We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I went for our honeymoon in Dec 13 and booked via Tahiti Travel Planners. Samantha from TTP was very helpful in answering any of our questions and they the made the booking experience very easy. I recommend them for making your travel arrangements.

The overwater villas are beautiful. The property itself is huge and they offer bikes to get around. The bikes aren't in the best conditions due to the salt water environment, but they definitely helped get from place to place with no problem. If you don't want to bike, they also offer complimentary golf cart shuttles. Food in at the resort, although ridiculously expensive but expected in Bora Bora, was very good. Lagoon Restaurant was our favorite. But they were all pretty good except for breakfast. Breakfast was pretty bad, same selection every morning and not much of a selection. If we didn't have breakfast included, we would never have paid for it and probably have skipped breakfast and had a brunch.

Overall, the hotel, room, ambiance, staff were all top notch. If you can swallow the cost, I would recommend this as great honeymoon destination.

Tips on excursions: if you book directly via the vendor, you will pay less. I believe the hotel gets a certain percentage of each booking, I guess the price you pay for convenience.

I recommend doing the pure snorkeling, top dive scuba diving and parasailing. All awesome excursions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boi222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,736
    206
    69
    38
    20
See reviews for
201
1,601
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

To begin, if you are considering going to Tahiti, do yourself a favor and work with Pacific for Less to make all of your arrangements. They are far more than a travel agency. They have inside sources and contacts that will get you perks that you cannot get booking things yourself. We got a free snorkeling excursion through them that was the absolute highlight of our trip. But that's only one of the many great things we experienced working with them. We had many special requests, changed our dates, changed our flights, etc. and they fixed everything. Thanks Jennifer!

The St. Regis is incredible. It is not perfect, but you will not find a finer property in Bora Bora, especially if you are on a romantic couples vacation as opposed to a family trip where other properties may be more appropriate. There are occasional lapses in service. My butler was basically worthless throughout our stay. We had a bad experience one night at Lagoon (which was rectified the next day). The internet was a little sketchy. But look at where you're at! This resort is on the motu, not even the island. It's in the middle of the South Pacific. It is staffed by a combination of mostly French and native islanders. This is not downtown New York, Sydney, or Hong Kong. Expecting the same facilities, service, amenities, or conveniences on a tiny land mass in the middle of a huge ocean is not fair. They have what I believe are the largest OW villas in Bora Bora. The mountain view villas have better views of Otemanu than the Four Seasons. The service is fantastic. The French staff are very formal and helpful most of the time, though sometimes things are lost in translation when speaking English (certainly acceptable). The Tahitian staff, especially at the beach, are awesome. They keep the drinks flowing and are always available to assist with beach activities. The concierges are extremely helpful. The wedding staff was top notch with arrangements for our vow renewal, including clearing the use of paddleboards for a photo op after our ceremony with the resident marine biologist which has never been done there. The spa staff was great as well. The restaurants all served excellent food. That includes the breakfast buffet, which most people get complimentary with their villa. It's basically the same every day, but there's made to order eggs, omelets, benedicts, crepes, and waffles. There's certainly enough variety to keep it interesting every day, and it's great not having to sign for an expensive meal sometimes. The lunch at the bar and by the pool was great too. It was actually reasonable for what you got. The pizzas and the Parisian sandwich were large enough for two to share and I'm a very big eater. They routinely brought a double order of fries with a sandwich order that we shared. And don't forget that you can eat on the main island with the convenient nightly shuttles. Bloody Mary's and St. James are worth the trip. Le Villa Mahana will change your life. I also recommend going into town to pick up some wine and appetizers including the fresh baguettes which are only 60 cents apiece. You can have a nice little picnic at the Oasis pool.

So do yourself a favor. Contact Pacific for Less and book the trip. By the time you leave you will be planning your next trip like we are.

Room Tip: Deluxe overwater villa - best views are in 220-227
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ctsurgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I are just ending our ten night stay at this truly exceptional resort. The overwater villas are spectacular! Large bedroom,giant living room and spectacular deck with lounges and a table for dining. We have one with a Jacuzzi on the deck as well a killer view Go to their website...no matter how nice you thick it looks, the pictures do not do it justice. The place is fantastic!
The butler service is exceptional. courteous, responsive and attentive. If you are lucky enough to get Sabastian you will never want to leave.
We have been all over the world at the top resorts. The beauty of this place is unmatched.
If you like to snorkel the on-site lagoon/aquarium is perfect.
The food is great but particlarly the Lagoon Restaurant.

Room Tip: The over water rooms that face the mountain are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkR5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Bora Bora is hard, expensive and difficult to get to. But if you can, it is well worth it! The islands and waters are spectacular, and the St. Regis allows you to truly enjoy it all.

The service is unmatchable, from when they pick you up by speedboat from the airport, to almost every single waiter/waitress/butler remembering your name and your likes, to the little touches to make your honeymoon/special occasion that much more special.

The restaurants are fantastic, especially the Jean-George, which has sharks swimming around the restaurant. The food is delicious, and so are the drinks, be sure to go for a cocktail on an evening that is not spent in the hotel.

They also arrange free shuttles to the main island, and assist you in booking restaurants/activities outside the hotel.

Of course the biggest problem is that it's expensive, extremely expensive, all the meals and drinks and activities are expensive, but you have to go to the island with that in mind, it's a place to splurge, and it is so very worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traceler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
261 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at the St Regis in Bora Bora as part of our trip to French Polynesia. It was to be the main event during our trip through the Island chain. We arrived on Bora Bora island and transferred to Vaitape as we wanted to explore the main island before our stay at the St Regis.
We understood that the norm would be to transfer from the airport directly to the St Regis, so we called them before departing on our holiday and was informed that we could transfer to the resort via the main island shuttle boat which departed from the Robert Wan pearl store in Vaitape.
We had no problems with this and on the morning of our arrival to St Regis we called to reconfirm the exact times for the shuttle boat and to let them know that we would be arriving at a specific time on the shuttle boat. We called two times just to make sure and both times the St Regis confirmed our arrival.
The bus picked us up from the Robert Wan store without a problem and we arrived at the shuttle boat dock. Other guests proceeded to board the boat whilst we were made to wait. The boat then started to untie from the dock. We enquired what about us? There was plenty of room on the boat for us and our luggage. We were informed that there was another boat coming in 10 minutes.
Ok we thought, a bit strange as there was room on this boat but we were genuinely excited at our stay so shrugged it off. After looking at the fish by the dock for 20 minutes, we asked the security guard at the dock what was happening. He had no idea and so we just waited, and waited. About 35 minutes after the first boat left we saw another boat appoach. After it had pulled in we realised it was the SAME boat!
Why were we told lies that there was another boat coming when the driver knew he had to come back? So, 40 minutes of dead time later I found myself loading my luggage onto the transfer boat. This was really not the experience I was expecting for a $1,500 per night OWB stay, but hey it can only get better right? We shrugged it off again and enjoyed the amazing beauty of the lagoon during our ride to the St Regis resort.
Upon arrival at the dock at the St Regis again I found myself unloading my luggage off the boat to the dock. The shuttle boat then pulled away leaving us standing there like idiots. The reception was no where in sight, and not another soul was around.
Getting extremely frustrated at this stage I started dragging my luggage around in various directions until I found stairs leading to what could be the reception. After almost arriving at the reception I was finally spotted by a female management staff member who offered to take my luggage. By this stage i could see the reception and said forget it. She went back inside and summoned other porters to assist the last 1m of my journey to the reception.

I was quite hot at this stage. Both physically and mentally. I asked in a reasonable tone of voice is this how guests are checked in and is this the normal welcome? I mean come on, at a $90 per night Ibis ok, but not here? I was given a slightly apologetic speil from the caucasian reception staff about not knowing we were arriving and asking how did we get to the resort. I explained I had called twice this morning to confirm and inform them of my arrival on this specific shuttle boat.
I didnt even mention the debarcle of actually getting on a shuttle boat because the situation on arriving at the resort was insane! They gave their apologies (as they couldnt explain their actions at all) but that was it! I mean even if they had comp'd a drink or something at the bar that would have been something. But nothing further was done. The manager wasnt even summoned to attend to the situation. Our expectations and intial impressions were not very good at this time.
We had been treated much much better at our resort on the main island which cost 10% of the room rate at the St Regis.

At this stage as disappointed as one can be after such treatment, we again cooled our jets and tried to enjoy ourself. The rest of the check in was prompt and we were taken to our OWB by a well mannered french man who gave us information on the resort facilities and restaurants.
The OWB itself was faultless and tidy, and the view across the lagoon was fantastic. Generally the resort facilities are really well kept and the Tahitian staff that work at these facilities are genuinely friendly and welcoming. Perhaps they should replace the reception staff with Tahitians who genuinely care about guests and their wellbeing?

So as we discovered the pros of the St Regis Bora Bora:

1. Its natural beauty and views are simply unique in the world. It really is fantastic.
2. Resort facilities are well kept.
3. The lagoonairum on the resort is alot of fun with large amounts of different fish (it is best at the small dock near the spa centre. Bring some baguettes from the mainland to feed the fish and marvel at your new popularity with the local aquatic life!)
4. Bicycles are provided to allow you to easily get around the resort (definately required if you are in one of the OWBs furthest away from the resort)
5. The local Tahitian staff that work in the resort facilities and the housekeeping department.

And some of the other cons in addition to those stated of the St Regis Bora Bora:

1. The beach was dirty - yes depending on tides and location etc seaweed and other objects in the water will be deposited on the beach. However would it be too much to ask if management were to arrange it to be cleaned every morning. The beach even with its flaws was extremely picturesque however.
2. Breakfast Buffet - was disappointing to say the least. Especially when compared to the price that is charged for it. The selection of food was not large, the quality of the food available was not good either. We also had an incident with a rude waitress. One morning we presented ourselves to breakfast and enquired if we could sit at a free table. A french waitress unexpectedly responded with a sharp and blunt 'No'. We were shocked and in spite of her we sat down anyway.
There were numerous free tables and there could be no logical reason why we couldnt sit at this one. Nor was there any signage stating we need to be seated.
3. Restaurant - the restaurant is situated with a remarkable view of the main island and the outside tables are the most desireable. We booked in advance expecting to be seated outside, however the outside tables were 'all booked' and we had to make do with 'an inside seat'. There were tables setup outside for drinks or cocktails that were free. Not once were we asked if we wanted to be seated there despite the smaller table size. The entire evening those tables were not occupied at all.
In addition to the above the waitress tasked with our service was cold and borderline rude. Service was slow, however the meals were of decent quality if extremely pricey.

The best characteristics of the St Regis Bora Bora sadly are those that have been endowed on it from the beauty of its surroundings. The resort facilities themselves are excellent however the management and service provided by some members of the resort staff could be much much better. In reading about the St Regis before our stay we only read the overwhelming good reviews here on tripadvisor. However on our return, and after reviewing the poor reviews it appears that there are a number
of reoccuring issues (namely the transfers to the resort, poor service provided by some staff, and issues with the F&B department - breakfast namely) Service standards are measured consistenly woldwide. Just because a certain nationalilty of 'service' is offered at the St Regis it should not be accepted as the norm. We are experienced travellers and expected much much more from the St Regis however we were disappointed at what it offered in certain regards. It is still one of the experiences
we use when travelling to compare other resorts and hotels around the world. We have come across many establishments since our visit that make us wonder what went wrong at the St Regis Bora Bora.

In a nutshell it is still a fantastic resort to visit. However it could be so much better. Would we visit again? Never again! Going to try 4 Seasons or the Intercontinental !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank Bambinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have been to this hotel for three years in a row and it just keeps getting better. Do you know the feeling when you open the door to your room and a rush of happiness comes over you? This is the place. It's not inexpensive to stay here but when you hear money can't buy happiness then you've never been to this hotel. Top level service, not too busy that you feel that you're just another guest. Oh and the natural beauty along with the well designed private island feeling with bikes to ride about, snorkeling in their private lagoonarium and top notch cuisine it's just lovely. Our butler Sebastien was also the nicest touch...he was there but not intrusive and made this a most memorable vacation. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2stayaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I rarely love a hotel...being a travel agent, I'm jaded on my expectations.. :)

St Regis exceeded my expectations! Service from arrival to departure was excellent...My butler was awesome, he explained what to expect upon arrival, and how to contact him for transfers...Talked about adult areas and where to go for kayaking/water activities...And there provide snorkeling gear on your deck.

And their Jean Georges (over water) restaurant...try their raspberry cheesecake - divine inspiration.

Room Tip: Oasis pool - adults only..and very tranquil. Or just sit on your balcony and watch the clouds and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisykngdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisBoraBora, Sales Coordinator at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Ia Orana daisykngdm !

Mauru'uru for taking your time reviewing about our Property !
We are delighted to read that we managed to meet and even exceed your expectations !
Of course, this is only possible thanks to the wonderful associates working towards providing the best experiences as can be. We will definitely make sure they are aware of your feedback !

Being a travel agent, I would be pleased to touch base with you should you wish to learn more about the property on a more professional plan. Please do not hesitate to email us at sales@stregisborabora.com.

Wishing you a wonderful time back in California,

The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,536 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
3.9 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Address: Motu Ome'e, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive St. Regis Bora Bora is 44-acre island resort located in Polynesian paradise. Our elite accommodation features the 13,000 sq ft Miri Miri spa and Lagoon Restaurant by Jean Georges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
St Regis Hotel Bora
St Regis Bora Bora
St Regis Resort Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing