We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hotel in Bora Bora” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Bora Bora”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights in September after a week at La Tahaa'. This is by far the best resort in all of Bora Bora.

Resort- the resort is spread out and the bikes they offer each morning are great. They take the bikes around 4pm from outside of your room if you aren't using them so plan accordingly for dinner. It was always a nice walk before and after dinner. The grounds are beautifully kept.

Spa- the spa was slightly outdated and needed a little sprucing up but the treatments are great. We did massages at the spa and also in our room.

Food- breakfast was great everyday and I never got sick of it. The sushi restaurant was actually our favorite, everything was really fresh. We ate twice at the Lagoon restaurant and it was amazing both times. One night we sat inside and watched the sharks swim under us and another night we sat on the deck and threw bread to the fish.

Room- the rooms were HUGE and really great layout. We loved how the bathrooms have sliding windows that open to the bedroom area. We didn't do a lot of swimming off our deck, the current is a little strong and it wasn't that interesting of a swimming area. We also had solid rain for 4 out of 7 days in early September. We did have cockroaches in our room. I never saw one alive but my husband stepped on a live one in the middle of the night one night an there was also one on his pillow one night. He didn't tell me until we checked out and I mentioned it to the front desk and they were very sweet and took $300 off. I live in NYC and understand that cockroaches are a thing of life and you can't get them off a tropical island. They seem to do evrythibg they can to keep them to a minimum.

Activities- I would strongly recommend the shark and sting ray snorkeling . Such a memorable activity, lots of fun. We also went to Villa Mahana and had a really nice time.

If you are going to Bora Bora this is the place to be and worth the splurge. We averaged approx $1500 a day for all meals, drinks, activities and spa appts. We honesty spared no expense and did everything the way you always dream of on a honeymoon, you could probably scale it back but still expect an average of $800-$1200 per day on top of your room.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    180
    65
    37
    19
See reviews for
174
1,495
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice hotel. The staff did everything they could to please us. After the first day, they knew us by name. Rooms were the best I've ever seen. Only downside was that they had several new staff from France just after Christmas, learning the ropes. No issues though.

Room Tip: All over water 1 room bungalows are the same. Price is based on view. Can't really see the isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lobster1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Yes, we really did take our kids (son age 7 and daughter age 11) to Bora Bora, and we all had a wonderful time. Had a fantastic 2 bedroom suite with a large plunge pool at the very end of the pier, with a fantastic view of the "crazy mountain", as the kids called it. Had breakfast on our outdoor deck every morning, and the kids loved jumping off the edge of the pool into the lagoon.
Seeing fish swim through the cut out windows in the floor was a highlight for them too. The resort was very prepared for them, even though they might have been the only kids there. Had kid's menus, brought them to early sittings for dinner at restaurants, and used babysitting services. They didn't use it much, but twice they were the only kids at the club, and were taking on a special fishing trip, and a tour of the property. My daughter loved water skiing on the smooth lagoon waters. They liked wading in the "river current" and swinging in the hammocks too. Did some fun snorkelling trips, sting ray feeding, a private beach BBQ, and some helmet diving. At one of the smaller pools we were usually the only ones there, so we didn't disturb anyone. Even the big pool was not very crowded and the kids liked getting drinks and snacks at the swim up bar. There were a few English kids TV shows available, and they thought the French ones were funny. This was 2 years ago, pre-iPad, but they managed to entertain themselves quite well. We did bring DVDs with us to play in the room.

And we adults had a great time too. Very relaxing, great service, gorgeous scenery, and it wonderful to know that the kids were so thrilled. We were able to enjoy our time there as well.
Spa was great, and the whole family drove me over in the golf cart, and then hung out exploring the pond nearby. I think we have memorized the movie "Couples Retreat" which was playing on a continuous loop on a dedicated loop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank monacro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The resort offers a wonderful location, great sunsets, nice beach, good food, GREAT DRINKS, and wonderful accomodations
I stayed in an over water and I could sit on my bed and look out at the pristine south pacific water while Sippin' Champagne
Doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nbr1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great place and staff. Very quiet and relaxing.The lagoon restaurant was just fatastic. The only down side was we felt that the manager had taken his 'eye off the ball' a little as one or two things could do with a little general maintenance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quicksteptodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The St. Regis Bora Bora was literally a dream. We were greeted with tea and a private tour of the resort grounds. We were upgraded from one bungalow to a nicer one. The food was outstanding, service was outstanding, it was peaceful and everything you could want in a vacation. The only downside was how expensive it was. I don't think I will ever experience a more expensive hotel, but I knew this going into booking the trip. I doubt the other hotels are much cheaper anyways. I highly highly recommend staying here, especially if you want a trip that cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Splurge on an over water bungalow- it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Pacific for less was great and we got a decent deal through Claudia - thanks ! Perhaps it was the rainy season, out of 8 days there, we only had 1.5 days of sun, but all in all, a bit disappointing... (Vote goes to Maldives as a whole).


We were there for our honeymoon and while we enjoyed the trip overall, everything there was just not as new and nice as expected and frankly, very overpriced. Cocktails were 25 USD, Burgers/Pasta were easily 30-40USD, just really wasn't worth it. The actual island and lagoon/sea was breathetakingly blue and beautiful but at a very expensive price !

The bungalows are big but a bit rundown, bicycles are not guaranteed so it's first come first serve(and had no brakes!). Service is good tho, people very nice.

Ok to miss:
Japanese restuarant in the hotel - very disappointing, served sake in a tea cup!
Jean George - didn't try personally but spoke to other honeymooners and travellers there and no one really strongly recommended it.

Worth checking out:
Feeding and snorkelling in the lagoon, lots of fun!
Going out to Island for dinners - vast choices and the restaurants will pick you up from the dock
Villa Mahana - in particular was a beautiful surprise for french cuisine, hubby and wife partnership in running the restaurant, wonderful experience and yummy food. Not cheap at all but completely worth the money
Taking the sail boat out around the cove
Joining Ranui Tours for day trip to snorkel and feed the sting rays and sharks... this tour is not on the hotel list but definitely worth contacting on your own... better rates and smaller group!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sirk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
4.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#9 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Address: Motu Ome'e, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive St. Regis Bora Bora is 44-acre island resort located in Polynesian paradise. Our elite accommodation features the 13,000 sq ft Miri Miri spa and Lagoon Restaurant by Jean Georges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
St Regis Hotel Bora
St Regis Bora Bora
St Regis Resort Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing