We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utter Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Utter Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

There are no words for the beauty of Bora Bora and specifically the St. Regis. My husband and I had an amazing time - the overwater bungalow was ENORMOUS and filled with amenities. I recommend booking a bungalow facing the mountain - the view is stunning. It can be a long walk from the main hotel to the bungalows, depending where you stay, but there are golf carts waiting to drive you to your room.

The lagoonarium is ah-mazing - very cool to hang out with a ton of fish and not worry about currents.

The spa was lovely - though it's best part is its lawn looking out onto the mountain.

A couple of the restaurants (the sushi & Italian restaurants) were the only things that aren't as 5 star as I thought they could be - but living in LA I'm very sushi-spoiled. The breakfast buffet is pretty spectacular though, and the views are amazing. Lagoon was GREAT - we had a delicious decadent meal on the patio looking at the MOST beautiful sunset in the world. We had a waiter, Stephanie, that was particularly accommodating and wonderful.

The butlers are on top of everything and able to make any adjustments to anything. That service was great.

Really, you can't go wrong. Unless you hate relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask to face the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
35 Thank jdoubleyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisBoraBora, Sales Coordinator at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Ia Orana jdoubleyou, Greetings from Bora Bora !

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time write a review about your recent experience !
Trip advisor comments are a great tool for us to learn more about the areas our real guest think we need to improve. Based on your feedback, we will certainly make sure that our Japanese and Italian delicacies remain at their best - even though both restaurants are positioned respectively as Smart Casual and Home Style Cuisine, rather than gastronomic.
We are really happy that you enjoyed the lagoonarium this much and we will extend your nice feedback to Stephanie and our Butlers team !

Meanwhile, take care of you, until we have the opportunity to welcome and serve you again !

Regards

The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,665
    193
    68
    39
    20
See reviews for
187
1,545
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

As you can see I was not impressed here. If it was $250 per night it might have got a higher rating, but this place is almost $1000.

So the good points
Equipment for water sports is great - however, gym is poor with no running machine (just not suitable to run outside here as no tracks and raids etc.
Free water and sun cream at shore side.
Lovely room.
Lovely bathroom - but no moisturising cream in bathroom.
Tea making facilities - but v small cups.
Coffee making machine
Lagoon to look at fish when snorkelling
Our butler was great - but others said their's were terrible and did nothing.
Food generally OK, but they got so much wrong. How can they say the pizza has procuitto, but in fact they just use ordinary ham - just not the same.
Staff generally friendly - BUT most of the time you just felt they were selling things.

Downsides
The staff just feel like they are selling
No moisturising/cream in bathroom.
They forgot to refresh bathroom toiletries more than once
Food is very expensive as is drink.
In some areas the building look run down.
They have a pool table, but no tips to the cue - so no pool. They said that they had run out many weeks before
Had to pay for internet in the room - in a room of $1000 pn.
They tried to charge us for meals we did not have
They tried to charge us for trips we did not make
St regis might be a good name - but this is no developed world 5 star
Fruit ften ran out at breakfast and they were slow to refill.
We had tea out of tea pots which had 12 big chips in them. 5 star hotel - really

In all, for $200 I would have said fine. But for $1000 it just is not good enough. I have travelled much and there are much better hotels also in good locations far far better than this place.

A huge disappointment

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
34 Thank DavidGHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisBoraBora, Sales Coordinator at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear DavidGHooper, Ia Orana !

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. However, you feedback will allow us to work on improving the quality of our service, cleanliness of our grounds, friendliness of our associates and all the others areas you have mentioned in your post.

We hope to be able to prove you how much a valued guest you represent for us, hopefully, should you visit Bora Bora again.

Kind Regards,

The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I booked our Bora Bora vacation through Pacific for Less. We arrived at the resort at 8am, we aren't morning people but for the price you pay to stay at this resort i thought it made sense to arrive early and leave late. The atmosphere was oozing romance and by the time we arrived at our overwater bungalow, I was near tears. We take at least 5 full vacations a year BUT I had NEVER seen such beauty. Our bungalow was 214 I believe, a Deluxe Over Water Bungalow, with stunning view of the mountain and amazing sunsets. Places don't always live up to expectations but St Regis Bora Bora was faaaaar more beautiful, romantic and peaceful than we could have ever imagined. The staff greeted us everywhere we went by our last names. I still wonder how on earth they all knew our name. The food is $$$$ but worth every penny. If you're there for a week be prepared to spend over $2k on meals alone. The average price of an entree was $70. If your'e looking for an economical vacation this isn't for you but if you're looking to experience that once in a lifetime, heaven on earth vacation, trust me this is unbeatable. We met several couples who stayed at other resorts and visited ours just for a day. They all wished they had made the financial sacrifice and stayed there for their entire trip. Our package came with a romantic candlelight dinner for two on a private inlet but we requested it on our deck instead. This isn't something they'd normally do as its quite awkward delivering our different courses but they gladly accommodated our request and again exceeded all expectations by decorating our table and the deck itself with rose petals, again I was sooo touched. It certainly helped that we were always super pleasant, courteous and appreciative of the staff and they were always eager to make our trip even more memorable. This was supposed to be a once in a lifetime trip but my husband and I plan to return for my 40th in 3 years. ***** Note a friend of mine visited in low season in January and it rained all week. Its much much cheaper at that time of the year BUT don't risk your experience by focusing on cheap season, its less expensive for a reason. We travelled there in July.

Room Tip: A Deluxe Over Water Bungalow with mountain view at the furthest point from land is by far the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JoselleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

The St Regis Bora Bora is truly as close to Heaven as you will get on this Earth. We stayed at this proprety for 10 days in July 2013 for our Honeymoon, and had to keep pinching ourselves to make sure we are nto dreaming. The scenary is absolutely surrea! No only is it gorgeous, but oh so serene! We are both quite picky about hotels, but the St Regis was simply the best hotel we've ever stayed at!

We booked our package with Claudia from Pacific for Less - she is the best! We did quite a bit of research but her prices were just unbeatable, and she threw a few extra freebies in there - breakfast included, a shark and stingray tour, and a dinner at the Lagoon restaurant on the property, and a couples massage at the Miri Miri Spa. Bora Bora is not cheap, so these freebies add up to quite a bit, so we were quite happy with Claudia's offerings!

Property:
The property is stunning, I cannot say it enough! It is quite big, but the hotel gives you bicycles to ride around on, or will pick you up in a golf cart. The beach is just breathtaking, with the clearest water I've ever seen. You can take out a canoe or a paddle boat and ride around the property. We even saw a stingray floating right by us on the beach one day. And there are no towel cards (huge pet peeve!). The best part is the Lagoonariium on the property. Its filled with all sorts of fish adn was one of the best snorkelling we've done, without even leaving the property! The hotel will provide you with snorkelling gear which you can keep for your entire stay, and we even used it for a tour we took. The hotel offers a shuttle boat to the main island twice a day (free), in the morning and in the evening. We used the evening one to get us to dinner on the island, and the morning to stock up on a few things from the grocery store. FYI, drinks are extremely expensive on the resort, so its a good idea to buy several bottles of wine (or other preferred alcohol) and snacks at the store on the main island.

Food:
The breakfast was fabulous. Its not the huge buffets that we are used to in North America, but everything was incredble quality. There is a general buffet and items made to order from the waiter. Lots of pastires, eggs, waffles, smoked salmon, cheese, meats and some salad is the offering. We loved that the entire restaurant faces the ocean, and there are no walls, so you get to enjoy the fresh air. The nice thing about breakfast is that you can ask for a takeout box and fill up on a few snacks for the afternoon, which is a nice touch. Just make sure you ask for it! We also ate at the Lagoon restaurant one night. The restaurant is set up on the deck so you are sitting on the water. I can't comment too much about other items because we both had the lamb and it was cooked to perfection. We also tried the sushi place on site and it was really amazing as well! The rolls were so fresh and quite big, so don't over order.

Accomodations:
We stayed in an overwater bungalow and it such an incredible experience. The bungalow is huge and there are views from almost all points. The bonus of the St. Regis (compared to other hotels) is the huge deck. In fact its a double deck, with lounge chairs, a table and another deck on a lower level closer to the water. We felt completely secluded and spent more of our afternoons there, after a morning on the beach. On our last day, we were given a beach front bungalow for the day, and we were surprised by how much we loved this option as well. That bungalow comes with a small pool, and your own private beach with a hammock.

We couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon, because this place was just a dream come true! I cannot wait to go back there and will definitely choose the St. Regis! Yes, Bora Bora is not cheap, but if you are going to go there, splurge out and enjoy this paradise! For pictures and more of my review, visit my blog at http://traveladdictions.wordpress.com/2013/09/27/bora-bora-was-made-for-honeymooning/

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AP3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hi, I just came back from my Honeymoon at the St. Regis. I had read many other reviews when planning my trip and deciding which resort to stay at. After much reviewing i chose to stay at the St. Regis. I'm not sure where some of those bad reviews came from, but I thought this place was excellent.

I looked at the reviews to try to piece together details and get answers to the questions I had. So in my review I will give thorough information about this place for others planning a trip here.

Airport/flight
Air Tahiti planes had personal entertainment and gave two meals on the flight.
When you land in Tahiti, they meet you outside the arrivals. There are boards with peoples names on them (if you booked through and agency). I booked through Pacific for Less and they gave a great deal.
You have to take a smaller flight from Tahiti to Bora Bora. Sit on the left hand side of the plane to see a view of the island as you fly in and land. Once you land, they pick you up and your luggage and check you in to the resort on the boat ride. They have water on the boat so no need to buy any.

Language
You can get around with English no problem. French is the main language.

Arrival
When you arrive, they great you by name with drinks and give you a tour of the resort. Then they drop you off at your room.

The Room
I stayed in the premium overwater bungalow. The room is huge! the bath is very large. There is a rain water shower and a large bath that can fit two. The bed is very large and firm. There is A/C and ceiling fans. Two TV's Flat screens with HDMI input only. There is a surround sound Bose stereo in the bed room connected to the DVD player with a 3.5mm audio jack for your ipod or cell phone. The DVD selection is very dated, so if you want to watch movies in the evening, bring your own DVD's or laptop with movies on it. There isn't much going on at night so after dinner you will likely be back at the room. They play Couples Retreat on a loop on one of the TV channels. The rooms are exactly what you see in the movie. There are ice machines around the bungalows, the butler service will also bring you ice. There is a little room in the fridge for you to put stuff in. For $30 they will empty the fridge for you. For power, there are free outlets inside and outside on the deck. You can get a 240->120v converter at the front desk.
Make sure to get a bungalow facing the island, you can see the sunset and have a spectacular view!

Restaurants
There are four restaurants at the resort, Italian, Sushi, French and another. Make reservations on the first day with he concierge. Depending on when you visit, it could be busy. Book a table on the deck of the Lagoon restaurant for a dinner outside while watching the sunset. The restaurant isn't open every day. The cost for dinner will likely be $150-400 US depending on how much you drink. The resort restaurants give you a small appetizer and desert as part of the meal which is nice. The bar gives you a small snack also with any drink you order. We had a free dinner at the resort. What they do is take the least expensive meal and subtract it from your bill (even if you didn't have three courses (which is states on the coupon)). The staff work at all the restaurants and try hard to remember your name. They were all very nice and pleasant.
The concierge will also book restaurants on the island for you. They will shuttle you to the island and a taxi or shuttle will pick you up and bring you back to the dock where the boat picks you up and takes you back to the resort. Bloody Marys, La Villa Mahana, and St James are great. La Villa Mahana is the most expensive. St. James is great place to enjoy the sunset. Bloody Mary's and St. James are around 150 for two with a couple of beers.
Breakfast buffet is good and they give you either Mamosa's or Blood Mary's. They have a good selection of food. We had breakfast included in our package.

Activities
There are free paddle boards, wind surfing, kayaks, peddle boats, and snorkeling at the resort. The beach staff are great. They bring you cold water and towels. They also will order food for you. There are Jetski's, but they aren't free. They take you for a tour around the island. Some we spoke to said it was fun and other got tired as it lasts about 2.5 hours and you just follow the guide.
We did a swimming with the sharks snorkeling tour that was awesome. Swimming with 15' sharks!
The spa has a sauna, steam room and unheated jacuzzi free for guests. The only downside is that they are segregated.
Around the spa is great snorkeling with tons of tropical fish!

There is a book with activities that the concierge can book for you. Just call them up. They are very helpful.

Getting around the resort
You can call butler service to pick you up. expect to wait 5-15 minutes for them to come. You Can also grab bikes at the beach to get you around, but they pick them up at 5pm.
It says you have a private butler, but it isn't what you might think. It is a service, you call them and they can do stuff for you.
Make sure to bring bug spray, the bugs are there and they bite! We got several bites each. When you are walking, if one of the butlers see;s you, the will stop and ask if you'd like a ride, which was very nice.

Going to the island
There are two shuttles a day to the island, they drop you off and drive you to the main town. You also get picked up after about 2 hours. There are several ATM's you can get cash at, a super market where you can pick up snacks and beer ($2-3 a can). Beer at the resorts is about $8-11. All the restaurants we went to took credit card, so you don't really need cash.
Also - every night they give you two bottle of waters and can of cookies as part of the turn down service.

Leaving
Check out is at 12, and they can extend it till 3PM for about $300 US. They will hold your bags for you at the front desk. You can go to the spa to take a shower before you leave since you won't have access to your room. They have razors, tooth brushes, combs, etc in the spa locker room.

Overall, Bora Bora is great and so is the St. Regis!

Room Tip: Get a room in the 100's or 200's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Javy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The St Regis Bora Bora Resort is the what dreams are made of. It was perfect. Everything you see in the magazines... is what you get. You can sit for hours and stare at the landscape. The water has a thousand shades of blue. The service was amazing. The food was amazing. The over the water bungalow were beyond what we were expecting. I can’t even begin to describe for you all what this place is like, you just have to come and experience it.

Room Tip: we stayed on a over water bungalow on the lagoon side.....LOVE IT !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odalys1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

This place is amazing. My husband and I will be back. The staff is very friendly. One server Matthias was so thoughtful. We so enjoyed butlers Constatine and Pierre. We had one issue but the manager Sebastian quickly resolved it and went above and beyond. Because of him we will be back. The lagoon
rest was our favorite and the breakfast was fantastic. Drinks and food a bit pricey. Do meal plan. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
4.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
3.9 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Address: Motu Ome'e, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive St. Regis Bora Bora is 44-acre island resort located in Polynesian paradise. Our elite accommodation features the 13,000 sq ft Miri Miri spa and Lagoon Restaurant by Jean Georges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
St Regis Hotel Bora
St Regis Bora Bora
St Regis Resort Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing