We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,261)
Filter reviews
3,261 results
Traveler rating
2,182
671
239
109
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,182
671
239
109
60
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 3,261 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2019

I was somewhat apprehensive about visiting a place that is tailor-made for honeymooners as a solo traveler. As I am traveling through the South Pacific for a long while, I wanted to spent at least 2 nights in an over-water bungalow but the idea of going solo was originally daunting.

In the end, I'm very glad I went and I'm thrilled that I chose Le Meridien Bora Bora for my stay. From the moment I arrived and was warmly greeted by Poema--easy name to remember as she is as lovely as a Poem--I felt at ease with my choice. I had booked two nights in two different rooms but as the premium room (my 2nd night) was free, she upgraded me to avoid me having to change rooms. This was a fantastic way to begin my trip. The room was in very good shape--some reviewers on here lamented worn-out facilities but I saw no sign of this anywhere on the property. Two days of relaxing and swimming out of my over-water bungalow was just what I needed.

The food was very much a surprise. I normally shy away from 'resort food' but it was nothing of the kind, here. The fantastic Chef de Cuisine, Mr. Touré, does a wonderful job of keeping things interesting. I can still take the wahoo fish carpaccio with black seaweed, rocket and salty passion fruit drizzle.

A few notes: there isn't much coral below the over-water bungalows. I did have one piece of coral on one of the pylons which had a large fish colony and I noted a few bommies here and there but otherwise, this is not the place for rich fish life. Also, as a solo traveler, I was constantly asked if I wanted a table for two. When I said no, there was sometimes a quizzical look given my way. Other than that, this was a blissful stay and I would love to go back!

Room tip: Go for the end of pontoon overwater bungalows. Waking up to the Mt. Otemanu view is worth the extra money!
Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMP1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

Best location for a villa overlooking the lagoon with magnificent views of Mt Otemanu. The villa was very spacious with plunge pool, private beach and huge lounge separating the rooms. Each room had private access to the beach. The lagoon was at our doorstep and we swam in it everyday. On a previous visit we stayed at the Intercontinental in an overwater villa which was also great, but our kids are much older now and the villa at this resort was more suitable for families with kids. The only criticism we had was at night the lighting was maybe a bit too dim especially in lounge area.

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 1, 2019

Everything was top notch. We had a warm welcome at the airport, assistance with luggage, a boat trip to the resort, a ukele reception, Ning checked us in and gave us a comprehensive tour of the resort so we knew exactly what to plan for the next few days. She is lovely and looked after us throughout our stay, including activity bookings, boat shuttles and dinner reservations. There is so much to praise, I dont know where to start. Our overwater bungalow was a premium one and worth it for the location (great sunset views) and a larger deck from where you can dive into the turquoise lagoon. Bungalow was clean, modern, tastefully decorated and the glass floor was amazing, even though it took me a couple of days to pluck up courage to walk on it! Beach facilities are extensive. If there would be one gripe, it is that the two restaurants became a little predictable if staying more than two nights. Buffets were so-so (on the plain side and some cooking techniques were questionable) but we didnt visit for the food, even though others raved about it. The one waitress who really made our dining events pleasurable was a smiley friendly French girl called Jeanne. Nothing was a problem for her. Overall, an amazing holiday and do make sure that you travel to the main island for variety. Note: it is sooo good arriving back at your overwater bungalow after a big day out driving or fishing.

Room tip: Water bungalows further from the land
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guestservice1905, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Ia ora na Mara,

We appreciate you taking the time to review Le Meridien Bora Bora following your recent stay.
We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us ,the service and facilities provided by our resort. Our team works hard to make our guests feel at home all through their stay and we are glad we succeeded.
We appreciate you mentioned some of our associates who went the extra mile for you and rest assured that Jeanne and Ning will be proud to read such praise.
We look forward to welcoming you again the near future.

Sunny regards,

Cécile , Pa to Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019 via mobile

The biggest overwater glass view bungalow in all of French Polynesia! It is exactly what you would hope for; beautiful views everywhere! The seperate tub and shower was nice and the outdoor shower on the steps of the balcony was cool too! The staff was also very nice! The resort has concierge services to book excursions! We did the jetski tour and bloody marys for lunch and loved it! We also loved the shark and sting ray swim we booked! The resort is secluded and has only 3 options for restaurants or else you would have to pay 30 for a round trip to go elsewhere, but they are good options if you choose to stay the whole time! We book our trip with John and Venture Tahiti has very helpful and informative! Highly recommend!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Tripamystery
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guestservice1905, Pa to Gm at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Ia ora na !

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on your recent stay at L
We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us.
Our overwater bungalow does feature the largest glass floor which offers great views on our lagoon.
We apperciate your warm recommandation and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Sunny regards,

Cecile L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019

I wanted to book a stay at the Le Meridien Bora Bora using my Marriott Rewards points. I called a Marriott Rewards agent and went over the details. In fact, between my wife and myself we spoke with agents four times before the booking was confirmed. It seemed awesome - staying in an over-the-water bungalow on points only! For booking four nights, they gave us the fifth night for free! Everything was dandy until checkout. There, they announced there was a $250 a night charge. I was never told until that moment that there was a premium "Room Charge." I explained I was a Platinum member, but that didn't change things at all. Another couple with whom we traveled to Bora Bora found themselves in the same predicament. What about the free night? Same $250 charge. I have lodged a complaint with Marriott, but they seem content with this sleight of hand and dishonest method of getting their best customers to use points, but wring money out of them anyway possible. If you're going to use Marriott Points, insure they are not going to charge you on the back end.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Guestservice1905, Pa to Gm at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Ia ora na Dear Gary,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your recent experience at our resort and thank you for your loyalty towards Marriott Hotels and Resorts .
Marriott Rewards allows our guests to book rooms with Points Only or Cash & Points .If it is a Cash & Points based reservation, the amount paid in cash is still applicable of the free night , but no points are debited from your Bonvoy account.
It is specified on reservation confirmation.
We are sorry to hear you were not aware of this policy and hence , it created a confusion at your check out.
We understand this is not the best way to end your stay with us, and we are sincerely sorry .
Feel free to contact us directly so we can look further into your reservation details .

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Cecile L , Pa to Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews