We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bora bora on the water plus a great resort a dream place !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

What can I say about bora bora and the intercontinental hotel which is the dream location plus a great service and great food and the over water bungalow to die for .the colors of the bungalows here are yellow while the other intercontinental was dark brown shades . Just pretty next to the blue water .
It is first class hotel and they keep it up that way .
The guy that I like was Edward from France , which is a trainee I have taken a picture of him just to share with his management . I think trip-advisor must get us a place to give a good employees a like just like in Facebook. Yes I think it's will get the hoteliers to work harder for the likes . smiling
Anyhow if you are going to bora bora in December just enjoy this grand place and count your blessing !
Happy new year !

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank navawritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Navawritz Iaorana,

Thank you so much for sharing you experience in this review .
All our team is delighted to hear your great comments on our service , friendly staff and location and we are so happy we succeed in meeting your expectations. You really did get into the spirit of the island and specialy the spririt of our Resort. There is no better thanks for us than reading such review. It is a pleasure to share this with our team and in particular Edouard you mentioned.

We hope to have the privilege towelcome you back in the future and would like to thank you for recommanding our lovely Resort.

Best sunny regards and Happy Holidays

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

This a beautiful place! HAVE to do the over water bungalow! Worth every penny. Ideal for couples looking for romance and to relax and enjoy the scenery. Walk out of your bungalow and into the beautiful water - snorkel to your heart's content! Loved the breakfast buffet. A little of everything!

Room Tip: Number 11 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Linda G,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your experience.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurence Lévy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a horizon overwater bungalow in early October 2013 for our 1 year wedding anniversary. We wanted to take a really special trip before we had children and this trip was perfect! I actually initially tried to book the Four Seasons and it was sold out (9 months in advance!) so I did some research and Le Moana seemed to be the best option! (And about half the price!) I was a little worried about what the wind might be like after reading that the location could be really windy, but I decided that beaches are always windy so we would take our chances. While we were there, we had a nice steady breeze - nothing I would even comment about, but it does seem to be a concern at Le Moana. The location is AMAZING - the different blues of the lagoon are like nothing I've ever seen and the water is translucent, even at deep areas. We loved swimming and snorkeling right off of our bungalow every day. We spent most of our time on our bungalow deck over the water (or in the water!) but we did venture off the resort for meals. We went to the nearby Lucky's Pizza twice and it was a great price and yummy pizza and beer! We went to Matira Beach restaurant twice (also nearby) for their spicy tuna roll - best sushi we've ever had. They are also right on the beach for a great view! The resort food was not bad - I preferred their lunch menu - they have good pizza and Polynesian dishes and it was very convenient to order it to our room so we didn't need to leave our balcony :) If we could afford the flights, we would come back to Le Moans every year! It had everything and beyond we could have expected for a truly amazing beach vacation. We never even felt the need to check out the sister resort (we didn't want to spend any of our time away from Le Moana!). I would (and already have) recommend Le Moana to anyone considering a trip to the South Pacific.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kateepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Kateepro Iaorana,

Congratulations for your first year anniversary.
Thank you so much for sharing you experience in this review and finding our Resort "the best option" .
All our team is delighted to hear your great comments on our service , and location and we are so happy we succeed in meeting your expectations. You really did get into the spirit of the island and specialy the spririt of our Resort. there is no better thanks for us than reading such review. It is a pleasure to share this with our team .

Thank you again for recommanding our lovely property with the hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best sunny regards, and Happy Holidays

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Le Moana hotel last week. We stayed for three nights after a Paul Gauguin cruise that we took. The three nights flew by and we wish we had stayed longer.
Arriving in Bora Bora is truly a fantastic and unique experience. You exit the terminal and you are at the edge of the most beautiful blue lagoon the you have ever seen. You are taken by boat to the hotel which also has the most beautiful blue water that it doesn't seem real.
The OWB are very spacious and comfortable. What a delight it is to feed the fish from your coffee table that slides open. The snorkeling in bora Bora especially around the bungalows and the coral garden which is just a short kayak away is some of the best that we have ever done. There are lots of sting ray and many other beautifully colored tropical fish.
The food at breakfast was very good with lot's of variety of foods offered. We only had lunch there once which was also very good. We took a 4x4 jeep tour that the concierge set up which was a great tour of the island as well as taking us up to some great high look out points.
The only thing that we were disappointed in was that the other hotel The Thalasso was closed while we were there due to a booking by a private party so we couldn't go over there unless we went to the spa. My husband was disappointed that there is no gym at this hotel you had to go over to the Thalsso but he couldn't as it was closed due to the private party.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DebbieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Debbie NH,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, I forwarded your kind mention to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Laurence Lévy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

so bora bora is basically the most beautiful place i've ever been too. this was the first part of our honeymoon, and we stayed at the le moana resort...excellent choice! it's a bit more secluded that the other hotels in bora bora, so quieter. the water is perfect with almost no corals right where you go into the ocean from your deck so the swim is comfortable in such clear water. the glass table in the room is entertaining, to watch the fish, and feed them if you like. the cleanliness of the hotel is top notch. the staff are ALL super friendly. they're always smiling and love to help with anything. excellent and prompt service. celine from the front desk was always calling us by our names. felt like home and family. food is very good and i would say not over-priced (bora bora is expensive in general). le moana is the smaller of the two intercontinental hotels in bora bora, but it's definitely great! there isn't one thing negative we can say, except for maybe it was a bit windy so the water was a bit cold, never stopped us from going in though (you would never want to miss it). maybe september is not the best choice, but that's on us. overwater bungalows are the rooms to book.

my only suggestion would be to make the swimming pool heated when the weather gets a bit chilly. the pool is beautiful, but couldn't enjoy it fully because the water was pretty cold. other than that, i would recommend this hotel to any honeymooners. for us, 5 nights were the perfect combination or relaxing and some activities and enjoying the nature.

Room Tip: a/c is not very noisy, but taking a horizon overwater bungalow is great, quiet, and kind of secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Tamer A,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your experience.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, I forwarded your kind mention to my team specially to Celine. We thank you for your suggestion regarding the pool.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in a over water bungalow that was just perfect! When we arrived, Lelani greeted us and took special care to show us to our rooms and tell us all about the amenities...she was wonderful! Our room had robes, slippers, flash light, safe, refrigerator, ponchos if it rained but we didn't need them. I was glad we did bring 1 European adapter which worked for charging my ipad. Our friends were in #7 and we were in # 8 right by the ice dispenser which couldn't have been more perfect for us! We filled up our little cooler with beer we purchased at the little market at the end of the street and sat on our patio and enjoyed cocktail hour! We also made many mixed drinks with rum we brought from home and a glass with a straw and a lid so we could drink in the water without spilling! Again, close to the ice dispenser counted...very convenient! Snorkeling was perfect from our bungalow...waist high or we could swim out a little way to the deeper section near a reef with lots of fish! This resort is the best of 2 worlds...free shuttle to the sister property (Thellosso) on the calmer side of the island which has a fantastic lagoon to snorkel and sting rays are right in the front of the beach. We heard they feed them there. Breakfast was included in our package so we could eat at either resort! Both amazing places! We enjoyed the delicious breakfast every morning and took it in for almost 2 hours every day! I miss waffles on a stick and Nutella on crepes oh and of course fresh omelets! We took some bread back to our room so we could feed the fish from our glass table which opened up! The Coral Gardens are within kayaking from the resort and is free! We had dinner one night at the resort and the food was fantastic! Our waiter Edward was so nice and helpful in the morning and evening...I don't think he ever went home! We walked to the end of the street one night for wood oven pizza at The Lucky House...very nice people there...and brought it back to our bungalow to eat under the stars. We rented a pontoon boat one day and went all the way around the island which I wouldn't recommend doing because the 6 horse power on that size pontoon boat was not fast enough to get us over the waves on the windier side of the island and it was a little scary when the waves came over the boat and got all our stuff on the floor wet. On check out day, we were able to hang out at the property until our boat shuttle came to pick us up for the airport at 6:00. We snorkeled, sat by the pool, took out the kayaks and swam. We were able to get our luggage from storage and use a hospitality room to shower and get ready to leave. It was so awesome! If I ever get the blessed opportunity to return, I would stay here again in a heartbeat but for a week!

Room Tip: Room by the ice dispenser if you plan on staying at your room a lot and enjoying cocktails! Not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank victom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Victom Iaorana,

Thank you so much for sharing you experience in this review .
All our team is delighted to hear your great comments on our service , friendly staff and location and we are so happy we succeed in meeting your expectations. You really did get into the spirit of the island and specialy the spririt of our Resort. there is no better thanks for us than reading such review. It is a pleasure to share this with our team and in particular Leilani you mentioned.

We are already impatient to welcome you back again, you can trust that all our friendly staff will just do their utmost to make your next experience at our resort another memorable and enjoyable one.

Best sunny regards,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We rented a house in Faanui and drove to Bora Diving every day. In the afternoon we wanted to chill ,but there is no beach at our house, so we decided to go to the Intercontinental which was very close by. They charged us 6500 francs ea to use the beach facilities including the use of the kayaks and towels. Then they gave us 6500 francs credit to eat and drink with. We took a kayak and went over to the coral gardens across the lagoon which was about a 20 minute paddle. The coral gardens were amazing! The fish and coral were amazing but the Tahitian clams of every color in the rainbow stole show. We returned to the resort after our snorkel and grabbed a couple of beach chairs where we lounged in the sun, swam in the pool, watched stingrays swim in the lagoon and drank three nice cocktails each.

We liked it so much, we went back the next day. This time we ordered lunch which was spectacular especially after diving and being famished. We still had enough credit left over to buy more drinks. It was a much more economical way to use the facilities than to be a 7 day guest. I would have loved to stay at this resort because the staff was all so friendly, kind, and generous. However, doing Tahiti on a budget is a challenge but not impossible. If you just don't think you can afford it, look into renting a home through VRBO and then use the resorts when you can. Keep in mind that this is the off season. They may not be as accommodating in the summer.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KWelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear KWelker Iaorana,

We hope you had a safe trip back home.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed using the facilities of our Resort even if you were not staying with us. It is nice to read such comments on the property and specially the staff. They will be so happy to read your comments and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again as a hotel guests.

Best sunny regards,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
279 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $620 - $1,127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing