We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort with Polynesian Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed here for the first part of our BB trip and then spent the second half at Thalasso. We chose to do it this way so we could experience both the over the top luxury of thalasso and the polynesian feel of Moana. I'm so glad we did it this way. Though not as modern or grand, the Moana has a polynesian charm that is utterly romantic. The water at the beach is probably the clearest I've ever seen in my life. The grounds are beautiful and there are flowers everywhere. The staff are dressed in traditional polynesian style and the location is very convenient, close to local shops and restaurants. I would recommend getting the breakfast plan, the breakfasts are terrific!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esoif001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

We chose Le Moana Intercontinental as the place to have our Polynesian beach wedding because we wanted to stay at a different resort this time on Bora Bora. It was a great choice in spite of the fact that they were repairing some of the cyclone damage. It wasn't much of an interference. The staff were very friendly and helped make our wedding very lovely. We felt catered to very well. Le Moana Intercontinental was so stunning with its brilliant array of lagoon colors and attractive leaning palms. Great white sand beach! Le Moana is situated on the main island as opposed to being on a motu like Le Meridien or The Pearl. It's on 'Matira Point', the Southern tip of the island, on a beautiful white sand beach with a mesmerizing lagoon view. The lagoon gets deeper on one side of the bungalows where it changes from the aqua of its shallows to deep blue. Our bungalow was out at the tip of the dock in that transition zone. We even had our own eel that lived right underneath our glass floor. He swam away eventually, but then he probably got tired of all our excessive happiness. The snorkeling was pretty good, too. Le Moana has two pools, one with an elegant waterfall and another with a sand bottom right on the beach. Both were so soothing... it was very hot when we were there... probably in the upper 80's the whole time with one teeny rain shower. The pool bar had excellent pizzas and lunch menu. I loved the strawberry piña coladas. The grounds of Le Moana were very lovely. I'm a gardener and tropical plant enthusiast so I just loved walking the pathways and seeing all the exotic plants and varieties of palms. It was very clean, no garbage on the sand. The bungalow was lovely. There was a teeny gecko living behind our mirror over the sink. So cute! The only thing we didn't like was the closet door was hard to open. The food was delicious! Great breakfast buffet every morning. Very good dining at night. We had no complaints... except that I don't have three stomachs! I wanted to eat everything! We would definitely go back. It was very Polynesian and very worth it. If you want to see the ebst photos I have of this resort, check out my web site: http://drinkofbeauty.com and hit the 'Bora Bora 10' link after you enter the site. It's worth a peak... there so much to see and there's video, too. Also, you can see our wedding album on there under 'Wedding Bora Bora'.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank firefly242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Hello everyone...... Hopefully this post will help some lucky couple out there that will have a chance to walk the white sandy beach at Intercontinental Le Moana. It began for my wife and I when we started the plans for our honeymoon. Our first choice was Jamaica (Negril) and also St. Lucia but in the end Bora Bora was just too special to pass up. It was somewhat of a dream come true for us.

INTERCONTINENTAL LE MOANA

There was a bit of drama before we even got there. Three days before we were supposed to leave for Bora Bora we received a call from our agent telling us that our overwater bungalow was over booked and could we make some changes. My wife dealt with "PLEASANT HOLIDAYS" and they are based out of California. The manager there went above and beyond to ensure our honeymoon went off without a hitch. Needless to say my wife worked out a deal where we stayed in a Beach Bungalow for two days at Intercontinental Le Moana which was an amazing hotel and then we transferred to the bigger, newer Intercontinental Thalasso in an overwater bungalow for the remainder of our stay.

If I have to recommend one of the two it would be the Intercontinental Le Moana because my wife and I felt the culture there, it felt like family, they called you by your name whenever staff would see you around the hotel, the breakfast was amazing, clean, and management worked hard to make sure every detail was taken care of for us. I will warn you though, it is quite expensive and here is where our package came in handy because after the overbooking screw up, my wife made sure we got to stay in an overwater bungalow, we received breakfast and dinner included plus we got to stay at two different hotels. If you can take a ride into town. Hopefully you get "IBU" the bus driver.

Keep in mind that even if you can't get the overwater bungalow, the beach bungalow is just as nice without stilts.

One last thing............Make sure you go see Marama for a tattoo if that is something you desire but make sure you are on the main land (Intercontinental Le Moana). If you are staying at the Thalasso, Le Meriden, St.Regis, Four Seasons you can catch a shuttle boat over to Le Moana to get the tattoo done. Leave it for the last day because you won't be able to swim, etc, etc. Truely a unique tattoo artist. Just ask anyone for him and they will tell you about him. His work speaks for itself. P.S. Book it in advance because that is the only way to get it done.


THE INTERCONTINENTAL THALASSO
This hotel has a commercial feel to it. Bigger for sure! Thalasso has a world class spa which we fell in love with and trust me, when you get to the pool you won't want to leave.
The overwater bungalows-- Well I will put it to you this way, my wife said all she needed was a kitchen in the bungalow and we would never return home.

We fed the stingrays at the Intercontinental Thalasso as well. They do that at 2pm everyday. My wife and I fell in love with Scuba Diving. The instructors at "Bathy's" were awesome. A must do! If you can have dinner at sands restaurant ask for a table on the beach. We felt like we must have died and went to heaven.

On the flip side we were at "Reefs" having breakfast and a couple sat down to begin eating when suddenly out came a magut from the wifes bowl of cereal. So for the remainder of our stay at The Intercontinental Thalasso we ate at Sands restaurant.

All in all we had an amazing honeymoon but we liked it better at the smaller, cozy and more quiet Intercontinental Le Moana. The best sleep of our lives there, we slept like babies.

Anyway I hope whoever reads this will find it helpful and enjoy because it goes by pretty fast.

Have fun, bring lots of money and PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE Stop in at the duty free and buy yourselves some alcohol before you get on the plane to Bora Bora.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRANDMRSMILLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Overall a great stay. Staff very nice and giving. Good location to stay at because it is more convenient to nearby restaurants, towns, sightseeing, and it is on the main island. Hotel is about 20 years old so a little bit older then other new hotels that have opened up there recently in the past 5 years. Everything here about this hotel is calm, peaceful, relaxing and slower. If you need any type of service to your room it takes a little bit longer because they ride their bikes to your room. Other hotels have golf carts so its a little bit faster. But not a big deal unless you are very impatient. Because its an older hotel it felt more like we were living with the islands cultural roots. This resort felt like it brought out more of the cultural aspect of how their lifestyle is like for us. Other newer hotels felt more like we were staying at Vegas! Which is not bad I mean its a good thing too but it really just depends on what type of environment and atmosphere you prefer. But my wife and I had a good time during our stay for 4 nights. Pricing here is usually a little better than other 4 star hotels in Bora Bora. Probably because other hotels are newer then this one. If you care for luxury, everything brand new, bigger sq. footage in rooms,more hotel amenities, or you just want to be WOW by all the luxury then I recommend you searching for a 5 star hotel or a 4 star hotel but you most likely will be paying a lot more for it. If you are OK with more reasonable pricing, comfort, cultural setting, little bit older resources and products, and convenience to local locations I would recommend this hotel. Make sure to stay at the Over Water Bungalows! Hope this helps and good luck!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sloppyho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

SERVICE: overall wonderful. timely, efficient, friendly. half the staff seemed like they'll help you, but only b/c they have to. haha... the other half were very friendly and warm.

FOOD: average. we ordered dinner to eat on the back deck of our overwater bungalow, under the stars. the cheeseburger was good. the fish kabob and sides were cold! like they had cooked it and left it sitting out for about an hour before bringing it to us. and no, i don't believe the fish was supposed to be served cold. the rice it was with was also a bit dry and cold. :( disappointing.

DRINKS: at Le Moana 1250-1450 CFP each ($14-16 USD). not worth it, in my opinion. if you do want to go to the hotel bar, go from 5-6 when they have 2 drinks for the price of 1. (beer is cheap though if you're a beer drinker) i do notice people complaining about drinks being luke warm in general in bora bora. it can't be helped, it's the weather! they could give you a glass full of ice and b/c of the heat and humidity you'll have a luke warm drink in about 10 minutes. ** if you're looking to save some money on drinking, you're allowed 2 liters of alcohol PER PERSON from the US to French Polynesia. we found 1 liter for each of us sufficient, but we also had a couple drinks at the hotel happy hr daily. i'm a cranberry/vodka girl, but all the juices you'll find in the market are for rum drinks. if you want cranberry, they sell it at the hotel bar!

ROOM: we booked an overwater bunglow with horizon view. try to get a room on the LEFT leg of rooms. the right leg of rooms is very close to the beach and lots of locals park their boats in the water right in front of you. not at all private or romantic to have people being able to see right into your room from their boats. as an ambassador member (and one who paid for the horizon view) i was expecting them to give us one of the nicer OWB's, but they stuck us not only in the right leg of rooms, but in one of the rooms that's ATTACHED to another bungalow! we asked to switch and they did, but it was disappointing we had to ask since we paid the extra money to get "ambassador treatment." the room we ended up in had a wonderful view of Mt. Otemanu and sunrise over the Sofitel Bora Bora. the way the rooms are situated, it's not very private if you are on the deck. you will see everyone and everyone will see you. not a huge negative, but i could see it not being a problem at the more expensive hotels. the left leg of rooms also has a nice deeper area of water with coral that you can snorkel in (BEWARE OF JETSKIS AND BOATS THOUGH).

LE MOANA IN GENERAL:
Le Moana is on the main island of Bora Bora, which we loved. we loved being able to walk to restaurants and the market whenever we wanted instead of having to rely on boat schedules. It's not as luxurious as the more expensive hotels, but we enjoyed not staying somewhere so "resorty." we really enjoyed the smaller, more intimate setting.

the hotel is situated on the windy part of Bora Bora. sometimes VERY windy, where if you leave the deck door open it sounds like a howling halloween house. but this also keeps the misquitos at bay (for the most part) and b/c bugs love to eat me alive i found this more favorable than annoying. i did end up getting about 10 bug bites, but on other tropical trips i've gotten 150-200, so this was a nice reprieve! (i only used bug spray when leaving the hotel for dinners) hats are pretty much useless though at Le Moana b/c of the wind. you can bring them, but you'll probably end up holding it on your head the whole time and tan your arm up really well.

to get to the main road, walk to your right out of the hotel reception area (away from Matira Beach).

if you're into photography, consider a travel tripod. the stars here are unlike any i've ever seen before and you will definitely want to get pictures of them which you can only do well with a perfectly still camera.

JETSKI TOUR: go right at the main road. less than 5 minutes away is Miki Miki Jet Tours. 18000 CFP for 2 hr tour around entire island with stop halfway for island snack. Le Moana charges 27000 CFP for the same thing. that's a $100 USD savings per jetski! (we got 2 b/c we both wanted to drive.) CASH only. VERY worth it.

MARKET: go right at the main road. 10-15 minutes you'll hit Tiare Market. get lots of water and a telephone card if you need to call anyone. (Le Moana charges 100 CFP/min for local calls, 215 CFP/min for international cards). also has snacks/juice/toiletries...

4x4 JEEP TOUR: we booked through the hotel (no savings if booking on own). they have 2 options. Tupuna and Vavau. we went with Vavau b/c we had no interest in stopping at the Pearl Farm to be pressured to buy pearls. our guide was Toby. Australian, very fun and has a rich Tahitian family history.

THALASSO: boats go back and forth regularly (schedule given to you with room keys) and you should definitely check out this sister hotel once. we did breakfast one morning and enjoyed their pool (much nicer than the one at Le Moana). the view of Mt Otemanu is breathtaking and makes for incredible pictures from their infinity pool. the Thalasso has more of a "resort" feeling overall than Le Moana. p.s., drinks are also way more expensive at this hotel (about $18-24 USD each).

TIPPING: research done prior to the trip led us to believe tipping is rare and even sometimes insulting in french polynesia. we were super confused the whole time about what to do. whenever we ordered drinks/food at the hotel there was a line on the receipt specifically for a tip. b/c we had read it was insulting unless service was outstanding we left that line blank for the most part. Fare Manuia restaurant added a 10% "service fee" automatically. Kaina Hut had a line at the end of the check, "gratuity is at guest's discretion" which leads you to believe tipping is standard there as well. at La Villa Mahana they even hand wrote "TIPS" at the end of the check, so we took that to mean we definitely had to tip there. it was very awkward not knowing what the "norm" was, so we left 10%, taking cue from the restaurant that added 10% automatically. interestingly, our dinner at the Intercontinental in Tahiti (overnight stay for layover) didn't give us the option for a tip, so i guess tipping is more common in Bora Bora than in Tahiti.

SNORKELING: i'm a novice, so we didn't go farther than the coral around our hotel. it was amazing! we took a couple of pieces of bread back to our room from breakfast and would feed the fish daily. take the ends of the french bread loaves that no one wants. those are most hardy and stay intact while wet. if you hold it while being underwater the fish will eat right out of your hand! definitely take underwater cameras (Fuji ones are about $8 each on Amazon. we used 3.) and your own snorkel gear so you aren't sharing spit with dozens of strangers. we used the hotel flippers.

CASH: we took $1200 USD which we exchanged at Banque de Polynesia at the Papeete airport as advised by many TripAdvisor members. look to your left stepping right out of customs and you'll see it, open 24 hrs/day. much better than the highest exchange rate i could find anywhere in los angeles (i called 4 different places). with a bank rate of 95 we got the rate of 90.4 CFP/1 USD. the highest los angeles rate i got was 83.3 CFP/1 USD! the $1200 was sufficient to cover the jetski tour, all hotel drinks/incidentals, jeep tour, 1 lunch, 2 dinners, and a couple souvenirs. the only other expenditure was 3 dinners which we put on our Capital One credit card. Capital One does not charge international fees!!

SNACKS: we packed a box of granola bars and a bag of goldfish, but found after such big breakfasts (included in our room rate) we didn't even need to snack all that much and weren't hungry until dinner time. definitely take snacks in case though, lunches are about $50-60 and wouldn't you rather spend that money on something fun?

RESTAURANTS: i'll write full reviews for each on their own pages, but in general:
- Snack Matira: 2.5 out of 5. food not great, but edible. $55 for 2 entrees and large bottle of water. excellent view of Matira Beach. cash only
- Fare Manuia: 3 out of 5. food was better, but not memorable. cute ambiance, indoors and out. $75 for 2 entrees and 1 beer.
- Kaina Hut: 5 out of 5. our favorite restaurant on Bora Bora and went a 2nd time on our last night there. excellent food, excellent prices, excellent service. owner Gilles even drove us back to our hotel instead of making us wait 30 minutes for a cab to arrive.
- La Villa Mahana: 4 out of 5. super romantic setting. food was delicious, but hard to swallow after the first few bites b/c everything is SO RICH. lots of butter, oil, and cream. too much in my opinion. having to throw away half of this very expensive meal b/c of how heavy it was made it that much less enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank khat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

At last- our over-the-water bungalow! We paid extra to make sure we got one of the Horizon bungalows, but we were still not at the very end of the walkway. We liked our room though, and we had a great view of the mountains and the sunrise. (The only way to see the sunset is to walk through the hotel to Matira Beach on the other side). The room itself was not as fancy as the Hilton in Moorea, but it was still nice and clean. The coffee table in the living room had a top that slid back so you could feed the fish- very cool. The back deck had lounge chairs, a shower, and a ladder that led right into the water. The toilet room was a bit small and kind of felt (and smelled) like we were on a cruise ship.

As other people mentioned, the Intercontinental Bora Bora is windy. It seems like most of Bora Bora is windy. Even when we went to the Thalasso Spa, it was windy. Most of the time, it was a welcome break from the humidity. We didn’t get that same sticky-hot feeling that we had in Moorea. The wind did make the water a bit choppy some days and prevented us from snorkeling at times.

In addition to coral underneath the coffee tables of each bungalow, there is a group of coral under when you first step onto the walkway, and some coral in some deeper water to the left of the boat dock, but other than the Coral Gardens (which we will get to in a second) the snorkeling is not as nice as in Moorea.

Our first day there, we got a little confused about directions. If you walk through the hotel reception, there is a road immediately to your right (before you get to the beach). If you walk to the end of that road, turn right and you will reach the Market and several other restaurants within about 15 minutes.

The other option is to walk through hotel reception and keep going all the way to the beach. If you walk along the beach to the right, you will pass by a couple snack shops and restaurants, including the Matira Beach Restaurant (very romantic atmosphere) and the Matira Shack Shop (which has amazing Mahi Mahi “Cheese Burgers” for around $10).

Bloody Mary’s was without a doubt our favorite restaurant of the whole trip (well, except for Villa Moana, which is in a league of its own). We ate at Bloody Mary’s twice, we liked it so much. While we were there, the chef’s special was Mahi Mahi in ranch dressing, which sounds weird but was soooo yummy. The drinks were good, the salad was good, and the atmosphere was fun. We highly recommend it.

Based on reviews we read here, we made a reservation at La Villa Mahana a couple months in advance. Apparently this was not necessary, since there was only one other couple with us on the night that we ate there, but we would recommend reservations if you want to eat there. The restaurant is in a cute little house. The food was delicious, especially the steak with the gorgonzola gnocchi. This restaurant definitely is pricy- we did not do the fixed price meal, which would have been even more expensive, and our bill ended up being $350 for 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and one dessert, plus 4 glasses of house wine. We knew going into it that it was going to be a splurge, and we decided to just have fun with it. Every bite of food was delicious and we would recommend it to any “foodie.” It was our one chance to have beef on the island and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

From reading Trip Advisor, we knew Chez Nono was the place to go for excursions. We ended up taking the shark & ray feeding tour and it was about 2/3 the price of the tour offered by the hotel. This all-day excursion included a snorkel stop to see the Coral Gardens (which was great because then we knew where they were and could kayak there from our hotel), a stop with the sharks and rays where it was more “look but don’t touch,” a wonderful picnic on a motu (where we finally saw the Bora Bora that all the brochures describe- beautiful beaches and colors), a swimming stop and finally a stop with the sting rays to feed and pet them. This tour was awesome! Definitely do this. They offer a DVD of your trip, and the nice thing is that if you tell them you plan to buy the DVD they will make sure they get lots of video of you to include. The DVD costs around $100, but ONLY cash is accepted.

Happy Hour at this hotel was from 5pm-6pm, which was during sunset. If you tell the bartender you want to go across to the beach they will put your drink in a plastic cup so you can take it with you. It was 2-for-1 cocktails, which depending on the bartender either meant buy one and you get the next one free (of the same cocktail), or pick 2 cocktails and only pay for one. Happy Hour (and the whole hotel itself) was mostly deserted the whole time we were there. The restaurant seemed really busy every night, but since we didn’t eat there we don’t know if it was because the food was great or if people were not that adventurous. There are lots of good restaurants and all of the ones we were interested in offered free pick-up. Just make a reservation at the Activities Desk in advance. Alternatively you can walk down the road towards the Market (right from the hotel road) and try one of those restaurants. There is a place down that road, before you reach the Market, and the guy makes pizza out of his house. The pizza was just ok (although another couple loved it) but at less than $15 for a pizza for 2 it is definitely the cheapest option for dinner. The Sofitel bar also looked fun, but we didn’t have a chance to go back and try it.

The Coral Garden is close enough to kayak to- about 15 minutes. Just check out a kayak from the hotel. This is the best place to go for snorkeling in Bora Bora. Tons of fish and places to swim.

There weren’t any 110V outlets but most of our electronics were dual voltage so all we needed to use was the plug adapter. Check out the small print on your chargers and see if they are 110-240 V, AC 50/60 Hz and save yourself some money and only buy plug adapters and not the voltage converter. They use the European, round, two-prong plugs.

We took the free water taxi over to the Thalasso Spa a couple times to check it out. We found the Le Moana to be a little more casual and low-key than the Thalasso. We actually liked the feel of La Moana better. However, we did get massages over at the Thalasso spa and that was great. The spa area includes a plunge pool, private Jacuzzis and various other amenities that you can enjoy after your massage. Also, if your hotel at Le Moana stay includes free breakfast, be sure to take the ferry over to the Thalasso for breakfast because they are reciprocal so you can eat there for free also. Breakfast at the Thalasso is soooo much better than breakfast at Le Moana.

We would recommend taking the bus tour into town that is offered by the hotel. It’s around $10 a person and you get about 2 hours in town. This was the only place we bought souvenirs on the entire trip. Be prepared to do a little price comparison though- several stores offered the same product for different prices. The supermarket actually offered things like scented soaps for ¼ of the price of the souvenir stores.

Other notes: Bring a few DVDs, since there is nothing to do once you get back from dinner, and the only English TV station is CNN. The hotel store does offer a very limited selection of DVDs you can check out for the night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Love2TravelSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Le moana(the sea) is amazing, we wished we spent our whole honeymoon there.
we spent 3 nights in this gorgeous hotel and couldnt have asked for a better resort.
we were picked up by hotel transfer at bora bora airport where we were given a bottle of water and a flower necklace each. the boat ride took about 20 mins where we were greeted at the hotel by the hotel owner. this was the only time we saw the owner during our trip. the hotel owner took us to the bar and brought us a damp towel to freshen up. while we waited for them to process our room and stay. we were greeted by one of the reception staff who brought us a cocktail each. after our drink we were given a tour of the hotel, the reception lady was very informative and nice. she took us to our room which was beasutiful! we had a free bottle of water, some coconut and a box of coconut tea waiting in our room. the room looked just like it does in the website. We stayed in a premium over water bungalow (king). They also sent us a free bottle of champagne later on during our fist day.

The room had a lounge with a couch, coffee table, tv and desk, the top of the coffee table slides off so you can throw bread and chips into the water, this attracts the fish. they look amazing.. the deck out side has 2 sun beds and a table and chairs.. its also clean so you can walk barefoot. the bungalows at the sofitel marmarra have seagull poop all over the decks which are not so nice.(we stayed at the sofitel for 3 nights and regret it, the two hotels do not compare).

the water around the bungalows is clear blue and beautiful white sand, no need for reef shoes. there are also plenty of fish for snorkelling around the bungalows. one day we even saw a stingray out side our bungalow. the water is not very deep it is about waist high which is perfect for snorkelling. if you go out further the water gets deeper.

The hotel provides free snorkels and kayaks. jet skiing is about 27000cpf for 2 hours. they also provide free bread for the fish. There is also a pool but we never used it since we had such a beautiful ocean to swim in.

there are 2 restaurants at the resort. we went to the one next to the pool for lunch one day and was pretty dissapointed with the pizza. it was saturated with oil and very bland. we ended up feeding the pizza to the fish!! we had a BBQ buffet dinner at the other restaurant which was really good. the food in bora bora is all pretty mediocre. so when i say pretty good. i still mean average. its def not worth the price you pay. the buffet was approx $100 per person not including drinks.

If you are tight on budget there is a store about 10 minutes walk away from the hotel where you can buy snacks and even food. we bought chips and stuff we snack on from there. My one piece of advice to anyone staying at bora bora is to stay at a nice hotel and if you have to, skimp on the food.. do not skimp on your hotel.... the food isnt nice at all so your better off taking/making your own.

we went to bloody marys for dinner one night.. they had food that was ok. much better than at the resorts.. they pick you up form the hotel and drop you back off when the night it over. the restaurant is very different than what we normally experience. as you enter they show you a selection of fish and meats and vegie options. your choose what you want and they take your order and take you to your seat. the restaruant is on sand so dont wear nice shoes or heels. the seats are varnished logs which you dont want to be sitting on for more than hour.

The staff at le moana are all very friendly. we had a lovely time there. They organised a 4x4 tour of the island for us which was awsome. its definitely one of the best activities on the island. bring anti mosquito spray though.

There is a business center in the hotel which is simply a room with 2 computers, internet is not free. the resort has a Nintendo Wii in the bar but only 1 game (wii sports). The pool/snooker table was missing a ball and there is a table tennis table as well. you can also rent one dvd per night to watch in the bungalow for FREE... This is a really good idea since there is nothing to do in bora bora after dinner except sit in your hotel room and the only channel that is in english is "CNN." bring your own dvds, or a book. The rooms at le moana also have wireless at a cost.

Bora bora truly is one of the most beautiful place. it is expensive. expect to pay approx $50 for a cheeseburger, $20 for a side of fries and $6 for a can of coke. and the food is the worst part of the trip. when you are paying around $100 for a main you would expect the food to taste incredible.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hando12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
279 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $620 - $1,127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing