We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Bora Bora Pearl is in an excellent location on the lagoon to enjoy the sunrises over the island. The grounds are great and the beach is gorgeous. We stayed four nights in a premium over water bungalow. Our bungalow was situated at the end of the wooden dock farthest from the shore. While the position of the bungalow was excellent the condition was far from "premium" as the hotel states. It was showing a considerable amount of wear and tear. The chest deep water off the swim deck of the bungalow is perfect for walking/swimming far out into the lagoon. There is a coral garden amongst the bungalows that is teeming with fish and is perfect for snorkeling. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful in arranging dinners, activities, and transportation on the island. One major complaint is the awful internet connection that you have to pay for. Given the price to stay at the Pearl I do not feel that one should have to pay for an internet connection, let alone one that never worked well when it worked at all. Bring fish food from home for snorkeling and feeding the fish through your OWB coffee table as it is very expensive at the gift shop.

Room Tip: OWB's at the farthest end of the dock are the most private and have the best unobstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBallandras, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Wmikek,
Thank you for the nice review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that your stay was enjoyable. I am however disappointed to learn that the internet connection was not up to your expectations.
We hope that you will come and visit us again.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    609
    175
    71
    30
See reviews for
213
1,796
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Oh Bora Bora.. how we miss you! We stayed in OWB #10. It wasn't completely private but we were plenty happy with it. We swam out to the coral nursery and this single coral direction in front of our OWB to feed a ton of fish. Loved every minute of it!

We were at Pearl Moorea just before this. I would say the grounds here in Bora Bora were not as well kept as Moorea. Had we stayed in a garden bungalow here, I would have been really disappointed. There just seemed to be a lot of vegetation around the garden/pool bungalows that made it much less attractive. OWB here is a definite must. The water is amazingly clear with tons of fish, and we even saw stingrays one night.

We have 2 major complaints about this resort and would reconsider recommending:

1 - the location is horrible. Unless you are willing to pay $15 USD per person for a return trip into the village, you are basically stuck buying water and food from the resort. The $15 USD involves taking a very infrequent bus that basically forces you to stay in the village either 2 hours or 6+ hours. There's really no other good way of getting to the village to buy water. We sucked it up and just bought water from the resort. At least 2 small bottles came free every night. We went out for dinner one night and ended up talking the owner into selling us a bottle of water for 300 Fr instead of the ridiculous 550 Fr at the hotel.

2 - food access. On our last day, our shuttle to the airport was at 6:30pm. We wanted to eat a just before we left in order to last us through our red-eye flight back to LAX. We didn't know from 4pm-6:30pm, there's basically NO FOOD unless you order room service. Being pregnant, I was concerned about starving my poor baby. We brought our concerns to the concierge, but they couldn't really give us any options. They didn't even offer to provide us "room service" to the lobby. We were basically left starving until we got to Tahiti airport.

Overall, we loved our visit to Bora Bora but I think we would have picked a different resort with easier access to the village had it not been a part of our package. The beautiful coral nursery did make up for this inconvenience.. never been a fish person but when there are so many swimming right up to you, you can't help but fall in love!

Room Tip: OWB a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AWONGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBallandras, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Alex S,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer your feedback concerning our property. It is with constructive comments such as yours that we are able to fine tune our services.
I, personally, thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
David Ballandras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

It rained off and on for several of the days we were in Bora Bora. It was our last island of four islands so honestly were ready to head home by that time. Our resort made on our last few days in French Polynesia wonderful though. We had one of the beach bungalows with a pool. I would absolutely choose this again and again over an over the water bungalow (we had stayed in one of those on a different island). We had our own private fenced in back yard with our own private pool. The service at Pearl was outstanding and we never felt like we were missing anything by not being at one of the more expensive resorts. Our bungalow was incredible. The pool and beach were amazing. The food was better than our other resorts from an "American" standpoint since it was a bit more catered to American than the more French places we had stayed at. Bed was very hard & spa was very expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAAFood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBallandras, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Laafood1,
Thank you for staying with us and for offering your comments.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and it is wonderful to read that enjoyed your time spent with us.
I hope you will come and visit us again.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I spent 9 days here for our honeymoon and at first I couldn't believe places this beautiful existed in the world. This hotel had amazing service and the staff was always warm and friendly. If you travel here make sure to go into Viatape and purchase snacks & alcohol for your room, it's cheaper than the gift shop. Also, make sure you bring/purchase sunscreen and bug spray. We met many people who island-hopped throughout their vacations and numerous people said they wished they would have stayed on Bora Bora the entire time (which we did) because it was the most beautiful. The scuba diving is some of the best we've ever seen (with black tip and lemon sharks, 10-foot wide manta rays) and the hotel has complimentary snorkeling gear, kayaks, paddle boards and books to read on the beach. We loved our stay in one of the garden bungalows with our own private pool. No need to splurge on the over-the-water rooms, because you are walking distance to the beach. This place is 85 degrees year-round with 80 degree crystal clear water. This was truly the vacation of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are the way to go with your own private pool. They are quiet and off the beaten path. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AngiJolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBallandras, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Robert J,
We were glad to welcome you at the Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, and we do appreciate your valuable comments regarding our hotel premises and our service as well.
I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Pearl was a great place to stay in Bora Bora. We stayed in a overwater end of pontoon bungalow. We did our research and determined it was the best value in Bora Bora for a premium hotel with OWB. Well, they overexceeded our expectations! The service was top notch, the grounds were beautiful, and the food was better than we expected. The pool was a bit aged, it seems that all of the resorts have ongoing maint, but the beach and water was beautiful not to mention the SPA. We booked our trip through Tahiti Travel Planners and they thought of every option including excursion that were memorable. We would go back!

Room Tip: Go with the overwater bungalows - its a big reason to go to Bora Bora
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Robert J,
We were glad to welcome you at the Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, and we do appreciate your valuable comments regarding our hotel premises and our service as well.
I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

From the airport greeting to drop-off, we were completely taken care of.
Service - Everyone was friendly and professional. Every need and request was taken care of very promptly with a genuine kindness.
Decor - Authentic Polynesian. I'll confess that I like the more 'western'/'modern' look, but started to really appreciate the craftsmanship and details of the decor and architecture - the weaved/thatched roofs, wood carvings, and fragrant flowers everywhere! (see posted pictures)
Views/location - Honestly, I don't know if there is a place on Bora Bora that won't take your breath away. We did a circle island snorkeling tour and every spot is gorgeous. To make an informed choice about locations, I suggest reviewing a map of Bora Bora with all the hotels. East-facing rooms will get to see the sun rise over the main island. End of pontoon west-facing rooms will get to see the sun set over the pacific (I posted pictures). It is quite secluded as it's away from the area where most of the other hotels are 'clustered together'. The location was perfect for our personal needs. It's a 5 min boat ride from the airport. There's a free 5min boat shuttle to take you to the main island almost every hour, but from there you need to take a 20-min bus from the boat dock into town, which costs about 15 USD pp roundtrip.
Turn down service - I rarely rave about the turn down service, but after a day of swimming/kayaking/other excursions, it's nice to return to a room that is clean, swept, towels re-folded, beach towels restocked, everything organized, slippers positioned just so... lights set just right...
Breakfast - the variety is great - several different types of cooked eggs, good variety of different juices, cooked vegetables, I appreciated the miso soup station and rice, hot chocolate is very good, make sure to look out for the ripe mangos!, crepes were also good
Activities - We stayed for 6 full days, so I was worried about being bored because we typically do ridiculously busy and adventurous vacations, but we had no problem- staring at the breathtaking views, swimming/walking/relaxing in the lagoon, lounging on our sofa or chairs on our deck, snorkeling in the coral nursery, kayaking (all over and around the island, there's another secluded lagoon area if you go about 20min north), enjoying the jacuzzi. We did one 1/2 day excursion and went into town once.

Room Tip: #35, 43, 44, & 45 have awesome views. We stayed in 33 and 35, both end of pontoon. 33 has a part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ava C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Ava C,
Thank you very much for you nice review.
I have already passed along your comments to our entire team as it is feedback such as yours that provides added motivation for our team to continue delivering the highest standards of service.
It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back in the future to deliver another equally memorable holiday.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Pearl was a nice place to stay in Bora Bora. I went back and forth between 3 & 4 stars for the review because I think it lands somewhere between 3 & 4. Make it a 3.5. We stayed in one of the beach bungalows, which had a wonderful view of the lagoon. The grounds were very pretty and well-maintained.

Our one complaint would be the service. From check-in, we received service that just didn't match the four star rating the hotel has. The front desk was generally somewhat pleasant, but never friendly. The waitstaff at breakfast was very nice and accommodating, but the chef behind the breakfast bar was practically unpleasant. We just felt like they missed the mark here.

The pool is fantastic- very big and nice. It overlooks the lagoon and mountain, so you have the best of both worlds!

Overall, we enjoyed our time here, but if we make it back to Bora Bora will most likely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesslin_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Jesslin_v,
Thank you for the nice review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that your stay was enjoyable. I am however disappointed to learn that the service was not up to your expectations. Rest assured that I will share your comments with all the staff.
We hope that you will come and visit us again.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
4.7 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
5.2 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
5.1 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Motu Tevairoa | BP 169, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is located on Motu Tevairoa facing the island of Bora Bora. It offers a place to luxuriate in the peace and tranquility of the magical surroundings with unsurpassed views on the world renowned Mount Otemanu.This traditional Polynesian style hotel is located 10 minutes by private boat from the airport and 15 minutes from Vaitape, the main village of Bora Bora. It offers 50 over water bungalows, 10 beach suites and 20 garden pool suites.All feature ceiling fan, air conditioning, coffee & tea making facilities, mini bar, hair dryer, safety box, iron and table,magnifying mirror, 20" LCD satellite television with DVD player, IDD telephone, CD player.In addition, the over water bungalows have glass tables to view the aquatic life of the lagoon, a large sundeck and sitting area with direct access to the water. The beach suites offer a lounge area facing the beach and a private enclosed garden with Jacuzzi. The garden & premium pool suites feature a private tropical garden, plunge pool and a spacious covered sitting & resting area.The hotel has 3 restaurants, 2 bars, 1 boutique, an on-site diving centre - the Blue Nui Dive Center, a fresh water swimming pool, one floodlit tennis court, mini golf, table tennis, volley ball court and bacci ball court, billiards and a wide variety of activities and excursions.Beside the hotel's overwater bungalows is a coral nursery called To'A Nui. Since the creation of the nursery more than 70 species of fish have settled and developed in this unique environment. The park allows a colony of 4000 corals to regenerate in perfect ecological conditions. Our guests can freely discover this unique place (snorkeling) and live an unforgettable experience.The Manea Spa covers an area in 675 sq meters and combines traditional Tahitian architecture with state of the art equipments and facilities: 2 double and 1 single massage rooms, 1 VIP spa suite, 1 double Vichy shower, 1 beauty & tattoo salon, 2 saunas, 2 steam bath and a fully equipped fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort And Spa
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Pearl Beach Resort
Bora Pearl Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing