We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning location”
Review of Hotel Matira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Matira
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The bangalow was amazing, it was how u could imagine on Bora Bora. just about beach a bit disappointed. the view is stunning, but no coral, no fishes, that made me a bit sad. The SUNSET -----JUST AMAZING !!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 315 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Good - Matira is a good value for the money on Bora Bora, which is prohibitively expensive and really not that nice of a place compared to other islands in French Polynesia. The rooms are basic, clean and very sizable with a good location on Matira Beach. Several restaurants are within easy walking distance. The beach is used by locals, which makes it different (and in my opinion better) than exclusive properties, but lock up everything whenever you leave.

The Bad - I see no reason to visit Bora Bora. Mo'orea is much prettier, easier to get to, with a better range of accomodations, friendlier people, and better activities. Likewise, the restaurants on Mo'orea (as a comparable island) are better and cheaper, and it's easier to get around the island on your own. The residents of Mo'orea are far friendlier than the jaded residents of Bora Bora.

The Ugly - Matira had the most disinterested staff I have ever met, and this is after traveling to over 65 countries and staying at countless hotels, pensions, B&B's, huts on the beach, etc. - many of which were on tropical islands. The woman manning the front desk wouldn't look up when you walked in, refused to have someone carry your luggage, was unhelpful in providing recommendations or fixing problems with existing recommendations, and was generally rude when she engaged with you at all.

Honestly - the room was good, the location was good - but don't bother with Bora Bora, and definitely don't expect any level of service whatsoever from Hotel Matira if you do decide to stay there.

Room Tip: Pick room 11 - it's on the corner right next to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
43  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautiful place, clean and cute, the host is nice and helpfull, breakfast is just lovely. I will remember this place as it was so relaxing to be there. And I also had a chance to practise my French :)

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
8  Thank Marzena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Thanks Miranda for our stay. Miranda is a wonderful and cheerful host. She is the one also bringing you a flowery breakfast tray in the morning. Wonderful. The bungalows are large and nicely decorated. It is a shame The terrace and chairs are 'burn' by the sun as visually it would be even better. The hotel is on the nicest beach in bora bora and there are plenty of restaurants and snaks around. Would definitively stay there again! We met wonderful people there.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow not on the road side as it can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BerrieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent four unforgettable nights in this little paradise. The Hotel is on the Matira Beach, the most beautiful beach of Bora Bora from where you can admire wonderful sunsets. The bungalows are located in a very beautiful garden among hibiscus and tiare. Big and nicely curated they have two queen beds and private bathroom. If you book one close to the beach you'll have a great lagoon view you can enjoy having your breakfast that is included in the price.With baguettes, butter, marmelade, croissants, juices, coffee, tea it's offered directly in your bungalow with lots of flowers Madame Miranda personally collect in the morning for you. They offer also half or full board you can have in the nearby restaurant Fare Manuia. Madame Miranda will give you also all informations and advices you need. Close to the Hotel a small shop and bike/scooter rental. The market is 10mins walking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AJAX78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Hotel offers very large private bangalows with view on lagoon - just in fron of. The staff is very helpful. U can book as well one night overe there without any problem. It is cheap, clean and sunset will just take your breath away !!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Right on the beach and with the lagoon breezes, this is the idyllic place you've imagined about Bora Bora. It is a family run hotel, Mimi is a wonderful hostess as are her small band of friendly staff. It is good to know your helping a totally local busines and not some mutli-national chain.
It is not 5-star, but with its location and laid back, relaxed feel. We had a bungalow three steps from the sand, and sitting on the deck you feel like it is all yours. The bungalows are from Bali with an ingenious series of slding doors open open up the space to varying degrees and while the beach is public we never felt like we were exposed to passers-by as you are slightly elevated.
Don't expect fancy furnishings, linens or exotoc cocktails, this really is a place with a different and relaxed feel with no pretentious clientele nor staff. The grounds are immaculate and you can laze on the grass under palms if you prefer. There were no mosquitoes, apparently they don't exist, nor A/C, but who needs that with sea breezes all day.
Importantly, because it faces west, you can enjoy the sunsets every evening from your deck, and you don't get in the shadow of the mountains like places on the other side of the peninsula, nor the strong winds that blew up every afternoon from the east, it was protected from all that.
The perfect way to enjoy the real French Polynesia.

Room Tip: The two beachside bungalows must be the best, but all face the water and are surrounded by open gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank brysc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
279 reviews
6.7 mi away
Blue Heaven Island lodge
Blue Heaven Island lodge
#14 of 17 in Bora Bora
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matira

Address: Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Matira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Matira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matira Hotel Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing