We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A little paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matira

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bora Bora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Matira
Save
You added Hotel Matira to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
ROMA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A little paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent four unforgettable nights in this little paradise. The Hotel is on the Matira Beach, the most beautiful beach of Bora Bora from where you can admire wonderful sunsets. The bungalows are located in a very beautiful garden among hibiscus and tiare. Big and nicely curated they have two queen beds and private bathroom. If you book one close to the beach you'll have a great lagoon view you can enjoy having your breakfast that is included in the price.With baguettes, butter, marmelade, croissants, juices, coffee, tea it's offered directly in your bungalow with lots of flowers Madame Miranda personally collect in the morning for you. They offer also half or full board you can have in the nearby restaurant Fare Manuia. Madame Miranda will give you also all informations and advices you need. Close to the Hotel a small shop and bike/scooter rental. The market is 10mins walking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AJAX78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    108
    36
    13
    12
See reviews for
27
167
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Hotel offers very large private bangalows with view on lagoon - just in fron of. The staff is very helpful. U can book as well one night overe there without any problem. It is cheap, clean and sunset will just take your breath away !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Right on the beach and with the lagoon breezes, this is the idyllic place you've imagined about Bora Bora. It is a family run hotel, Mimi is a wonderful hostess as are her small band of friendly staff. It is good to know your helping a totally local busines and not some mutli-national chain.
It is not 5-star, but with its location and laid back, relaxed feel. We had a bungalow three steps from the sand, and sitting on the deck you feel like it is all yours. The bungalows are from Bali with an ingenious series of slding doors open open up the space to varying degrees and while the beach is public we never felt like we were exposed to passers-by as you are slightly elevated.
Don't expect fancy furnishings, linens or exotoc cocktails, this really is a place with a different and relaxed feel with no pretentious clientele nor staff. The grounds are immaculate and you can laze on the grass under palms if you prefer. There were no mosquitoes, apparently they don't exist, nor A/C, but who needs that with sea breezes all day.
Importantly, because it faces west, you can enjoy the sunsets every evening from your deck, and you don't get in the shadow of the mountains like places on the other side of the peninsula, nor the strong winds that blew up every afternoon from the east, it was protected from all that.
The perfect way to enjoy the real French Polynesia.

Room Tip: The two beachside bungalows must be the best, but all face the water and are surrounded by open gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank brysc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

This hotel offers bungalows that are very large and located on a beautiful sandy beach which is excellent for swimming (shallow water). The hotel occasionally offers specials with one night free. Service is very good at this hotel. Recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pelachsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago with a friend of mine. The room was okay but it was rather dark and there was no AC. The room did have full wall-sized doors on the two sides that faced the ocean which was great during the day but we were worried about bugs at night so we had to close them.

The breakfast down the beach was excellent. The lady at the restaurant and the service overall was excellent. The hotel is also located on a beautiful sandy beach, one of the best on the island.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for honeymooners but it was a great buy for friends that are on a budget. We spent a week here, a week in French Moorea and a few days in Tahiti so we had to stretch our money.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

What a dream! This hotel was absolutely perfect. We had a beautiful, wood bungalow right on the beach. It was very clean and had a wonderful Polynesian feel to it. The staff were extremely helpful and the grounds were perfectly maintained. Breakfast was brought right to our door on days when the restaurant (located down the street) was closed). Breakfast consisted of fresh tropical fruits, fresh squeezed juices, and homemade breads. We didn't want to leave. This place provided us with the most relaxing honeymoon we could have hoped for. I highly recommend it!!!

  • Liked — The bungalow
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank world1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed at Hotel Matira during our honeymoon for three nights in September 2006, as a lower priced option to bring down the overall cost of the trip. This was probably a mistake. Matira was ok, but compared to the other places we were staying, it seemed more like camping than staying at a hotel.

Without AC, we were very hot, and with the windows open (with no screens) we were paranoid that bugs were going be coming in. It was very difficult to sleep ...too hot for sheets. The fan did nothing to help the situation since it was so high up in the room. After two restless nights, we actually left the hotel Matira and paid for a room elsewhere (even though we were charged by Matira for the night we did not stay).

The other BIG problem with the Matira was the lack of privacy. It's located on a beautiful, but very public beach. The locals were very loud all day long, and we couldn't really enjoy the peacefulness that we did elsewhere in French Polynesia. We found ourselves having to leave the hotel and find other things to do during the day.

Overall, I think this hotel is fine to stay at if you're not on your honeymoon. They bungalows are fairly attractive. For us, staying at the Matira was completely unromantic and we couldnt wait to get out.

  • Liked — The sunset and sitting room.
  • Disliked — The public beach.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank DiveLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
#11 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#9 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 stars 2,070 reviews
6.6 mi away
Blue Heaven Island
Blue Heaven Island
#14 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matira

Property: Hotel Matira
Address: Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matira 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Matira Hotel Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing