We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Trip was part of our group trip in late october 2012, so we had the whole island to our group.

Over water bungalow was great , like most over water properties are, this one felt slightly aged, but was good enough definitely.

But it is the people of this Sofitel that makes the difference. Starting with Didier, to Giovanni, to Tita to Catherine, and the best of them all Jean Louis. Also the rest of your team Didier (who remembered to give me his business card at departure, though he forgot to credit me my club accor points)

The food is excellent, the ambience superb, but hey , this is Bora Bora, so the views and the people are always superb.

The ride by boat from the airport may be a bit long, but if you want service and privacy, this is the place to choose folks.

There is also a free boat ride to the other Sofitel property if you want a pool. If not just dive in from your overwater room and snorkel. Be surprised by what you see just under your room. Really.

We will definitely return soon for another visit Didier. A bientot.

Room Tip: Book the overwater units
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
You were all great you had the whole island for yourself with a bar service delivered 24/day for you to enjoy days and night in your private island at Bora Bora,.
I remember how you all enjoyed the great jazz band and standing buffet cocktail at the top of the hill afeter the sunset cocktail with the torches lights....so romantic even for 50 people! and the gala diner at the beach with all beautiful shows..... You were all fantastic and all the team cannot wait to welcome you back in your "new paradise".
No worry for your points you get them, and i wish you will get much more in the future when you will come back!
We are waiting for you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    169
    43
    13
    11
See reviews for
35
640
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The private island is very quiet and romantic. A perfect setting for our honeymoon. We went over to the Sofitel on the main island in Bora Bora, and it was a bit louder with more families, so we were very happy with our choice to stay on the private island. There is no pool on the private island, however.
The overwater bungalows are very nice and we enjoyed our meals at the restaurant as well. There is great snorkeling off of the little island and a beautiful lookout point just a short walk away to see the sunset.
That said, we did encounter several issues at this hotel.
(1) We had a small correction to make on our bill at checkout, but this ended up taking an hour to fix.
(2)The reception was always understaffed, and we always had to wait more than 15 minutes to speak to someone about activities and other questions during our stay.
(3) The restaurant/bar regularly ran out of ice to give to guests.
(4) When we arrived, there was an error in our booking. We thought we had booked an overwater bungalow, but that was not what was in their system. Instead of trying to be helpful, apologetic and sympathetic, the staff just flatly said that the error was our fault and there was nothing they could do. We had to take a regular room (island lodge) and wait for an overwater bungalow to become available the following day. The staff mentioned that we would have to pay the difference of the room price for the overwater bungalow, which we were ok with, but they did not mention that we would also have to pay 15,000 Francs (about 160 USD) as an additional charge for simply changing rooms. We only found out about this when we checked out. We found this to be a ridiculous charge because firstly we weren't entirely sure that the incorrect booking was our mistake and not the hotel's, and secondly if we are paying for the difference in room price, why should we have to pay an additional fee? This was not communicated to us at the time (possibly due to the staff's limited English), but regardless, we find this fee to be unfair. This problem, in particular, made our honeymoon stay not as ideal and perfect as we had imagined. We were very disappointed in the way the staff handled this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sydneyabcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for nice comment regarding the quality of the room and for the points that you mentioned to increase the quality of our resort. I have a great news regarding the swimming pool, we plan to build one on the top of the hill in 2013, the process is engaged and will be confirmed by the end of November. otherwise the good news is when you buy Sofitel private island, you get the Sofitel Marara beach located on the main island with a great swimming pool. On the private island side you have the most beautiful coral garden so both are available in different location. i took note of all what you mentionned and all is really important for us to follow-up to keep consistancy in all aspect of our standards to provide a great and unique experience to all our guest. We have 3 types of rooms in the private island, the lodge, over water bungalow and the suite. Each upgrade, when available ,can be provide at a cost, i'm sorry if this was not so clear in our communication. Thank you for your stay in our property at Bora Bora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a little over do. I didn't stay there however our Dinghy washed up on shore there and they held it for us and put the work out it was found. Good thin because TYC was going to bill us $8000 for the Dinghy. I want to thanks Sofitel Bora Bora for being good people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Bodenstab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing this great spirit from our Sofitel team, we were extremely happy to help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent a week here last May 2011and I have to say it is the nicest place we have ever stayed at.It is so quite and peace full. There other resort on the main island is also nice, but if you go do the private island. The snorkeling is great right there on the island and in fact the tours that do snorkeling trips take the people there.Also a word to the wise buy the meal plan. Eating at the restaurant is very expensive. I believe that the buffet was around $70.00 per person for dinner. Like I said get the meal plan when you book and you will save a lot on money. We got the breakfast and dinner plan only and that was fine. Also if you decide to go somewhere else one night to eat you have to try Bloody Mary's it was great.

Room Tip: Go for an over water bungalow if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank captbillm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, we really appreciate your comments regarding the quality of our services and snorkling facilities. We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our paradise (with a great meal plan!!!!!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island is a magic place .. out of time .. where you'll find space and beauty all over.. genuine luxury .. but no noisy extravagancy .. excellent smiling anticipating service.. ( or should I say "taking care.. yes .. this is the right word) .. You are taken care of... everything is set up .. to make you live the holidays you want to live ... our week was incredible..

Room Tip: The overwater bungalows are superbe .. choose one at the very end .. with a view on the lagoon.. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soledad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Maururu roa! (thank you very much in tahitian langage)
for sharing our service "cousu main" which is our goal to everyone coming up to our private island.
We hope to have the pleasure to provide this service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
3.3 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
4.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island

Property: Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Address: BP 516, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the most beautiful lagoons in the world, Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island is located in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay, nestled on a private islet facing the main island of Bora Bora. A secret hideaway where you can enjoy a peaceful and romantic retreat, regenerate yourself and savour the exquisite feeling of being at home on your own private island. This boutique hotel is emphasizing privacy and intimacy to create a unique experience in the heart of native vegetation surrounded by turquoise water and beautiful coral gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing