We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week in late January '14 to celebrate our honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The staff was excellent, very attentive, polite, and friendly. The hotel manager Mrs. Levy made it a point to personally welcome us.

We stayed in a over water bungalow "horizon" room. We enjoyed the view of the lagoon as well as the sunrise. The rooms themselves are kept up well and spotless. Overall, the hotel itself was also very well maintained with pleasing landscaping throughout. The beach was regularly raked clean of debris multiple times a day.

The location of this hotel is excellent. Shuttle service and various excursions are easily arranged directly to the hotel through the concierge service. Additionally, you may walk to various shops and restaurants from the hotel. Given that the hotel is located on the southern peninsula of the island, you may walk out of the lobby and across the street to a beach where you can view the sunset. The hotel conveniently has various kayaks and canoes that are free to use, so you can paddle around the lagoon and swim/snorkel at your leisure.

The hotel is generally not very large, which was a good thing because we always felt a warm welcoming atmosphere and not as "just another guest". You should be aware that the island is very relaxed and low key, not the sort of place for wild nightlife (which wasn't the experience we were looking for).

Lastly, you should be aware that food/drinks are expensive everywhere on the island (although quality is very good). Keep in mind that everything is imported, so it's expensive even for the locals.

In closing, if i was ever to vacation in Bora Bora again. I would certainly choose this hotel.

Room Tip: "Horizon" view rooms are facing outward to the lagoon (east) which affords slightly more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Matthew K Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to read your comments regarding the friendliness of the staff, the intimate size of the hotel, its location, your overwater horizon bungalow. We thank you for your honest review and your recommendation.


The whole team would be very happy to welcome you back should you wish to visit us a gain.in the future..

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    321
    73
    28
    9
See reviews for
133
1,244
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed in an over water bungalow for eight nights. Was $$$$ but worth the price. Staff were wonderful and looked after everyone well..good location to great other restaurants on the island..easy to visit the other intercontinental via the Hotel boat...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwiawayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Kiwiaway from Melbourne Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved the property and the location.

We hope to welcome back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the Le Moana over New Years & had a fantastic time. We got the boat transfer from the airport which, although a bit pricey, is a great way to arrive and goes around about two thirds of the island which is very scenic. The hotel is situated on a gorgeous lagoon & we could kayak over to a coral garden in 20mins which is one of the best snorkelling spots on the island. Each water bungalow has coral underneath it which is great to feed the fish through the glass table in the room. We spent a lot of time in our bungalow swimming & snorkelling off the platform & just sitting on the terrace admiring the view across the lagoon. The hotel has a nice pool area and a bar area situated on the beach (great to watch the fireworks on New Year's Eve!). It's also close to to local restaurants, cafe's & a small supermarket which came in handy. The Le Moana is a friendly, relaxed, unpretentious hotel. It may lack some of the 'bells & whistles' of other mega-upmarket Bora Bora resorts but it more than makes up for it with its happy atmosphere, great staff and beautiful location. If we visit Bora Bora again we would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Water bungalows facing Mt Otemanu have the best views across the the Lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Peter Joana Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a fantastic time. It is nice to read that you enjoyed the facilities of the resort the location and its happy atmosphere. I forwarded your kind mention “great staff” to my team.

We would me more than happy to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,


Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This smaller Intercontinental on Bora Bora was all we could ask for and more. The overwater bungalows are beautiful - spacious, well appointed, private. Service was exceptional, from arrival to departure. We had an amazing vacation and enjoyed every minute. Traveling to the Intercontinental Thalasso Bora Bora for brunch and spa visits was easy!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Emcote Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found all you could ask for. The overwater bungalows the privacy and the service. It is nice to read that you had an amazing vacation and enjoyed every minute.

We would be very happy to welcome you back

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We just arrived back from our trip and we only have the best things to say about this Resort. We stayed there for 5 days in over the water villa which is worth every penny, and a must when you come in to Bora Bora...Don't hesitate when booking this hotel, it was in the perfect location, the staff is very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The beach/lagoon is stunning and there are lots of activities available, just visit the concierge desk and they will take care of you :)

Room Tip: Over the Water Bungalow is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salatka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Salatka Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you have the best memories of your stay about the Resort. It is nice to read that you loved your overwater bungalow and that it was in the perfect location for you. We thank you to mention that you found the staff very friendly and made you feel very welcome. I will surely share this nice comment with them.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,


Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Visited 1/7-1/10 2014 and had a great time! Stayed in overwater bungalow #15. I would highly recommend that bungalow or others that have a similar view facing away from the resort/beach or away from the boat dock. The bungalow was incredibly nice -- beautifully furnished, spacious bathroom, great water pressure. Outstanding breakfast buffet! Negatives are the bed and pillows -- more akin to Best Western standards than to Intercontinental. And the property looked a little worn here and there. However, the snorkeling was amazing here -- better coral reefs, more plentiful fish. In fact, we spent the day at the Intercontinental Thelasso as well, and while I liked that physical aspects of that property better and the views there are better, the Thelasso is remote (you have to take a boat everywhere you want to go which adds up in both time and $) and the snorkeling at Thelasso is not as good -- few corals and as a result very few fish.

Overall, if you want a 5-star resort with great views and a great spa and don't really plan on leaving the resort much, then the Thelasso is right for you. If you want a 4-star resort that is more conveniently located to off-site attractions (like the marina, Bloody Mary's bar/restaurant and inland activities), has better snorkeling, and is lower priced, then the Le Moana is better for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mr Aaron D,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your comments and to make us aware of your experience.

The matter you have raised regarding the bedding are not commun but we’ll seriously consider it for improvement of our services.

Because of the high occupancy in 2013; we were running late in our renovation, but I am proud to say that we already have started and the resort will be ready again for the high season.

Reading your comments regarding our sister property, we are not in a position of competition. The two hotels have their own identity and are two different products. They are not comparable, a five stars hotel like the InterContinental Thalasso Spa is of course different from a 4 stars Resort like Le Moana. The rate are not the same along with the offer and it is a privilege for our guests to use the facilities of a 5 stars hotel with no extra cost.

However we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property.

May I personally thank you for your helpful comments.

Thank you again for your patronage, and we look forward to the pleasure of being of service to you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed there for the 50th of my Wife ( Psst! ;))

Perfect.

The added Advantage of the InterCont is the free boat to the main Island.

For general snorkelling, we recommend the Maldives. The Lagoon around the Bora Bora Resort is empty in comparison, but much better swimming therefore. Crystal clear Water! But the Snorkelling trip round Bora Bora was awesome!

Not cheap, but we didn´t expect that.

Shows for Dinner were fine, Food very good, staff nice, Location is pure PARDISE!

The View form the Bungalow, or from the way to the Restaurant is UNBELIEVABLE. Ditto for the light blue Lagoon colour!

It´s Postcard like, but it´s real!

Visit the Ray Show ... These Animals are SO intelligent, you can touch them, they touch you, but all very gently ... my Wife was sceptical at first, but REALLY enjoyed the second visit. My Wife Held a bait fish for slightly too long, Ray used his teeth, but stopped immediatly, when it found something wrong ... my Wife felt the teeth, but the Ray stopped, and there was not even a scratch, no Blood!

DEEPLY impressed by these large ( the tail itself on the biggest ones was easily 1 1/2 m Long ... ~ 5 feet! ) and beautiful animals!

I´ll never eat a Ray!

IMO the most to recommend Resort at the Maldives. St Regis in contrast is Breakfast only - beware!

Hermann

Room Tip: Over Water Bungalows - any
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaandHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICLeMoana, General Manager at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear MartinaandHermann Iaorana,


We hope you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We would like to thank you for your time sharing this review. It is a real pleasure for the whole team to read your warm comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you loved both properties Le Moana and the Thalasso Spa. It is nice to read that you find the location nicer than in a postcard which is indeed a perfect location to relax and take advantage of this experience. Thank you for your kind recommendation..

We would be very happy to welcome you back in the future

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing