We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Marriage in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

First let me say that we feel incredibly fortunate to have had our simple wedding in such a extraordinary place like Bora Bora. Apart from the scenery which is everything you've seen on postcards; I must extend a gracious THANK YOU! to Laurent, the Head Conceirge at Le Moana. He was a delight to deal with and made every accomodation possible to ensure that Lisa and I enjoyed our stay. The resort itself is smaller and more intimate than its counterparts on the Motu(barrier island). Please dont misunderstand, I mean that in a positive aspect. The employees knew us by name practically immediately and everyone greeted us with a smile. While the other hotels had some nice amenities, we didnt come to Bora Bora to see a nice hotel and plus if we wanted we could go to the sister resort (Thalasso) and use these features. Le Moana is the only major resort on the mainland and to us that was important. We had no desire to be locked at the resort or at the mercy of a ferry schedule like the other resorts. My wife and I do well enough for normal people but are by no means in the same tax bracket as a lot of the patrons to this island. That said, the Moana was a little more affordable than the St. Regis or Hilton and from the conversations we had with other "normal" income people that stayed at those locations, they didnt see the benefit to the added expense aside from more shops and fancier resturants. In summary, the Le Moana was an absolutely amazing experience and one we will never forget. Lisa and I thank you all so much for all you did.

Most sincerely,
Charles Conarroe

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiAmareQuesto2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to share your experience.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, I forwarded your kind mention to my team with a special mention to Laurent.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Le Moana for our 30th anniversary trip and loved every minute of it. We had stayed on Moorea for 4 nights beforehand which definitely helped us to be fully relaxed for the time on Bora Bora. Although most of those with us on the boat pick-up from the airport were dropped at Thalasso (which looks very impressive; admittedly) I know we preferred the quieter Le Moana and the easy access to restaurants on the island.
Our over-the-water bungalow (#25) was perfect -horizon view; the water was amazing. It's hard to believe, and pictures don't do it justice! Lovely view of the mountain. We loved the quiet location, the easy access to the water, and the great coral garden below our bungalow-complete with octopus! It was a treat to watch the sea life, and on the calm days the rays swimming by. The kayaks, paddleboards were all free to use; we also used the snorkel fins and brought our own masks. Water shoes are a must. It is very easy to kayak over to one of the coral gardens and snorkel, we did this more than once (and joined all the other tourists who had paid for the boat!).
The breakfast buffet is plentiful and the servers are very friendly. The hotel staff did get to know your name and their service was very good. The only 'mistake' made by the concierge one night was to tell us the wrong time for the restaurant pick up, so we missed it; we were thankful when the desk manager suggested going down the street to Lucky House. The dinner was wonderful-we made it our neighborhood restaurant and ate there for lunch twice more-great fish, wood-fired pizza. A definite find (and not on trip advisor by the way!)
We loved being on the island itself-rented bikes and rode around, strolled Matira beach, quick walk to the local market down the street. It was so nice to not be dependent on a boat shuttle and such; we wanted to be out doing things not riding between the motu and the island to do things!
As others have mentioned, the Ambassador membership has definite perks, so join! Besides a few fun souvenirs (pareo, t-shirt, beach towel) you get a great upgrade, and daily water. The internet is free with that also, but quite spotty and only in the immediate lobby area. But we didn't come to Bora Bora for the internet, did we?
We cannot wait to return-it was an amazing vacation!

Room Tip: Horizon over the water bungalows facing the mountain-spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allygirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Allygirl60, Iaorana,

First we would lile to congralute you for your anniversary and we are happy to read that we have reached your expectations. You have fully understood the way of life in Bora enjoy and relax !
We would be more than happy to welcome you back in our intimate and lovely proerty.

Best sunny regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We traveled to Bora Bora to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, with four nights at the Intercontinental Le Moana and five at the St. Regis. This was our second trip to the beautiful island of Bora Bora. The Le Moana is located on the island of Bora Bora, as opposed to a motu. The location is perfect. If you walk out of the front entrance to the hotel, you are at right at Matira Beach where everyone stops to watch the beautiful sunsets. There is a small store right off a short access road where you can buy snacks and beverages. We spent three nights in a beach bungalow and one night in one of the “white bungalows.” We loved them both! The bungalows are very nice and roomy. There is a separate sitting area with a couch, desk, tv and mini refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning in the beach bungalow worked great; however, it couldn’t seem to keep up in the white bungalow. We did not say anything about this as we were only in the White bungalow one night. There are tons of fish to watch under the bungalows, and we even saw a huge ray swim by. We witnessed spectacular sunrises right from our deck. As ambassador members, we received gifts of a pareo and t-shirt and welcoming champagne and sweet treats. The resort has a small pool and a nice beach. There is entertainment in the bar area of the hotel in the evenings. That staff was very friendly. Everyone at the front desk seemed to know our names and congratulated us on our 25th wedding anniversary—a very nice touch in our opinion. They could not have been more friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay at the Le Moana and appreciate the efforts of the staff to make our stay special. We hope to return to Bora Bora for our 30th anniversary, if not before, and when we do, we will definitely stay at the Le Moana. We truly enjoyed our stay here and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TahitiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear TahitiZ, Iaorana,

We hope you had a safet trip back home and thank you for your nice review. It is a real pleasure to read that we have reach your expectations. We shall double check the A/C in the white willa but it is true that the A/C is stronger in the beach bungalow because they are much more protected from the sun as their ar elocated on the land in the middle of the vegetation. The overwater bugnalow are under the sun all day. We shall share your comments with our team and look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best sunny regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed there for honeymood in an overwater bungalow. Great location. Water only up to waist around the bangalows. Never saw ocean water of this collor. Plenty of friendly fish with corals around. Friendly staff, very good food on premises. Great drinks in the hotel too.
Only glitch I can think of is the AC which is not temperature control, either on or off- too cold with it, too hot without it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Jerry G,

Ia Orana from the InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort!

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home.

We appreciate your kind assistance for having taken your valuable time to your comments.

Very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property, I forwarded your kind mention to my team.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the A/c problem that we shall improve.

We look forward to welcoming you or your family or friends in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort for two nights, and there were a number of bumps in the road the first day. Constances went over and above the call of duty to make things right, as did the manager. This a great location for being on the mainland, and there are wonderful places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Iaorana from Bora Bora,
Dear Opcathy,

Thank you very much for your comments that we shall share with our team and Constance. She will be please to read her name. We hope you had a safe trip back home and are happy to learn that we have reached your expectations.

Best regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently stayed at Le Moana (April 2013) and we were so pleased with so many things about it. We went with Le Moana based on the price and value in comparison to the Thalasso and the Hilton resorts. We are so happy we chose this one for so many reasons now that we have experienced Bora Bora, one being that we have heard the other resorts that are not on the main island charge outrageous rates to take the boat to and from the main island (for dinners and excursions, etc) which we hadnt even considered. We enjoyed being able to walk straight from the resort or easily catch a shuttle to a main island restaurant. So now to say what we loved- We joined the ambassador club, and were a little skeptical, but this turned out to be awesome! Well worth the cost! We were upgraded from a Overwater Lagoon bungalow to a Overwater Horizon bungalow. The horizons are much further out on the dock than the Lagoon rooms, but we didnt mind the walk at all, and the view was SPECTACULAR. I would highly recommend bungalows #17 thru 28 as far as having the best views and most privacy. We stayed in #20. These bungalows face east, so we awoke to the sunrise everyday! As far as the bungalow itself, the room was perfect. I am very picky with hotels and cleanliness, etc and this meet my expectations. The bathroom was nice and large, the bed was comfortable, having your own deck right on the water was awesome (you will need water shoes, there is coral/rocky ground and sea urchins)! We had a mini fridge in our living area. I highly recommend walking to Tiara Market about 10 minutes from Le Moana to buy drinks- cokes, bottled water, juice and many other things for about US prices, cheapest we found in Bora Bora (this is not the same place that offers internet, Tiara Market is several minutes further down the road). The hotel bar charges $4 USD for a can of coke, so its worth the trip to the store. We also brought liquor duty-free from LAX and snacks to have in our room. The ambassador club also gets you a liter of water for free in your room each day. We snorkeled right off our deck lots of times, the water under the outer bungalows was only about 4 feet, if even that. Sting rays swim right by the horizon bungalows many times a day. We ended up not doing any Bora Bora excursions, and instead rented a moped for 4 hours for $80 USD. They bring the moped to the hotel for you and you just meet at the front entrance, so convenient. Takes about 1 1/2 hours to get around the entire island. We stopped in Vaitape to buy souveniers and pearls (highly recommend Sibani for pearls). The Le Moana customer service was excellent. Many many employees remembered our names, which we thought was very nice (especially Timi- who helped correct a room misunderstanding when we arrived). The hotel front desk called to arrange our moped rental, and called to make dinner and shuttle reservations for us each day when we asked. We ate at Bloody Mary's, Mai Kai, and La Bounty for our dinners, all of which were great (each meal was about $100-$150 for appetizer, 2 drinks and 2 entrees). The restaurants will send a free shuttle to pick you up. We also walked to Lucky House/ Fare Manuia to get pizza right outside the hotel a few times, which was excellent and we took pizza back to our room. This resort is on the smaller side I gather based on the others we saw from the boat, but we absolutely loved this aspect of it. It was never crowded and we were always able to find chairs at the pool and/or beach. The pool is excellent. The grounds were very pretty and didnt feel "too big" like some resorts. The hotel also offers snorkel gear, kayaks, and paddle boards, all of which we used. If you kayak out towards the Sofitel hotel/ motu, there are coral gardens where you can snorkel. We saw LOTS of boats stopping there on PAID excursions and the hotel employees told us it was a great place to snorkel, so those who stay at this resort can basically go for free if you are willing to paddle out there (took about 15-20 minutes, but very easy). The breakfast buffet was also great, huge variety of choices and we were very pleased with this each day. The resort is across the street from the famous Matira Beach that had an amazing sunset. Its a public beach and the water there is deeper, so we were able to do some swimming. We didnt see many fish or coral in that area.
We do have one major complaint, but it wasnt something that warranted downgrading our review since this was optional and is more about the restaurant- the polynesian show and buffet dinner (saturday and tuesday nights). I really think the resort should just cancel this. It was extremely expensive at $120 usd PER person. The show was just average and amateur, especially if you have seen one of these in hawaii... it was nothing like that. The dinner itself had lots of options since it was buffet, but we hardly liked anything we brought back to the table, it was bland and lacked flavor, and most things were cold. (and we loved all our meals in bora bora at other places, so we were not picky, the meal just wasnt good) The price doesnt even include drinks at all, not even water. We spent the most money at this dinner than anywhere else in Bora Bora and we were hugely disappointed. This was near the beginning of our trip and we were so disappointed that we never ate at the resort again after that (other than the fantastic breakfast) so I cant review a normal dinner or bar food at the resort. There are other great restaurants on the island, so go experience those instead. The bar was also extremely expensive, so we never got drinks there either.
Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend this resort and would definitely stay here again in the future. The accommodations and location are EXCELLENT and a great value, but I would eat elsewhere. See the island and try some great food.

Room Tip: By joining the ambassador club, we were upgraded for free from the lagoon to horizon bungalow. The H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CD790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Iaorana from Bora Bora,
Dear Cd from Texas,

First we would like to thank you for you time writting this long review in details. We hope you had a safe trip back home and it is nice to read that you keep a pleasant souvenir of your stay with us.
I am taking the opportunity to inform you that we are very much involved in the local communnity and the group who is performing in the Resort is not a group with professional dancer but is an organization that helps young people to integrate into life, being part of the group they learn discipline, respect, and have a goal in life. I'm sorry that you have not enjoyed their performance. You feed back regarding the buffet is a real concern to me, we usually have good comments and I will see with our chef what had happenend.

Thank you again for recommending our resort despite your disspointment and we hope to welcome you backin the future so you can see our improvement.

Sincerely yours

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel during a visit to Bora Bora...it was magnificent.
Our over waterbungalow (#37) was beyond wonderful..the resort is small and gives you a very personal feel; the staff are attentive without being pushy. Everyone is friendly and helpful.
The bungalow offers a large bedroom with spectacular picture window, large two tiered deck for sunning and swimming, huge bathroom with double sinks and a separate toilet area. It also features the super cool glass floor with coffee table so you can sit and watch the fish under the bungalow!
The wonderful thing about the Le Moana is its private beach on a beautiful bay, there is a lot to do paddle boards, kayaks, jet skis, snorkeling or just relaxing on a beach chair and enjoying the view.
Only one restaurant on site; food was good but typically resort "pricey" but some local eating establishments near by which offer a free pick up/drop off service.
The water taxi will take you to the Thalasso Resort (the sister property) during the day for free but there is a fee after 4:30pm to go over.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Le Moana and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet, beautiful getaway in paradise!

Room Tip: The higher the bungalow number the further you are away from the resort, but it is an easy and beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poohbearfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemoanaresort, Directeur général at InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Iaorana from Bora Bora,
Dear Poohbearfan10,

We hope you had a safe trip back home and brought with you apiece of warm temperature with you
We are very happy to read that you keep wonderful memories of your stay with us and that you all enjoyed so much your stay at Le Moana that you would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet, beautiful getaway in paradise!

A big maururu

Best sunny regards

Mrs Laurence Levy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
280 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort

Address: Pointe Matira, BP 156, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $590 - $1,075 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort is located to the south side of the main island, at the famous Matira point, considered as one of the most beautiful beach in the world. The hotel situated only 8kms away from the main city of Vaitape, offers you a breathtaking view on the lagoon, but also on the impressive Mt OTEMANU and PAHIA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bora Bora Le Moana Hotel Bora Bora
Intercontinental Le Moana Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing