We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I'd say 4.5 stars. My husband & I stayed at Le Meridien for 6 days this May. We had last stayed at LM about 10 years ago. Though the hotel now has a lot more competition and could use a little updating, it is a beautiful and relaxing resort. I really don't think you can beat their beach; it is large enough that you never feel the least bit crowded by other guests. The guys that work at the beach hut were really friendly and helpful. The beach sits on both the main lagoon and the hotel's inner lagoon, which has some decent snorkeling on the chapel side. Le Meridien has a stunning view of Mt. Otemanu and the lagoon's beautiful clear blue turquoise water. The rooms are furnished with a modern/contemporary design. The wifi worked pretty well, and the charge was about the same rate you'd pay anywhere else.

It is impossible to be in a bad mood in Bora Bora. Well, at least for us that was the case. I really must recommend that if you are going to make the effort and spend the money to travel to Bora Bora, do some research - read the TA reviews and forum posts. Some people did not realize that Le Meridien and most of the resorts in Bora Bora are on motus and not on the main island. Being on a motu requires a ferry to get anywhere or to do any excursions, though the excursions will pick you up at the LM dock. If you make no other plans, of course you will be "stuck at the resort." For the most part, I wanted to do nothing else. I do highly recommend Reef Discovery for a snorkel excursion, though. Terry was our guide, and we saw some amazing sea life. We also booked a half day shark feeding excursion through the hotel, which was also fun but had a lot more people. Also check out the turtle sanctuary and morning turtle feeding.

We found that everyone at LM was really nice and could not have been more helpful, especially Dora at the activities desk. The activities staff really are the concierge staff of the hotel, and they went out of their way to arrange dinner and excursion reservations for us throughout our stay.

We went to visit the nearby St. Regis and Intercontinental Thalasso for dinner. I highly recommend both the Lagoon Restaurant at St. Regis and Le Corail at the Intercontinental. Both are fine dining and are very very good. The St. Regis and Intercontinental are newer and larger resorts. They both looked very nice, they are more modern and maybe not as relaxed as LM.

Dinner is really the only weak point of LM. It has actually improved since our first visit, but dinner just does not measure up to the nearby competition at St. Regis and Intercontinental. It is sort of inconvenient to take the ferry to Vaitape for dinner given the ferry schedule and the shopping hours in Vaitape, but there are some good options there. The ferry does add an additional $70 or so to the cost of your meal, so that is something to keep in mind. The ferry to St. Regis is complimentary since it is also a Starwood hotel, and the ferry to the Intercontinental Thalasso was about $30 per couple RT (though it was only about a 5 minute ride). Breakfast and lunch at LM were pretty good. Breakfast is buffet with omelets cooked to order. The little pool bar has panini's and fries at lunch that were not bad. The restaurant with the pink chairs by the pool had a very good grilled mahi mahi sandwich.

Overall, I really enjoyed LM BB and would certainly recommend the resort to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guests,

Maururu roa for reviewing so nicely our resort following your second stay at our resort and for giving tips and precious information to future travellers.
We appreciate greatly your feedback and would like to thank you for focusing on the positive as well as on the points we need to keep working on such as dinner options.

We hope we will welcome you once again in a near future.

Sunny regards,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 2,668 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Just a beautiful location.

Over-the-water huts were very nice and clean. Restaurant had great (expensive) buffet breakfast.

Dinner was also good but EXPENSIVE too. Friendly staff. Quiet and comfortable.
Great access to water and perfect for snorkeling. Shore boats ran often enough.

I prefer Le Meridien to Pearl Beach Resort, which is also nice.

Planning to return to Bora Bora Le Meridien soon.

Room Tip: For snorkeling, I suggest rooms not over deep water. We changed our room from deep water to a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Ia ora na !

We are so happy to read your review and are delighted you are already planning to come back .
Feel free to send us a message at contact@lemeridien-borabora .com to let us know .

Looking forward to welcome you again soon,

Sunniest regards,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Le Meridien prior to moving on to St Regis. We loved both resorts for different reasons. Le Meridien has the better view of the mountain and we loved that the beach and pool looked out to the mountain.

The service in general was very good and the staff were delightful and friendly. There was a misunderstanding with our room booking but the staff were eager to resolve it for us which they did.

I've noticed many reviewers don't rate the food highly at Le Meridien. We were very happy with the variety and quality of the food. Yes it's expensive but we thought the prices were reasonable for the location. I recommend going with a meal plan which we did.

We were happy with our room and loved the huge glass panel floors. It's not in the same league as St Regis but Le Meridien is still an excellent resort at a moderate price point.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girltalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Ia ora na dear Guests,

Thank you for your great review ,and thank you for recommanding our resort . Yourcomparison with next door 's resort is fair and we are glad to read you have enjoyed both experiences.


Sunny regards,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at Le Meridian in April, 2014. We stayed in the OTW huts and they were truly beautiful. The entire setting at Le Meridian can't be beat. Truly picturesque anywhere you looked, and we loved the turtle sanctuary. Our package included breakfast every day, and it was really good with many choices. We usually ate lunches in the rocking chairs on the beach, and only ate dinner at the restaurant two nights. Too expensive for the quality of food and service. We used Tahiti Custom Travel for our travel arrangements, and could not have been happier with their service and responsiveness. We're already planning our next trip to Paradise with them!!

Room Tip: Huts 327 & 329 are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear guest , Ia ora na,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Le Méridien Bora Bora.We are thrilled to read you have enjoyed our resort, and support our work at the Ecological Center.
We can not wait to welcome you again.

Sunniest regards,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in an over water bungalow at the end of April and loved every minute. The views are spectacular, if you want to travel on a budget then we recommend you stay somewhere else. We loved the location, service and the food.
Having been told that everything was rather expensive we purchased a meal plan and were thrilled with the quality and choice. Whilst expensive we did not consider the prices to exorbitant given the location and the cost of having to import everything from overseas.
We found the all the staff very courtesy, well informed, willing to help and friendly. When staying on the motu you have to be prepared to pay for boat travel and that is all part of the experience. This was our first trip to Bora Bora and we would love to return.

Room Tip: The bungalows at the end of the boardwalks have deeper water for swimming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TylerNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear guest , Ia ora na,

Thank you for your kind and fair review of our resort. We appreciate your feedback as it can be precious for future travellers and are glad you have enjoyed our restaurants and friendly staff.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sunniest regards,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The food here is awful and overpriced. The rooms and view are very nice but that is the only positive. Expensive shuttles and forced to use hotels boats and taxis, making you feel trapped at the resort as the shuttle runs infrequently. Service is poor and waitstaff needs training. Very understaffed at dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Berger19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guests,

We are grateful for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay.
We are glad that you have enjoyed our rooms and however we were sorry to read that service and food options were not at the level of your expectations.

We took well note on the points you were disappointed and you have my assurance it gives us a major guideline to keep working on improving the satisfaction of our guests.
Food quality and pool service are among the top priorities of our Food and Beverage Manager , and he is working on it with our entire team.
Boat transfers to the main island have indeed a cost as we are located on a motu , thirty minutes away from the main village. The boat rates are cheaper than the local taxis and bring the guests directly in the town.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in a future.

Sunniest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Staying at an over the water bungalow at the Le Meridien was amazing. The water is incredible and the bungalows themselves are very well designed and the location surreal, like something out of a movie. Being able to sit on your own balcony and see Mount Otemanu and dip your feet in the clear waters is an experience of a lifetime.
In saying this, location aside the hotel itself could use some work.
I am used to the idea of "island time" and have experienced it many times before, but a more relaxed atmosphere should not mean uncaring and slow service. Honestly it looked like the staff here were very unhappy to be at work (except for the poor activities desk people who are run ragged and the guys at the beach/watersports desk who seemed very happy).
I also felt that this hotel was trying to nickel and dime you once you had paid the substantial fee to stay there.
While I said that the bungalow itself is well designed there are some attention to detail issues that were unexpected, like the mattresses in a king bed being two (cheap feeling) single mattresses pushed together, with a very obvious seam/gap between them, the fact that while the bungalow is cleaned every day I don't think anyone has ever dusted between the wooden slats that separate the bathroom from the bedroom, or the apparent lack of a face cloth the entire time we were there.
Likewise the main hotel complex has restaurants and bars and poor service at all of them. Unhappy wait staff and miserable food was the main theme. In the end we took the boat every evening to the mainland for dinner and it made the stay much more enjoyable, and speaking to others on the nightly boat we found this was a common theme among the other guests who had tried the food at the hotel and had the same experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K1w1Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guests,

We appreciate your constructive feedback on the points you have enjoyed as well on the ones that did not meet your expectations.
It gives us a guideline to keep working on our level of service and quality such as food , service and cleaning details. Your comments will be shared with our entire team and we hope in another occasion , we will have the opportunity to show you some improvements and changes in the areas you mentionned.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Sunniest regards,

Sunny regards,

Cécile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.5 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.9 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bora Bora

Address: Motu Tape | Bp 190, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $453 - $1,307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Bora Bora is a luxury resort set on an islet surrounded by the most beautiful lagoon in the world. Our resort offers guests a contemporary design blended with Polynesian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Le Meridien Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Le Meridien
Le Meridian Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing