We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Location, Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband I stayed at Le Maitai for our honeymoon. Overall the hotel was nice- we had an overwater bungalow (although note that many do not necessarily have a great lagoon view- some have a view over to other bungalows), which was nice, yet the bed was uncomfortable along with the chairs on the deck. With that being said, the value is good considering getting an overwater bungalow at other hotels on the island is soooo expensive. I would not recommend staying here, though outside of staying at an overwater bungalow (and request one that looks out to the lagoon) since many of the beach bungalows are near the main road and the other rooms are just too far from the water).

Our major complaint was with the service and food. Our package included dinner, which was always very very slow, and the food was not very good (i.e. bland pasta). I would recommend not getting the package with dinner and just eating elsewhere. Also, the staff weren't as friendly as we were expecting.

Room Tip: Overwater Bungalows that have a Lagoon View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

The standing of this hotel is just below the top stars hotels on the other side of the lagoon.
So if you want to stay in a very nice hotel without paying $600 for a night, this is the right place.
The bungalows on the beach are very nice and the rooms on the other side of the road are high standard with everything you need.
There is a small grocery store just 5 mins from there. The hotel has two restaurants, one by the lagoon, very cool at sunset but the food was very average.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ErwanOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We chose to stay at the hotel Maitai as we wanted to explore the main island of Bora Bora and to do a shark and ray tour before our stay at another offshore resort on Bora Bora. We were attracted to the Maitai as it had its own small beach, breakfast was an inclusion (very rare amongst hotels in Tahiti) and also because of the price - it was one of the cheapest options we were able to find that we found acceptable to assist with the exorbitant price we were paying for our resort stay.
After transferring from the airport on the ferry (which blew us away with the spectacular water colour) our transfer was waiting for us which was great. The Maitai is not a long way away from the port (where the airport ferry docks) however it was around a 20 minute bus trip away. You don’t really notice as the beautiful colour of the surrounding water and scenic beaches act as a powerful distraction.
The Maitai hotel itself is curiously split by the main road that circles Bora Bora. On one side is the reception and cheaper accommodations whilst on the water side of the hotel are the beach villas and the hotel restaurant. We were provided a welcome drink upon arrival however there was a little wait of about 30 minutes until our room was ready for us. Our room was a garden view room and as such we did not have much of a view of anything. However the room was quite spacious and clean. A refrigerator, TV, hairdryer and air conditioner are all available. Some rooms have a kettle as standard however we requested one when we made our booking (as the garden view rooms do not have one) but were disappointed when one was not in our room upon our arrival. After a number of requests were made with reception one was eventually provided.
The room was clean and tidy and seemed like it had recently been repainted. The bathroom was large and spacious also and bedding was clean and comfortable. There are no restaurants or grocery shops directly adjacent to the Maitai however there are a number of good (and cheaper) eats a 10-15 minute walk away. The port of Vaitape is too far away to walk to and you will need some form of transportation to get there.
The provided breakfast we found was quite good for the price paid. There is a selection of fruits and pastries, bread, cereals and hot items like sausages, hash browns and bacon available. They did seem to make an effort to keep the food items protected from flies etc which was reassuring. One point to note however is that occasionally they do have large tour groups which stop at the Maitai only for breakfast and we found that if you were unlucky enough to be at breakfast after such a group has arrived then the food pickings are very slim indeed. If more frequent replenishment of consumed items were to occur then I don’t think it would be a problem.
Another feature that Maitai offers is water activities. They have snorkelling equipment and 2 person kayaks available for guests to use. We decided to head out in a 2 person kayak and initially wanted to paddle to the coral gardens however being our first time in a kayak we soon found the going really hard as strong currents worked against us. We soon changed our destination to the Sofitel resort island which was within view from the Maitai beach – this was still hard but we made it there in the end. Following a small rest we got back into our kayak and started to head back. This is when our troubles began – at first we noticed that our kayak was getting harder to control and very sensitive to even the smallest waves, then it wanted to flip over at the smallest of movements. We tried hard to stay afloat and make it closer to the beach however eventually the kayak sank and then capsized. I had to struggle to swim back to the beach whilst my poor boyfriend had to contend with also recovering the kayak and oars back to the beach also – we didn’t understand at the time but we were unable to right the kayak and paddle it the rest of the way. Upon reaching the beach all my belongings were ruined – my mobile phone, digital camera and other items were completely wet after being in the sea for so long.
Upon struggling with the kayak back to the equipment hut we discovered why it had sunk. My boyfriend was unable (and he is quite a strong man) to drag the kayak up onto the beach as it was totally full of water! A cap or plug of some description was left off the kayak by the hotel and allowed water from each little wave to enter the inside of the kayak and eventually completely filled it with water. There must have been 150 litres of water inside the kayak as he waited close to 30 mins for all the water to drain out just so it could be moved. This was highly disappointing to us that unsafe equipment could be provided to guests for their use, not to mention the damage and loss of our personal effects. There must be some responsibility by the hotel to ensure that their facilities are safe for use by their guests and this was absolutely not done so in this instance.
Our experience at the Maitai was soured by this experience however we do commend their front desk staff for being helpful with organising our onward transfer and assisting with a few other problems we had. Overall it was an okay stay however if we did not have our unpleasant experience I am sure that we would have enjoyed ourselves a lot more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bambinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We took a ferry from the airport to Vaitape and from there there was a van waiting for us.I was very surprised to see how poor that city and surroundings are. Even the small airport asks for upgrades. But once you out and see the water color you forget about it. It is just amazing. We have checked ion the Bungalow 109. I think this is the most private one with unobstructed views. There is a great reef below with an octopus if you patient enough to wait. Great snorkeling right of the little platform. The room was a little on a old side but we knew we are going to the cheaper hotel so that was not a problem. We had breakfasts included and they were really good. If you want to save on water and food you can either walk to the store (10 minutes) or go to Vaitape market store where water is about 10 times cheaper.
Once you on Bora Bora you HAVE to do a shark feeding trip. We chose to do a full day trip and it was a good choice. This is an amazing experience. We swam with ten, twenty sharks and numerous sting rays. We spent a few hours at the aquarium, having good food an a company.
Rented a car for 4 hours to do Island tour but that was a mistake as the island is pretty run down with old, rusting cars in the ditches, shacks for poor islanders etc. If you want to enjoy it you need to be on the water. This what makes this place so great: calm, crystal clear water.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ertes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is really the budget option in the area so keep this in mind. We were upgraded to a beach bungalow which I have to say was very nice. Given the storm that was in the area I wouldn't have wanted one of those over water bungalows. Some people couldn't even sleep with the noise of the waves! On the minus side, the previous reviews about the stray cats and dogs wandering into the restaurant off the road is true. Not classy. But the food isn't classy either. It was very basic. And yes, the restaurant is on a busy road that divides the resort in two parts. But the worst of all was the service in the restaurant. We arrived late our first night but well in time for our dinner. The waitress wouldn't even look at us until 10 minutes later when we finally flagged her down. Then she practically snarled at us. We had to ask for bread and had to wait even longer. Not a good welcome. While the service was marginally better after this first negative experience, it was a far cry from the fantastic service we got at the MaiTai in Rangiroa. There was just no comparison.
The Sofitel and the Intercontinental are each fives minutes away by foot and looked much fancier, so if you have the money, you might want to consider those as alternatives. Overall, however, the location was fine. There's a grocery store a few minutes away by foot, you can rent bikes nearby, the vistas are very pretty, and we still had a good time, despite the weather and the mediocre service.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that if you go for the standard room it is on the other side of a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarleenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Bora Bora is a pardise Island and when you do expect a certain standard when staying on such an island. Undortunately this resport does not live up to expectations. It is a very standard 2 star resort with poor facilites and very tired accomodation, fixtures and furniture. The food was average and service was Mediocre. Considering the cost/prices to stay here it does not offer value for money and was very disapointing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tinky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Let me start by saying I started in Tahiti staying with a friend who had her travel agent book a place on Bora Bora. This was one of the choices. I was pleasantly surprised at the location of this hotel. It is right on the beach with a few restaurants within a short walk. We stayed in a bungalow on the beach (not overlooking the water). The water was 20 feet from our deck and we snorkeled right from there. The room was clean with fragrant flowers sprinkled around the room. When we went on our water excursion by boat it was clear that we had picked the right hotel since the more expensive named hotel chains were not as convenient to walking restaurants and other beaches . Hotel Maitai was close to a beach where the sunset was spectacular. The roulette down the street had excellent steaks and the Italtian restaurant the other was very good. My only regret is that we only stayed for 2 nights. Had I known how beatiful Bora Bora is I would have made plans to stay longer. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lorig36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
280 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
4.9 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora

Address: Bp 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $154 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maitai Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing