We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

You can't beat the location of Intercontinental Thalasso - across the water from the main mountain with the indescribable lagoon stretching out in front of you. You only need to look at the photos.

All the available rooms are huts over the water. There are 3 classes - Emerald, Sapphire, Diamond. The Emerald huts face back onto the beach, Sapphire and Diamond generally all face the lagoon.

It's almost essential to get an Ambassador membership at InterContinental's website if you want to stay here - you pay a one time $200 fee and it gets you a guaranteed upgrade, late check out, and other perks. So you can book an Emerald room and get upgraded to a Sapphire and get back the cost of the Ambassador program in 1 night.

We stayed there for 2 nights last week. It so happened that all the rooms were booked so no upgrade was available. The manager instead comped us free breakfast for both nights, so that was cool.

Two reasons why I didn't give it 5 stars - we were staying on the right pontoon (as facing the lagoon) and there was some house or hut not far from the boat doc that was playing music during the day and up until midnight on one of the nights. It didn't really bother us and it was only the 1 day/night (I guess they had some party), but if you're paying nearly $1k or over per night, I expect there to be no disruptions like that. I don't need to hear Katy Perry or Mumford & Sons while laying out on my deck. Second reason - with all the money being paid for the room, the water taxi pick-up at the airport is a complete rip-off. You're charged over 9,000 XPF (about $100) for basically a 15 minute boat ride. There's really no other choice to get to the hotel, but c'mon IC -- that's way too much. It's revealed to you when you complete the booking, but still, it just doesn't seem fair.

Anyway, I think those are relatively minor issues.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akalinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,851
    268
    68
    37
    17
See reviews for
212
1,763
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

There aren't many places left in the world that you can call paradise but this IS one. On the outer rim of this series of islands, the Intercontinental provides a perfect location for any excuse to escape normality. We were here for our honeymoon & is was perfection. A cool bottle of champagne awaited our arrival & we spent every day in the gorgeous hot Tahitian sun, snorkelling straight off from our private deck of our room on the water, then swimming with shark & feeding stingrays... And the world class spa! This has to be the best spa I've ever been to! Such wonderful memories & we highly recommend everyone gets here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellissateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have just returned from Bora Bora after sailing around French Polynesia for two weeks.
Staying at the Intercontinental Thalassotherapy-Spa really was heaven on earth. Despite the fact that the resort was full, it was still incredibly quiet and peaceful. The staff and service were excellent. Overwater villas superb. The lagoon was ideal for snorkelling with a surprisingly good selection of fish. Food superb. We chose half board arrangement which was great, though I would have preferred that it included wine. Only criticism I have is that unlimited bottled water should be provided free of charge.
Don't hesitate, everybody should experience this!

Room Tip: Request room 122 which has excellent mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wow,nothing prepares you for Bora Bora , Photos and video dont come close. This place is heaven on earth. The Thalasso staff meet you at the airport and whisk you by boat to the resort. The scenery is stunning. All the resorts on the motu,s look stunning. The Thalasso has a fab view of Mt Otemanu.All bungalows are over the water,an are huge, with prices depending on view.We became Intercontinental ambassadors and got upgraded in Tahiti, Moorea and Bora Bora.The grounds are lovely and the beach area superb. The restaraunts are top class. The staff are wonderful, with a special mention to the beach/pool boys, such fun.There is ray feeding every afternoon and shows some evenings.Kayaks and paddleboards are free and plentiful.
Its not cheap but worth every penny if you come.
The only negative is leaving. We stayed 5 nights. The boat back to the airport was very quiet and full of sad faces.
We ate at 2 places on the mainland, Bloody Marys and La Bounty.The hotel boat will take you over for a small charge and there is a free bus to and from the restaraunts.
We booked 2 trips while at the resort, the jeep tour and shark/ray tour. Both were superb and good fun.
Do Not leave earth before visiting Bora Bora.

Room Tip: join ambassador scheme for $200 to get room upgrades , late checkout and free internet in business c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevoCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I decided to get married in Bora Bora and we were so happy we chose the intercon for our big day. Everything was perfect right from the beginning. The check in process was pleasant and easy. We were given a tour by golf cart around the resort and then taken to our over water villa. The villa itself was spectacular! We had a diamond villa facing out to the lagoon - we were one back from the end of pier with a beautiful view of the mountain from our deck. I think the intercon has the best location on the island. The amenities were superb and the food was amazing! Laure and the team of concierge ensured that our wedding day went smoothly - everything was planned and executed perfectly and we were completely thrilled with the entire experience! We had a very relaxing time at the resort and never wanted to leave! It never felt crowded or noisy and all the staff were very friendly. The spa is definitely a must! It's the best spa we've ever been to. We will definitely be coming back for special anniversaries in future!

Room Tip: We joined the ambassador club for the late check out because we had an evening flight out but in hin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

After looking at photos of Bora Bora for over ten years. I finally met the Woman of my dreams and took her on a honeymoon to the place of anyones dreams. We cannot explain it, our photos can't either. This is the best place on earth. I am convinced. The Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa does it right. Our bungalow was incredible. Perfect view of Otemanu. Our dreams came true when we dove off of the deck below our room into the crystal clear water. The spa garden was like our own personal Eden for a day. YOU HAVE TO EXPERIENCE THIS IN YOUR LIFETIME!

Room Tip: View the bungalow map. Choose the outer bungalows furthest from the shore. For seclusion and great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoccoTerenzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The resort has the best location of any resort on Bora Bora. It is sheilded from most of the prevailing winds and has he best views of Mount Otemanu. It is a little on the pricey side but worth every penny! Amazing staff and service, EVERY employee you pass greets you. The resort is pretty centrally located with ferry service to the main island - you can relax as much as you want or pack your days with activities. On site activities include free kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkeling equipment; daily sting ray feeding (amazing) at 2pm. Top Dive is onsite offering multiple daily scuba diving excursions (we did 2 different days of scuba diving), plus many many more types of excursions.
The food was superb! The French buffet served with the Polynesian show was awesome!
Corail, their new fine dining restaurant, though pricey, was delicious.

The over water villas are large and very nice. We were offered a double upgrade to the diamond level villa and had one second from the very end. The water was approx 10 ft where we were but beautiful and clear. Its definitely a little walk to get to and from your room if you want to be on the end, so if walking is an issue or you have small children I would recommend one of the closer villas.
As for issues, I definitely agree that their wi-fi is very slow - so slow that we were unable to FaceTime or Skype with our family at home (which we had been able to do at the Intercontinental resorts on both Tahiti and Moorea).

Someone posted that the pool is in a state of major disrepair, and it is, however, the manager issued a letter to every guest explaining that they just had the pool completely retiled in January 2013, however the glue that the company used failed, therefore causing the tiles to come up. The hotel feels that because it is their peak season right now that closing the pool completely would not be an option, especially because they only have one pool. They were very apologetic and assured that the pool is being redone in a couple months. It does look pretty bad, but overall it's still enjoyable. Besides, the beach is awesome!

My husband and I were there this month (Aug 2013) to celebrate our anniversary and we are already making plans to return with our children!! Can't wait to come back to paradise!

Room Tip: Sign up for the ambassador's program through Intercontinental! You will get a complimentary buf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glbaerresen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
3.6 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Address: | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing