We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“AMAZING” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I came here for 4 nights and stayed in an overwater bungalow. In summary, we were very pleased and would recommend this to others and come back ourselves. Would give them a 4.5 if possible. Felt like I couldn't give them a 5 based on the price you pay and a few of the downsides of the resort.

Pros:
-Located on its on private Island with an incredible view of the main island and mountain, and of the intercontinental by Matira Beach.
-Gorgeous Blue waters and white sand beaches
-Full access to the main island through the free and frequent shuttle service to the other Sofitel.
-Great restaurant - Breakfast buffet was delicious. Lunch and Dinner were great as well.
-Restaurant prices were very reasonable for being on Bora Bora AND on a secluded island. We went to a hole in the wall restaurant on the main land and paid similar prices.
-Service is very friendly and fair in dealing with any issues.
-Overwater bungalows were excellent and very roomy and luxurious.
-We visited the Sofitel on the mainland and the one on the private island is much nicer. You get access to all the amenities of both sofitels and can charge back to your room from either. The Sofitel on the mainland loses the view of the iconic mountain of the mainland of Bora Bora.
-Amazing romantic dinner feature. You get sticker shock from the price, but I highly recommend doing it after actually going through it. It is worth the money.
-Phenomenal snorkelling just out back of the island. You can walk over and start snorkelling in an amazing coral garden that tour operators have as one of their stops on excursions. Recommend going early to get their before the tours to see more fish.

Cons:
-You are a bit secluded being on a separate island. Shuttle service is frequent, but for some this could be considered a pain. We personally liked the secludedness of being on our own island.
-I felt some of the front desk people were a bit awkward and fake. Although they were very nice and accommodating. We don't generally go to luxurious hotels, so maybe we are just not used to it??
-Once instance I have to mention cause it was very weird. I ordered Salmon in the restaurant for dinner. I thick white fish came out (looked more like Mahi or Swordfish) instead. It was very delicious but when I questioned why it was white (because I have NEVER heard of or seen WHITE salmon) the server said it was local. I afterwards noted PINK salmon at the same restaurant for breakfast, and also ordered PINK salmon at another restaurant for dinner. Feel like I was fed a load of [--] and think the server should have known better.
-Shuttle service to and from the airport is REDICULOUSLY overpriced. Think its [--] to overprice the shuttle service for people to get to/from your secluded establishment. Especially when you consider that they are shuttle 8-10 people from the same hotel!
-No gym on the private island and the on the mainland was lame and half the machines were broken.
-No pool on the private island, but the one on the mainland Sofitel was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SLH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Maururu roa for sharing your magnifique experience at Sofitel Private island. All our dedicated ambassador share only one wish, to be your private concierge to make your stay unforgatable. Thank you for exeriencing true luxury experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    157
    41
    10
    9
See reviews for
33
602
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here after spending 4 nights in Moorea and were greeted with music and fresh coconuts. They have a high level of customer service and some of their staff really hustle. We enjoyed taking the kayak around the island. The polynesian buffet at the marara resort had better food than the other ones we tried and the Mama's show was a lot of fun. The view from the top of the private island is the best in Bora Bora, it's a shame that the area isn't utilized much more.

As a hint, the coral gardens everyone snorkels are right behind the island. Easy snorkel, but honestly the corals are a little damaged probably from all the tours. In the pass between the islands, the corals are a bit more lively.

Room Tip: We stayed in the overwater bungalow, but the treehouse rooms might have better views in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportfishtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Making you experiencing a unique moment of truth is our only wish!
sense of details, "cousu mains service" is our credo in one of the most magnifique location in the world at only 7 hours from LA ......
Thank you for your great comments! It will be our pleasure and our honor to welcome you back in our paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We are used to travelling in different luxury resorts in Seychelles Islands, Mauritius, Fiji,... This place is definitely outstanding! High standards of service, beautiful overwater bungalows, delicious food and unequalled warmness of staff. This boutique hotel is unique!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Juliannury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
I cannot resist to announce that for the second consecuive year we have been awarded as the best South Pacific resort at HM Awards ceremony in Sydney in addition of having been agreed by earthcheck for our environmental commitment!
all of this just to let you know that we want you to experience at Sofitel Private island a unique and exclusive lifestyle with a magnique team just to make you feel owning your "hotel particulier" at bora Bora

come back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. First, when you arrive they greet you with fresh coconuts and take you on a personal tour of the island and check you in, in your room. All of the beer, juices, tea and water in your mini bar are included - refreshed daily no extra charge. The views of Bora Bora are stunning and I can't imagine any of the bungalows have a poor view.

The underwater life at the resort is phenomenal. Whether you choose to just snorkel at your bungalow or walk around the island to the coral gardens the waters are teeming with life and the variety of fish you see is amazing. I really miss seeing all the baby black tipped sharks every night that swim around the dock!

The other awesome part is the boat to get back and forth to the main island is free. We met so many other people staying at other resorts that told us they had to pay every time they wanted to come to the main island. The highest charge I heard was Le Meridian guests said they paid $50 round trip - crazy!!!!

The front desk will make reservations for you for main island restaurants and the restaurants come to the lobby of the main island Sofitel to pick you up for free. The front desk can also book tours for you but we arranged everything before we went because it was discounted to do so.

Also if your debating between the private island and the main island Sofitel STAY ON THE PRIVATE ISLAND!!!!!

Room Tip: They are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mjk21love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation !
We want to provide a true exclusive experience to every guest coming over to our private island at Sofitel Bora Bora and to read your comment is our best gift

Maururu Roa!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the last few nights of our honeymoon (first half was on Moorea). This place blew us away. They strive to make your stay luxurious and special and they do a great job. Starting with a nice scenic boat ride from the airport, when you arrive they give you flower leis, fresh coconut water and give you a tour of the island. Several beaches, free water sports, fabulous snorkeling, delicious meals and beautiful rooms with amazing views. Free minibar gets restocked every day. Had yummy macaroons in our room a few times.

The rooms are spaced out well and all have a great view and a lounging deck (we called it the poop deck thanks to all our funny bird friends but the hotel hoses it off frequently).

We enjoyed sunsets from the top of the island and took advantage of the shuttle boat back and forth to the main island frequently. The private boat ride shuttle was pretty cool and not something you get other places!

I could go on and on but basically we loved it and highly recommend this place! We miss it already!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AeroChk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Maururu roa for sharing your magnifique experience at Sofitel Private island. All our dedicated ambassador share only one wish, to be your private concierge to make your stay unforgatable. Thank you for exeriencing true luxury experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is amazing. Everything is great and in line with what you'd expect from a hotel of this category, but what makes it special is indeed that it's very secluded. There are 30 rooms on the island and you rarely see more than 5 or 6 other couples at a time. The place is very peaceful and quiet (there are no cars within ear shot), the bungalows are very comfortable (the bed was the most comfortable bed we ever had) and the island is just big enough to allow you to find your private space: there is a small beach, a coral garden and a nice view point at the top of the hill where you can watch amazing sunsets (if only they had had a jacuzzi at the top of the hill, we would have never left it).
The staff is super helpful: always there when you need them, but somehow invisible the rest of the time, which again reinforces this impression of being in your own island. The food is AMAZING, the Tuna Trio (three different takes on the tuna tartare) is worth the visit by itself in our opinion :-)
By comparison, the Sofitel Mareva on the main land felt very busy every time we got off the boat!
And after every activity on the main land, there is this priceless feeling of returning to your own island, far from the crowd and the noise. Can't beat that!

Room Tip: Once there, you definitely want the over-water bungalows. Otherwise you'd regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you highlighting the comparison between the two sofitel, Marara Beach and Private Island.
You choose to be exclusive on the private island when others guests are more looking for entertainment and activities at Sofitel Marara.
Being guest at the Sofitel Private island you can enjoy both properties with free access in both hotel to feel home everywhere at Soitel in Bora Bora!
i will personaly extend all your magnifique comments to Anne and her team. They all join me to thank you for sharing your magnifique experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel has two areas the mainland hotel and the private island. We stayed in one of the over the water bungalows on the private island. There is a boat that transports you to and from the private island to the main hotel. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne and macaroons when we entered our bungalow. The room had a nice bathroom with double sinks and a stand up shower, a king bed, tv, ac, a port hole, and the view which is worth a million dollars. There was also a private deck with a ladder for water access. Great snorkeling right off and under the bungalow. Breakfast was included with our stay which had wholesome selection and an amazing view. We had dinner once at the hotel (nothing special and expensive) but I would highly recommend going to the local restaurants some are within walking distance with amazing food. I would also recommend the mini market down the street for drinks, snacks, and beer if you want to save some cash. The aquatic wildlife around the motu (island) is amazing. Black fin reef sharks (small) octopus, string rays, and fish of all colors and sizes. The hotel also offers kayaks and with a short paddle to the rear of the island is a popular reef for snorkeling. Bring water shoes (lava rock is sharp). My wife teared up when we had to depart and stated "you have to promise to bring me back here." One day I will hopefully return.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time on the mainland hotel rooms. Upgrade to the over the water bungalow on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Maururu roa for sharing your magnifique experience at Sofitel Private island. All our dedicated ambassador share only one wish, to be your private concierge to make your stay unforgatable. Thank you for exeriencing true luxury experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#9 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island

Property: Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Address: BP 516, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the most beautiful lagoons in the world, Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island is located in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay, nestled on a private islet facing the main island of Bora Bora. A secret hideaway where you can enjoy a peaceful and romantic retreat, regenerate yourself and savour the exquisite feeling of being at home on your own private island. This boutique hotel is emphasizing privacy and intimacy to create a unique experience in the heart of native vegetation surrounded by turquoise water and beautiful coral gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing