We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in an overwater bungalow! The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the views and snorkeling are unbeatable. There are many activities available at the hotel including programs put on by the ecological center focusing on the turtle conservation program going on at the resort. There are several dining options at the resort during the day. The dinner restaurant is good, but can become monotonous, so the staff will happily arrange travel to other restaurants on the island. One of the best hotel/vacation experiences we've had!

Room Tip: Splurge for the overwater bungalow, we had fish and rays swimming under our house every day we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msoenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile_lemarrec, Assistante de Direction at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guests,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Le Méridien Bora Bora. We are very pleased to be acknowledged for our efforts in providing a great experience within resort, and we highly appreciate that you are willing to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
It is indeed of our highest priority to ensure our guests spend a pleasurable time in our hotel, and we are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the Overwater Bungalows.
We train and support our staff to provide our guests with the outmost high level service, and we take pride in delivering an outstanding F&B experience in all our outlets. Therefore we highly appreciate your comment concerning this aspect, which we only see as an incentive to further improve our variation.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at Le Méridien Bora Bora and enjoy yet another peaceful stay with us.

Cecilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    549
    204
    89
    43
See reviews for
206
1,959
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I haven't been to all the islands in the world, but by all accounts Bora Bora is one of the most beautiful, if not the most beautiful island. Staying at Le Meridien Bora Bora in a Premium Overwater Bungalow, you'll enjoy uninterrupted views of the main island and the ancient volcano Mount Otemanu, surrounded by sparkling turquoise water. I can think of worse views to wake up to in the morning!

But, back to the hotel. Le Meridien Bora Bora is not one of the newer properties, but it is very well managed and still looks great. It is definitely cheaper than the most prestigious hotels like St. Regis, Intercontinental and Four Seasons, so there are probably some deficiencies in their service which I'll cover in a bit. Ultimately, all the hotels share pretty much the same view of the mountain, so it'll come down to whether you're rich enough to be able to afford extras such as personal butlers and the like in an already expensive place.

Check in went smoothly for us, and before we were escorted to our room we were given a tour of the hotel facilities by a very friendly and amusing staffer whose name I believe was Lawrence. The lobby area has a pearl shop, activities desk for you to book activities (though its recommended you book this stuff on your own or via an agent), as well as a games room with pool and board games. My wife and I did have some fun games of pool there but the place really needs a fan or air-conditioning.

The first time we were taken to our room, it was in a buggy, but that service isn't available after that. So if you're in a Premium Overwater Bungalow, it means you're far out into the water and have to take very long walks under the scorching sun to get to and from the lobby area. This is probably something they could improve on for people who book the premium rooms.

The room itself is of course, spectacular. See through floor, large bathroom and of course, a giant balcony where you can just jump off for a swim which you'll naturally want to do immediately. The bed is large and comes with a netting curtain around it if you're afraid of bugs, but it wasn't comfortable to me though my wife had no complaints. I suspect it might have been the material or something, for some reason I kept waking up in a sweat even though the air-conditioning was on. You can get WiFi in your room but it is very slow, and probably not worth the money if you're planning to pay for it. One issue I had with the room though was that I barely saw any fish swimming under the bungalow, which was one of the things I was really looking forward to. Speaking to other vacationers I found that there were more fish where the neighbouring Intercontinental was situated. They were even able to spot stingrays. No such luck at Le Meridien.

When you explore the hotel you'll be treated to more great views and beaches. The inner lagoon is crystal clear and allows you to swim with the fishes. You can relax and have drinks and ice cream at the Miki Miki bar, though it should be mentioned that the service there can be fairly slow. Kayaks and other boats can be rented at no charge on the beach. You'll also come across a turtle sanctuary, which is a large pool that houses scores of sea creatures. There's a turtle-feeding session every day where a guide will teach you about turtles and the other animals and even let you hold sea urchins, starfish, sea cucumbers, etc. Definitely worth doing while you're there. It also houses a spa, but in my opinion it is beyond over-priced and closes too early in the day.

Our package included daily breakfast and dinner buffets, all at the same restaurant called Te Ava which is on the beach. Breakfast provided all the staples but they had problems with flies swarming over some of the food which they didn't seem to care about. Dinner was interesting with a different type of cuisine served every day. Being from Asia I wasn't impressed with Asian night's fare but French and Mediterranean were pretty good.

Overall, I'd say Le Meridien is a great choice for a Bora Bora vacation. They do however need to improve on some aspects of their service to rank amongst the elite. The front desk staff are generally quite friendly and helpful but the activities desk staff were slow and a couple of them were surly and not able to address questions. These along with the other issues I've noted above are minor problems, and I'd still not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Four stars for Le Meridien Bora Bora.

Room Tip: If you absolutely must have the best view, go for a Premium Overwater Bungalow. If you're travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

20th anniversary trip in November 2012. Loved every minute of it. Overwater Bungalow was fantastic. Our bungalow was only in 4 ft. of water but we had a large lump of coral underneath and many fish and rays at all times of the day and night. Great mini bar, not badly priced either. Very friendly staff, particularly the Polynesian staff, they are the best. Especially in the Miki Miki bar, great service and great food.

The interior lagoon is the best place to learn how to snorkel. Lots of curious fish coming up to see you. Make sure you get breakfast included in your stay as it definitely saves you some money. Lots of selection and they will make you whatever kind of eggs you would like. Pots of warm chocolate? Ok. I was on vacation after all. The turtle sanctuary at the resort was very interesting. The marine biologist took the time to speak with everyone who came by. Great to have a free boat ride to the island as well. Our Tahiti specialist, Carrie Walker, had everything so well planned. I highly recommend her.

French Polynesia is fantastic and I am going back. This was the most relaxing trip I have ever been on.

Room Tip: We were in the first overwater bungalow, good for people like me who are novice snorkelers, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
261 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

As Platinum member we were upgraded to the overwater bungalow. With a small child of two years this is of course plain stupid. so we downgraded again to a beach bungalow (they are at the inner lagoon). Rooms are ok, but not very large. resort is old. beds are not really meridien standard, quite hard. the new Intercontinental has much bigger bungalows. at 400 euro for the cheapest bungalow - without breakfast - in low season, prices are way too high for this destination. we have seen many places in the world, but will not consider coming back to bora bora .it is pretty with this mountain across the lagoon, but 1.000+ euro for overwater bungalows... just a ripoff for honeymooners. staff attitude (you seem to be intruding) is not very good. no obvious hospitality training nor understanding of this concept. go to the philippines, much better beaches there.
breakfast is nothing special. they have this Illy espresso machine with various colour coded coffee capsules. but they dont say what colour is what coffee..
dinner buffets (apparently a lot of visitors come with a packageI) are quite terrible.
we wanted to have nice french food, forget it!!! their french style restaurants were closed for renovation. we ate only room service food for dinner. you could take the boat to the st regis, but book early.
swimming in the inner lagoon is ok, but dont expect any real snorkeling experience, just a few fish

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RolandShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The customer service is the best we have ever encountered. The staff in the Miki Miki bar are amazing and very attentative. It is the perfect holiday for rest and relaxation. The staff work to the heat and humidity level, as you are there for relaxation it is perfect. Breakfast was great, the chef was there to make you any type of eggs you required and there was a lot of variety. The price for the food is on par with where we live. Chives in Roxby Downs (our home town) is more expensive and no where near as good. Xmas lunch was fantastic a great variety of food and home made ice cream to die for, incredible. We went off season and only had 2 days rain in 10 which meant you spent your day at the bar (what a shame) LOL. The over water bungalow was incredible and what I liked was that the room was made up twice a day and the 2nd time the house keepers laid blankets over the glass floor so you weren't woken up too early in the morning. The polynesian dancers are great, there was even a disco which was good fun. The pearl shop at the resort isn't too expensive and they put on a fashion show twice a week. You can either relax or do a lot of water sports which are provided free of charge. We went on a 1/2 hour helicopter ride which was amazing, a must do if you go. Also, the aloe cafe is great, cheap food, great customer service and very friendly. We travel overseas every xmas as this is when our wedding anniversary is and this is the best holiday we have ever had in our 32 years of marriage. the worst was Rumours in Cook Islands, avoid that one. On closing, you get what you pay for, if you want a cheap holiday go to Bali, if you want perfection go to Le Meridien Bora Bora.

Room Tip: Over water water bungalow is a must have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank speedymary6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cecile_lemarrec, Assitante de Direction at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Le Méridien Bora Bora for your stay in French Polynesia.
Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and we take pride in offering an impeccable service to all of our guests. Therefore, it is always pleasing to receive such praise, especially concerning the activities that we aim to offer with highest emphasis on creating unique experiences.
The entire team hopes that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Méridien Bora Bora in the near future, maybe for your next wedding anniversary?

Cecilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALIBU
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Rest and relaxation is what is available at the hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful but don't expect the locals to change their pace to accomodate you regardless of what you are spending to stay at the resort. Slow and steady are how the people and the days go. The views from everywhere are spectacular and we were able to hike for miles along the ocean side without seeing another person for hours, just wear good sturdy shoes. The resort has several options for food but the best option is a water taxi to another hotel. The food is expensive, the menu bizzare and it hard to believe that they have a difficult time providing fresh fish when on an island surrounded by water. Stay away from the buffet, dinner for four can cost as much as the room and will be far less satisfying. Amazing vacation and one of the few that I actualy lost weight on.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the hike, get a room as far out on the lagoon as possible. You will appreciate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCOTT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was seriously like a 10 day dream. Le Meridien and the St. Regis have the best views of the island hands down. The "cheaper" accommodations either look to the ocean or to other hotels. We stayed in an OWB (not the premium ones) and our view was still wonderful & the room was suburb. I read a lot trip advisor before going and the advice was spot on. Here are some I'm really we paid attention to.
- ladies, you will need nothing more than a flat pair of flip flops and a pair of running shoes in case you want to do any boating trips or work out in the gym. Bringing more shoes is a waste of space in your suitcase and you won't wear them.
- Tours: we did the private snorkeling tour with BBQ, private half day deep sea fishing and two hour jet ski tour. All were amazing but if you can only afford one do the private snorkeling BBQ trip. It's unbelievable! We set all of out tours (except the jet ski) in advance before going. Very easy and saved money. We went through Patricks group for BBQ trip.
- Buy liquor at the airport for your room. That alone saved us a lot of money. We also took a day trip to the main island and stocked up on water and snacks.
- bring rafts! It was so fun to be able to jump off our OWB into the ocean and relax on the raft. Target has really small ones we put into our checked luggage. We then left them there. My husband really liked that I brought goggles as well.
- Make a reservation at the French restaurant on the island before you go! It was the best meal of our vacation but its hard to get last minute reservations.
- hotel food was great but expensive. Most people end up getting a sandwich by the pool and skipped breakfast or ate a granola bar packed from home. The breakfast buffet is $40 per person.
- Pack sunscreen and bug spray. Bugs were not a problem when we were there but we had it just in case.
- Spa: I got one massage and it was delightful. It takes place in an OWB so you hear the ocean. Not sure if there's an actual spa.

Side note: we saw a wedding take place on the beach. The couple was eloping. It was so cool!! Great idea if that's what you're looking to do.

it was a lot of money but worth it. Best trip ever!!

Room Tip: All the OWB are amazing. If you can afford it go with the premium OWB.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H4unc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.5 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.9 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#8 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bora Bora

Property: Le Meridien Bora Bora
Address: Motu Tape | BP 190, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Bora Bora is a luxury resort set on an islet surrounded by the most beautiful lagoon in the world. Our resort offers guests a contemporary design blended with Polynesian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Le Meridien
Le Meridian Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing