We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon - Just lock up your valuables!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewed December 6, 2012

After a bit of a rough start with finding it difficult to contact this hotel, it all got sorted in the end and our trip there was heaven on earth! I really couldn't fault anything from the room to the level of staff attention and service!

Positives:
* Large beautiful rooms with two outter decks, one that is in the shade and one lower deck where you can get a bit of a tan :)
* Our room request was met and we got a mountain view and the hut was in shallow water as i can't swim.
* Perfect balance between tahitian culture and modern comfort. Staff were a mix between french and locals which made it feel like we had a tahitian experience
* Free polynesian dance shows during buffet nights and you can go on stage to have a dance too if you like. They also stay behind to take photos with you
* Staff spoke fluent english and understood all requests
* Staff are there to meet all your needs eg. we got calls everynight asking if for dinner reservations and they even gave us a front row seat to the dance show!
* Resort is not overcrowded, private and luxurious
* Food was great but a bit pricey so it's worth getting half board
* we went in mid november and the weather was beautiful
* A photo of us in front of the mountain was a thoughtful parting gift

Improvements (i thought these were minor)
* very pricey but all good things come at a price so just forget about the money and just enjoy!
* No air con in the separate toilet
* shower started to look a little aged with tile grouting looking a bit dirty / mouldy
* no air con in the restaurants made it a bit hot and uncomfortable some nights
* Timetable of the sister shuttle wasn't ideal. Big gap between the mid morning boats.

Recommendations:
* the shark explorer excursion was great!
* All rooms are beautiful but try to not get one where the beach is as it won't be as private. The huts at the end have the best views but could be noisy when jet ski's and boats go past. We were in room 123 and it was perfect!

Finally.......
I had read a couple of posts on here about money being stolen but stupidly didn't really think of it again. I didn't put my wallet in the safe on the first night and realised when i looked in my wallet when we were checking out and found 150AUD missing (i had the equivalent in francs so about 12k so it was obvious it went missing as i hadn't used my wallet once the whole trip). I didn't report it as it was my fault for not talking better care of my things. So many ppl are going through your room each day it's important to keep this stuff locked up! I guess i was complacent because i thought it wouldn't happen at such an upper class resort but that was a lesson i learnt the hard way. So lock up and you'll have a perfect time there!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelbugLG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 2,447 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

You cannot find a better view of Mt. Otemanu from any other BB resort so even if you don't stay here, take the free boat shuttle from the IHC sister property Le Moana to enjoy the view of a lifetime. We stayed 2 nights on points and paid about $170 per night for the basic upgrade to an OWB.(Not sure why some pay other prices except perhaps supply/demand.) I am Ambassador Platinum with Priority Club but did not want to risk being stuck in one of the 3 really miserably located "Family Suite Coral" which is the only option offered with Priority Club award points. Joining Ambassador Club for $200 may or may not be advised; we used it for a 4 pm late checkout and the one day of fresh fruit (8 pcs) and a daily bottle of water but were told it did not give us any upgrade since we stayed on points. The Bose Ipod player had no volume control so bring your own if that's important. Bring a converter for U.S. electric devices (like cmera battery charger) & extra camera memory cards. Very happy we brought porcelain cup + tons of VIA as Nespresso pods were US$3.75 each. The A/C is SUPERB and an amazing engineering feat as well (from deep-sea water). Refill your water bottle in the free health club where we also found fresh apples. Mini frig has a little extra room if you want to shop in town at Chin Le's grocery (good cheap wine selection, great fabrics next door) but shuttle van from IHC LeMoana needs to be pre-arranged at set intervals). Tip: Inter-island airline allows liquids (e.g. big bottles) as carry-on but they do weigh the carry-on bag if it "looks heavy." so if you have heavy but small items, carry on, don't check them (44 lbs limit). Also sit on left side of plane facing pilot going into BOB for best views! Snorkeling here not as good as Moorea due to Thalasso's warm water location; thus glad we did only 2 more luxuriousness days here and 4 more active days on Moorea. This is on a remote motu, so you can't walk very far off the property; it is meant to be enjoyed as a tourist at very steep prices for a trip you will never forget.

Room Tip: Request OWB room AWAY from any construction noise, as far out from the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Abbot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just got back from a trip to Tahiti. Stayed 4 nights at the Hilton Moorea, 1 night at the IC Moana, and 2 nights at the IC Thalasso. Of the 3 hotels, this was by far the best hotel of the 3. We loved the spacious rooms. We loved the view. The people were friendly. There were free activities like a coconut show, a lesson on how to make poisson cru, and stingray feeding every day at 2pm. We mostly stayed at the pool and did some snorkeling by the wedding chapel area. The only downside is that it is expensive, but hey, that's what Priority Club points are for (can't beat 40K pts + $70 for a $1,000 a night hotel room.) I think all of the other reviewers have said it all already, so I won't say anymore. However, here's a tip - instead of paying $90 for 2 people to be picked up from the airport, take the free Air Tahiti shuttle to the city and then pay $20 for a taxi to the IC Moana and then catch the free shuttle to the IC Thalasso. Or pay them the $90 when you arrive, but take the "slow" route back to save some money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinhnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is truly paradise!!! We had 4 wonderful days and wished we could stay longer. Food at the restaurant and bar area was fantastic, sandy snorkeling right off your deck, stingrays were plentiful. Looking forward to our return trip and stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: Stay on the inside Y and upgrade to the Emerald rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This property is hands down the most surreal place! We did the over water chapel with the traditional tahitian ceremony and private beach dinner then the next day the Intercontinental wedding planners took us to the town to be legally married by the mayor. The entire experience was amazing! Sophie, the wedding planner, was amazine we were in great hands and so well taken care of. The resort and wedding events far exceeded our expectations! We booked our travel through custom tahiti.com and had a flawless travel experience. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: join the ambassadore's club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cortney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent four nights at the IC Thalasso after staying at the other IC resorts in French Polynesia (Tahati, Moorea, Moana). We took the boat shuttle from the Moana resort directly to Thalasso where we were immediately greeted and taken to the reception area. We were given cold, refreshing drinks similar to what was provided at the other properties during check in. The reception area is beautifully decorated with modern furnishings. There was a little bit of a W Hotel vibe. We were given a short tour of the resort and taken to our OWB.

I had read on other forums and websites about the size of the OWB but I was truly surprised on how spacious it was. Everything from the bathroom, closet, deck, glass coffee table, to the Nespresso machine was fantastic. The villa was clean, modern, and well maintained.

We spent most of our time at the pool or by the beach. The pool is lined with small tiles which can be slippery when walking from the shallow to the deeper end. The pool boys were super friendly and engaged in conversation with everyone. There were activities such as pareo demonstrations, stingray feedings, and hat weaving. The resort also provided kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkel gear.

There are two restaurants in the resort - one casual and one upscale. I would recommend the international dinner buffet and Polynesian dance show which was offered on the Saturday we were there. The dancers invited people from the dining room up to the stage and later allowed you to take pictures with them. One night, we took the boat shuttle to the Le Moana resort to have dinner at Le Bounty just outside which offers complimentary transportation to and from the resort. We loved the pizza at Le Bounty.

Unlike some other resorts, you must have spa treatment to utilize the spa. I've been to other resorts where use of the spa is included in the resort fee. My treatment took place in an OWB that had a small glass floor tile where you could see fish swimming while getting the treatment, similar to the glass coffee table in the villas. The spa has sea water baths and outdoor cold water jacuzzis.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this beautiful resort. My only complaint was the service was inconsistent and could have been improved at the restaurants, Bubbles lounge, and pool when ordering food/drinks. The pool boys and the sommelier at upscale restaurant were exceptional.

The views of Mt. Otemanu, turquoise water, and the serenity of the resort are beyond what can be described in words.

Room Tip: I don't know if I would recommend the family 2 bedroom villa as an option. There are three 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIFItheWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 Days at the Thalasso in May 2011, and there are no words to express the beauty of this place! Staff were extremely attentive, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was absolutely magical. Bora Bora is a little slice of heaven on earth and this hotel really knows how to ensure their guests experience the best of it. We stayed in bungalow #226 which was perfect for us. Make sure to become part of the intercontinental Ambassador's club. It costs $200 for one year, but you get a free room upgrade anytime you book with this chain of hotels. This was especially beneficial because we would have forked out $500 to upgrade to a sapphire bungalow. We plan on coming back one day and will most definitely stay at the Thalasso and spa. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a vacation to Bora Bora!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#8 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,746 reviews
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.1 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.7 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#2 of 17 in Bora Bora
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Address: | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $1,015 - $1,489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing