We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pearl Beach was Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights, April 27 to May 2, 2013 after staying 1 night in Tahiti and 4 in Moorea. We loved the Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort! We stayed in premium overwater bungalow number 30. We had a beautiful view of Mt. Otemanu both from our front deck and from our bed! The water was chest deep right from our own ocean deck, you could walk a long way out before the water dropped off. Not only do they have an ocean viewing portal through your glass coffee table, but there are also glass panels in your bedside tables, and in your bathroom around the sink vanity top and bathtub, giving you plenty of opportunity to view the ocean life right under your room! The staff at the resort were great, very helpful and they brought you drinking water and a Tahitian legend every night with the turndown service! At breakfast every morning, we were greeted by smiling, friendly staff! The food was top notch, both breakfast and dinner. We were there for my wife’s 50th birthday, so on the morning of her big day I had our breakfast delivered to our bungalow by Tahitian Canoe. Yes, you have to pay extra for it, but it was well worth the look on her face when they came paddling up to our deck! We took the free water shuttle over to the main island for shopping and for dinner on a couple of nights. It’s only a 5 minute ride, and there are regular posted runs back and forth. We dined at both La Villa Mahana and Bloody Mary’s restaurants, both of which I highly recommend! The grounds of the resort are pristine and the beach is beautiful! While we were there the beach was never busy! We went on 2 tours that we booked through the resort, the jet ski tour and the shark and ray feeding tour. Jet skiing with our guide Joe was a blast, we completely circled the whole island and he also showed us on one of our pit stops how to open a coconut with just a wooden stake! The shark and ray tour was with Shark Boy tours, our guide Rusto and cameraman Vincent were both very upbeat and entertaining guys! We got to pet stingrays, snorkel through the coral gardens and swim with black tip reef sharks, that ranged from 3 to 6 feet long and a huge lemon shark that was in the 12 foot range! A very exciting day! We had an awesome vacation and a great stay at the Pearl Resort! We highly Recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 2,637 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice resort in a very nice location. Pristine waters and an incredible landscape with Bora Bora main island and mountain. It has a coral nursery that brings lots of fishes close to the beach and overwater bungalows. In each overwater bungalow you can feed fish only sliding the cover of the crystal table. Beach and garden bungalows also seemed very nice as well. If you are going to ask for an overwater bungalow, make sure to ask for one farther from the beach (the first six ones are located close to the beach and the water is dam and is not clear with some debris from the sea). There are 2 categories, but I strongly recommend to pay an extra because it worth it, specially looking to the mountians that you would have amazing sunrises.
Inside the bungalows they need to pay attention to some extra maintenance (stained mirrors, faucets, safety box, some wooden parts and cleaningless). A recommendation to the hotel management: You have a very nice resort, just maintain it !
Lunch by the beach is good, with original way to present easy-food like fish hamburgers; expensive
Buffet Dinner with polynesian show is expensive and not as great as we expected.
Dinner a la carte surprised us in a good way. It really denotes the french cuisine adapted with local flavors.
SPA is located in a great gardened place with water sorroundings. We had a polynesian massage and it was very good, however (as expected as almost everything in Bora Bora) can be very expensive comparing it to other paradise locations.

Room Tip: n each overwater bungalow you can feed fish only sliding the cover of the crystal table. Beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisVazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Mr Vasquez,
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to offer your feedback concerning the matters you mentioned. It is with constructive comments such as yours that we are able to fine tune our services.

I regret to hear of the disappointing aspects of your stay which did not meet your expectations. The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed, so that we can make adjustments accordingly and guarantee the best experience for our future guests.
I do hope you will honor us a return visit to our property and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect.
David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I got to stay at the Bora Bora Pearl Beach Spa and Resort! We stayed in a Overwater bunglow that was absolutely wonderful! The staff was very nice. The breakfast was ok, but I realized that since I am a picky eater, that is not their fault. I did find things I liked to eat. The excursions were expensive but everthing was expensive. We had a great time riding the quad(ATV). Our guide Ray was the best we ever had. He made sure that we were ok and he always checked on it. He also give us a history lesson on Bora Bora which was very informative. The Manea Spa was absolutely divine! It was the best massage we have every had! Believe it or not, we really enjoyed eating their hamburgers and fries. They were the freshest tasting we ever had! It was a great trip and the 15 hour flight was well worth it! My advice is to bring OFF because they have a lot of mosquitoes.

Room Tip: The overwater bungalows and beach bungalows are spectaclar and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear DivineExplorers,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
All of our employees are appreciative when they receive comments like yours.
I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Yes, Bora Bora is still paradise on earth!!!

In fact, one of the many paradisiacal motus/islands around Bora. Worth a detour for several days!
We didn't visit the main island but is easily reachable by kayak. At this price, shuttle to and from mainland should be free but there were many activities provided by hotel that kept us busy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawaiki2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear hawaiki2003,
Thank you for the nice review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that your overall stay was enjoyable.
We hope that you will come and visit us again.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Location, grounds, beach, bungalows, spa, dining were all wonderful. But the one thing that really puts the Pearl above the rest is their staff. We were completely amazed that virtually every staff person called us by name. Another example, on our SECOND morning at the breakfast buffet, the waitress came to our table and pointed to me, "Regular coffee?" and to my husband, "And you prefer decaf, correct?" I had a question and went to the front desk, and as I approached, a person I had not met prior greeted me by name! It made us feel very welcome and special.

There are many choices of hotels on Bora Bora, and we would HIGHLY recommend this locally owned one.

Room Tip: We stayed in an over-the-water bungalow, but we had the opportunity to see the beach bungalows with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Carolcottage,
Thank you for choosing the Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and it is great to read that enjoyed your time spent with us.
We have already passed along your comments, regarding the service, to all of our team as recognition for their hard work and to serve as added motivation to continue delivering the highest of standards.

Thank you once again for choosing Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa and we would be delighted to welcome you back for your wedding anniversary.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here on our tour (we did 3 Moorea, 4 Bora Bora, 3 Tikehau). This resort is very nice and very polished but a bit overpriced and the activities are pricier and aren't as good as on other French Polynesian islands. Bora Bora is beautiful and it's definitely a bucket list kind of thing, but I'd recommend spending more time in places like Tikehau, if we go back I don't think we'll return to Bora Bora.

The service was good, but not great. We saw several times that the staff put a smile on when speaking with guests but several had some harsh words for each other and we just got that feeling of them putting on the veneer of being nice when dealing with us but not necessarily being genuine. The housekeeping for our room was sub par for several of the days. They didn't replace things we used up and didn't clean particularly well. Overall, not the service you'd expect at a resort like this, though there were also those who were genuinely helpful.

There is NOT good snorkeling here as there's relatively not much coral in the Bora Bora lagoon, and thus not much wildlife. The beach and water are great for sunbathing and swimming and walking out in waste deep water for a long way out from shore, but Tikihau and Moorea are way better for snorkeling. The beach is gorgeous though there are a ton of overwater bungalows which with so many, detracts a bit from the view.

We had a garden bungalow which was very nice. The plunge pool was great for cooling down or relaxing in the privacy of our our patio. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is also very well done, my only complaint was the outdoor shower. It sounded awesome and seemed great but it was actually under an overhang in a small corner off the back of the bungalow and you basically had a fence right next to you and no view but back into the bungalow. It would have been much cooler to have the outdoor shower on the same side as the plunge pool and patio area or with a nicer view and a bit of a garden area at least.

The common areas are beautifully done. The pool is very nice, the restaurants and views are all quite nice. The bar area was great as well.

There were a handful of kids here while we were there which I couldn't believe, it's 90% couples and then there was a handful of kids which kind of put off the sexy beach resort atmosphere. Personally, I don't know why anyone would take kids to a beach resort like this which was more adult oriented.

The breakfast was great but we were glad it was included as it was ~$40 per person otherwise. All the food and drinks were very expensive and we were disappointed there wasn't a reasonable size mini-fridge in the room, just the small mini bar. Lunch was ~$30 per person and dinner was $40+ per person. Drinks started around $10 for beer and went up to about $20 for cocktails.

The boat and bus into town was great and there's tons of little shops and a craft market there you can pick up interesting local made things for cheap! I'd recommend that highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Zwalk,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer your feedback concerning our property. It is with constructive comments such as yours that we are able to fine tune our services.
The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed, so that we can make adjustments accordingly and guarantee the best experience for our future guests.
I, personally, thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon. I specifically picked this hotel because of the waist-deep water surrounding the hotel. It wasn't until we got there that we discovered our real favorite part was the reefs. We stayed in an overwater bungalow facing out to Mount Otemanu (Room 27). The view was unbelievable! We loved jumping off our balcony and just playing in the lagoon like it was a giant swimming pool (no treading water like some other hotels!). The hotel has a reef restoration project so there are more than 75 different species of fish living around the hotel. Most reefs are specifically placed under walkways or under bungalows so they can be seen through the glass bottom tables in the rooms. We thought we had seen lots of fish while snorkeling at our hotel in Moorea- we were wrong! It was amazing how many fish there were! We took several GoPro videos just swimming around them at the hotel. You can even buy fish food and feed them if you really want to see a frenzy. The room was large and had an authentic feel with the thatched roof ceiling and wood carvings on the wall. Every night the staff would bring water and a Tahitian folk story The hotel had lots of amenities including a mini golf course that we played one day. We mostly ate at the resort, but our favorite place was the bar! The drinks were made with fresh fruit and were delicious. With drinks they served three appetizers. I'm not sure exactly what each one was, but they were so good we would get seconds! This hotel definitely has more of a French influence which is reflected in their food. I really liked that there was a Top Dive center on the resort which made it easy to arrange trips. The hotel also has a free shuttle service to the main island, but you pay for the bus to take you into town from the pier. One of my favorite things about the hotel was the keychain our room key was on. It was made from a shell with a carving of Mount Otemanu on it. When we were checking out I asked if we could purchase it (kind of joking) and he gave it to us free of charge! It's one of my favorite keepsakes of a honeymoon we will never forget!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelleDyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear MichelleDyer,
Thank you for choosing the Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa for celebrating your honeymoon.
It is an honour to serve you during such a unique event and to know that we have made your stay a memorable experience.
Awaiting the moment of welcome you again
I hope you will come and visit us again.
Best Regards
David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
4.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#8 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,746 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
3.7 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#2 of 17 in Bora Bora
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Motu Tevairoa | Bp 169, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $446 - $1,073 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is located on Motu Tevairoa facing the island of Bora Bora. It offers a place to luxuriate in the peace and tranquility of the magical surroundings with unsurpassed views on the world renowned Mount Otemanu.This traditional Polynesian style hotel is located 10 minutes by private boat from the airport and 15 minutes from Vaitape, the main village of Bora Bora. It offers 50 over water bungalows, 10 beach suites and 20 garden pool suites.All feature ceiling fan, air conditioning, coffee & tea making facilities, mini bar, hair dryer, safety box, iron and table,magnifying mirror, 20" LCD satellite television with DVD player, IDD telephone, CD player.In addition, the over water bungalows have glass tables to view the aquatic life of the lagoon, a large sundeck and sitting area with direct access to the water. The beach suites offer a lounge area facing the beach and a private enclosed garden with Jacuzzi. The garden & premium pool suites feature a private tropical garden, plunge pool and a spacious covered sitting & resting area.The hotel has 3 restaurants, 2 bars, 1 boutique, an on-site diving centre - the Blue Nui Dive Center, a fresh water swimming pool, one floodlit tennis court, mini golf, table tennis, volley ball court and bacci ball court, billiards and a wide variety of activities and excursions.Beside the hotel's overwater bungalows is a coral nursery called To'A Nui. Since the creation of the nursery more than 70 species of fish have settled and developed in this unique environment. The park allows a colony of 4000 corals to regenerate in perfect ecological conditions. Our guests can freely discover this unique place (snorkeling) and live an unforgettable experience.The Manea Spa covers an area in 675 sq meters and combines traditional Tahitian architecture with state of the art equipments and facilities: 2 double and 1 single massage rooms, 1 VIP spa suite, 1 double Vichy shower, 1 beauty & tattoo salon, 2 saunas, 2 steam bath and a fully equipped fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort And Spa
Bora Pearl Beach Resort
Bora Pearl Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing