We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in Bora Boar - amazing! Stunning! PERFECT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewed September 17, 2013

First let me say that the INC Thalasso is a stunning, beautiful and amazing resort. Before I get into my review, let me warn you to NOT stay at the INC Le Moana. You can read my review on that hotel if you wish, but it is certainly not a top-end hotel and is constantly battered by high winds and rough waters. If you are considering this hotel, look elsewhere.

As for the Thalasso – it is nothing but magnificent. It is set on a protected strip of land where the winds are soft and the lagoon is calm. The hotel itself is marvelous in every way. We saw the St. Regis and the Four Seasons and this hotel is just as good if not better than both. The OWBs are enormous and have a bedroom with floor to ceiling windows with views of the sea and landscape. There is a large living room with a glass bottom coffee table. The bathroom is superb with a large elegant bathtub and separate rain shower. In addition, there is a walk-in closet. Outside, you have a very expansive deck with sunning chairs, a table and then your own private secondary deck/dock below. There is an outdoor shower to rinse off and easy entry into the beautiful lagoon.

We did many activities at the hotel but the best, by far, was chartering our own boat for 3 hours. We had so much fun swimming with black tip sharks and lemon sharks. Next we snorkeled at the coral gardens (it was A+ snorkeling). Finally, he took us to a private motu to relax. All in all, the best value of any trip and a great day. In addition to that, we spent a day at the Thalasso spa (top-notch with glass floors over water for your massage). We spent hours afterward using all the wet areas of the spa. Each day, we used the free water-sports including kayaks, paddleboards, etc. Days by the amazing infinity edge pool were relaxing and fun. They did many activities like cooking demos, ray feeding, coconut demos, and much more. The staff was always friendly and kind. Swimming off your OWB is really fun, safe and the waters are warm and pleasant. Be sure to go view the rear side of the hotel to see the pacific ocean…..the waves and breakers are mesmerizing. The views are simply breathtaking no matter where you look. Be sure to take an island tour via boat to see all of Bora Bora’s amazing glory. Sunsets are remarkable.

Breakfast was delicious each and every day with a very wide selection to chose from. We never missed a single breakfast. Otherwise, food at the hotel was just so-so. After a few average meals we did the rest of our dining off the island. The boat from the Thalasso to the main island is frequent. We ate at Bloody Mary’s (pretty decent food and fun) and Matira Beach (the best meal we had). There are many options very close to the hotel. The only suggestion I would give the Thalasso is to add more variety to their menus and/or change the menus daily or more frequently. We did have dessert most nights at the hotel which were good. Drinks and snacks are very expensive so make sure you stop at the market on the main island before coming over to get some soda, beer, snacks and whatnot. BTW – we spoke to many guests at all the hotels and most said the same thing about the food – it is just so-so (does not matter which hotel…food is just average). I didn’t come here for the food so I was happy and had no real complaints. Take advantage of the boat transfers to the main island and you will find many great places to eat.

All in all – we will be coming back to this amazing property and can’t wait to do so. I firmly believe it is the best option on Bora Bora. It is a true five star experience and you will love the Thalasso and dream of coming back. This is our last day and we are already dreaming of coming again. Book this hotel you will be happy you did. Also – try and build in time at the INC Moorea as we enjoyed this hotel as well and it is a very different island experience.

Also – a special shout out to the most attentive, friendly, kind and caring manager we had ever met……Christophe you made our entire trip special and for that we thank you. You are amazing as is the entire staff at this hotel.

Lastly – the Ambassador program is a must (free upgrades, wifi, water, etc)

Message me with any questions

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andrew_branham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 2,451 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We picked the Intercontinental Thalaso Spa over its sister hotel in Bora Bora (La Moana) – a BIG win for us.
Its an amazing resort in an amazing part of the world. My eyes have not seen anything like the Bora Bora lagoon. I could tell it was a big honeymoon spot but showed up with my kids anyway! This was probably the only challenge. There were no other kids at the resort for our first 3 days and then a two year old girl came with her parents. We found ourselves shushing the kids constantly. I think we were a little over-sensitive. The staff are really great – Mario, Gustaf at the pool and the concierge folks and restaurant staff are all first class. They have a nice long beach with high quality loungers under thatched wooden shades. There is decent snorkeling under the bridge and around the resort – including a puffer fish who shows up every night under the bridge around 5:30pm. But the amazing snorkeling – lots of fish, whales and sharks is a boat ride away. The bungalows are well set up – we snorkeled a few times off our deck – not many fish – but the kids loved jumping in. Free to use stand up paddleboarding and kayaks on the beach anytime you want them, and they feed the stingrays at 2pm everyday. The rays are well aware of this and start to congregate just off the beach around 1pm – so you can snorkel with or just go in and stroke the rays. The best pina coladas Ive ever had.
I tried kite surfing while here. You have to get the boat to the intercontinental sister hotel in BB. The boat ride was fine – but after the lesson we got stuck at the other resort for 3 hours waiting for the next boat back. Another night we wanted to go out of the resort for dinner. We got the boat to the sister resort and then a bus to the restaurant – Bloody Marys. The food was very good – but a long journey just to get dinner. We took the White Shark the 18’ boat out one day – just us and the skipper – Ken. The winds were up – but it was a great day. Snorkeling with fish, sharks and whale watching. The concierge organized all our trips for us while we were there.
The whole area is very expensive – that’s just the way it is. So be prepared and don’t stress out about the cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelvinlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Intercontinental Thalasso for our honeymoon. This place is amazing! The service is phenomenal, the food is actually great and the experience is an experience of a lifetime. Couldn't have wished for a better honeymoon experience.

Do not stay at the intercontinental le moana, we walked through it on the way to town and it is NOT nice. Definitely do the overwater bungalow. However, we did not do a spa treatment and the spa didn't look that special. I would recommend the Hilton spa if you are going to splurge on a spa treatment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericamariecolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I could not be more pleased with the entire Tahitian experience! Moorea for 8 days and here at the Thalasso for 9 days to wrap up our 25th celebration. The resort, location and people were outstanding. As many others have mentioned! Yes, you pay dearly, but we believe we got our money's worth. Upon arrival from the water taxi, it was incredible. Reception was too easy. While we waited for our bungalow to be prepared for us, it was a great chance to just walk around and get familiar with this magnificent resort. The bungalow was...(hard to describe)...but...AMAZING!! The views from all directions were spectacular, especially Mt. Otemanu. The water is ridiculous, clear, warm, refreshing and how do they get them colors in the water?!?! The food quality and presentation at the 3 restaurants were second to none. The cleanliness and charm of the entire resort is outstanding! We rented bicycles on the 'Mainland'...Bora Bora!...Awesome! - Went to Bloody Mary's for lunch...Fantastic! - SCUBA diving with TopDive...Unbelievable! - SeaDoo Tour around 'Mainland'...Beautiful! - Spa...WOW! - The gym is great too! AND we ate at a little beachside restaurant 7 minute walk from the other Intercontinental Resort, leave resort and turn left...Lovely owner, excellent food and charming ambiance. The name is Restaurant Matira Beach. I could go on and on about the whole experience. We loved it...and highly recommend this true Paradise. Besides, I'm running out of adjectives!!

I would like to use this opportunity to go out on a limb and ask that if anyone who stayed in Bungalow 228 after Sept. 1 and who may have by chance found a small single diamond ring to please contact me. We believe it was left in the room safe when we left. It's only small, but it has so much sentimental value. It was the first ring I gave my wife 30 years ago. Thanks!

Mike.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We left this hotel this morning after 8 days and I honestly could have stayed another 8 months! It was spectacular and the staff were wonderful! Having read some of the other reviews complaining about the staff I wonder if they could even have been in the same resort! Yes, it is an expensive resort, and yes, you expect the best, but sometimes it also comes down to how you treat others.

We saw some guests treating staff like servants, which we couldn't believe. We loved talking to the staff and finding out about their cultures and backgrounds, and we left with some of the staff feeling like new friends! They were just wonderful!

The rooms were fabulous with views from your lounge, bedroom and bath, as well as the deck and the private pontoon! Spacious, immaculate, and extremely well serviced. There were different WiFi packages which were available throughout the resort, we only ever used the free package included in the room cost and could use all social media, and keep in touch with home and internet news.

The only issue we had while there was that on a show night it happened to be raining. Having to bring all the tables in from outside made for a tight squeeze and we ended up behind a pillar. We didn't stay for the show but went to a different restaurant instead. The guest relations manager came and found us and gave us complimentary champagne and dessert to apologize. It was completely unnecessary, not asked for, but very much appreciated.

The spa was a day of pure bliss, the sting ray feeding was amazing, and the pool boys were all so much fun.

The photo they took of us when arriving wasn't a great print out - but they take exactly the same shot on your camera if you want it - and I thought the photo on check out was a great touch. We will definitely get a better quality one printed when we get home but this one is great for remembering on your trip home.

Special mention to Antoinne(?) and Heitiare(?) in Corail Restaurant. They were truly wonderful and made both our dining experiences there nights to remember!

I would return in a heart beat.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank CeeVees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Possibly the most expensive 5 nights we have spent as a family but worth it.

The over water bungalows are surprisingly spacious and we managed with our three children - who stayed and ate for free - with ease. The living area contains a single bed with another pull out underneath it and a fold away was added. Each day they disappeared when we went to breakfast or to dive and were made up again in the evening.

The scenery is, of course, simply stunning and we will look fondly at the pictures, whether of the kids on kayaks or Mt Otemanu, for the rest of our lives.

Whether you want to relax by lying in the sun and looking at the view, explore the main island or be active in the water there is something for everyone. Finally, unlike some we found the staff to be incredibly friendly, unfailingly polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Went here for our honeymoon last year and I still dream about this place. So completely beautiful and sureal. Everything about this resort is amazing! One of our top 5 resort experiences! We had a private bungalow over the water with a view of the lagoon for first 5 nights and then moved to one of the two bedroom houses on the beach for our last night, the mountain and the crater of the volcano. This place is seclusion at its best. If you are looking for nightlife, this place is NOT for you. If you are looking for a wonderfully romantic stay this may fit the bill. Water sports abound during the day and we loved the snorkeling "expedition" with our guides where we saw giant manta rays and a moray eel. The staff was very friendly and do a great job maintaining this 5 star resort. The spa is beautifully nestled in the tropical surroundings with a great view of the waves crashing on the private shoreline. The food was some of the best we have experienced anywhere. One of our favorite items on the breakfast bar was the fresh coconuts with a straw stuck into the shell on ice! From the time you arrive to the time you depart, the staff is making sure you feel pampered and you are under constant care. It is absolutely heaven on earth. We used the his & her spa, went on an organized jet-ski excursion, and even stayed for an outdoor treat - an evening buffet complete with a screening of 'South Pacific.' Going to Bora Bora is expensive, as are the prices for everything there. But we were treated so well and enjoyed every single moment, it was worth every penny.

When we arrived on site, we had a personal hostess welcome us and take us on a tour the premises (it's a large place!). Our room was ready (early) and we had fresh fruit and a bottle of wine waiting for us. The room itself (an overwater bungalow) was extremely spacious and very comfortable. This island is truly paradise! If you're able to splurge on a 'once-in-a-lifetime' vacation, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: All the rooms are just Heaven on Earth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shalab_Agra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#8 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,747 reviews
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.1 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.7 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#2 of 17 in Bora Bora
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Address: | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $1,016 - $1,504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing