We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

LOVED IT! We stayed for 5 nights in January 2014 for our Honeymoon. It only a few years old and has beautiful views of the lagoon and Mt. Otemanu. The beach and pool looks directly at the mountain. We stayed in room 234 (Sapphire) and it had gorgeous views of the water from the bedroom (the bed literally faces out to the water) and the living room. The deck had a view of the mountain and felt very private. The bathroom was beautiful and the freestanding tub was well places – looking out over the aqua blue waters. One note, the furniture inside is showing some scratches and dings – not really a big deal, but when you pay $800 a night you notice these things.

We had a Half board package, so ate breakfast and lunch at the resort everyday. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and tasty (though not as much exotic tropical fruit as you get in Thailand). When we were there only the Reef restaurant was open for dinner and the more casual Sands was only open for lunch. This meant that dinner every night was a three course French meal – the food was very high quality, but a little rich to eat every night. We wished Sands had been open so we could have gotten something more casual a few nights. There was supposed to be an international buffet our last night, but they canceled it for some reason (I am guessing they didn’t have enough guests to make it worthwhile).

One note - there are not that many fish when you snorkel here. They are cultivating a coral reef, which hopefully will help in the future. To see lots of fish, go on a snorkleing excusion (We did the Shark and Ray Feeding Tour with Moana Adventure Tours and loved it).

Staff was very friendly and attentive. The head beach boy was friendly and led a high quality sting ray feeding a few of the days. The spa was beautiful – we got a couple’s massage in the overwater bungalow – when you lie face down you look right at the lagoon and can see the fish swimming around. Very relaxing.

All kayaks, paddle boards etc. are free and easy to check out (though Paddle boarding is harder than it looks!) They have a good collection of DVD’s and a small traveler’s library that you can take books from and leave your used books with. We received Complimentary Beach Towels (to take home!), Champagne, and Fresh Fruit on arrival because we booked via Costco and are executive members.

The resort felt almost empty –which we really liked. It felt exclusive and secluded. Even sitting on the public beach under an umbrella it felt secluded. We felt this place was the epitome of a tropical honeymoon.

The resort is only accessible by boat and you can’t walk anywhere. There is a free boat shuttle in the morning and afternoon (in the evening you have to pay) to the sister property at the IC Moana. You can use their facilities as well (though there are not nearly as nice as the Thalasso!). The food though at the Moana is cheaper – and you can put it on your room tab at the Thalasso.

We continued our Honeymoon in New Zealand, which we also loved, but our time in Bora Bora felt the most like a honeymoon. My wife already wants to go back.

Room Tip: Sapphire Room was amazing. Recommend you at least look out at the Lagoon or Mountain (not back at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Ia Orana Christopher !

We thank you so much for taking time to share such a magnificent review of your resent stay with us! It is pleasing to hear that you espacially enjoyed the beautiful view of the Mount Otemanu and the high quality of the food served by our Chef Thibaut PEYROCHE, and his team. We will definitively pay attention to your feedback and your advices, thank you!

Moreover, it is always encouraging to hear that my staff met your expectations during your "Amazing Honeymoon".

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa.
Be certain that as your dear wife, we also hope for your return !

With my warmest regards,

Guillaume Epinette
General Manager - InterContinental Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,897
    277
    70
    38
    17
See reviews for
217
1,807
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I'm gonna go on a limb and say this is HANDS DOWN the best resort I've ever stayed at (or ever will stay at). I've seen tons of Bora Bora pics but I never thought it would look even better in person. Seriously, those pictures you see online? It's even better in person.

This resort is BEAUTIFUL. It's bigger than their Le Moana resort too so there's plenty to do. The overwater bungalows literally make you feel like you're queen of the world. Seriously. I came here for my honeymoon and my husband and I spent the first 20 min in our bungalow just freaking out about how amazing it was. The bed that opens up to a view of the water. The bathroom. The living room. EVERYTHING. I'm telling you, you will NOT be disappointed.

Some highlights:
-Everything (no seriously)
-Breakfast is this amazing spread of endless food that they bring to your bungalow. Enjoy your breakfast out on the patio overlooking the deck and I guarantee you'll never feel better in your life.
-There's an area behind the spa where there's small pools and jacuzzis that you can use. Take advantage of them. There's one hot tub that has an amazing view of the mountain range in the background.
-The spas are really nice if you're into that sort of thing. When you're getting a massage, the ground is glass so it'll allow you to look at the fishes swimming below you.

Things to note:
-Service is SLOW. And by slow, I mean, dinner took almost 3 hours because 2.5 hours was just waiting around for our food. Not that you're in a rush but I'd recommend just ordering room service. It's a little more but you'll always get it within 15-20 min and you don't have to leave the room.
-There's a free shuttle that goes between the two Intercontinental Resorts (the Le Moana one is on the land) so you should take that if you get restless and want to go into town.
-Like any tropical resort, there's really NOTHING to do at night so I'd recommend bringing movies and a laptop if you want to kill some time at night. The sun sets at 6PM everyday

Last thing: Bora Bora is NOT a cheap vacation. It's definitely a wallet burner but I'd say if you're going to splurge, you will NOT be disappointed. My husband and I decided to do it because we realized we would probably never come back and we might as well enjoy the place before we have kids. Oh yeah, not surprisingly, 99% of the people there are couples so keep that in mind. It's definitely a once-in-a-lifetime vacation.

Room Tip: They are priced differently but try to get the rooms that are further out on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Diana, Ia Orana,

We would like to extend our most sincere Mauru'uru for sharing such an "A-M-A-Z-I-N-G" feedback about our Resort located in this Polynesian Paradise.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your Honeymoon, what fabulous memories you have with your husband!

As General Manager I really appreciate that you provide the Resort your less positive feedbacks, which I will make sure to work on, in order to continually improve our service for our dear guests.

Be certain that we hope for your return, and to have again the opportunity to take care of you Diana !

Kindest Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager - InterContinental Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Magnificent surrounds and scenery and very pleasant over water suites which suited us. The only area that needs attention is the main dinning room which could do with a 'makeover' of its menu particularly if you stay for a number of days - one tends to get a bit bored of the same 'types' of fare!
We would be quite happy to return to the resort as we were a bit 'shell shocked' after having 'lost' our luggage in Auckland and although located took two days for us to be reunited with it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Aussiebd,

Mauru'uru for taking your time reviewing about our Property !
We are definitely glad you enjoyed your overwater bungalow.

We would also like to extend our gratitude for sharing your feedbacks on our main dinning room. Receiving these types of comments definitely help us on improving the overall experience of our dear guests

Once more, thank you for your comments. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager of the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

It was actually in 2012, not in 2013, in August that i went here with my fiancee, and also with my parents. It was the best holiday i ever had so far, from the beautiful and spacious overwater bungalows, to the lagoon where a marine biologist is still trying to help the coral come back after the hurricane from several years ago.
The food is great, the raw red tuna delicious, and feeding the stingrays is a must!!! Also, great dive sites and an amazing staff at the diving centre, you can see hundreds of blacktops, and also large lemon sharks.
What anyone should bare in mind is which bungalow to choose... diamonds might be slightly to far from the beach and the restaurant, they are quite a walk...but quite, so i guess it depends on what everyone prefers.

Room Tip: The rooms that are priced in the middle are the best because the water is not to shallow, but also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai_Opriscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear lovely Guest,

I thank you for taking time to share your experience here. It’s fabulous to hear that your time spent with us in 2012 was “AMAZING” and that were the best holidays you ever had so far...
Also, great recommendation about the choice of the Villa, depending on our future guests' wishes.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you, your wife and your parents back to paradise again one day soon.

Best Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager of the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great spa... Very relaxing afternoon spent at the spa then off to the bar to see the sunset... Took the hotel boat from the other intercontinental resort. Was able to re charge from one hotel to another...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwiawayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillaume E, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Sir,

I thank you very much for posting such a nice review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your afternoon spent at the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Guillaume EPINETTE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This place is pure luxury! Overwater bungalows are truly amazing- the bathrooms are huge and best views from the tub. The spa is incredible- we went 3 times and the best spa around the world!
Food is delicious and the ray feeding was such a unique experience. Hope to be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I actually went here for my honeymoon a couple of years ago but did not get round to reviewing it.... Bora Bora Intercontinental Thalasso Spa is absolutely beautiful!! The views are stunning compared to other hotels on the other side of the lagoon and therefore was definitely the right choice.
You will be treated like Royalty for the duration of your stay there. The staff there are so friendly, helpful and happy!
Dont miss the coconut show and 2pm sting ray feeding as they are free of charge and worthwhile doing.
Food was lovely- the restaurants had a great range and we had halfboard- although we did venture out elsewhere on the island and tried a couple of local restaurants also. The chefs at the hotel will alter dishes however you please and make it clear that you only have to request and alterations can be made. A chef called my room to ask how i would like my duck dish altered for that evening!
Although we preferred moorea to Bora Bora (mostly because of the dolphins at intercontinental moorea!!) It is hard to really choose which is best of the two destinations. Bora Bora does offer alot of activities - jet skiing and the 'loveboat' was great- a day trip on a boat, just you, your partner and a professional photographer- we now have professional photos of us with the most stunning scenery and also includes underwater pics of us snorkelling and popping champagne whilst in the sea at sunset, drinking from coconuts which are amazing and priceless!! (see my profile pic) Many other watersports available and helicopter rides.
We stayed in a diamond over water villa which had the view of the 'mountain' from our bath and from our bed.... absolutely stunning to wake up to that sight!
As a honeymoon couple we were given a free 'canoe breakfast' which was so so so lovely. Two members of staff come to your room via the lagoon in a canoe, while the male member of staff blows on his conch, sings songs and takes you out on the canoe for 10 minutes the lady member of staff sets up an exquisite breakfast for you on your deck!! Best breakfast ever!!
If you are definitely wanting to visit Bora Bora but cant decide on the hotel please choose this one, you will not be disappointed- choose thalasso not the other intercontinental because you want to have a view of the beautiful mountain at sunset, not be on the same side of the mountain and simply have the lagoon and other hotels as your view! Thank you intercontinental for a fantastic experience and the lovely presents when we left. My honeymoon will be a memory I cherish forever!

Room Tip: Diamond overwater villa if you can, definitely worth it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nish81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.7 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Address: | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing