We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“stunning location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matira

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bora Bora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Matira
Save
You added Hotel Matira to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“stunning location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The bangalow was amazing, it was how u could imagine on Bora Bora. just about beach a bit disappointed. the view is stunning, but no coral, no fishes, that made me a bit sad. The SUNSET -----JUST AMAZING !!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    111
    37
    13
    12
See reviews for
27
174
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Good - Matira is a good value for the money on Bora Bora, which is prohibitively expensive and really not that nice of a place compared to other islands in French Polynesia. The rooms are basic, clean and very sizable with a good location on Matira Beach. Several restaurants are within easy walking distance. The beach is used by locals, which makes it different (and in my opinion better) than exclusive properties, but lock up everything whenever you leave.

The Bad - I see no reason to visit Bora Bora. Mo'orea is much prettier, easier to get to, with a better range of accomodations, friendlier people, and better activities. Likewise, the restaurants on Mo'orea (as a comparable island) are better and cheaper, and it's easier to get around the island on your own. The residents of Mo'orea are far friendlier than the jaded residents of Bora Bora.

The Ugly - Matira had the most disinterested staff I have ever met, and this is after traveling to over 65 countries and staying at countless hotels, pensions, B&B's, huts on the beach, etc. - many of which were on tropical islands. The woman manning the front desk wouldn't look up when you walked in, refused to have someone carry your luggage, was unhelpful in providing recommendations or fixing problems with existing recommendations, and was generally rude when she engaged with you at all.

Honestly - the room was good, the location was good - but don't bother with Bora Bora, and definitely don't expect any level of service whatsoever from Hotel Matira if you do decide to stay there.

Room Tip: Pick room 11 - it's on the corner right next to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
42 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautiful place, clean and cute, the host is nice and helpfull, breakfast is just lovely. I will remember this place as it was so relaxing to be there. And I also had a chance to practise my French :)

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Marzena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Thanks Miranda for our stay. Miranda is a wonderful and cheerful host. She is the one also bringing you a flowery breakfast tray in the morning. Wonderful. The bungalows are large and nicely decorated. It is a shame The terrace and chairs are 'burn' by the sun as visually it would be even better. The hotel is on the nicest beach in bora bora and there are plenty of restaurants and snaks around. Would definitively stay there again! We met wonderful people there.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow not on the road side as it can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerrieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent four unforgettable nights in this little paradise. The Hotel is on the Matira Beach, the most beautiful beach of Bora Bora from where you can admire wonderful sunsets. The bungalows are located in a very beautiful garden among hibiscus and tiare. Big and nicely curated they have two queen beds and private bathroom. If you book one close to the beach you'll have a great lagoon view you can enjoy having your breakfast that is included in the price.With baguettes, butter, marmelade, croissants, juices, coffee, tea it's offered directly in your bungalow with lots of flowers Madame Miranda personally collect in the morning for you. They offer also half or full board you can have in the nearby restaurant Fare Manuia. Madame Miranda will give you also all informations and advices you need. Close to the Hotel a small shop and bike/scooter rental. The market is 10mins walking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AJAX78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Hotel offers very large private bangalows with view on lagoon - just in fron of. The staff is very helpful. U can book as well one night overe there without any problem. It is cheap, clean and sunset will just take your breath away !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
151 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Right on the beach and with the lagoon breezes, this is the idyllic place you've imagined about Bora Bora. It is a family run hotel, Mimi is a wonderful hostess as are her small band of friendly staff. It is good to know your helping a totally local busines and not some mutli-national chain.
It is not 5-star, but with its location and laid back, relaxed feel. We had a bungalow three steps from the sand, and sitting on the deck you feel like it is all yours. The bungalows are from Bali with an ingenious series of slding doors open open up the space to varying degrees and while the beach is public we never felt like we were exposed to passers-by as you are slightly elevated.
Don't expect fancy furnishings, linens or exotoc cocktails, this really is a place with a different and relaxed feel with no pretentious clientele nor staff. The grounds are immaculate and you can laze on the grass under palms if you prefer. There were no mosquitoes, apparently they don't exist, nor A/C, but who needs that with sea breezes all day.
Importantly, because it faces west, you can enjoy the sunsets every evening from your deck, and you don't get in the shadow of the mountains like places on the other side of the peninsula, nor the strong winds that blew up every afternoon from the east, it was protected from all that.
The perfect way to enjoy the real French Polynesia.

Room Tip: The two beachside bungalows must be the best, but all face the water and are surrounded by open gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank brysc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
#11 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#9 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 stars 2,142 reviews
6.6 mi away
Blue Heaven Island
Blue Heaven Island
#14 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matira

Property: Hotel Matira
Address: Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matira 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Matira Hotel Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing