We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$2,102
Booking.com
$2,097
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
$2,098
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,949)
Filter reviews
3,949 results
Traveler rating
3,436
324
124
40
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,436
324
124
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arii moana fare hoa tere nui our honeymoon overwater bungalow mountain view fish room service plunge pool marine biologist kids club worth every penny main island sushi golf cart french polynesia heaven on earth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 3,949 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2019

This Resort is truly amazing. It has an excellent location so you are close to the mountain with excellent views. Staff, facilities and activities are very good. The snorkeling over the coral reef is a must. The hotel needs to improve their coffee facilities.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank Getaway20188585287
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
_MJagla_, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Ia Ora na - we appreciate the "amazing" review and are very happy to know that you most enjoyed our staff, facilities, and activities. We hope to welcome you back again one day for an even more memorable experience.
Mauru'uru,
Maria Jagla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

This truly is my happy place. I have come more times than I can count on my hands.

Only a couple things I would suggest:

It would be nice if FS would train their mixologists to make good drinks: it seems they are missing the boat when there is such yummy fruit available.

Please add some OWB categories for sunrise OR sunset views. The Maldives does this and many people either want the sun only in the am (sunrise) or only in the pm (sunset).

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PARKER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
_MJagla_, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Ia Ora na Parker - thank you very much for the fantastic review! We are thrilled to know that your stay with us was "heaven on earth". We also appreciate your feedback and are always working to make things even better. We hope to welcome you back to your happy place one day soon.
Mauru'uru,
Maria Jagla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

We are world travelers (+70 countries) and we are not so easily impressed these days. But we had a wonderful stay at the Four Seasons Bora Bora. First of all, Bora Bora is a piece of heaven on earth. Absolutely beautiful! The colors of the sea are unreal and no photos will do justice to the clarity and beauty of the waters surrounding all of Bora Bora motus.

From the first greeting at the airport, the service personnel was outstanding. They called us by our names after the initial encounter.

Our OWB was perfectly situated for us seniors - not too far out on the pontoon but with a wonderful private plunge pool and best views of the mountain on the main island. The bungalow was huge - 1100 sq ft spread out in three rooms: living room and bedroom separated by a huge open bathroom. The huge soaking tub had large picture windows with that fabulous mountain view (there were also separate huge shower and WC “rooms”). We enjoyed nightly cocktails (bring some liquor) on our large terrace after a swim in the lagoon. The bungalow was very clean and serviced twice daily and had all the amenities needed for a pampered stay.

We ate lunch every day at the Pool bar restaurant, either at tables on the beach or inside roomy and shady cabanas. There were plenty of chaise loungers and cabanas for everyone in the pool areas. The pool service people were the best - so friendly and constantly refreshing us with iced water (the “house” water is filtered so no need to buy water here!). The food was very good and quite reasonable. One just has to look out for racking up huge bills for drinks - cocktails are pricey!

We partook the Polynesian dinner and show here (on Mondays every week) and were quite impressed with the quality of food and the free flowing of wines all evening - Everyone’s wine glass was refilled immediately! You eat family style at tables of ten and it was fun to meet fellow guests from different parts of the uSA and the world. We also ate at the beach bar for their BBQ night - food was okay and very reasonably priced for the buffet. Dessert offerings could be improved.

Daily breakfast at Tera Nui Restaurant was outstanding! The crepes were better than ones I’ve had in France. Plenty of food and beverage choices to satisfy any palate. I also appreciated breakfast opening at 6:30 am for us early risers.

We also used the Fitness Center daily. What better way to work out than with magnificent ocean views? Enough machines and other equipment. One can get rides everywhere by golf carts - especially since the Spa/Fitness Center Complex is on the ocean side of the resort and a bit of a walk from the pontoons.

Do not let talk of construction prevent you from booking at FS - it never bothered us at all. In fact, book for 2019 since the daily credit they are giving due to construction is icing on the cake!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank L8829ZClaurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
_MJagla_, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Ia Ora na - thank you for the "perfect" review! As such avid world travelers, your kind words are particularly wonderful to hear. We are very happy to know hoew much you enjoyed your stay with us, including the service, our staff, your overwater bungalow suite, the food and drink, and the fitness center. Thank you for choosing Four Seasons, and we hope to welcome you back again one day.
Mauru'uru,
Maria Jagla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

To help put this review in perspective, we stay a few times a year at upper scale hotels and resorts around the world both for business and pleasure (e.g. Four Seasons, St. Regis, Ritz-Carlton, etc.).

In May 2019, we split our time in Bora Bora between the St. Regis ("SR") and the Four Seasons ("FS"). We stayed 4 days at the SR and 5 days at the FS.
The purpose of this trip was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.

I will also post a review of the SR on its applicable review page.

Here is the deal. The FS is a FS. It was fine! It was great! If we would have only stayed at the FS (and not divided our time between the SR and FS), I would probably be writing a glowing review of the FS. Instead, I find myself drawing comparisons between the two properties and unfortunately the FS falls a little short in the comparisons.

The Good:
- The mountain views from the beach, bungalow and pool are amazing. The FS wins this category over the SR. The view from the SR is great. It is just that the FS view is better.
- The sand at the FS beach is nice and soft (and it was raked every morning). The sand at the SR is more shelly.
- The beach at the FS is much quieter. The reason being because the water activities at the FS are not located on the beach. They are located near the lobby area. The water activities at the SR are located on the beach and produce quit a bit of noise (wave runners, etc...).
- The spa facilities at FS were nice. The spa facilities at the SR could use an update.
- The beach / pool service at the FS was amazing. This beach / pool service at the SR was good, but the FS beat out the SR in this category.
- The FS provided a complimentary water taxi to and from the main island in the evening every day.
- The FS property is very quiet. The SR has golf carts going all over the place which does lend to some noise.

The Bad (or Things to Improve Upon):
- As I said in the beginning, it's a FS. There wasn't really anything that was bad. Listed below are the items that could use some improvement.
- The FS does not have a general purpose store to buy sunscreen, FS apparel, books, magazines, etc. Every FS that we have ever been to has a store like this. Not in Bora Bora. The FS Bora Bora has a high-end clothing store (with hardly any FS Bora Bora apparel), a high-end Tahitian pearl store, and a high-end Tahitian art gallery.
- The FS food was only average. We ate at every restaurant at both the FS and SR. The food at the SR was amazing!
- There were flies and gnats around the food at breakfast and anytime we ordered food at the beach or the pool. Again, I don't know if I would have thought anything about a few flies and gnats, except there were none around the food at the SR.
- The depth of the water over the first 5 to 8 over-water bungalows from the beach at the FS was only around 3 feet deep. Not nearly enough to jump into the water from the bungalow deck. All of the SR bungalows were in 10+ feet of water.
- The FS room size compared to that of the SR was small. In addition, some of the material on the FS room's furnishings was showing signs of wear.
- The golf cart paths at the FS are only wide enough for 1 golf cart. There were a number of times when golf carts could not get through.
- The FS did not do anything special on our actual anniversary date whereas the St. Regis did do something special on our last night at the St. Regis.

Not Good / Not Bad / Just Information:
- From a landscaping perspective, the properties are very different. The FS is more open with less grass / flowers / trees. The SR is more lush with grass and flowers and trees everywhere.
- No personal butler at the FS.
- The FS only has 1 pool (a family pool). The SR has 2 pools (one family / one adult only).
- 99% of the guests were couples that were either on their honeymoon, anniversary or celebrating something special.
- This is not a resort that I would feel comfortable bringing children of any age. The resort is very quiet. At both the SR and the FS, there were one or two families with small children. In general, they were met with glares and disapproval from most guests.
- The rooms are very close to one another. The rooms at the SR are a little closer together than those of the FS. When laying out on the deck, just be prepared that you can hear every word your next door neighbors are saying if they are on their decks as well.
- The FS property is large just like the SR. The SR provides bicycles; the FS does not. Because of the sheer number of bicycles, SR staff and golf carts, you won't need to walk anywhere at the SR unless you want to you. Because of the narrow pathways and less staff and golf carts, most guests at the FS are walking.
- There are 2 sets of over-water bungalows--North and South. The North side bungalows are closer to everything. They are about a 6-8 minute walk from your bungalow to the breakfast restaurant. The South side bungalows are a bit farther away. They are more like a 10-12 minute walk from your bungalow to the breakfast restaurant.
- French / Tahitian are the native languages. Be prepared to encounter some individuals in Bora Bora with a limited English vocabulary.

In summary, would I recommend the FS? Yes! Would I stay at the FS again? Yes!

If the FS and SR cost the same amount of money per night, which resort would I chose? I would choose the SR.

However, the FS and SR don't cost the same amount of money per night. The SR is approximately $500+ more per night than the FS. So, taking the cost difference into account, which resort would I chose? That is the question! If money isn't an issue, spend the extra $500 per night and stay at the SR. If money is an issue, you have a decision to make.

Room tip: Over-water bungalow on the North Side with a mountain view.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
20  Thank BatBat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
_MJagla_, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Ia Ora na - and thank you for sharing your review here. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are also pleased to share that many positive changes are in the works. From our resort-wide enhancement to new Chef and more, the Resort is only getting better every day. We hope to welcome you back for an even more memorable stay in the future. Thank you again - mauru'uru,
Maria Jagla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

We had an excellent stay. There was several personal touches and all the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Everything from the rooms to restaurants to the gym and spa were in excellent condition.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Four Seasons
Thank Adventure39334193039
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
_MJagla_, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Ia Ora na - and thank you for the "excellent" review! We're pleased to know that you most enjoyed the personal service touches, our staff, your room, and the spa. We hope to welcome you back again one day.
Mauru'uru,
Maria Jagla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews