We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Amazing hotel, rooms and service, everything is awesome. Just wish some of the activities and transfers were cheaper. Buy alcohol at Papeete in the duty free area to save some money on buying drinks at the hotel, it can really add up.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 219 and feel we had the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jpflaum325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Hello and thank you for the lovely review! We’re very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it was an “amazing” experience for you. We also, love your photos and agree that you had an amazing view- thank you again and Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding!! Ready to go back next year !!the service,the view, my wife wants to bring her mother and our son next time acomodation was excelent we loved the suite and the food realy good taste thankyou for all the memories !! Love from mexico!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Hector V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Hello Hector and thank you for the kind review! We’re thrilled you and your wife enjoyed your time with us and that you particularly enjoyed our signature Four Seasons Service, the food, and your suite. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back next year! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights in November at the resort. The overwater villa where we wanted to stay was unavailable and so we got upgraded to another one that we finally liked better. The grounds of the hotel are very neat, superior to other 5 star resorts that we visited on the island.The interior design of the bungalows is refined. Service was courteous at every level. It's a must see for fans of Four Seasons.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Isanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Hello and thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! We’re very happy to hear that you‘re a fan of Four Seasons and that you loved your over-water bungalow, the resort, and our signature Four Seasons Service. We hope to welcome you back again one day & Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this resort for 7 nights in mid-November. We were there for our annual vacation and did a lot of research before choosing where to stay. Although the choices in Bora Bora are limited, I am confident that we made the best choice for this trip.

The property: The property is very well laid-out and large, yet it still felt intimate. The grounds themselves were immaculate, as you would expect from a Four Seasons. We stayed on the west pontoon, which we found was perfect since it allowed you to walk to the main facilities. The facilities themselves are modern but still had a Polynesian design to them. The lagoon sanctuary was a fabulous addition to the property, and we spent every afternoon there. The beach was on the smaller side but is well-maintained and affords enough space for all the guests.

The room: We chose a beach-view overwater bungalow which had a view of both the beach and the small island. The room itself was spacious, modern and kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. We enjoyed having room service on our terrace everyday, which I would highly recommend. Although you can swim off your deck every morning (which I did), there is very little underwater life which is a huge difference between Bora Bora and the Maldives.

The food: The food at the resort was what you can expect for a remote destination. While it was not quite gourmet, and the choices were limited, we still enjoyed it and had no complaints. Certainly the best place to dine was Arii Moana, where the food preparation and presentation felt high-end. On both occasions, the chef even came to our table to discuss our thoughts on the meal. The lunch offering at Tere Nui was limited, but the room service menu had far more options, and as I mentioned above, enjoying your food on your terrace is a great way to spend your trip. We also had a romantic dinner on the beach, which I would highly recommend. Our server was fantastic and we enjoyed eating while watching the sunset behind Mt.Otemanu.

Recreational Activities: As with other Four Seasons destinations, snorkel gear is provided on your arrival and is yours to keep for the duration of your trip. We went on two excursions: the half-day snorkel tour, as well as the semi-private shark and ray tour. Both were fabulous, and I would highly-recommend them. Again, the lagoon sanctuary is the real star, and I commend Four Seasons and Oliver Martin on a job well done. Pretty much every recreational activity you can imagine is available.

The staff: Having visited Four Seasons Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru last year, our expectations were through the roof. While Four Seasons Bora Bora did not deliver to the same level, it was undoubtedly 5-star service. Everyone was friendly and always greeted you with a smile, and every request was always met with the professionalism I have come to expect from a Four Seasons.

I would happily recommend this resort to anyone planning a trip to Bora Bora. If you are wondering if it is worth the extra money, rest assured, it certainly is. While we did not visit other resorts, a few couples we met that were on their honeymoons had, and they consistently remarked that FSBB was the nicest by far. Thank you to every one at the resort for a memorable trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank TylerCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Hello Tyler,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We're thrilled to learn that you and your wife enjoyed your time at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, and particularly enjoyed your over-water bungalow, the water activities, the beauty and romance of Bora Bora. Also, we agree Oliver is fantastic and a joy to have! Thank you again for sharing and we hope to welcome you back again one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Wonderful stay in a Lagoon View Overwater Villa, I would not worry too much about which villa to choose as they are all amazing and where ever you look it is a picture postcard.

Our stay here was simply wonderful and I do not have one single thing to whinge or moan about.

Normal Four Seasons standards and service, book with confidence and come and enjoy the most beautiful lagoon in the world.

Room Tip: Any it is paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank easterisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Hello and thank you for your find words. It’s always a joy to hear that a guest had a wonderful stay with us and we are thrilled you loved your over-water bungalow. Thank you again and we truly hope to welcome you back again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had extremely high expectations based on reviews (and cost) and Four Seasons Bora Bora was nearly everything we imagined it would be. We stayed Nov 12-20, 2013.

We came here for our honeymoon like so many others and just wanted everything to go smoothly. There were a few minor bumps along the way, so I'll start with those:
1) Really a minor issue, but still frustrating. Room was not ready until 3pm exactly even though we were told it would be ready early. We arrived at 11am and since we were told it would be ready shortly, we just kind of sat around waiting. If we knew it would be the full 4 hours, we would've put on our swimsuits and kicked back.
2) Food: overall it was disappointing. Almost everything we ordered arrived cold or cool. Breakfast buffet items were not kept warm properly or were not fresh. Selection did not change much over the course of the week. Everything from room service arrived cold. The food at the sushi restaurant was extremely slow to arrive.
3) Bugs in our room. There were giant cockroaches in our room multiple times, so large my husband had to put on gym shoes just to kill them. And then when you kill them, they smell horrible. Creeps me out and I don't sleep well knowing there are bugs crawling around. There was a large gap between the floor and our sliding glass door in the living room and this is likely where they came in. We told management twice but nothing was done to resolve the issue or fix the gap.
4) The dinner shuttle into town costs roughly $80/couple round trip. So before you even get to your dinner restaurant, you've dropped $80. Dinner itself will run you at least $175, then tack on the $80 to that. This price seems excessive for a transfer to the main island. They do this so you'll eat at their restaurants instead. It's disappointing.

The good: EVERYTHING else!
Pickup from the airport was in a sleek boat with only one other couple aboard. Ride is quick and comfortable.

Pool and beach area are kept extremely clean, chair covers are changed immediately when someone gets up. Towels, water and sunblock always readily available. No fighting for chairs or umbrellas or space in the pool. Wish there was a hot tub, though!

The location is unbeatable. We had OWB 122 with amazing views of the lagoon. The colors here are indescribable. It was surreal.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and somehow always knew your name and preferences. The water sports staff is exceptional in this regard.

The bungalows are very nice and well kept (though usually smelled a bit musty). They are luxurious and comfortable with a huge deck, chairs, snorkel gear, swim platform, and outdoor shower head for rinsing off salt water. We spent a good chunk of our time swimming off our deck rather than going to the beach. There are currents at times but nothing dangerous if you're a decent swimmer. Just don't close your eyes while you float on your raft or you may drift away .

Water sports are free, which is awesome. Kayaks, paddle boards, snorkeling. So fun to putz around the lagoon, though the wind was quite strong at times making it difficult.

Spa was very nice. We did a couples massage and just relaxed to the sound of the waves from the open Pacific crashing in.

I could go on and on. There is room for improvement, which is frustrating when you pay so much, but overall the experience was wonderful and magical and even a bit surreal. I would return in a heartbeat. I don't think I would even try another resort.

BTW, you and everyone else are on your honeymoon, so don't expect an upgrade.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west pontoon are MUCH more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emkn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback on your experience with Four Seasons. We're most happy to hear that you particularly enjoyed the arrival experience, your over-water bungalow, the complimentary services, amenities and activities, our staff, and of course the beautiful lagoon! We also appreciate your feedback, which we will use to help better the experience here. Thanks again - and we look forward to your return ;)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We definetly needed to write this review because we were so excited to get to Bora Bora and staying at this hotel. We were expecting a better quality in many things such as service, food, and rooms. Since we travelled for a month before arriving here we also had the opportunity to stay at other Four Seasons during this same trip and this was not at all as good the other ones.

At our arrival they came and pick us up in the little gondola just because we were the last couple to arrive at the hotel during that day, and we were only 2 persons. As we waited for the staff to pick up our luggage from the airport we saw the other hotels boats and ours was the worse compared with the St. Regis (who also just had a couple inside) just to mention one.

As we were approaching the hotel they kindly made the check-in in our room, but we were disappointed to find out that we were not getting an upgrade even though we had booked through our Virtuoso Travel Agent and were specifically told we were honeymooners. Anyway the room had great views and was very big but almost the last in the lagoon, which meant we had to walk for more than 20 min each time we needed to go for anything in the resort, lunch, breakfast, bars or the pool and beach...

Then as if this wasnt enough the room was never cleaned up properly since we had 2 very unfortunate incidents during our first and last days of our stay and never got changed to another room...

We were hanging out in our sofa at the tv room and a ROACH was walking inside our room floors, we immediately called the front desk and didnt seemed surprised at all, but we had to call 3 times before somebody came to our room and do something about it. Instead since 30 minutes passed my husband had to kill it. After this a Housekeeping lady came and just cleaned the mess up and told us the room was going to be cleaned very throughly after this incident. Which we happened to see later cause we were hanging out in our deck and a cleaning guy came to sweep the floors but we were surprised to see he just threw away the dust and garbage to the ocean instead of taking it away or something.

Nobody called to apologize about the incident and the last day just before we took a shower, there was another one below the shower's rug but again we called 3-4 times to the Front Desk and Housekeeping and nobody came to the room I had to take pictures of it to show them in Front Desk when we left and made our check out and at least they took off some room charges (200 dlls aprox) which was nothing compared to what we spent in this hotel.

Anyway they tried to make up at the end, and since we didnt get time to eat lunch before we left to the airport they sent us some sandwiches and salads to us on the next gondola. But it was definitely not worth what we payed for this resort and not what we were expecting from this beautiful place at all.

Very disappointed from this trip to Bora Bora, the island is beautiful but make sure to choose a good hotel, which I dont know which other options are they since this is supposed to be the best one in here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
18  Thank jdavilaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here. We're very sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay - there are aspects of your visit that are uncharacteristic with what to be expect. We do appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences in an effort to improve the guest experience. Our Executive Office is reaching out to you directly, with the greatest concern for your comments. We strive to provide excellence, and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again – thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
4.5 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,663 reviews
5.1 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
4.4 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#5 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora

Address: Motu Tehotu BP 547, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $1,175 - $2,804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora is a South Pacific paradise, combining the highest standards of service with ultramodern comforts and the natural ease and gracious hospitality of the Polynesian culture. Set upon Bora Bora's surrounding coral atoll, the Resort is a vast tropical grove, replete with coconut palms and pandanus trees. Meandering channels of pure turquoise lead to the main beach or to smaller lagoons, waiting to be discovered. Every vista is breathtaking. The Resort offers 100 overwater bungalow suites and seven beachfront villa estates, all designed with thatched roofs and decorated with indigenous artwork. Four restaurants offer a vast selection of creative culinary experiences, while the full-service spa is balanced by the powerful rhythms of the Pacific Ocean and the tranquility of the island's lagoon - offering an unmatched combination of relaxation and exhilaration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
4 Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Four Seasons Bora
Four Seasons Hotel Bora
Bora Bora Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing