We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Pearl Beach from December 27th through January 1st in an overwater bungalow, #22. While not in the premium category, we loved the location as it was close to the restaurants and dock and we had the coral nursery just below the room. A view of Mt. Otermanu was just outside our door. So, for us, it was great. Check-in was easy and although our room was not ready when we arrived, we had some lucnh and by the time we were done, our room was ready at 1:30 pm. We were warmly greeted with cool towels and a drink upon arrival, which was a nice touch.

We only used the pool and beach on our last day and both were fine. We were able to shower and change in a private shower room near the pool, which was a nice feature when you have a late flight and want to spend the day in the water.

There were 2 restaurants open during our visit - a casual, outdoor restaurant by the pool which was open until 6 pm most days and the more formal restaurant in the main complex. We found the service to be prompt and attentive but as others have written, nothing is inexpensive. We also did not find the food to be exceptional, which was frustrating. If you spend $200 or more on dinner, you'd like better food and slightly larger portion sizes. The breakfast, which was included in our stay, was nicely displayed and had enough variety so we didn't get bored. Special thanks to Felix and Jackson for providing such great service to us during our stay. Always a smile from them.

We had a few dinners outside of the resort - Mai Kai (the best restaurant of our entire trip to Bora Bora and Moorea), La Bounty (OK) and the Yacht Club (OK and awful, slow service). We ordered a bottle of wine at each dinner and the bill was never less than $150-$200. When the food is great, you don't mind, but when it's not, it feels like a waste. But, you don't have too many choices so you're a bit captive. The concierge was wonderful and so helpful with making reservations and explaining how the boat/shuttle works. We never found it to be an inconvenience to head into town and actually enjoyed the ride and views.

We spent most of our time at our bungalow and in the water. We brought our own snorkle gear and it was easier than having to get it from the dive shop but there were plenty of people who used the resort gear and it was fine, too. The tropical fish were plentiful and we never tired of snorkeling and feeding the fish. You can buy fish food in the boutique and the proceeds go towards the coral nursery. The water was crystal clear and shallow enough that you could walk or swim with no problem. The sand was clean and soft. The color of the water cannot be described easily - it's blue in one area, turquoise in another area, and then, every shade in between. Simply amazing.

We were at the resort for New Year's Eve and the resort planned a lovely evening of cocktails and hors d'oeuvres on the beach, followed by a multi-course dinner with a bottle of champagne at each table, and then a Polynesian show on the beach. And then the bar was turned into a disco to bring in the New Year. Well done!

Our bungalow did show some signs of overuse and could probably use some maintenance but nothing that interfered with our enjoyment. Water pressure in the shower was good. There was never a shortage of towels or soap, shampoo, etc. We found the air conditioning to not be very effective as the room has a few areas with just screens and so the cold air just mixes with the warm air. When we tried to close off the bathroom area to keep the cold air in the bedroom area, it just made the bathroom are more hot. Not sure we were doing something wrong. The decor of the room was fantastic. We loved the use of natural woods and it had a slightly rustic feel.

We also loved the turn down service along with the little card she left on the bed with a different story or fable. A nice touch.

I would absolutely recommend Pearl Beach. There was a great mix of people from all over the world and no snobbish behavior at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewYork4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that your holiday exceeded your expectations and that you were able to return feeling relaxed. From the comfort of your bungalow and the exceptional view of the Mount Otemanu to the New Year’s Eve evening, it is wonderful that each combined to make a memorable stay for you.

We have already passed along your comments, regarding the service, to Felix and Jackson, and all of our team as recognition for their hard work and to serve as added motivation to continue delivering the highest of standards.

Thank you once again for choosing Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa and we would be delighted to welcome you back once again for your future holidays.

Best Regards

David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 2,639 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Bora Bora is not just for couples! My best friend and I took a fun girls trip and had the time of our lives. This trip may be the best ever in my life and the Pearl Resort had much to do with it. From the friendly and helpful staff, to perfectly comfortable overwater bungalows, to the cuisine, lush grounds and extensive list of activities, this resort has it all. Plus their tattoo artist was amazing. We booked an early-bird special and went in Nov to perfect weather. incredible experience and can't wait to go again, maruuru!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Laura H,

Thank you for staying with us and for offering your comments.

I am delighted to read that our service upon arrival and during your stay exceeded your expectations and that you have had a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday.

It is our pleasure to be of service to you and I hope you will come and visit us again.

David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a great resort for over water bungalows. period. The snorkeling at the reef nursery was some of the best we had in bora bora and moorea. The water was so blue and the bottom of the sea was so soft and white it was very nice. The bungalows had every thing we could want or need, and we really tried hard to limit our spending at the resort and were able to get away without spending fortune on food. The breakfast was great, but most of all the OW bungalow was exactly what I hoped for. Bora Bora was on the top of my "bucket list" after seeing tahiti portrayed in certain movies and TV. We will go here again for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear StephR,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.

We are delighted to read that you found our bungalow to be comfortable, and our lagoon to be suitable for your enjoyment.

Thank you once again for your stay with us. We do hope you will honor us with a return visit to our property.

David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I were at the Pearl for 2 weeks in September. It was absolutely the best vacation we have ever had. By the second day we were known by name. The staff would go out of there way to help us with anything we needed. We were in a premium overwater bungalow. The best view ever. We met a couple that came there from Hawaii for a long weekend. I would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LOSUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Losusa,

Thank you very much for your review on your resent trip in our hotel.
I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and please let me know when you come for a second visit.

Best Regards

David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

After staying in Moorea, we flew to Bora Bora and stayed at the Bora Bora Pearl Resort. This resort is absolutely beautiful. While not a big resort (none of them really are in French Polynesia) you don't really need a lot to do at the resort. You spend most of your time either outside of the resort or in the water or in your bungalow that having a ton of resort entertainment isn't really necessary. We stayed in a premium overwater bungalow, that although is a little walk back to the resort, is in a perfect location over the water. The coral underneath our bungalow was beautiful and it was amazing to see all of the different sea life swimming around. We even got to see some rays and little sharks swimming around our bungalow. This area of the resort is actually very easy to go into the water and then walk pretty far out into the lagoon where you are waist deep. I was able to wake up and see Mt. Otemanu as soon as I sat up in bed. I was there on a FAM trip and so I shared a room with another agent. It was easy because I had the actual bed and she had the other bed that was a single bed that doubled as a couch. So this could be perfect for either a couple or 2 friends if they just wanted a girls trip.

While I didn't partake in the spa, we were given a tour of it by the manager David and his wife who is actually the spa manager. (I forget her name) The spa was absolutely beautiful and I could definitely see spending a lot of time there if we were there for more than just a few days.

The food was great, but keep in mind that there is only 2 restaurants on site, but the food doesn't get old. There is quite a variety for breakfast in the morning, but I usually just went with the crepes and nutella :) That was always delicious.

You can rent out snorkel gear for free and also use the paddle boats and kayaks. That's a nice touch.

I would highly recommend this resort! It's perfect for someone that doesn't have a St. Regis budget, but still wants the amazingness of Bora Bora. We also went and had lunch and toured the Hilton Bora Bora Nui and although it was a beautiful resort, I would stay at the Bora Bora Pearl again because of the amazing views of Mt. Otemanu.

One more thing, the sharks and rays feeding is a MUST!! absolutely incredible. Also, the motu picnic is fascinating and see if they will take you snorkeling to the coral garden. Awesome experience! TAKE SUNSCREEN!!!!

Room Tip: get a premium overwater bungalow as they are further out in the water. We were in bungalow 46 I beli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stpattysgirl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent visit to Bora Bora. It was a pleasure to have you with us and it is wonderful to read that enjoyed your time spent with us .

We anticipate welcoming you back in the future and hope you will have more time upon your return to enjoy our Manea Spa.

Best Regards

David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

As soon as you are getting off the boat into the resort, you know you have picked the right hotel!!! The water is like nothing you will see anywhere else. The grounds are manicured and lush. The rooms are fantastic. We had the beach bungalow with the jacuzzi which was fantastic. The meals were just right as we had the board plan. The food was well prepared and a lot of time and effort goes into everything on the island! Beautiful place and great people!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braxi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Braxi33,

Thank you for staying with us and for offering your comments.

I am delighted to read that our service upon arrival and during your stay exceeded your expectations.
It is our pleasure to be of service to you and I hope you will come and visit us again.

David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our anniversary trip last week in Bora Bora! It was amazing in every way! We left from LAX to Papeete and then connected to a flight into Bora Bora. Once we got there, we had Custom Tahiti agents waiting for us to take to our boat shuttle to the Pearl Beach Resort and Spa AND had gotten lei greetings once arriving into Papeete and again ariving into Bora Bora. It was so nice having them there to greet us and help us with connections and our vouchers for excursions, accomodations, and flight back home. We were also greeted with a bottle of wine for our anniversary compliments of custom tahiti.
Thank you Custom Tahiti for Everything !!
Once arriving at the Pearl Resort we were treated so kindly from our first hello to our last goodbye. They greet you with a cold drink and wet towels to refresh you as you sign in and wait for your room. Our premium overwater bungalow was very nice with polynesian accents and amazing views of Mt. Otemanu! We loved the fact that the ow bungalows were in shallow water so we took full advantage of it and swam, snorkeled and lounged every min we could in the beautiful water. We had dinner out in mainland everytime except once when we ate a late lunch at the poolside restaurant. Our restaurants included Mai Kai, La Bounty, Fare Maniua (the lucky house) and of course the famous Bloody Mary's. Our favorite was Mai Kai and La Bounty came in second we actually visited la bounty twice during our stay. Most of our dinners came out to $65-$95 for the two of us which included drinks and entrees. All four of the restaurants we vistited will pick you up from the boat shuttle and take you back before last boat shuttle pick up.
Our breakfast was included in our trip itinerary and that was a big help not having to worry about paying extra for it. They had lots to choose from including french toast, omelets, eggs benedict, pancakes, sausage, bacon, potatoes, crepes, different breads, juices, fruits and yogurts... & much more.
The room is a nice size and bathroom is very well designed for two ppl getting showered and ready. Make sure you take your adapters for your appliances. We had taken both adapter and converter but only ended up really needing the adapters cuz when we used the converter my appliances would not perform as normal. (slow or not heating up)
For our drinks throughout the trip we took our alcohol in our run rummers and just bought juices and beer at the Chin Lees in town. We took a collapsible cooler and filled it up with ice to keep our juices fresh. Make sure you take plenty of zip lock bags to store any snack or food you might take into your bungalow, it protects it from the tiny little ants that bora bora has. Going into town was easy once you understand the shuttle and bus schedules. We visited twice to shop for snacks, juices and souveniers.
We went to the Shark and Ray encounter through the activities desk at the pearl resort and must say It Was The Best !! Thanks to Will from Shark Boy we had a memorable and amazing experience swimming with the sharks and sting rays. I can't even explain how it felt to be in the water with them both and not have any fear at all. Thanks again to Will for making our experience so enjoyable! I Highly Recommend everyone to do this excursion at least once when in Bora Bora!
Take plenty of sunscreen since you are putting it on many times in one day. The sun is very powerful there and can burn you easier than in other places. We came back with a very nice dark tan and love it ! Take plenty of pictures and a underwater camera is highly recommended! We enjoyed a couples massage on our last day since we had a late flight out an have to say it was out of this world. We were able to shower and get ready at the spa before we left this beautiful island and great staff at the Pearl Resort.

Thanks again to the wonderful staff at The Pearl Resort , Custom Tahiti and Will from Shark Boy for the memorable and enjoyable times we will cherish forever! Mauruuru , Bora Bora ;)

Room Tip: any of the premium overwater bungalows , we had number 32 and loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bee1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGBorapearlbeach, Directeur général at Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear bee1u,

Thank you for staying with us and for offering your comments.

I am delighted to read that our service upon arrival and during your stay exceeded your expectations and that you have had a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday.

It is our pleasure to be of service to you and I hope you will come and visit us again.

David Ballandras
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
4.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#8 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,747 reviews
4.9 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
4.7 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
3.7 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#2 of 17 in Bora Bora
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Motu Tevairoa | Bp 169, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
#5 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $443 - $1,117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is located on Motu Tevairoa facing the island of Bora Bora. It offers a place to luxuriate in the peace and tranquility of the magical surroundings with unsurpassed views on the world renowned Mount Otemanu.This traditional Polynesian style hotel is located 10 minutes by private boat from the airport and 15 minutes from Vaitape, the main village of Bora Bora. It offers 50 over water bungalows, 10 beach suites and 20 garden pool suites.All feature ceiling fan, air conditioning, coffee & tea making facilities, mini bar, hair dryer, safety box, iron and table,magnifying mirror, 20" LCD satellite television with DVD player, IDD telephone, CD player.In addition, the over water bungalows have glass tables to view the aquatic life of the lagoon, a large sundeck and sitting area with direct access to the water. The beach suites offer a lounge area facing the beach and a private enclosed garden with Jacuzzi. The garden & premium pool suites feature a private tropical garden, plunge pool and a spacious covered sitting & resting area.The hotel has 3 restaurants, 2 bars, 1 boutique, an on-site diving centre - the Blue Nui Dive Center, a fresh water swimming pool, one floodlit tennis court, mini golf, table tennis, volley ball court and bacci ball court, billiards and a wide variety of activities and excursions.Beside the hotel's overwater bungalows is a coral nursery called To'A Nui. Since the creation of the nursery more than 70 species of fish have settled and developed in this unique environment. The park allows a colony of 4000 corals to regenerate in perfect ecological conditions. Our guests can freely discover this unique place (snorkeling) and live an unforgettable experience.The Manea Spa covers an area in 675 sq meters and combines traditional Tahitian architecture with state of the art equipments and facilities: 2 double and 1 single massage rooms, 1 VIP spa suite, 1 double Vichy shower, 1 beauty & tattoo salon, 2 saunas, 2 steam bath and a fully equipped fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort And Spa
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Pearl Beach Resort
Bora Pearl Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing