We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best of the best in Bora Bora”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewed September 4, 2012

it is situated in the outside atoll and from there (specially from the over water rooms) is is possible to see the Bora Bora mountain. a lot better location that the I.C Le Moana and it is provided by a boat to take the guest to the main islaqnd for shopping. Service impeccable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vichi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,347)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed last week for 3 nights as part of a trip to Bora at the urging of friends who are based on the island. As locals they were adamant that it was the best of the top class resorts and with the Four Seasons and St Regis as neighbours it had a lot to live up to. This is a very, very good hotel with superb staff, wonderful rooms and location that is really one of a kind. I can not recommend it highly enough.

Previous reviews are all correct and the tips valid and worth following. We used the hotel to really chill after being very active elsewhere and it was perfect for this - we really enjoyed the spa. The food at the restaurants is pretty good with breakfast being the highlight and if your on a meal plan this where the value is.

The clientele was obviously skewed towards couples but we were happily looked after as a family and with two roll out beds the overwater bungalows housed our family of four perfectly. I really enjoyed the staff who really looked after us and made the trip special with good but chilled service that made the resort nicely informal but upmarket at the same time.

Bora Bora is a paradise and while you can happily stay on the resort its worth making the effort to get out and explore. Diving with sharks, feeding rays and trips to the coral gardens are all must do excursions.

Its a great resort.

Room Tip: The ambassador club tip works at all Intercontinental hotels so worth the price.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HughK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

LOCATION: The Intercontinental Hotel has a counter at the Bora Bora Airport. They will assist you with your luggage and boat transfer to the hotel. There is also a regular boat transfer between the Intercontinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa and its sister hotel the Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort a fifteen-minute boat ride away. There you can find more restaurant and shopping options close by. The boat transfer from the hotel to the airport cost XPF 9053 for two people and takes around 20 minutes.

HOTEL: Very friendly, polite and super efficient bell staff. Courteous, fast check-in and check-out. (Diamond Overwater Villa): Generous size room. Comfortable beds and pillows. Excellent cold seawater air-conditioning. Low shower water pressure. Beautiful view of the Otemanu Mountain from the private balcony. Crystal clear water right by your own pontoon.
Uninspiring breakfast. Cooked rice and miso soup are the only Asian food options available. The Sands Bar and Restaurant served bland food. Otherwise, the service here and during breakfast was quite attentive and fast.

CONCLUSION: Very polite and friendly staff. Rooms further out in the lagoon with view of Mt. Otemanu are very special. Warmly recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Paradise. Absolute paradise. We stayed 6 nights. We love to travel and I am absolutely certain it is all downhill from here. We can go on and on about the island and the Thalsso, but just as an example… We aren’t usually big spenders when it comes to lodging when we travel but we were certainly impressed when escorted to a private table with drinks and cold cloths to sit and enjoy the view while our paperwork was completed). We were again upgraded courtesy of our Ambassador membership (please see our review for the Intercontinental Moorea) to an absolutely beautiful “Diamond” room with phenomenal views of Mt. Otemanu. The rooms themselves were much more generously spaced than we expected and we felt we had total privacy. Room, views, staff, etc. were all amazing. We are not sure when, but we will definitely be returning. We could not have dreamt of anything more wonderful. I cannot imagine a more perfect or romantic location to relax and savor the company of whomever you are traveling with. We are still kicking ourselves that we were able to make this trip. Truly, pictures cannot do it justice.

Tips:

- As in Moorea, we made a stop at a local grocery store to purchase beer/wine, water, snacks, and food for lunch. Take the shuttle to the other IC resort (Moana) and a grocery store is an approximately 10 minute walk (you don’t need to pay for the shuttle the resort offers unless you have physical limitations).

- Request a room with a view of Mt. Otemanu – breathtaking.

- Here we opted to include breakfast AND dinner (Half Board), which I am thankful for. You have 3 choices for dinner: two restaurants on the property, which are both excellent, and you can take the shuttle to the restaurant at the IC Moana (nice for a change of pace - although the Thalasso seemed to be the more luxurious of the two resorts). We didn’t think the dinner buffets were as delicious as the typical menu offerings, but many people raved about them). We skipped the buffet after trying it once and opted for the “informal” restaurant by the pool. There, the food is just as good - ranging from pizzas to excellent fish and pasta dishes. Make a reservation and ask to sit out on the beach if you choose to dine there. One complaint – they were out of several items listed on their menu both nights we dined there.

- Walk to the back side of the resort to the ocean side to check out the stars on a clear night. You will see EVERYTHING. Invest in a constellation app for your phone or e-reader if you haven’t already. You may want to check it out during the day first as it was somewhat disconcerting exploring it at night for the first time without knowing our surroundings.

- Excursions: A circle island snorkeling tour is a MUST (have never seen more beautiful coral or swam with such abundant fish – we went with Moana Adventures and they were fabulous – this was the only excursion we booked from the US and they fill quickly), diving is phenomenal (the resort has its own PADI shop), sailing (expensive, but well worth it for us – book well in advance , i.e., before you arrive if you know you want to go), spa (they are known for their spa, but I don’t know if we would go again for the price – if you are “spa people” I am sure you will love it).

- Enjoy the lagoon! Maybe people enjoy having food and beverage service, but we were always astounded by the number of people who seemed to spend a large portion of their time at the pool. It’s great for a quick rinse after checking out the ray feeding, but otherwise we swam/snorkeled/or floated on rafts from our private deck.

- We left Bora Bora to take the red eye back to the US. Get as late a flight as possible. Once you arrive at the Tahiti airport your choices are limited. You can take a cab into town, but the price of storing or hassle of bringing our luggage was not worth it (for us) – beware VERY long lines if you do pay to store your luggage). The international terminal did not open until 2-3 hours before departure. While this terminal is very nice (lots of seating, AC, food/drinks to purchase, duty-free shopping) the rest of the airport has not benefited from similar improvements.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Virginia412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

First of all Bora Bora itself is amazing. It is everything you hear about and more. Intercontinental Thalasso is amazing. Definitely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The snorkeling is just awesome and they have a bunch of other activities as well. Highly recommend getting the ambassador membership before you leave (actually at the time of booking). We got our room upgraded which was awesome. There was almost nothing we disliked about this hotel. We only had two very small negatives - the food in the hotel isn't the greatest and the hotel is very expensive but you definitely get what you pay for. The other advantage with this hotel is that you can use the facilities of the Intercontinental Bora Bora as well. Not as nice as Thalasso but still a bonus.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with room. Get the ambassador club and the upgrade in room you get will more than...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Subbu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The property is wonderful. We had originally stayed 2 years ago and though the place was wonderful. They outdid themselves this year. The view from OWB was amazing.
Special thanks to Heimana and Christophe in front office. Also Margaux and Laure in Concierge office.
We plan to be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milo911MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It was supposed to be a dream, but it came as a NIGHTMARE. I had read a review on Tripadvisor from a customer who were stolen, but I thought it would never happen to me. My mistake! I were stolen US$600 in my last night at Intercontinental Thalasso & SPA Bora Bora. I immediatelly called the staff and talked to the general manager next day. I offered all the stuff, including my wife's wallet for collecting fingerprints and detailed analysis, but after almost one month, absolutely nothing was done. I would come back to Bora Bora (it's really the paradise), but would NEVER stay in the same hotel. There are plenty cheaper and where steals are not commonly reported. Anyway, I will wait the final investigations for giving my full review.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Edward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Edward O,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It's disappointing to hear about your experience at our hotel. I would like to address your concerns in further details and have sent you a private message to obtain more information regarding your stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.7 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa

Address: | Motu Piti Aau, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $1,013 - $1,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa is located between the two hearts of Motu Piti Aau, a coral island on the barrier reef. The Deep Ocean Spa is the centerpiece, but the resort offers lots of cultural and recreational activities to fill your days including canoeing, kayaking, snorkeling, stargazing and handicraft demonstrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Thalasso-Spa Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Hotel Bora
Intercontinental Thalasso Resort Bora
Intercontinental Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing