We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Rohotu Fare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rohotu Fare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 10 days, and we could not have picked a more beautiful spot to spend our 10th anniversary. The bungalow was romantic, nestled above the lagoon in a beautiful garden of tropical forest. Our view was second to none, we initially considered staying in an over the water bungalow, but we are glad we didn't. Bikes were available, and Nir, the owner would take you anywhere you needed to go. He will also arrange for scuba diving or any other recreation available. We recommend Bora dive center for diving, great people, experienced, professional, and fun.

Room Tip: Ask for the Noa Noa bungalow, best view and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 177 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

When I first read descriptions of Rohotu Fare I found myself both intrigued and wary. I liked the idea of being in an intimate setting,with only three bungalows, perched above the Bora Bora lagoon away from the crowds and confusion so often described in relation to this beautiful island. The moderate price was also appealing, as well as the presence of a full kitchenette including the stove burners which make it possible to prepare a full meal.
My wariness came from some of the descriptions of Rohotu Fare’s sensual themes. The best case scenario was that we would find ourselves someplace magical and unique, the worse was the risk of an over-the-top kitsch style which would evoke a reaction quite opposite to inviting. Despite these hesitations (and our concerns about the lack of air conditioning), we decided to go forward and were delighted to find that there was space available. To our delight we found that Nir, an Israeli expatriate married to a Polynesian woman, has indeed created something magical in his Fare, a place so whimsical and at the same time restful that it weaves a web of beauty and calm. Within its borders one is far away from the stresses of daily life or the alleged Disneyland quality of Bora Bora.
Rohotu Fare is everywhere replenishing and renewing. Erotic art blends in with equally sensuous contrasts of wood and gardens,smooth river stone and rough volcanic rock, boldly colored handmade quilts against soft, rich muted tones of the wood floors. Its sensuality, like that of French Polynesia itself, is an interplay of texture, temperature, angles and curves--and the stars at night are incredible. It is a place well suited not only for romance but for three generations of a family with young children here. These bungalows may be Nir’s second child (his nine year old daughter herself is lovely).
Nir himself could not have been more hospitable, informative and responsive. He drove us to get groceries, suggested where to buy pearls when asked, picked us up at sunset at Matira Point, arrived promptly at 6:45 in the morning to take us to the airport off to our next destination of the quiet island of Le Taha’a. He was warm and available but never intrusive.
We can’t recommend these bungalows more highly and would choose them over the OTW experience in Bora Bora even if we had more money. Perhaps because high season is just now beginning, clearly at least in part as a result of our choice, we did not see the over commercialized crowded Bora Bora which others so often describe.

We do, however, have a wish list:

Building a foot path to make the ascent to the bungalows more baby boomer age friendly and less of a potential liability risk if a guest happens to be a less than physically adroit attorney.

folding chairs for the garden/shower area so there is a shaded place to be on hot sunny afternoons

more powerful ceiling fan (or air conditioning??)

new bicycles

We know these last two wishes are expensive but wanted to include them. Alfei todot, Nir--we hope to someday return to the paradise that you have created.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luca1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Getting to this paradise was a worthwhile adventure. While Rohotu Lodge does not arrange to pick you up at the airport motu (small island) like the traditional all inclusives, we were glad to see the cute truck that took us to the pension location upon disembarking in Vaitape. At the foot of the gravel road up to the pension we were greeted by host and owner Tiare in a four wheel drive jeep with elaborately hand carved wood dashboard and gear shift. This was just the beginning. We walked down the stone cobbled pathway to the bungalow and were entranced by the tikis and statues along the path. On our way to the Rosewood Room we passed the outdoor hammock deck with small borrowers library and a view over the Bora Bora lagoon. The bungalow was simply a wonder. The shower area and bathroom were in a garden of palms and other indigenous plants and the water for the shower came down the hands of a beautiful sculpture of a woman. The kitchen was well appointed with a modern fridge and hot plate. The bedroom had a four poster mosquito netted king bed and led out to a deck with a breathtaking view of the lagoon. The whole bungalow was gorgeous rosewood and teak. Sunsets were indescribably stunning. Tiare was the consummate host and set up pick ups and reservations to restaurants and excursions. She even took us down to buy groceries in Vaitape. We had an amazing two day stay here and would highly recommend this experience over the usual hyped Bora Bora over-priced over-water hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Layoverlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's impossible to over-state the beauty and peacefulness of Rohutu Fare. We had an absolutely wonderful stay and can't thank Nir enough for being such an amazing host. Rohotu is clearly a labour of love: Nir has created an absolutely magical and idyllic escape on the beautiful island of Bora Bora. The lush, tropical gardens, the exquisite craftsmanship in the bungalows, with their stunning sculptures, and the care and attention Nir and his family give to their guests all elevate this experience into something very special.

The bungalows have everything you could possibly need for your stay and there are wonderful touches to make it that bit more personal: fruit from the garden was left in our room, as was a seemingly bottomless cut-glass decanter of local rum. The "inside/outside" bathroom mentioned in many of the reviews is so unique: you can shower beneath the stars under water cascading from the cupped hands of a stone statue.

The views over the lagoon are breathtaking and it is all too tempting to while away lazy afternoons and evenings soaking up the sun and scenery from your balcony or from the comfy hammock at the library area. On the occasions we managed to tear ourselves away from Rohotu, Nir was always on hand to organise excursions or pick-ups to local restaurants or to drive us to the local supermarket. It was also great to have the bicycles available to take a spin around the island.

This really is a hidden gem and we can't wait to return; in the meantime, mauruuru roa to Nir and his family for an absolutely wonderful escape.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bee_Squared10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Rohotu Fare is the combination of all things rare and incredible. Before you arrive at your bungalow, you will be lucky enough to meet Nir, the owner of the property and, in all of our experience, the most accommodating, friendly, unbelievable host that has ever existed. To say that Nir made our entire experience in Bora Bora (both while we stayed at Rohotu Fare and another location) what it was is an understatement. He went out of his way daily for us and assisted us in making our stay absolutely amazing.

As you walk to your open air bungalow, your anticipation will mount as you view all of the other beauty around you. Walking on the cobblestone path through the jungle, passing birds brought in from Namibia, viewing the library that overlooks the water (with a hammock for your use), and seeing the gorgeous Bay below, you can only imagine what your bungalow will look like. And then, when you get to your bungalow, you will be blown away. You walk in to the kitchen area. It is fully stocked with everything you could want to make your stay easier. The bathroom is off to the side. The "tiled" shower floor is surrounded by lush trees and vegetation; it makes you feel like a god / goodess as you shower! The water comes through the hands of a gorgeous and seductive statue and all the while, you hear the birds chirpping. The bedroom, too, is luxurious. The bed is a romantic four poster bed. When you open the double doors to your porch, you can lay in the bed and see glimpses of the beautiful bay. Or, sit outside on your gorgeous teak porch at night while you share a glass of wine and look at the mountains and the water. It really cannot get much better than this.

The location is also ideal. Nir provides you with bicycles so that you can get around the island. It is a 15 minute bike ride to Matira, the most incredible beach that exists. It is also a 15 minute bike ride into town in the event that you want to do a bit of shopping, go to the bank, or purchase groceries. Nir also arranges for a free shuttle to pick you up at Rohotu if and when you wish to go to dinner at night. The location and the help of Nir makes everything easy.

We hesitated to write this review because we want Rohotu to remain our little secret! But, it is too exquisite and too incredible a place for everyone not to visit. You will not be disappointed. If you are looking for a unique experience where relaxation is mandatory, Rohotu is it. You can literally sit in the lounge chair on your porch and listen to the sounds of the island. If you do not know how to enjoy peacefulness and tranquility - to take a break from your cell phone and computer - this is the place to learn how to do it-however, there is wi-fi for email to home. And you will not regret it. There is no better experience and no better host than Rohotu Fare and Nir and we cannot encourage you strongly enough to go there!!

Room Tip: No room is a bad room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenna and Errol... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We absolutely loved staying at the Rohotu fare Lodge. Nir is a very good host. He does everything for his guests. Nir drives you around the island, when you need to do some foodshopping or if you just want to go to the Beach.

You can even pick some delicious
Sappotille fruits directly from the balcony of our room.

And everyday there were waiting tons of Mangoes in our room.

We enjoyed our honeymoon in our unique room and the beautiful botanical garden a lot.

Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dickbratze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Me and my wife spent 7 days in French Polynesia, of which 4 nights were in Bora Bora. Having stayed in Hawaii for over three years, we were no strangers to the welcoming sights of the pacific ocean but the islands of French Polynesia blew us away with its sheer beauty. And so did Rohotu Fare Lodge. We were pleasantly surprised by what greeted us.

We were accommodated in a partial ocean facing thatched roof bungalow - the mesmerizing view of the blue lagoon waters and sunset scene was totally out of this world. It felt awesome. The interior decor was very artistic with a myriad of stone sculptures and wood carvings (we later found out that some of which were done by the Nir, the lodge owner) giving it a rustic ambiance. The surroundings set against a tropical backdrop were so beautiful, we fell in love with the place immediately and my wife wished that she could remain in this paradise forever.

Nir, our host and the owner of the lodge, is extremely friendly and helpful going out of the way to assist us in making our trip the most memorable one we have had to-date.We really enjoyed our stay at his lodge and will definitely return to Rohotu Fare Lodge on our next trip to Bora Bora. We would strongly recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience paradiso.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
1 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
2.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
2.4 mi away
Oa Oa Lodge
Oa Oa Lodge
#1 of 4 in Vaitape
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rohotu Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rohotu Fare

Address: P.O Box 400, 98730, French Polynesia (Formerly Rohotu Fare Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bora Bora
Price Range: $260 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rohotu Fare 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rohotu Fare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rohotu Fare Hotel Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing