We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pearl was the perfect place for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Pearl was the perfect place for us!”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We spent three wonderful nights at the Pearl Resort. We splurged for the overwater bungalow and were so happy we did! Our own private deck made it easy to get in and out of the water day or night. When we tired of snorkeling we used one of the kayaks and paddled around the motu. And when we tired of paddling we napped in a hammock on the beach under the palms.
I was concerned about getting to and from the main island since the Pearl is on it's own motu but they have an easy to use, free shuttle system. The grounds were so beautiful we only left the motu once to go out to dinner at the Kaina Hut.
If you can't afford the overwater bungalow, not to worry, the beach bungalows looked roomy and have private jacuzzis.
The spa is worth a visit, if only to walk through the gardens and have a tour of the spacious and well-designed space.
The staff was friendly and made everything easy.
The only complaint is no free internet. But who really wants to be in touch with reality when you're in paradise!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelovedMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Dear Sir, Madame,

On behalf of the team at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, I wish to thank you immensely for taking the time to convey such gracious comments about us.
It is always a great pleasure to read through notes such as yours, for they serve as an inspiration to help us in our continued commitment to maintain the high standards you have experienced.
Sir, Madame, thank you once again for sharing your experience with others, to recommend our property, and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa.
Warm regards,

Fabrice Pinault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,550
    641
    187
    76
    32
See reviews for
234
1,910
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Three nights were not enough to absorb the magic of Bora Bora and coming back to rainy and cold Seattle has been shocking. The beauty of the place, the warmth of the people, coupled with the breezes and sounds of the hustling palm trees and the water lapping on the sandy beach in front of our bangalow made this the best 3 days of my life. Of course sharing it with my daughter was the icing on the cake. We laughed, talked and relaxed together. Money well spent: memories which will last forever.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Virtually everything was perfect for our honeymoon.
Romantic and peaceful, with an amazing spa!
We went out every night for dinner as the hotel food was hotel food, (not the best)..
The head chef really needs a wake up call..
However everything else was 100% just perfect.
If it was nearer we would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnacorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saitama, Japan
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed 4nights at this hotel on our honeymoon trip. Because of the off-season, the beautiful cottages on the island were relatively quiet and we could stay at the premium overwater cottage close to the the magnificent Otemanu mountain. It did rain and cloudy during first day and half, but all other days were brightly shiny with blue sky, so not so bad at all. The lagoon water was amazingly beautiful with the high Otemanu mountain view.
The room was very clearn, spacious with nice tropical breeze, and of couse the view is speechless. You can enjoy the countless stars and milky way in the night with a glass of wine at the balcony! Just spending all day at our cottage could be enough too.
Snorkling -
Not so many fish but you can enjoy some around the culturned small corals. The water was bit too cold for me to stay in the water more than half an hour, and it was usually windy so we prefered staying above the water. : ) Much more beautiful view!
Scuba Diving nearby-
Went to Coral garden, Tapoo(Lemon sharks!), and Anau(Manta spot, but no manta!)
I heared the Bora Bora Pearl Beach is relatively new so everything is still very nice and clearn. Friendly staffs with nice smiles. : D

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yumiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights after spending multiple days in both Tahiti and Moorea and this was by far the hilight of our honeymoon.

The second you step off the plane in Bora Bora is when this hotel begins to pamper you. The met us at the airport with leis, handled our multitude of bags with ease and swiftly directed us to our water taxi that took us to the motu where the Pearl Beach is located. We were escorted into the beautiful open air lobby and we given more flowers and cold drinks and had the easiest check-in ever. We sat on couches adn they came to us to sign in. We were then walked to our room wich was a Premium Overwater Bungalow. It was pricey but once you get there you will have now issues with spending that much on a hotel. You only live once, right? The concierge showed us around our room, and voila! Our bags were already there just waiting to be unpacked.

The room was immaculate. Clean, plush, stunning. No other words could describe it. In fact my husband and I looked at each other with dropped jaws and kept saying "Ican't believe we get to stay here"! We had an amazing view of the mountain on the mainland, just a 5 minute boat ride away. From our deck we could walk right into the water and swim or snorkel whenever we wanted - the water was at least 75 degrees. We could also watch the dolphins jump, and we even saw a ray and shark come in one evening. There is also an outdoor shower to rinse off, a table & chairs big enough to dine at and 2 lounge chairs. Inside there were multiple places in the room that had glass flooring so we could watch the fish swim just feet below us.

The bathroom didn't dissapoint either. My husband preferred the shower, but I enjoyed the deep tub with removable shower head. Also another place with glass was on the shelf next to the tub, for fish watching without flashing others.

The polynesion show is good. I think they do it once a week. Not really different then the others you can see virtually anywhere in French Polynesia, but it is worth it for the buffett they serve during the show. Best Mahi Mahi I've ever had! Aside from that try to eat on the main land. The food (other than the buffett) is a little boring but what can you expect from a hotel resturant? If you want food that will make your mouth water months after you return home, try Bloody Mary's.

There is also a pool, mini golf course, private beach, hot tub, dive shop, and the most beautiful spa I have ever seen - and I am known to scope out the spa as soon as we get to any destinantion.

We dove with the dive shop (Blue Nui) and they were also great. Giles is French but speaks impeccable english and his wife, who is so sweet, said she was originally from the USA. I said "If we see a Manta Ray I can go home a happy girl" and they DELIVERED!!! They knew right where to go to see rays of all sizes (those who are afraid of LARGE sea life this may not be a good activity for you) sharks (13 ft) and so many fish it was like being in an aquarium. Their boat and staff was clean, and organized, a must on any dive boat. They were also well versed in aquatic life, and were to go to see teh best fish. As a little perk on the boat ride from the first dive site to the second they give you little french biscuits and tea.

I could go on for ever if I don't stop myself but bottom line is this: Be prepared to spend some cash, but you will NOT be dissapointed. Pearl Beach delivers on every promise and then some!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesspress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Our family of 5 (kids ages 11, 14, and 16) stayed at the Bora Bora Pearl for 6 nights over New Year's 2011 following 6 nights at the Manihi Pearl Resort. We stayed in 2 overwater bungalows (kids in one, adults in the other) at each place, and were perfectly comfortable. Beds were a little hard, but the bungalows are so pretty and cunningly designed that all is forgiven.

Even though we visited during the "off" season, the weather was absolutely glorious for 9 out of 12 days and even when a storm blew in over Bora Bora, the water was still warm and clear, so we spent our rainy days snorkeling and diving. The Pearl was absolutely beautiful and the clientele was more international and glamorous than we encountered in tiny Manihi, but the resort still maintained a relaxed "barefoot" vibe that we enjoyed. The beach at the resort is sandy, and the water around the bungalows is perfect for playing and relaxing in; the only coral on site is in the protected "coral nursery" so this is one of the few places in French Polynesia where you don't need swim shoes to protect yourself from the sharp coral.

Food and drinks are VERY expensive in general in French Polynesia -- look into a package that includes food or consider room service for breakfast so you don't end up paying per head for children who barely eat anything.

Excursions were wonderful: we really enjoyed visiting the funky "Lagoonarium." The guys who run it are hilarious and it was a safe, relaxed environment to practice swimming with black-tipped reef sharks, sting rays and lemon sharks before encountering them in the wild. We also enjoyed the Manta Ray snorkeling trip, even though we saw no mantas that day. We did get to swim with a dozen eagle rays and snorkeled in stunning coral gardens teeming with unusual fish. Our family did a first-timer dive with Gilles through the resort's dive shop -- he was wonderful and led us gently through the bizarre experience of breathing underwater. We encountered gentle 7-foot lemon sharks right off the bat!

The resort spa is absolutely gorgeous, with a friendly multilingual staff and great treatments. We ended up going three times in six days because it was such a relaxing experience.

We were very glad that we combined our visit to Bora Bora with a stay on a coral atoll, because we really felt we'd seen two different sides of French Polynesia. The whole trip was deeply relaxing for all of us, and the gorgeous tropical setting made us feel like we were on a second honeymoon! We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Googoose25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

This resort is a must for anyone planning a trip to Bora Bora. It is on a private atol (island) and is absolutely the most amazing place on the planet. If you are willing to spend the money to travel to Bora then you absolutely must reserve an overwater bungalow here. There is nothing like it on the planet. With steps down into the crystal clear blue lagoon of Bora with its 98 water temp (in Feb), you will absolutely feel you have died and gone to heaven.

Be careful though, the sun will burn you in 10 mins time. Literally.

I can't describe this place as anything I say will do it an injustice, it must be seen to be believed.

Don't plan on buying internet, it's $5 a minute! Plan on leaving your work affairs behind! Also, rent the jet skis and take the guided tour it is simply incredible.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oceanguyjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
4.7 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,608 reviews
5.2 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
3.7 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Motu Tevairoa | Bp 169, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#6 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is located on Motu Tevairoa facing the island of Bora Bora. It offers a place to luxuriate in the peace and tranquility of the magical surroundings with unsurpassed views on the world renowned Mount Otemanu.This traditional Polynesian style hotel is located 10 minutes by private boat from the airport and 15 minutes from Vaitape, the main village of Bora Bora. It offers 50 over water bungalows, 10 beach suites and 20 garden pool suites.All feature ceiling fan, air conditioning, coffee & tea making facilities, mini bar, hair dryer, safety box, iron and table,magnifying mirror, 20" LCD satellite television with DVD player, IDD telephone, CD player.In addition, the over water bungalows have glass tables to view the aquatic life of the lagoon, a large sundeck and sitting area with direct access to the water. The beach suites offer a lounge area facing the beach and a private enclosed garden with Jacuzzi. The garden & premium pool suites feature a private tropical garden, plunge pool and a spacious covered sitting & resting area.The hotel has 3 restaurants, 2 bars, 1 boutique, an on-site diving centre - the Blue Nui Dive Center, a fresh water swimming pool, one floodlit tennis court, mini golf, table tennis, volley ball court and bacci ball court, billiards and a wide variety of activities and excursions.Beside the hotel's overwater bungalows is a coral nursery called To'A Nui. Since the creation of the nursery more than 70 species of fish have settled and developed in this unique environment. The park allows a colony of 4000 corals to regenerate in perfect ecological conditions. Our guests can freely discover this unique place (snorkeling) and live an unforgettable experience.The Manea Spa covers an area in 675 sq meters and combines traditional Tahitian architecture with state of the art equipments and facilities: 2 double and 1 single massage rooms, 1 VIP spa suite, 1 double Vichy shower, 1 beauty & tattoo salon, 2 saunas, 2 steam bath and a fully equipped fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort And Spa
Bora Pearl Beach Resort
Bora Pearl Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing