We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good customer care, beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good customer care, beautiful resort”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I must say our stay began in a weird/upsetting way when they told us that we'd have a beach suite (bigger room than overwater but on the beach) instead of the booked premium overwater bungalow for our first night. They were not able to provide the room that was booked and we had it only from the next day onward. Needless to say that at about 1000 USD $ a night, this was unacceptable. However, when we talked with the management, they were able to offer us various cool things to apologize about this.

All in all, the location is amazing and the local/island feel of the service is great, so we would come back.

Here are 1 minus and a few pluses to consider:

- the premium bungalow (338) has damage to it, which would be ok in a 2-3 star hotel. The wall paper is torn apart behind the entrance, the bathroom door is destroyed to the core wood at the bottom and the wooden window (not the door, but the foldable windows) to the terrace is only opening if you lift it with all your strength otherwise it is stuck. We didn't mention those issues as we wanted to enjoy the rest of our stay!

+ the turtle center is great!
+ the staff at the beach hut is super nice.
+ the whole staff is adorable, so nice and warm.
+ we enjoyed meeting the management, especially Cécile and Babette and loved the stories about the hotel.
+ Poema and other staff members (especially breakfast, beach bar and souvenir boutique) were absolutely adorable with us.

We will be back :-)

Ps: we booked with Pacific for less and we loved all the free stuff they included in the package, would recommend them to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissheroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Assistante de direction at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Ia ora na dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing you experience in this review .
All our team is delighted to hear your great comments on our service , friendly staff and location and we are so happy we succeed in meeting your expectations despite an inconvenience in your room allocation at your arrival.
It will be my pleasure to share this with our team and in particular the ones you mentionned.
I took well note as well as of your feedback on the room condition, and will inform our Chief Maintenance promptly so we can take appropriate actions.
Thank you again;we strive to provide excellence and your feedback will help us better the experience .

We are already impatient to welcome you back again one day soon and you can trust that all our friendly staff will just do their utmost to make your next experience at our resort another memorable and enjoyable one.

Sunniest regards,

Cécile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,627
    546
    201
    89
    42
See reviews for
203
1,935
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the second part of our honeymoon for 6 nights after an overnight stay in Tahiti. I have been dreaming about going to Bora Bora ever since I saw a picture of it years ago, and it has met and went above all of my expectations. My husband and I love to travel, so we've been to quite a few places in Asia, Europe, and North America; and out of all of these places, Bora Bora is our favorite. It is absolutely the most beautiful place we have ever been.

After we arrived at the Bora Bora airport, the Le Meridien representative greeted us with leis and tagged our luggage for the boat transfer to the hotel. When we reached the hotel, another hotel staff greeted us, gave us welcome drinks, and a private tour of the resort. The resort is beautiful with an unobstructed view of Mount Otemanu over fluorescent blue waters (the water is so clear and blue, it simply just glows). There are a few private beach areas at the resort with activities such as snorkeling, paddle boarding, kayaking, beach volleyball, and etc. There is also a sea turtle sanctuary at the resort where the guests are able to swim with the sea turtles (one of the highlights of the resort for us). There are three restaurants here, all three of which were a hit or miss for us. After the tour, we were guided to our overwater bungalow. We were thrilled that we were assigned a bungalow that was at the end of a row and had a view of Mount Otemanu. It was also one of the bungalows in the middle section of the lagoon, where the water was not too deep or shallow (probably around 3-4 feet). There was a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room, along with two welcome gifts (a hat for my husband, and a sarong for me). The bungalows have been recently renovated and furnished with modern furniture and a glass bottom floor that extended from the TV to the bed. We saw a good number of fish through the glass bottom floor, and even a stingray one night! The hotel provides activities outside of the resort property. We went on a few of these excursions including a full day snorkling with stingrays and sharks, and jetskiing. You can also go to the main island for about $25 USD roundtrip per person. I don't really recommend going to the main island because it seems to be underdeveloped and there is nothing interesting to see there. I do recommend, however, to make a reservation at the Lagoon by Jean Georges at the St. Regis Hotel (which is next door to Le Meridien). The food and service is amazing (on par with the Jean Georges in NYC, except the view is spectacular in Bora Bora), and it's a free boat transfer from Le Meridien since they are both Starwood properties. To summarize, we had a fantastic trip and we can't wait to go back someday again!

Room Tip: Request an overwater bungalow at the end of a row for an unobstructed view of the beautiful scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Assistante de direction at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guests, Ia ora na!

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon at Le Méridien Bora Bora and for sharing your experience with us!

We are delighted to hear that your trip was “fantastic” and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again , maybe on the occasion of your Anniversary.

Best regards,

Cécile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in an overwater bungalow. Water is a spectacular colour. It was private despite looking not so private on maps. Unfortunately we were one of the first bungalows, but still over water- the one prior was not over water, so I hope you don't get this one if you stay here.

Food was good, not spectacular.

Swimming with turtles was great.

Unfortunately someone stole our camera with honeymoon photos. So even though you may be relaxed during your stay, please look after your possessions.

Expensive to stay here, but bora bora is a beautiful island.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review our location .We are sorry to hear about the loss of your camera and if it happens to be found we will let you know promptly.
We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay in Bora Bora and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sunny regards,

Cécile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The location of the Meridien is the best on my opinion. This is the most beautiful side of Mount Otemanu. The lagoon within the le meridien is also unique. waking up, getting out of the bed and jumping direkt into the water at your Overwater-Bungalow is just fun:-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rolandbraendli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Executive secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guests, Ia ora na!

Thank you so much for the lovely review!
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here! We're so happy to hear that you loved your stay and particularly enjoyed the beautiful location, your overwater bungalow, and our lagoon .
Thank you again for sharing- and we hope to welcome you back to our paradise in the future.

Sunny regards,

Cécile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for the final 4 / 8 nights of our Honeymoon. Our first stop was at the Hilton Moorea, so our expectations were already extremely high for Bora Bora. Let me just say that the scenery of Bora Bora is hands down worth the $$$. The food was average, but we didn't fly 15+ hours for the cuisine. The staff were very friendly, but not always the easiest to get in touch with. The rooms were serviced daily, but our towels and washcloths were not replenished with each visit, so we had to call a few times to get fresh ones. Also, the bed was not a true King Bed, it felt like 2 beds pushed together. The Turtle Sanctuary offered only at Le Meridien was a sight to see. We were able to catch one of the feedings and get a little history behind the Turtle Rescue effort. I will recommend one of our excursions, Reef Discovery. This was a 4+ hour tour of the lagoon with frequent stops to take a dive and snorkel around reefs and the accompanying marine life (rays, eels, etc). All in all this is a GREAT honeymoon destination. If we could have had the Hilton Moorea experience on Bora Bora, then this review would have been 5 stars. Special thanks to Jackie at Custom Tahiti for planning everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeShadix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Assistante de direction at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Ia ora na,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and we are delighted to read that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would be pleased to welcome you back in the future.

Sunny regards,

Cécile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights of our honeymoon here and it was just perfect. Sophie and Audrey from the front desk / management both went to extreme care to make sure everything was perfect for us, from our arrival to departure. Special thanks for the honeymoon package (champaign, flowers) and inviting us to the special cocktail event near the ecological preserve.

The continental breakfast is the best we had on the trip and the split between the Italian and main restaurant is more than sufficient. The poolside bar (fiance loved the "Royal Tahiti" drink) is perfectly located and it is fantastic that paddle boarding and kayaking are all complementary on the beachfront. Nicolas from the beach hut may be the nicest guy on the planet.

Room Tip: We were in room 326, on the outer edge - it is pefect. All of the rooms are turned twice daily and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imperial07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Assistante de direction at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Ia ora na,

A huge thank you for your warm review and for choosing us as your honeymoon destination. We are all happy to read your nice comment and would be pleased to welcome you back soon.

Sunny regards,

Cécile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

fist let me state there were really almost no " bad". The only drawback was the water taxi to Viatepi. It is a $50 ride for two each time. This got to be expensive as many people go into town. for dinners.
They're WAS one ugly, and that is the dinner buffet at Le Timpanie. Steam tables abounded, and as a result all meats were dry, congealed and almost inedible. My husband was able to speak to the chef, who admitted when questioned he had never eaten the buffet himself. In his defense,her has only been present for two months. I assume he was hired to fix this buffet, as complaints about it are not new, so stay tuned. The breakfast buffet was stellar.
Other food venues were spectacular ! Le Trattoria was excellent as was Te Ava and the pool bar for lunch. Italian offerings included freshly made pastas ( light and melt in your mouth) . The rack of lamb was most likely New Zealand, and amazing. Presentation of all dished was superb. We also had a " special dinner" in the wedding chapel for our 35 th anniversary. This consisted of a goat cheese appetizer, pea soup to die for, and beef tenderloin, scallops , and foie gras. While I don't usually eat foie gras , it was cooked with an extremely deft hand. This chef shows promise and talent despite the buffet.....
Now to the good besides food. The staff here is incredible. Many thanks to Cecile jolie for all her assistance in surprising my husband, and to Sylvia and her brother Mike for my special night. Sylvia took the headdress off her own head and gave it to me for the night.
Benjamin at the activities desk was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help, as was the reception staff.
The room was spectacular! Each night we saw fish AND rays swim below us through our floor. It was a once in a lifetime experience. Swimming and snorkling were excellent, both under. the bungalows and in the lagoon.
would I return here again? Absolutely ! those who are lucky enough to visit here will have no regrets.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 217. although on the shallow side, many others we talked to did not see the fish we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvrns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia O, Assistante de direction at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guests,


I t is a real pleasure to discover your review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Le Méridien Bora Bora.
We are delighted you have enjoyed y our hotel and facilities, our friendly of our staff and that you will have a memorable souvenir of your Anniversary..

We were sorry to learn your disappointment as regard as Buffet dinner option and we are grateful you took note of the Chef ‘ efforts in improving quality and variety. Few changes have already been made and we keep working on improving our guests satisfaction.

We would welcome the opportunity to welcome you again and demonstrate you how we have improved our buffets.

Sunniest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.5 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
4.9 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bora Bora

Property: Le Meridien Bora Bora
Address: Motu Tape | BP 190, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Bora Bora is a luxury resort set on an islet surrounded by the most beautiful lagoon in the world. Our resort offers guests a contemporary design blended with Polynesian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Le Meridien
Le Meridian Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing