We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I suggest you the villa Beach suite, you will have a sort of private Beach in front of you. You can use the services and restaurant of the other intercontinental connected free by boat. Romantic place

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear flashmilan Iaorana,

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your experience from you stay in our Beach junuior suite bugnalow.

Nice to read that you enjoyed the privilege to use the facilities of our sister property like an advantage.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property,

We look forward to welcome you back in the future

Best sunny regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    328
    75
    28
    9
See reviews for
138
1,266
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon in Jan 2013. This hotel is everything you could wish for. Certainly do splurge for an overwater bungalow. These are truly amazing... a huge picture window in the bedroom looking out at the ocean... a coffee table that opens up for you to feed the colourful reef fish below... personal deck. The hotel and breakfast were good, however dont bother to eat at the restaurant - pizza is ok, everything else is ridiculously expensive and unimpressive.

Hotel is also walking distance to Matira beach, restaurants and a convenience shop.

Room Tip: Splurge for an overwater bungalow - you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sher_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear sher TT Iaorana from Bora Bora,

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your experience from your stay last janauary. You may be assured that your valuable comments have been taken into account and will be part of our enxt meeting. The food and beverage departement is one of the hardiest to please everyone who has its own test. We have some very good comments or negative one with the same menu...... but we are always in the process of improvement.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property,

Best regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for 10 days at Le Moana resort on the main island starting on July 27th, and we had an amazing time. We were in Horizon Overwater Bungalow 11, which was perfect!

Service was great, breakfast was good everyday. We only ate dinner at the resort one night, and it was fine, but very expensive.

Frankly, everything on the island was expensive, but we knew that going in, thanks to fellow Trip Advisor members.

I think Le Moana was the perfect place for us location wise. We could get to Matira Market for cheaper beer and water and sundry items. Beer was about $16 per six pack, for Hinano, which was a decent lager/pilsner.

We also ate many times at Lucky House (lunch and dinner). Service was ok, some were very friendly, others (like the young woman) were indifferent. Food was very good, my wife loved the pizza, I really liked the Caesar salad with bacon.

We also at at La Bounty (very slow service, but good food), Bloody Mary's (Good food, good service, expensive, and a wierdly decorated men's bathroom), Mai Tai (good food and service), Matira Beach Restaurant (very good food, very slow service, undestaffed), and finally we ate twice at Mai Kai (food and service were very good).

We went to Happy Hour the last 5 or 6 nights, and Jeff the bartender did a really good job. Loved his margaritas!

All in all, we had a blast, and if we ever get a chance to go back, we will definately stay at Le Moana!

Room Tip: If you can get a bungalow on the north end (10, 11, 12, 14) you are closer to deeper water for snork...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Steeve G,

Iaorana from Bora Bora,

We hope you had a safe trip back home. We would like to thank you for your comments. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your 10 nights stay with us in your N° 11 bungalow and that you

We shall share your comments with our staff and to Jeff particularly.

We look forward to wlecome you back in the future.

Best regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Le Moana as a part of our honeymoon. We started off in Moorea and then headed to Bora Bora. As some others have mentioned in their reviews, the wind was very strong during our stay which did mean we couldn't be outside/enjoy all that the island had to offer, but that's not the reason for the 3 star review.

Overall, the hotel is nice. The service was solid, although not necessarily above and beyond in any way. We had an overwater bungalow and it was really fantastic - very large, clean, and the view was very nice.

We ate breakfast at the hotel daily, which was a solid American-style buffet. We also had lunch there a few days, and the food was OK - it did the trick.

I think the challenge with this hotel is that, if you are going expecting the lush resort setting and stunning, secluded views of Bora Bora that you see in pictures, this hotel is simply not going to deliver. While its location on the mainland made going to dinner much easier at night, the location also meant that you're not as far removed as at other hotels (plus there were frequent shuttles to and from the other hotel, so dinner would have been quite easy, actually).

We took advantage of access to the Thallasso resort and honestly tried to switch hotels - when you see what you're missing at Le Moana you will want to spend the extra money - it's worth it!

Overall, if you go in with lowered expectations, may spend all of your time in your room, and won't feel like you're "missing out" in comparison to other options, it is a nice hotel. But by the time you spend the time and pay all the money to get all the way to Bora Bora, just splurge and go for the more upscale locations. They're that much better.

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 11 which seemed to be the best room. Some of the bungalows end up facing anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear valuable guests

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!
We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is a 4 star hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere. Our customers choose for its traditional and authentic feeling and are especially appreciating its human scale. Often described as a "family" atmosphere, we owe the honour of receiving a regular returning clientele each year.

Regarding your comments regarding our sister property, we are not in a position of competition. The two hotels have their own identity and are two differents products. I would like to remind you that you can not compare a five stars hotel like the InterContinental Thalasso Spa to 4 stars Resort like Le Moana. The Thalasso guests are not paying the same price and it is a privilege for our guests to use the facilities of a 5 stars hotel with no extra cost.

I can understand that you did not enjoy the hotel at fair values on the basis of weather conditions but I am happy to read that you did enjoyed the benefit of our sister property during your stay.


Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 8 days as part of our 16 day stay in French Polynesia (the other 8 were in Moorea). First off, we stayed at this resort because of the location. And boy are we glad we did. You're on the main island so you don't have to take a boat to get anywhere (a plus since my husband gets sea sick). Everything was literally at our disposal and because of this we were able to eat at all the different restaurants every night. Lucky house was fantastic! Bloody marys was amazing! Yacht club, spectacular! And the list goes on. We did eat at the resort for 2 nights and the pasta is great there!
On to the hotel. Upon arrival we were given our room. They put us in the only adjoining room on the property. I politely asked if there was anyway they could switch that, it wasn't exactly the romantic honeymoon we were expecting and we were quite disappointed. However, after asking to be switched she said she could place us in overwater bungalow #11 the next day. This was an amazing room and exactly how we had pictured our honeymoon. We were the last one on the decks and had a completely private deck facing the mountain and lagoon, perfection!
I found the service to be okay, nothing I would complain about, but nothing I would rave about either. We had just come from intercontinental Moorea and their service was AMAZING! Maybe that's why we had such high expectations coming here. 2 people I can say we're amazing here was Vahine. She worked every morning at breakfast and I always felt as if she was waiting for me, very sweet lady. The other was the concierge Laurent. He literally advised us on everything and never disappointed. The best was our last night dinner at St.James. He organized a private table just for us overlooking the water! Laurent, thank you so much:)
The breakfast at this resort was not the best, I found it to be much better in Moorea. However, the canoe breakfast is a must do.
As mentioned, the location is really what sold us on this location and we don't regret it at all. It was exactly the honeymoon we imagined and we even brought back the best souvenir ever, I'm pregnant with our first child:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacalover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to fill out our guest comments form. You may be assured that your valuable suggestions have been taken into account and they will receive my personal care. We shall take some advises from our sister property in Moorea.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, I forwarded your kind mention to my team. with a special thanks to Vahine and Laurent.


Maururu roa and see you may be in the future

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed at this resort recently and while there were some mixed feelings about it, overall it was great.

Our arrival was great, we were met and taken into the bar area for a refreshment whilst we were checked into our over water bungalow. Once the room had been finished cleaning, we were given a tour of the resort which was handy to know where everything was.

Our overwater bungalow was breathtaking! Waking up to that view every day was tough! Plenty of room and well thought out. Walking into the bungalow, you step into a living area with a very comfortable lounge (I fell asleep on it a few times) and a glass box coffee table with an opening top to feed the fish. We had a very nice king size bed which was heaven to sleep on. The bathroom was good with plenty of bench space on the basin, a bath and a shower. Whilst the shower was recessed there is no curtain or glass, so the floor to the separate toilet does tend to get quite wet.

The outside deck was a nice place to sit and relax at any time of the day or evening with sun beds or table and chairs to sit at.

We had breakfast included and found the buffet breakfast was fairly good. Dinner on a Saturday night at the buffet was sadly hit and miss. Food you'd hope be hot was cold, which I've read on here before. However the desserts made up for those short comings.

The only issue I think we had with our bungalow was that one of the shutters in the living room wouldn't open and out on the deck some of the timber decking was falling apart, but not to an unacceptable level.

We had to contend with a lot of wind, but my thought was if the wind wasn't there, the heat would have been fairly intense. Had a bit of rain, but was only during the night which was good.

For the few negatives, the positives outweighed them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodgyvalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your thoughts and make us aware of your experience.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property.

May I personally thank you for your helpful suggestions; the matters you have raised have been discussed with the department heads concerned. corrective measures are being taken some other are already in process of improvment.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to the pleasure of being of service to you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We recently returned from our honeymoon, five nights of which we spent at the Intercontinental Le Moana resort. Our over-water bungalow was beautiful! It was spacious and clean, and our glass coffee table was awesome to view the fish. The American breakfast buffet was good. We had this included in our package, and it was definitely worth it. As other reviewers have mentioned, it was VERY windy when we were there. Very windy meaning a 15mph wind at ALL times- day and night. While the wind made it impossible to take out a kayak or paddle board, it did not by any means, ruin our trip. The pool area is very nice, and it seems to have been designed to cut the wind. The food that we had in the resort's restaurants for lunch and for dinner was all very good. The Asian dishes were especially good. There is happy hour every night, which makes cocktail prices more reasonable. The public beach, Matria, is right outside the hotel main entrance. There are beautiful sunsets there. Right across the street there is a small market for basic food, drinks, snacks, and souvenirs. If you turn right out of the main entrance, and walk for about ten minutes you will find a local supermarket on the left called Tiare Market. They have the best prices on all food, drinks, and alcohol. We had dinner at MaiKai one night. There was live music which was really nice, and they provide free transportation to and from your resort. We also had dinner at Lucky House, which was right outside the hotel. They had excellent food as well. Our best dinner on Bora Bora was at Bloody Marys. One last tip- there is a free shuttle boat to and from the other Intercontinental Resort. We did this one day just to try something new. The resort is much larger and worth seeing for one day.

Room Tip: I believe even numbered overwater bungalows have a view of the mountain which is really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsmoke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Tsmoke2 Iaorana,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Bora bora Le Moana resort. We are happy to read your warm comments on our resort facilities and staff and hope you will keep a great memory of your honeymoon in Bora Bora.
Looking forward to welcome you again, maybe for your Wedding anniversary!

Best regards,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Property: InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing