We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Truly Superb Place To Be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Truly Superb Place To Be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

As a traveler, sun worshipper, and someone who's been dying to stay in an overwater bungalow for more than 20 years, the Four Seasons Bora Bora was truly a superb place to be. (Apologies that this review is so late in coming, as we stayed here right when the resort opened.)

Offering more than 100 overwater bungalows and on-land villas (when we traveled there in Oct 2008), the Four Seasons Bora Bora is simply a magnificent resort. My wife and I were fortunate to have grandma watch our children so we could visit this oasis “kid-free,” but that’s not to say that the resort isn’t kid friendly. It is, but if you can get away without the little ones, this place becomes even more enchanting.

After our lengthy journey from Los Angeles, we were picked up at the airport by the Four Seasons’ yacht and brought to the resort. A quick check-in ensued and we were given the keys to our private overwater bungalow which rested on stilts above the blue lagoon only two bungalows from the end of the pier.

The jaw-dropping beauty astounded me as we walked out onto the pier towards our floating oasis. Even though I had only been at the resort for a half hour, I realized that I may never see anything as beautiful on earth as this place. I began thinking that it was going to be difficult to translate into words how incredible the resort looked and what I was feeling.

My wife and I entered our perfectly manicured 1,500 square-foot bungalow and the race was on to see who could grab his/her cell phone quicker to start snapping pictures of the window on the floor that provided a perfect view of the water under our bungalow, the ultra plush king bed that looked out into our private balcony, the Jacuzzi tub in the center of the bathroom, the his and hers tile sinks, the rain shower, or the private dock where we could take a plunge into our own private section of the ocean.

Lounge chairs, ideal for tanning, and a dining set adorned the patio, making dining during breakfast a sensory experience. The food and service was spectacular and every plate, cup, and piece of silverware was polished and clean.

During our trip, we discovered four impressive ocean-view dining venues, ranging from informal to fine dining, each gratifying the appetite and engaging the senses. We sampled the delicious breakfast buffet at the Tere Nui restaurant overlooking the pool, beach and the amazing Mount Otemanu. The buffet included personalized omelet stations, fresh fruits, and baked goods. This tropical, open-air restaurant also offered themed dinners and BBQ’s throughout the week.

Most of our dinners took place at the Sunset Restaurant and bar where we enjoyed the magnificent colors of the setting sun over the lagoon while sipping on mojitos. There was a nice selection of entrees, and if you’re a fish-eater, you’ll definitely like dining at this restaurant. One night, we ventured into town for dinner at the world famous Bloody Marys Restaurant. This was the only part of the trip that scored a “Pale” rating for us. The food was average. The atmosphere was average, and it was a bit overrated. You get to pick your fresh entree from a “cart” filled with meat and fish, and even though that was a little unique, the food was not great.

No matter where you dine at the resort at night, you will have a leisurely stroll back to your bungalow or villa, and unlike Los Angeles where walking is a rarity and sometimes a chore, the walk back “home” was peaceful and quiet.

The Four Seasons Resort has a main pool, a child’s pool, and its own private stretch of lagoon where plush chaise lounges, love seats and umbrellas are set for daily use. We always dragged our lounges down toward the lagoon and placed 1-2 feet of the lounge chair into the water. It gets very hot in Bora Bora and even a sun worshipper like me perspired and needed the coolness of the water and the slight breeze to withstand 5-6 hours of tanning. For those that need a break from the sun or opt to be under cover during the day, there are complimentary cabanas and some shade trees that can keep your lounge chair out of the sun for a few hours.

Though I play sports, I didn’t expect my trip to Bora Bora to be very activity driven. But even I get tired of laying in the sun for seven days. My wife and I used the resort’s kayaks and rowed all around the “fingers” (the bungalows that protrude from the piers) of the resort. Even though the resort offers snorkeling equipment, we dragged along our own snorkels and fins and swam in the lagoon day after day. We went on a 2-3 hour shark and bat ray feeding, and the photo of my wife with a small shark within inches of her ankle impressed every friend and relative who saw the pictures I took as I stood safely away from her and her 2 1/2 foot version of Jaws.

One late afternoon, my wife had a 60 minute spa treatment and massage, while I utilized the gym. She gave the spa a top rating, while I gave the gym a similar rating, even though I was looking forward to taking a break from my four day a week work out regiment. The staff at the spa was extraordinarily nice, and the front desk personnel, assistant managers, and general manager were all courteous, friendly, and eager to please.

Overall, the Four Seasons Bora Bora is the best resort I’ve stepped foot in. If you’re looking for the getaway of all getaways, this is it. The resort is constantly offering specials, so if you can find a deal when you’re looking to travel, it just may be a “Golden” opportunity to start making plans for the vacation of a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mkgarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are very excited you enjoyed your stay so much that you still remember so many details. It sounds like you did it all- we’re thrilled you enjoyed your overwater bungalow, the spa, food, activities and our signature Four Seasons service. Thank you again for this review – we truly hope to welcome you back one day…soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,259
    215
    64
    19
    14
See reviews for
374
1,871
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our stay at Four Seasons Bora Bora was just stunning. From the pick up in the boat from the airport to the rooms to the choice of food and eating places. We stayed in an overwater bungalow lagoon view which was just beautiful. One of the highlights of all was the boat trip with snorkelling with the sharks and rays from the resort. One of the best things I have ever done in my life. Service was incredible and always greeted by name. Nothing was too much trouble. Only thing we are in our 50s and was far older than the honeymooners all around us. Thanks Four Seasons Bora Bora for making our 36 wedding anniversary a memorable one.

Room Tip: All rooms no matter where seem to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klaebart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for the kind review, even more important thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us! We’re happy you were delighted with your overwater bungalow, food, and shark and ray excursion. Thank you again- we hope to welcome you back one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Four Season on Bora Bora, what more could you ask for. This is a world class resort on an incredibly exotic island, so be prepared to spend some money. But it is absolutely worth it. The staff, the rooms and the location are absolutely top notch. They will take care of everything you need. Even the gym was beautifully equipped with a killer view. You need to add this destination to your "bucket list".

Room Tip: Book early and take advantage of their specials. This resort operates at a 94% capacity and when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for your great review! We are ecstatic you enjoyed your vacation with us and in particular the gym, staff, resort and exotic Island. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The setting and the property are out of this world. Picture postcard views supported with excellent over-water villas which were maintained to an extremely high quality. Possibly one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in. In addition the amenities at the hotel are to a very high standard - in particular the snorkeling and swimming lagoons are excellent and provide an ideal opportunity for guests to experience sea life up close and with minimal effort. The fitness facilities are also to a high standard.

Having stayed at Four Seasons resorts previously we were somewhat disappointed by the inconsistency of the service and the lack of dining options - particularly given the size of the resort. The food was to a good standard but expensive - when combined with minimal choice and inconsistent service this can become frustrating if you are staying for a prolonged period of time. The well documented personal service from Four Seasons and the ability of the staff to remember guests names and preferences was lacking at this resort. To an extent this may be due to its size. However this does lead to another issue - the resort is relatively large which means you don't really get the feel of a remote or isolated beach/island.

Certainly worth the visit for location, stunning views and excellent amenities - however the service does require attention and this should be driven from the resort general manager but did not appear to be the case.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a resort view to allow some beach/ocean time from your villa rather than the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello - and thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We're certainly happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation and found Four Seasons to be beautiful and one of the best rooms you ever stayed in. We also appreciate your feedback on the service issues you encountered during your stay. This is very important to us, and we'd love the opportunity to speak with you about this directly. Would you please send your contact information to our Resort Manager at Christophe.Chabaud@fourseasons.com? We strive to provide excellence, and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again –Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This resort is absolutely unique from the pick up at the airport with a fantastic and extremely stylish blue boat. The rooms on the Bora Bora lagoon are the most beautiful hotel rooms I've ever seen. They are huge suites furnished in the most elegant possible way. As everywhere in Polynesia, the beaches are "human made" and they are not particularly big but it is still an amazing vacation. The internet connection is great (real broadband and really pervasive in the entire resort) but it's disappointing to see that it's not included in the price of the room but you have to pay an additional fee per day for it. There are plenty of activities to do the the concierge can book. It's a great place for an honeymoon or anyway for a vacation for couples. There are essentially only couples on their honeymoon or to celebrate anniversaries. It's not the right place for singles. The only disappointment of this hotel is related to the food. It's clearly extremely expensive (as expected) but the quality is not to the level I expected for this kind of resort. Really average (and therefore overpriced). Given the location I don't complain about price but I expect outstanding quality and service. Just an example: the wine menu didn't even show the vintage of the bottles offered and I had to ask to the waiter (who was able to find out after a few minutes). Overall it is an amazing place to go.

Room Tip: Pick the cheapest one, there is no real different from one room to the other unless to want to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 116Umbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello, and thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay here! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular the beautiful surroundings, unique pick up, internet, accommodations and staff. We also appreciate your feedback on the food and wine menu. We hope to welcome you back to paradise again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Bora Bora is beautiful, but the Four Seasons Resort is paradise on earth, an experience beyond belief...
This is the number 1 hotel on the planet...what makes it special is the service..staff make so much effort to make your your stay unforgettable, and they really succeed!

Room Tip: Bungalows on water ensure extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AugustoZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your experience here. We are so proud of our team and the job they do to make every guest feel special and it will be my pleasure to share this with them. We hope to welcome you back to paradise one day- thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We chose to come here for our Honeymoon and it was amazing! We booked our trip through Tahitian Vacations with Melissa Pomeroy. She was very knowledgeable and had visited most the resorts which made it very helpful for us to make our decision on the Four Seasons. We were taken care of 100% from the moment we touched down at the airport to the moment we took off to come home.

Everything was breathtaking, from the Island itself to the resort to the staff, it was all amazing! Not one complaint what so ever. The resort however, didn't carry a specific kind of Rum that my husband drank so our travel agent Melissa arranged that they had some on hand for our stay. Very thoughtful. It really was an experience of a lifetime! Perfect honeymoon destination!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceBora, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello Lacey and thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled your honeymoon was “amazing” and “breathtaking” and that you particularly enjoyed the staff and resort. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
4.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
3.7 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora

Property: Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Address: Motu Tehotu BP 547, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora is a South Pacific paradise, combining the highest standards of service with ultramodern comforts and the natural ease and gracious hospitality of the Polynesian culture. Set upon Bora Bora's surrounding coral atoll, the Resort is a vast tropical grove, replete with coconut palms and pandanus trees. Meandering channels of pure turquoise lead to the main beach or to smaller lagoons, waiting to be discovered. Every vista is breathtaking. The Resort offers 100 overwater bungalow suites and seven beachfront villa estates, all designed with thatched roofs and decorated with indigenous artwork. Four restaurants offer a vast selection of creative culinary experiences, while the full-service spa is balanced by the powerful rhythms of the Pacific Ocean and the tranquility of the island's lagoon - offering an unmatched combination of relaxation and exhilaration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Four Seasons Bora
Four Seasons Hotel Bora
Bora Bora Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing