We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Chez Nono(Bora Bora)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Matira(Bora Bora)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Bora Bora Nui(Bora Bora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveler rating
636
195
53
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
195
53
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoral gardensmacaroonsrefilled dailythe free mini baroverwater bungalowfishthe main hotellookout pointour honeymoonother resortsromantic dinnereco tourbaby sharkstour boatscoconut drinkfresh coconut watermarara beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 910 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We are now in the last hours, on our last day here on the Sofitel Private Island. We came here for our honeymoon and stayed 5 nights. When you first arrive at Bora Bora airport, you are chartered on a boat straight to the private island and greeted as though you were a rock star. When you get off the boat there is someone playing a guitar and a member of the reception greets you with a cold towel and a coconut water (in an actual coconut) which tastes amazing.

You are given a tour of the island to familiarise yourself with the restaurant, bar, swim/kayak equipment and the accommodation. We were taken to our overwater bungalow and given a tour inside. Because we were on our honeymoon we had a cold bottle of French champagne and two glasses waiting for us to enjoy. It was explained also that everything in the minibar was free and restocked daily.

All facilities are amazing. The bathroom was good with no problems, the balcony had an outdoor setting, and then on a slightly lower second floor were two day beds overlooking the magnificent ocean. Each bungalow also has it's own little stairs into the ocean which we quite often snorkelled from and fed all the beautiful fish.

The island is so quiet with nothing motorised, all you literally hear when falling asleep is the ocean underneath you. The only thing the island doesn't have is a pool, but if you want to swim in a pool you can take the free 2 minute boat ride over to the main island of Bora Bora and the Sofitel resort.

The food was amazing, a little overpriced but that is to be expected at all remote resorts. We do suggest taking the boat over and experiencing different places for dinner as the restaurant can get a little repetitive - and the staff are happy to offer suggestions and recommendations, and will call and make reservations for you.

We had such a ball swimming with the fish, watching the baby reef shark we named Bruce swim around, ate at Bloody Mary's, kayaking, paddle boarding, glass bottom boat rides out to swim with stingrays and sharks. But what really made our experience all the better was the amazing staff that the Sofitel Private Island has. Wow. We truly felt like rock stars and nothing was ever too hard or too much, and they were always smiling. A special shout out to the Assistant Manager Francois and his team for making our stay so awesome. Marta who made such delicious cosmopolitans and Tita who was always singing, smiling, laughing and hugging - she was truly amazing. All of the staff spoke perfect English and were always up for a chat.

We would absolutely recommend this place for any couple looking for a relaxing time in paradise.

John and Kayla.

Room Tip: All of the over water bungalows are amazing. Sometimes they get quite windy so probably go earlier in the year than we did (June-September)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Reading the way you experienced the Sofitel private island and feeling you were a rock start all along your stay is what all our magnique "ambassadors" working at the private island want you to feel at every moment. They join me to thank you for your so beautiful and details comments. There is places you leave but there is place who never leave you, Sofitel Private Island is one of them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Bora Bora in the 1st part of October 2013. We stayed in Tahiti for 3 days prior to arriving to Bora Bora. When we arrived to the airport in Bora Bora we were met by a boat, which is really cool, cause there are no car's that can drive from the airport to any part of the Island. We took about a 20 to 25 minute boat ride to our Sofital Private Island. When we arrived we were greated by a man and a women, the man was blowing on a shell and as we docked he started playing the ukulele, I stepped off the boat feeling like a movie star, then the women met with us giving a brief tour and what was happing during our stay. We were told about the Sea Food Buffet on Thursday nights, so we signed up for that, and that was spectacular they even had lobster, plus put on a show. We just loved the private island experience, for there were no cars, no motorized anything. The overwater hut was a dream come true for us, we flet as though we were truly on our 2nd honeymoon. The staff gets an A++ because everyone was so happy, and smiling. Thanks so much for making my dream trip so amazing. Hat's off to the cooks as well they really know what they are doing. And please go to Bora Bora I hear this from everyone I tell I was there and they all tell me, thats my dream trip, so start saving for it. We will be back.

Room Tip: Just do the overwater hut.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JEFF H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

and please come back soon! Sofitel Private island is waiting to welcome and to host you again as our special guest as always;.....!
thank you for sharing your magnifique experience at Sofitel Private island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed in an overwater bungalow (room 129) for four days during our honeymoon. The hotel is situated in an absolutely beautiful location with excellent opportunities for snorkeling. The bungalows were well appointed and very romantic. I wanted to give the hotel five stars simply because it was the best vacation we have ever had, and because the location is so awe inspiringly beautiful. Since there are many resorts with overwater bungalows competing for your hard earned (honeymoon) dollars, I have to be honest. The service at this resort is slow and lackadaisical. Perhaps we were spoiled on the Paul Gauguin, upon which we spent eleven glorious nights cruising the French Society and Austral Islands, but the service at the Private Island portion of this hotel was far more “laid back” and “island relaxed” than we are used to from our travels in the Caribbean. Dinner at Manu Tuki on the Private Island took a very long time and the wait staff wasn’t very attentive. The food was good, but the portions were small, and it was overpriced. During our stay at this hotel we ate mostly at La Bounty (amazing) or Matira Pizza (with the Pizza Crepes sign) which are a short walk to the left out of the main land resort. La Bounty picks you up for free for dinner. There really isn’t anyone at the bar of the Private Island, so if you want beverages while you sunbathe, I recommend stopping at the store, which is a 3 minute walk to the left out the front entrance of the mainland resort. We experienced a few issues (all of which have easy fixes). We were delivered a bottle of wine to our room with a cork, but there are no bottle openers in the room and only one to share between all of the rooms on the Private Island so we had to wait our turn. There were discarded beer cans and other garbage on the beach (only a few pieces, but still) that remained during all four days of our stay. There was no water in the gym during the four days of our stay. One morning we awoke to an employee scrubbing the stairs leading to the water from our balcony at about 7 am. Despite the above, we had an amazing time. The snorkeling was great. There were baby reef sharks everywhere. The snorkeling trip we took when we were in Bora Bora on the Paul Gauguin took us to a spot on the other side of the Private Island (just past room 114), so you should venture over there if you are into snorkeling. The view from the lookout point is breathtaking. The best room in terms of a view and privacy is room 129 at the end. We had the best view of Mount Otemanu, and saw the sunrise and sunset. The balconies of rooms 128 to 114 are exposed to the constant breeze and only see the sunrise. They face out and are very private. Rooms 130 and 131 face in towards the resort and have a view of the sunset. They are less private because the balconies face the resort’s beach area. Lori Evans at Heavenly Destinations was the travel agent that hooked us up with the best room in the place, and we recommend that you contact her to help you book. Overall we had an amazing time and can’t wait to return on our anniversary.

Room Tip: Room 129 is the most private with the best views. Rooms 130 and 131 see the sunset and are sheltered from the breeze. The balconies are less private because they face the resort's beach. Rooms 128 to 114 have a constant breeze and only see the sunrise. They are more private because they face away from the resort.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharperadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

your comments are really important and valuable for us. Thank you for sharing your experience about the romantic room, the magnifique snorkling place with us and we will really focus more on all the other points.
Maururu to have been our host at Sofitel in Bora Bora!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went to Bora Bora for our honeymoon, and are so glad that we did. We stayed at the Sofitel Private Island in one of their overwater bungalows. Let me just tell you, the water is so clear, blue and amazing! Our bungalow was perfect and everything, from the bed to the shower to the fridge, were all perfect. Upon landing on the island we were greated by the most wonderful and helpful people. Our bags were delivered to our room for us as we sat and sipped coconut water from actual coconuts, and dapped our faces and arms with vanilla cool cloths. Everything is beautiful, the dining area has a coy fish pond with waterfall, and giant glass windows that overlook the ocean and the bungalows. In the morning, it is great because you can watch the sunrise while you eat breakfast. Our bed was nicely decorated upon arrival, completely comfortable, and always made up nicely. Showers were amazing with a rain head feature and a handheld feature as well. Spacious showers and bathroom space as well. Fridges are stocked daily with delicious fruit and mango juices as well as local beer and water. You go out the patio and have a covered poarch area or an open area to lounge in the sun. You can also access the ocean right off your back porch by jumping in or just by walking down the stairs and using the ladder entry. There is also a shower head situated for washing salt water off after you leave the ocean. We used this quite a bit as we spent a great deal of time snorkeling around the private island. Food was delicious and breakfast was included with our package. They had a great variety of everything, and you could have omlets, pancakes, waffles, etc. all made. Sometimes it was difficult to find someone that could run the omelet station for you, but they would come around after a while. They also have a spa and other activities that you can do on the private island. There is a boat that will take you to the main island and that goes back and forth most all day. We never had any issue getting over to the main island. I will say that I am so glad we stayed on the private island even though there is less beach area. The main island had more trash on the beach, and the Sofitel on that side, while still nice, just could not compare to the private island. I can't wait to go back, and am so gald that we chose Bora Bora over Hawaii for our honeymoon. We met many couples that agreed.

Room Tip: I would definately choose the overwater bungalow as it provides much better access to the ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvTheMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

great to read your experienec and to see how you highlight this boutique hotel to be the perfect place to stay for honeymooners. Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your magnique wedding. we wait for you to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews