiful archipelago.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkobel82
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Cinco currently plies the waters of San Blas - arguably one of the most beautiful places in the world. While it has to be understood that life aboard a sailing yacht is not a 5 star cruise, the rewards are manyfold. We had the privilege to enjoy unspoilt Caribbean islands all to ourselves.
As for the service, Lourdes and Jaad did a fantastic job. Without being intrusive at all they met all of our wishes and made us feel like we were truly on vacation. The fact that they managed to even cater food that took my dislike of fish and seafood into consideration is another big plus.
I would certainly recommend them for a cruise around San Blas.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas K
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic islands, excellent crew”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights on the "Cinco." The experience was great: Fantastic islands with white sanded beach, cristal clear waters and great food (including fresh caught fish directly from the sea). Chad and Lourdes were very friendly, open minded and always there to help They were never obtrusive and therefore it is easy to enjoy the beauty of the islands. The facilities were always clean and both are trying to do everything they can to make a stay as comfortable as possible for their guests. I always felt safe while sailing through the waters, both of them know the area very well and have the sailing skills that are needed.

At any I would recommend a trip with them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aradhana...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sailing Trip”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 3 nights on the Cinco. Although we missed the original ferry to take us out to the Boat, Jaad and Lourdes were very helfpul to make sure an alternative ferry was arranged for us. Once on the boat, Jaad and Lourdes were the perfect host and hostess. I felt confident in Jaad's skill as a captain who know the San Blas Islands, well. The boat is immaculate and well equipped. It was a very comfortable, spacious boat, both inside and out.

We really enjoyed the gourmet meals they made with fresh fish caught during the days' snorkeling adventures. Their company and conversation was entertaining and interesting. Jaad and Lourdes are both well informed guide, very accommodating and relaxed.

I would recommend the Cinco to anyone.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing