We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unsupassed beauty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“unsupassed beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in an over water bungalow and found the room and amenities impossible to fault. Don't miss feeding the stingrays by hand when they come into feed every day at 2:00pm. If I were to compare Bora Bora with Moorea I would choose Moorea if you can only visit one island. There is limited marine life off the hotel beach and bungalows simply because it is a very sandy bottom and there is no where for the small fish to hide. My only gripe is that the Intercontinental did not issue reward points even though we paid over $1000 per night plus food and drinks. The same applied when we stayed at the Intercontinental in Papeete for 2 nights. Something to do with booking through a travel agent instead of booking direct.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    263
    66
    37
    17
See reviews for
206
1,747
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Bora Bora has been number 1 on my bucket list for the last 20 years. After years of research, saving, and ultimately tired of traveling throughout the Caribbean, I decided to take the plunge and forget about my bank account. The real question… Is Bora Bora worth over $1000 a night and why did I choose the InterContinental Thalasso Spa?

There is no question that Bora Bora is extremely expensive. It's not just the $1000 plus a night; but food, drinks, transportation, and pretty much everything on the island is outrageously overpriced. For example, for two people be prepared to spend over $100 for lunch, $200 for dinner, and $50 for two cocktails. To minimize this cost, get breakfast included in your package. If you like to drink, purchase liquor duty free at the airport. Pack snacks and eat a light lunch. You can also take a free shuttle boat during the day to the mainland to purchase snacks and beer. For activities, book all excursions ahead of time through their websites. Tripadvisor can point you in the right direction for what you are looking for. Activities and excursions booked through the hotel will be more expensive. Pack tons of sun screen in your checked luggage because you don't want to have to buy it there with the inflated prices.

So does Bora Bora live up to the hype and money? After so many years of putting Bora Bora up on a pedestal, I was worried that it could not possibly live up to my expectations. I can tell you that pictures do not do this place justice. It is that incredibly spectacular. This is the trip that will ruin all other beach vacations for the rest of your life. Seeing Bora Bora from the air is probably one of the greatest experiences you will ever have. I strongly recommend taking a helicopter ride which you can book at the hotel or ahead of time through Tahiti Helicopters. Book a tour around the island by boat where they will take you swimming with black tip reef sharks and sting rays! Take the free shuttle to IC Thalasso’s sister resort, IC Le Moana, where you can spend the day at an amazing beach called Matira Point. Take advantage of the free kayaks and paddle boards at IC Thalasso. And definitely don’t miss the free sting ray feeding at IC Thalasso at 2pm everyday.

The IC Thalasso offers the ultimate Bora Bora experience and I feel that I would have been slightly disappointed staying most other places. The main reason I chose the IC Thalasso is because it unquestionably has the best view of Mt. Otemanu. Le Meridien has a similar view but the resort is bigger, feels less intimate, and has smaller less luxurious overwater bungalows. Southeast trade winds in May through August can be quite prevalent. IC Thalasso is protected and the water is calm, shallow, and crystal clear. On a boat tour around the island, most other resorts suffered from strong winds that made the surrounding water not as pristine. The St. Regis and Four Seasons are great alternatives and offer a similar experience but they are also more expensive and fail in comparison to the view of Mt. Otemanu at IC Thalasso.

The IC Thalasso is located in the most beautiful place on the island. The best bungalows are the diamond bungalows which have mountain views. All the bungalows are the same except for the view. You basically pay more the farther out you go. For Sapphire or Emerald bungalows, ask for a room outside of the inner fork because then you will have unobstructed views instead of looking at other bungalows. All bungalows are amazing to swim off of and the grounds of the resort offer the best views of Mt. Otemanu, so I wouldn’t fret over not getting a diamond bungalow.

The staff is extremely friendly and service is for the most part good. The pool is currently missing some tiles but it hardly interferes with the overall experience. If I had to be critical of one thing, the food in the South Pacific was not very good. On Tahiti, Moorea, and Bora Bora; I found the food on the resorts and off-resort restaurants to be consistently average. When I asked for fresh local seafood, I always got the same response in that everything on the menu was fresh. After multiple attempts, I finally got an honest response from a manager at IC Thalasso that most of the seafood on the menu was not locally caught. Most seafood in their winter months is commercially consumed for resorts. This was a bit of a surprise since I have always enjoyed fresh seafood on my travels in the Caribbean.

Money is money. I can’t take it with me when I die. But I will always have these memories and IC Thalasso is one of the most beautiful places in the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for just one night at the end of our honeymoon and we definitely saved the best for last. This is a very modern, upscale resort with all the amenities - every detail is thought out for you. Dinner at the Reef restaurant was a little too fancy for our liking (small portion sizes and artsy), but still a good taste, and the live music in the Bubbles lounge was really, really good!! Snorkeling excellent in their very new reef pool, we saw many different and unique fish - schools of angelfish, a giant lionfish!, and many stunning blue trumpetfish. The highlight, however, was the 2 pm stingray feeding.

As for our room, we stayed in an Emerald overwater bungalow. The room is like much of the resort, very new and modern. Love the glass coffee table from which you can feed fish. Bed super comfy and large-sized bathtub!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This fantastic resort matches all that you expectation when heading to Bora Bora. The rooms over the water are large, well-appointed and have great air conditioning, the resort actually uses sea water from the deep ocean to manage run its chill the air, very smart, and very ecofriendly. Each room has its own private deck with access to the water, so those who just want to chill out as a couple can. The staff here were very helpful, and we really enjoyed the meals in all three restaurants, although the service can be hit and miss in the cheaper restaurant (Sands). The ability to feed the sting rays shouldn’t be missed as it was an incredible experience. Whilst I highly recommend this resort, those on a budget may be wise to get the meal package as this hotel is 5 star with prices to match for meals and drinks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our stay here was really like a stay in heaven. The island/country is incredible!! We had one of the bungalows over the water and it was terrific. It is a must if you visit. The lagoon is great to go snorkeling in, as there are so many different kinds of fish. The pool is just as pretty as the ocean, and the views from everywhere are breathtaking. The only downside is that this place is EXPENSIVE. They charge to go over to the main land for dinner, which is ridiculous. $20 a person is a little high!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I travel extensively but this vacation rates as our best ever. The Thalasso was one of the most amazing experiences of our lives. It all started from when we landed and were taken to the resort from the airport by boat. The eye hurtingly sore turquoise water was unbelievable. The overwater bungalows stunning and the service fantastic. The food however is below average in my opinion. I'd suggest paying extra for the board option as you don't want to pay so much for average food a la carte. The sister resort is the Le moana which is a boat ride away. This looked very average in comparison and the beach was extremely windy so I'd recommend spending a touch more and staying at the Thalasso. Another tip - take the le moana boat, head into town and buy alcohol at the local liquor store - much more variety and you'll save a lot of money.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow midway through the pontoon. The water is shallower so you can spend more time there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetAzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Intercontinental Thalasso makes Bora Bora the best place in the world. The perfect service and atmosphere of the island and the hotel can make your vacation one of the best thing ever happen to you in your life. It is great location facing the Otemanu mountain and the and there is no water currents under the overwater villas. The choice is the Diamond Overwater Villa because it faces the Otemanu Mountain but in general all the villas are exactly the same. How to reach? From Los Angeles Airport or from Auckland Airport to Tahiti then Bora Bora. By Air Tahiti Nui.

Overall: 
Price: Good
Atmosphere: Excellent
Service: Excellent
Hospitality: Excellent
Food/Dine-in: Very Good
Activities: Excellent 

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralfadalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
3.6 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Address: | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing