We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Resort in French Polynesia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Best Resort in French Polynesia”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The over water suite was fantastic and lovely with personal touch by well appointed with local fresh flower in my suite upon arrival. It was so refreshing after more than 24 hrs travel long. The resort assigned personal butler to each guest to greet us at the dock and shown us the facility. The staff were so well trained and very friendly, they were all ready to assist and would like to ensure all requirements were met. The daily activity at the resorts made time fly very quick and did not want to leave this "PARADISE ON EARTH"
The food there was very plain for Thai. But the service was good and breakfast had many selections. Well, if the chief do make some fusion food to blend with Asian spice; it will be marvelous.
The typical Tahitian food was good for the first time but cannot repeat, they all taste the same.
The hotel had special dance and local show with dinner on Friday night. It is a must see.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rungsan_Hme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,871
    273
    68
    38
    17
See reviews for
213
1,783
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Been here for 3 days...4 to go. Everything is pure luxury This was on my bucket list, and it far exceeds my expectations. At the end of our bed was a wall of glass overlooking the main island and mountain.what a way to wake up!!! Water is so many shades of blue. The hotel staff were always so helpful and kind If you get the chance to come...this would be it

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kali0373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort the first week of March 2013. We arrived mid afternoon to pouring rain but it was brief. We stayed here for 4 nights and noticed a trend in the weather that it was sunny from the morning till lunch then it became overcast in the afternoon with rain mid evening. We also visited the Le Moana Intercontinental Hotel and we were glad we picked the Thalasso Spa resort as it was sheltered by the prevailing winds.

During our stay, the pool was not available due to maintenance, however, we were compensated by free daily lunch at the resort. Besides, swimming in the lagoon is far more interesting and enjoyable!

The food was superb and well presented. We had buffet breakfast and dinner (3 course meal) as part of our package and was very glad that we did. If we hadn't it would have cost per person approx $40AUD for breakfast each morning and approx $15-$20AUD for entree, approx $35AUD for mains and $15-$20AUD for dessert. TIP: when asking for water with your meals, ask for tap water and you won't be charged. Waiters offer still water or sparkling water only from the bottle and they charge approx $7AUD per bottle. Tap water at the resort is drinkable. It says so in the guest information book in the room.

We did a few tours and booked tours through the resort and direct with the tour companies. Both were good however booking direct to the tour companies are fractionally cheaper. It's convenient to book through the resort as they charge the tour to your room and u pay at the end of your stay. TIP: bring waterproof shoes as some snorkeling tour companies require wearing shoes in the water.

Overall, we loved our stay and recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Booked a 6 night stay and arrived to find the Resort under renovation. No pool, Main Restaurant "The Reef" closed, the main bar "Bubbles" closed and worst of all the much promoted Spa also closed. Booked 5 or 6 months prior to arrival and had many conversations with the booking agents and the hotel and no mention of renovations untill we arrived. They had been underway for weeks before we got their. Disappointing to say the least, and not up to the 5 star rating they are so proud of. We could have posponed our travel till the work was done had we known .Was offered no charge dinners as a concellation but who wants to eat and drink in the same restaurant every breakfast, lunch and dinner. Contacted Intercontinental Resorts and recieved a stock email appologizing and laid the blame on the reception desk employee`s. I`m sure they were only doing as asked by Management. I asked to be contacted by someone from Management and its has been two weeks since and still no call on the matter. I guess they just don`t care ! Not great business practices by Intercontinental Resorts. Bora Bora is truly a destination Resort and left us with few options to change our plans. Very disturbing !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank kbt_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear kbt_thomas,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Bora Bora.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have been here a few times over the years since it opened and I keep going back I just LOVe it.
If you want an over the top honeymoon (trust me I book a fair amount monthly) you will never and I say never be disappointed here
From the hotel, spa, food, and drinks this is one to been seen to believe resort on Bora Bora.
Even the help goes the extra mile. Even treated myself to a jar of their black pearl cream and each morning when I put it on I think of being at the Thalasso again. It can't come too soon
Thanks Chris for a wonderful visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nbr1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place is stunning! We stayed for 6 days and loved it. The view was spectacular and the water was like a bath. Saw stingrays on the beach each day around 2pm. Did paddle boarding with stingrays swimming under us, wow! Rooms were clean and well appointed. Entire resort was quiet as we were there right before the "rainy" season was to start. Good food, nice staff, beautiful beach, no rush to sit anywhere as there was lots of spots, great drinks and beautiful weather.

Room Tip: Get the breakfast canoe! Fantastic and very memorable. So beautiful! They even catered to my glut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaCTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to spend a week at this resort and were not disappointed. Although January is in the rainy season, the rain did not spoil our experience. This truly is paradise and totally relaxing. Everyone at this resort is very friendly and help to enhance the experience. The overwater villas are huge and extremely luxurious. It was amazing to wake up every morning with the expanse of turquoise water at the bottom of our bed. One of the most memorable experiences was the daily feeding of the sting rays where they actually climb out of the water and up your body!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnLMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
3.6 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Address: | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing