We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Fantasy Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

When we heard that our cruise ship was going to spend two days in Bora Bora we booked an overnight stay here -- chiefly so we wouldn't have come so far -- all the way from from Florida -- without experiencing the iconic overwater bungalow. We picked Pearl Beach because our favorite guide book called it the most authentically Polynesian of the resorts that offer OWBs in Bora Bora. Off-season rates were more reasonable, too... We couldn't have been more pleased. It was everything a tropical paradise should be. Everywhere you looked was a travel magazine cover!

Room Tip: End-of-dock bungalows offer the most privacy. We stayed in #35. It exceeded expectations in every wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 2,560 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

This property is absolutely incredible-we stayed in an overwater bungalow facing the mountain, it was spectacular. The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was kept immaculately clean. We loved everything about this resort, the location, the ammenities , the people, the infinity pool etc. We will definitely go back! One of the best trips in the whole entire world!

Room Tip: The overwater bungalows facing mountain were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swimrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Bora Bora is one of THE most beautiful places on this earth, period!
This was our second trip to Bora Bora in 20 years. The amazing part is just how little the place had changed in 20 years.

I found this resort on Travelocity for $3500 for 6 nights in a deluxe over the water bungalow.
I fondly remembered the boat ride to the resort from the airport, and it was perfectly the same, although the Pearl resort is much closer to the airport than our previous resort, the Moana Beach resort.

Upon check in, they upgraded us to a deluxe OTWB at end of the pier, #43, it was amazing indeed.
This resort has the best sand ever, you can walk nearly a mile out in chest to neck deep water. That is why the over the water bungalows are so amazing, just climb down and enjoy. If you do stay in an OTWB, get a kayak after breakfast, and pull it up onto your deck, and use it all day long. The OTWB's at the Ritz and St. Regis both are in deeper water, over your head, what's the point?

Wanting to experience my environment, I kayaked around our Motu, Tevairoa, it took a bit over 4 miles and a little over 2 hours, the next day I went out and around Motu Tapu, around 3.5 miles, if you get a chance to do this, it was heaven on earth. However, I was struck by the amount of trash I found floating in the lagoon, and physically around on our Motu up from the resort towards the airport. Video attached.

The staff was exceptional, it was amazing, and proper for this level of resort, how everyone remembered our name and room number.
OMG, the spa was world class, I loved the steam and sauna rooms, and the massage was amazing, amazing, amazing, ask for Titaua , she is the best. I loved Mathilde, the spa manager, was so sweet, caring, and professional.

However, Terai at the activity desk screwed it up for all the rest. He was rude and condescending. They should really hide him away from the public.

The reason that I CAN NOT rate this a 5 star resort is because of the food. This is the French Polynesia after all. The prices are at Bloody Mary levels, but the food is very basic, and that's being kind. They should send all of the chefs over to Bloody Marys to see what good food tastes like, and or, bring in a French chef to train them. The resort has you held hostage and serves you subpar food at Ritz prices.
A word of advise, go into town, stop at the grocery store and buy some supplies like snacks, and mix for the rum that you should bring with you. The drinks are to expensive, with minimal alcohol.
Breakfast was included in the room price, and the special order eggs, pancakes, and French toast was fair. The premade eggs were runny and barely cooked. They do not refrigerate their eggs here, so this is a train wreck waiting to happen.

BEWARE, upon getting off the plane in Tahiti there were signs warning you about the diseases you could catch from the mosquitos in F.P., like the Dengue virus. Why didn't they tell us about this before we left. My wife used every repellant known to man, was still bitten over 30 times. She came down with the Dengue and was sick upon returning home for over a week. Put on your Repellant, and sunscreen. If you are very susceptible to bites, like my wife, think about taking a different vacation. This would be a honeymoon killer.

If you have never been, I suggest you book a trip as soon as you can. However, I would stay at the Moana Beach resort, same great water levels, but much more intimate, and much better food.

Room Tip: Since the water is chest deep, get an OTWB and just climb down into paradise. Bring your own alcohol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JeffHerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Everything from leaving the airport on a boat to get to the hotel, to checking in to our overwater bungalow, to an amazing view/beach, to polynesian themed nights, to amazing lunches and dinners... we were extremely pleased with Pearl Bora Bora. It's very secluded and absolute breath-taking to wake up in an overwater bungalow and have breakfast delivered by canoe, enjoying the view, going for a swim, paddle-boarding out into the open water and then settling in for the evening on your bungalow balcony waiting for stingrays, fish and possibly even sharks to swim by. We enjoyed every minute of it!!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the overwater bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

What a beautiful island! Arrived at Bora Bora airport and were greeted by hotel staff. They loaded our luggage onto the boat and we were off to Pearl Beach Resort. 5 minutes later we were there. Pearl Beach was absolutely gorgeous. Check in was a breeze, but we arrived mid-morning so our room wasn't ready yet. They took us to a day cabin to change and freshen up. Room was ready shortly after noon. We were escorted to our room which was end of pontoon bungalow #44. The rooms are gorgeous. What a breath taking view. Now we knew we were in paradise. Go out on the deck and watch the fish, rays and sharks swimming around the bungalows. Get out of bed in the morning, go out on the deck and jump in the ocean. You could walk on the sandy bottom for 100's of yards all around. What a way to start the morning! Took the shuttle boat across to the main island and then the shuttle bus into Vaitape for some shopping and sight seeing. Also went to Bloody Mary's for lunch. We took a boat tour all around the island for 2 hours one afternoon. Different ways to do it ( jet ski's, saleboats, motorboats) but a must do. Of course snorkeling, scuba diving and kayaking were the most common activities we saw besides just swimming or wading. Getting back to Pearl Beach Resort. The staff was great, very friendly and always accommodating. The spa at Pearl is as good as it gets. Do the couples message. WOW! We thought the food was also very good. We were there the 1st week in FEB14 and it is the rainy season so be prepared but overall the weather was very good. It is also the low season which we very much enjoyed. Don't forget the bug repellant and make sure to use it. In closing we could not have asked for a more beautiful place to spend time together.

Room Tip: We definitely recommend OTW bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon and Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

From the moment we arrived until we left it felt as if we were in another world. The color of the water, the warmth of the ocean, the comfort of the overwater bungalow and the beautiful views of Bora Bora made it a perfect experience.

The staff and hospitality of the resort was great. Everyone was kind, helpful, and cared that we had a great experience. The spa was a wonderful experience.

The menu could have a little more variation as it was similar to the Pearl in Moorea.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBallandras, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Randy W,
Thank you for staying with us and for offering your comments.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and it is wonderful to read that enjoyed your time spent with us.
I hope you will come and visit us again.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Bora Bora was our last stop and it was a perfect ending to our second honeymoon. We stayed in a bungalow near the beach but not on the beach, private deck and spa pool, a great room with an outdoor shower and beautiful room. Total seclusion no view from the room at all, it felt like our own home away from home. We had a real look at beautiful fish and coral on an excursion but some were plain to us every day from the dock and in the water around our resort. It was lovely to know that Tahiti travel and all the people that served us, really wanted nothing more than our satisfaction. The people of the resorts bend over backward to meet your every need and to exceed your expectations in every way. We have had time to reflect on the culture of kindness and humble service of the people of French Polynesia and we feel blessed to have had this time with them. The food was so beautiful and so delicious that exceeded the cruises we've been on, and almost all of our dining experiences have now been found lacking in some way. It was a perfect way to celebrate our Anniversary. A trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: If you want quiet privacy and a beautiful deck and private outdoor seating area this is the place fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Farmerkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBallandras, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear FarmerKit,
Thank you for choosing the Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa for your second honeymoon.
It is fantastic to read that you had a memorable time with us.
We would be delighted to welcome you once again.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
4.7 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,668 reviews
5.2 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
5.3 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Motu Tevairoa | Bp 169, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#6 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $406 - $1,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is located on Motu Tevairoa facing the island of Bora Bora. It offers a place to luxuriate in the peace and tranquility of the magical surroundings with unsurpassed views on the world renowned Mount Otemanu.This traditional Polynesian style hotel is located 10 minutes by private boat from the airport and 15 minutes from Vaitape, the main village of Bora Bora. It offers 50 over water bungalows, 10 beach suites and 20 garden pool suites.All feature ceiling fan, air conditioning, coffee & tea making facilities, mini bar, hair dryer, safety box, iron and table,magnifying mirror, 20" LCD satellite television with DVD player, IDD telephone, CD player.In addition, the over water bungalows have glass tables to view the aquatic life of the lagoon, a large sundeck and sitting area with direct access to the water. The beach suites offer a lounge area facing the beach and a private enclosed garden with Jacuzzi. The garden & premium pool suites feature a private tropical garden, plunge pool and a spacious covered sitting & resting area.The hotel has 3 restaurants, 2 bars, 1 boutique, an on-site diving centre - the Blue Nui Dive Center, a fresh water swimming pool, one floodlit tennis court, mini golf, table tennis, volley ball court and bacci ball court, billiards and a wide variety of activities and excursions.Beside the hotel's overwater bungalows is a coral nursery called To'A Nui. Since the creation of the nursery more than 70 species of fish have settled and developed in this unique environment. The park allows a colony of 4000 corals to regenerate in perfect ecological conditions. Our guests can freely discover this unique place (snorkeling) and live an unforgettable experience.The Manea Spa covers an area in 675 sq meters and combines traditional Tahitian architecture with state of the art equipments and facilities: 2 double and 1 single massage rooms, 1 VIP spa suite, 1 double Vichy shower, 1 beauty & tattoo salon, 2 saunas, 2 steam bath and a fully equipped fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort And Spa
Bora Pearl Beach Resort
Bora Pearl Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing