We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,631)
Filter reviews
2,631 results
Traveler rating
2,162
322
84
44
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,162
322
84
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reef restaurant bubbles bar diamond bungalow diamond otemanu our honeymoon le corail fish sting ray feeding main island ambassador club meal plan wedding chapel deep ocean french polynesia living room breakfast and dinner tea room
Filter
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 2,631 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2015

We stayed as a couple for five nights in an emerald over the water bungalow from April 11-16. All in all, this place was super nice both inside your room and outside on the grounds. It was very quiet when we were there, even though they said it was full. It's amazing to me how few people we saw out and about on any given day, maybe the pool was 1/3 occupied in the afternoon, less in the morning and evening.

The breakfast was very good. We did not do a meal plan and they offered us half price breakfast at check in which was a very good deal at $18 USD each at the current exchange rate, which has improved dramatically in the last six months. In general,the resort can be expensive but there are plenty of ways to eat for a good price on Bora Bora. We did Bloody Mary's one night for example and split an entree and a fish course with two salads with no drinks for $45 all in and we were full enough.

One tip I would like to pass on to all that I have seen very little written about in TripAdvisor is the Tahiti Funpass. You can find this online by searching the name. I purchased this and it worked great. The one I had was only for Bora Bora but it also works for Tahiti and Moorea as well if you pay a little more. I paid 29 Euros ($30 USD) and for this I ended up saving $100 on two excursions (Romantic Tour and Maitri Jet Ski/ATV) and got two free drinks at Bloody Mary's as well.

Otherwise, there is very little to not like about the Thalasso. It is an upscale place but is still a great place to chill on your deck. I recommend the side away from the boat dock (201-205) if you go the lowest category with an Emerald room. We used IHG points and that was a great way to use 50K points per night. Another recommendation is to get the Ambassador membership whether you use points or not. Between the late check out, the nice fruit plate, the free water and other goodies it is worth it for sure.

This is a very nice place you will really like. The views are incredible and thee water is just as they say, amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank tgdg558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2015

Dear Guest, Ia Orana from Bora Bora

Thank you for such a rewarding review, it is delightful to read how much you enjoyed your time with us at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa.

Thank you for your high recommendation of our resort to fellow Trip Advisor Readers.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are all very pleased to see that you enjoyed the facilities.

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

Thank you again, we are looking forward to welcoming you again : as we say : "Good things always happen in threes".


Guillaume Epinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2015 via mobile

We had an amazing week at this beautiful resort. The bungalow layout was perfect for our family of 2 adults 2 kids. We had a sapphire bungalow just past half way out. The water was deep enough for the kids (age 11 and 12) to dive off but they were also able to play some fetching from the sandy bottom. It was probably about 3m deep and crystal clear. I think the depth of the water would worry me if my kids were younger or not competent swimmers. I wouldn't want to have a bungalow further out as the walk to the resort restaurant was long enough as it was (but beautiful in day and night!) and I feel conscious to not disturb the peace and quiet for the honeymooners. The closer emerald bungalows face the beach so they may not be as private? Ours faced some bungalows opposite but they were far enough away for us to feel very private even with curtains open.
We also visited Le Moana one day to use their beach and to go across to the public beach (Matira beach). The water at Le Moana looked shallower than Thalasso - saw some adults standing chest deep at their end bungalow.
Although it was Easter and holiday season, the Thalasso resort did not feel crowded whereas Le Moana did.
We were able to kayak and paddle board whenever we wanted to. The daily sting ray feeding on the beach was amazing.
The food was wonderful at Reef and Sands. Stephan made all the guests feel special every morning at breakfast.
There were sweet treats delivered to the room for the kids every day. We took pictures of giant personalized cookies decorated with the kids' names. Also a delicious fruit flan one day that we all devoured.
Concierge, reception and the "beach boys" were all wonderful, cheerful and helpful. We did jet ski tour, snorkel / sharks / rays tour and a 4x4 tour of the main island. These were all arranged via concierge, who gave us very sound advice.
The one night stopover at beginning and end of the week at IC Tahiti was fantastic as well.
I was initially worried that this romantic resort may not be suitable for our family but it has turned out to be our best holiday so far.

Stayed: April 2015
4  Thank busybee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2015

Dear Guest, Greetings from Bora Bora

Mauruuru roa for this mervellous feedback and for sharing your beautiful memories and advices on TripAdvisor.

Our bungalows are all designed for the wellness of our guests with some special features: the glass bottom coffee table, the private pontoon to swim into the lagoon, the bath just next to a window to enjoy the beautiful view… and so much more!

It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed all our activities with your family. It is true that families love to share moments together by kayaking or paddling onto the lagoon.

As I read, you had the joy to feed the stingrays with our poolboys. It is an activity that our guests love. They take great pleasure to be part of such experience.

Your kind words will be most appreciated by our Executive Chef, Thibault Peyroche d'Arnaud and his team of Culinary Artists who work tirelessly to provide an array of international cuisine each day.

Very pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and that, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, all your comments are considered for a continue improvement.

Guillaume Epinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2015

Where on earth would I start...My husband and I organised to have our wedding at the resort. We had liaised with the concierges Lauré and Sophie during our lead up to our nuptials, during this time they seemed to have understood everything they we had wanted.

We arrived at the airport and was greeted with flower leis by a representitive who guided us to where we need to get our luggage and directed us to where the boat transfer was. As we made our way to the boat there was a driver who greeted us and took our bags, we were also given a bottle of water for our trip to the hotel.

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were picked up by reception via cart who took us on a tour of the hotel, showing us where the daily demonstartions were, the locations and times of the restaurants, the private hotel beach, the stingray feedings etc. It was so much to take in and the whole resort was just breath taking, the beaches, the resaurants, the pool was just perfectly maintained. They then drove us to reception and seated at a table facing the beautiful beach and offered a glass of refreshing ice tea while they organised our check in.(N.B- BE SURE TO SIGN UP TO THE AMBASSADOR MEMBERSHIP IT PAYS FOR ITSELF TEN FOLD!!) After we had checked in we were then driven to our hotel room (this is where the ambassador kicks in) we were automatically upgraded from the Diamond suite which we had paid for, to the Mount Otemanu Diamond suite. We stayed in room 222 and I have to say, it is by far the best room there! the way it faced the mountain and the fact it wasn't facing anyone else's room was fabulous!. When we walked into the room, it was immaculate, we had a bowl of fresh fruit on arrival and daily water delivered to our room courtesy of our membership, the view of the mountain is something magical, words alone will not describe it. Our bed overlooked the water and was a light blue, you could see straight though it.

The staff, all of them so welcoming, all greeted us whenever we walked past in their beautiful Tahitian greeting 'Ia Orana' you soon find yourself greeting them back the same way.

The restaurants are just wonderful, no need to venture elsewhere, you have everything you need at the hotel. They have different things going on at night e.g., Polynesian dance show, Live music by the beach of course all optional.

The Concierges know EVERYTHING! they are more than helpful. I dealt with Lauré the Head concierge and Sophie 2IC. Those girls are just brilliant. There was nothing they couldn't do, no task was too big or small. Any questions we had were answered. Both Ladies stayed with us during our wedding Lauré even made sure my make up was still perfect before photos and Sophie ran around taking photos off my phone so I could send some off to family and friends straight away. She also made sure we weren't without refreshments. It felt like they were involved because they wanted to be rather than it being their job. They made our day perfect, for that we shall treasure them forever...Thanks Ladies xx

Our honeymoon at the Thalasso was incredible, it couldn't have gone any better. We did go on a couple of tours, we were fortunate enough to go around the island by boat and we definately thought the Thalasso was hands down the best hotel in Bora Bora. I cannot reccomend this enough. We will indeed be back!!

Room Tip: Get Ambassador membership
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Krissy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane M, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2015

Dear Krissy, Warmest Greetings from Bora Bora

What a great comment! The whole team wants to address you the best Mauruuru for taking time to write it.

There is no better thanks for us than reading such comments. Thank you very much for your trust we are proud to have reached your expectations.

Thank you for mentioning your experiences with Laure and Sophie. We are indeed fortunate to have them all as part of our team. Please be assured that I will pass on to them your words of praise....

As you discovered, we are blessed to have a warm and caring staff - people who obviously love coming to work every day.

Your kind words will be most appreciated by our Executive Chef, Thibault Peyroche d'Arnaud and his team of Culinary Artists who work tirelessly to provide an array of international cuisine each day.

We would be very happy to welcome you back soon to demonstrate our commitment on improving our guest experience…

Stéphane Massarini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2015

We stayed in IC Thalasso for 5 days after staying in Moorea for 4 days. This is our second trip to Bora Bora, the last one was 3 years ago (we stayed in St. Regis) as a couple and this time as a family of 4 (our boys are young teens). First I’m grateful for our TA, Pacific for Less. We have used them on both trip to Bora Bora and our travel has been headache free and seamless. We would definitely not hesitate to use them again.
When we arrived in Thalasso, we were offered cool scented wash cloth and juice/ice tea. Check in was a breeze. We were excited to learn we received an upgrade (thanks to our gold ambassador membership). We were driven to the room. We all love the room. It’s modern and classy. Although the room in St Regis was bigger I prefer the room in Thalasso. We loved every minute we spent in Thalasso.
We took a boat trip to sister resort Le Moana, so we can buy some groceries from the main island. The grocery store is only 5 min from Le Moana. I could not wait to get back to Thalasso. Le Moana is smaller and dated, and has a terrible view of Mt Otemanu I was so glad to be staying in Thalasso. The Matira beach which is across the street from Le Moana looks like a ghetto beach. We only spent 5 min there, if you are staying in a beautiful resort in Bora Bora, going to Matira beach is not worth it. There was several stray dogs, some locals fishing with their nets, no sitting area with shades (you need to bring a beach towel to sit on). I also heard you have to be careful with your valuables if you swim there.
Thing we loved in Thalasso:
1. Two pm feeding with the Rays
2. OWB
3. Friendly guest
4. Trip to main island is free during the day (to go to Le Moana) – good to buy snack in local grocery store.
5. We enjoyed the every other day buffet in Reef Restaurant.
6. The whole resort is beautiful
7. Live music at night (we experienced it twice while we were there)
8. Happy hour. Especially great when there is live music.
9. Canoe breakfast.
10. Late check out if you’re an ambassador member
11. Fruits and champagne welcome
12. Afternoon snacks in our room for our children
13. Beach bag, pareo, hats, T-shirt, bracelet gifts (I’m not sure if it’s because we have an ambassador membership)
14. Family feels welcome in the resort.
What to improve on:
1. Consistent service – some employees are slower than others.
2. Stock the lagoon with more colorful fishes.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelgirlrn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2015

Dear Guest, Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

What a wonderful way to start the day! Thank you very much for your comment! Your global appreciation is detailed and will help for sure the TripAdvisor community.

It seems that you did catch up the real spirit of the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa and enjoyed every minute of your stay with us.

Our bungalows are all designed for the wellness of our guests with some special features: the glass bottom coffee table, the private pontoon to swim into the lagoon, the bath just next to a window to enjoy the beautiful view… and so much more!

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are all very pleased to see that you enjoyed the facilities and the activities.

It has been our joy and privilege to serve you and your family and hope to welcome you back soon!

Guillaume Epinette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2015

We stayed at the Intercontinental Thalasso Resort and Spa for our Honeymoon for 7 nights, 8 days. It was absolutely amazing. The view of the mountain was breathtaking. It felt like pure paradise. The resort, villas, pool & restaurants were beautiful. The staff was amazing & so friendly. Every day the Pool boys fed the sting rays in the lagoon while we all circled around and watched. They also had a daily demonstration by the pool. We thoroughly enjoyed all the activities. It was everything we hoped it would be and more. Thanks to the help of Custom Tahiti Travel, they helped us select the perfect resort and booked all our excursions. They made planning a honeymoon stress free & easy. We couldn't be happier with our stay there. Thank you Custom Tahiti Travel & IC Thalasso Resort and Spa. We hope to return some time down the road!

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane M, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2015

Dear Theresa, Ia Orana from Bora Bora

What a wonderful way to start the day! Thank you very much for your comment! Your global appreciation is detailed and will help for sure the TripAdvisor community.

We are thrilled to know you found the location excellent. We are facing the majestic Mount Otemanu and we think it is a great chance to have such a view.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are all very pleased to see that you enjoyed the facilities and the activities.

As you discovered, we are blessed to have a warm and caring staff - people who obviously love coming to work every day.

As I read, you had the joy to feed the stingrays with our poolboys. It is an activity that our guests love. They take great pleasure to be part of such experience.

We are glad to read that you have found plenty of things to do in our resort.


We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

Stéphane Massarini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews