We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Out bungalow was half on land and half on the water. It was charming, clean and the over water portion was the entire outside deck. The food was very good, and the management had special evenings that were very entertaining. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

We are very happy that you appreciated your stay at the Sofitel Marara Beach Resort and we thank you for your experience feedback
Our bungalow, mix between over water and beach bungalow, are indeed very appreciated because they offer at the same time the advantage to be able to admire sea bed and to reach directly the lagoon since the piloti, but also to take advantage of our greenery. We are delighted that you appreciated the dishes of our chef who offers you a card at the local flavors and according to the seasons. Hoping to welcome you again in our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Softifel Marara is a fantastic, decent sized property on the southeastern corner of the island. When we visited in Feb of 2013, the property was clean and well cared for. The pool here is fantastic, and THE hangout for the area. Breakfast here is great and offers a wide spread, make sure to pay for the package with your room... sit on the rail outside and you can feed the fish left over croissant. Lunch and dinner here were somewhat disappointing... though the dinner option with the show was fun. We saw some gorgeous sealife right from the restaraunt deck including MANY fish, a spotted ray, and an octopus.

IF you stay here, get out and walk down the road for food (aside from breakfast)... the best pizza on the island and a small grocery store are a short walk away (matira beach is a little further but still walkable). Definetly recommend heading to the store to pickup snacks, water, and beer for your room and hanging on your deck. The store has a good selection of beer, wine, booze, fresh bread, and cheese/snacks.

Also consider renting a scooter... farily cheap and good to head into town and checkout other places on island (you can get one at AVIS in Viatape)... unless you are super confident (or a seasoned motorcycle rider), keep your scooter hours to day time.

Also... CHECKOUT Sofitel Private Island. Lunch over there was fantastic and decently priced. The snorkling and reef gardens on and around private island are FANTASTIC. Take a left from the main house and head along the shore cliff... then swim out from the corner of the island and around the bend. From discussions with other guests, the dinner trip is not worth the money.

Room Tip: The lagoon rooms (half on land and half over water) here are a fantastic deal and the snorkling from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VATravel5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Marara Beach, your comments are always important and valuable for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This trip was a birthday present for my 15 year old daughter, and I stayed registered under my full name which is Maria L M Mclean. This hotel is simply beautiful!!!! This is where they filmed the movie "Hurricane"... I feel lucky to have stayed at this hotel and even luckyer to stay in a overwater bungalow. That was a very different and beautiful experience. The bungalow is large, the bathroom is excellent and the room has a part of the floor made out of glass, so you can see the fish swimming under your feet! I´d like to point out the friendliness of the staff. Extremely nice and smiling people, doing everything to see you happy 24 hours a day. The restaurrant is nice, the typical dinner show I truly recommend and the breakfast is delicious. The jewelry store has great pearl offers, better than the local shops, and the ladies who work there are very nice. The only one bad comment that I have about this hotel is in reference of the prices. Everything is Bora Bora is expensive, however, I found the restaurant in the hotel quite expensive! Other than that this is a real paradise!!!!

Room Tip: I recommend a overwater bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria Luiza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach, your comment are very useful for us and we carefully follow-up on any opportunity to increase our quality which is our comitment for all our guest.
It was great to host you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is in a beautiful place. Hotel is good, we had a room over the water which was very lovely. The beach is nice, kayaks and snorkels for free to rent. The romantic dinner on the private island was interesting. The biggest drawback for us was the food. Not a great standard and we had human hair in our meals (plural). Plus the service even by island standard was very slow. Breakfast was good, lots of choice, but dinner was disappointing. Could easily be a 5 star but the restaurant lets them down.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your comment which are so important for us. thank you for your great recommendation for our breakfast, our rooms and all our resort facilities, everithing is back to the level of what you must expect fom a brand like Sofitel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I recently visited the Sofitel in Bora Bora and it was my third visit to the hotel in as many years. What strikes me most about this property is the attentive and friendly staff, who always go out of their way to greet you ("Io Orana") with a smile. From the front desk staff to the attendants in the dining room and the activities directors, everyone is warm and welcoming and genuinely seems to enjoy their jobs. On my recent visit a few of the hotel's employees actually remembered me from previous visits and greeted me with hugs and recollections of a previous stay. This personal touch is really unique and not taken for granted.

The breakfast buffet here is a highlight; the fresh-baked croissants and array of local fruits is delicious, and you can have an omelet or pancakes/crepes made to order.

There are garden bungalows as well as the famous 'over the water' bungalows; no matter what your budget neither of the rooms or their locations disappoint.

One particularly nice amenity is the option to shower and change in an unoccupied room if you need to check out of your hotel room in the morning but don't have a flight until that night. The hotel will provide a fresh room to shower and prepare for your journey after a day at the beach (I assume as long as a room is available), allowing you a hassle-free day at the beach knowing you will have a place to rinse off and dress for your flight later. This is a very nice perk and a definite reason to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room in the #60's will be 'over the water' and removed from the main hotel grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akostich_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your great comment regarding our "Ambassadors" always willing to provide a "cousu main" service to all our guest.
Our Chef Regis Bruillon thank you for ypur comment regarding your culinary experience and i really apreciate your fidelity to our brand and to Sofitel Bora Bora Marara beach in particular
I wih you a happy new year and hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Bungalows are located in a beautiful garden. Sea is just great and tourists are offered many activities - dance show, pearl presentation, ecotours including swimming in coral garden and with sharks. The hotel has a nice ritual to both welcome you and say good bye - be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UGM_BRNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

thank you for your comment regarding your experience at Sofitel Bora Bora!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

First, let me start by saying that I am super picky and snobby about hotels, cleanliness and service. Did you notice the rating I gave?!!

We stayed at the Sofitel from Nov. 21 - 24, 2013 in an overwater bungalow at the main hotel, and it was amazing! Our bungalow was probably the least desirable of all the overwaters, staring at the restaurant and pool, rather than having a great ocean view, but oh wow! Everything about the room was awesome, and the view was fine.
(We didn't see anything run down about the place, as mentioned by others on TripAdvisor. The wood could use re-staining, but it looks lovely in its naturally weathered state - not rotted or shabby)
Truly my only disappointment at all about the resort was the sad absence of healthy coral due to the storm that wiped it out in 2009. It meant only a few fish were hanging out under our room, but there were plenty of urchins to keep us entertained! Sofitel is working to recreate what was there before, a coral garden, by providing artificial supports for coral to grow on, and we did see a couple of unique fish in that area.

As for the hotel - the greeting was warm and welcoming. The entire facility is BEAUTIFUL. We arrived 2 hours before check-in, yet our room was ready. Constanze gave us a great orientation and helped us get settled into our room. There were flowers on the bed and a bottle of champagne chilling for us when we walked in (30th anniversary package, I assume!).
At about 5:00 every day we had a knock at the door and a delightful staff member handed us bottles of water and tasty macaroons! All of the staff were friendly and helpful.

We had fun at the manager's cocktail reception on Thurs. PM, that included a pearl fashion show. We ate at the bar that night because we didn't have a big enough appetite for the buffet! Good food, interesting options, decent prices and fun drinks at the bar. On her episode filmed at the hotel, Giada DeLaurentis said we had to try "the Hurricane," a drink which her grandpa had created when he created the resort, so that was my first cocktail; it was rather boring, but fine.

Breakfast buffets were nice every day, with a good selection of breads, eggs, fruit etc., and the staff bent over backward to please.

On Saturday we decided, at the very last minute, that we wanted to book a fancy private dinner for our anniversary. Though it was ridiculously short timing, Katherine (one of the concierge staff) called over to the private island and made it happen for us! Francois (management staff on the private island) arranged the most incredible evening. We were completely pampered in a very private setting, though right there on their main beach! Because it was the Tahitian Oven buffet at the main restaurant of our resort, most of the private island customers were there enjoying the traditional Polynesian dinner and show.
Francois and the chef prepared the best meal, literally, of our lives!
The experience was beyond belief.
This is getting lengthy but I have to share more details so I'll do it at the end of the review if you are interested!

Sunday was our sad day to check out, at 11:00 AM. But our flight didn't leave until 6 PM so we arranged a day on the beach at the private island to do what we heard was the best snorkeling in Bora Bora (so true!). What we were surprised to find out was that the hotel plans for those of us who have nowhere to go! They provided us with a garden bungalow room at the end of the day where we could shower and change, prior to getting on the "shuttle" boat to travel to the airport! Who does that?!! It was awesome to be able to snorkel, lunch and laze on the beach, then shower and change to go to the airport!

The fabulous attitude of customer service at Sofitel was more than I ever expected, and better than I have ever experienced anywhere. I will travel with Sofitel wherever I can, at this point!
If we get the opportunity to return we will definitely try the private island due to it's incredible location in the region. The main resort is awesome and the private island views are breath-taking. It's just a different experience!

More about the private dinner: We were transported to the private island by boat, and greeted with cool, wet towels upon arrival. Francois introduced himself and gave us a brief orientation of the public area as we climbed to the top of the hill for a champagne sunset, complete with canapes, ice cold bubbly and cool towels (needed after the slight hike!). We were left "alone" to enjoy our treats and soak in the evening views, but Francois was ever watchful to keep our glasses filled and to offer to take photos of us.
Once the sun was gone he lit a torch and walked us down the hill to the beach. The set-up was charming and drinks were offered (for a fee). We were brought a special appetizer from the chef for our anniversary (yummy crab-cake balls), then the regular appetizer that comes with the dinner (the best scallops ever!). Next Francois asked if we would like to go over to the daybed that was on the beach to recline and relax a bit - talk about pampered!
What followed was the most delicious use of flowers I have ever experienced...
as a palate cleanser we were given tiare sorbet, made from the incredible smelling flowers used all over the resort. It was DELICIOUS!
Then we were served our very tasty lobster dinner, which was grilled to perfection and fun to dis-assemble (toes in the sand and fingers covered in lobster - what a life!), along with potatoes and veggies.
Though we were filled to the brim after the 4 courses, it was time for dessert, a delicious 3 part marshmallowy, fruity experience in itself. We absolutely devoured it! And when that was gone Francois brought out another dessert, made specially by the chef for our anniversary! We took that one to go, but I have to tell you the the layers of chocolate cake, chocolate mousse and mango custard were to die for in the morning!
The evening ended with us reclining on the daybed again, listening to the water and watching as one couple at a time returned from the main resort by boat. We finally paid the bill and said goodbye to Francois, who was without a doubt the best waiter/butler/pamperer we have ever encountered! We then watched the baby reef sharks swim in the lights of the dock while we waited for our water taxi back to our hotel.
The 4 hour experience is on their specialties list at a standard rate of xpf 500,000 plus drinks and tip, but the meal itself would probably have been 300,000, then add in the champagne sunset (I think you can book that alone for xpf 165,000 through the concierge) and all of the little touches and extras. It was extravagant but really worth it for the VERY fine dining and pampering. Yes, pricey, but not exorbitant for such an "excursion!" Sofitel really knows how to make their guests feel special.

Room Tip: Travel in November was awesome and the prices are excellent. Garden rooms are ripe with mosquitoes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCaliNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

your WOW is our best compliment. Thank you for sharing!
enjoying and experiencing the two Sofitel properties for what they really provide in Bora Bora is the best way to enjoy your stay at Sofitel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,663 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
0.3 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island
4.7 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Address: BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $307 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is located on the island of Bora Bora in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay. The island of Bora Bora is encircled by a protective necklace of coral. Breathtaking lush mountains provide a dramatic backdrop for the luminous turquoise, lapis and aquamarine of the sheltered lagoon. There is something truly unique about Bora Bora, with its sugary sands, rugged mountains, vivid blues, lush greens and soothing lagoon waters that make it the most romantic destination in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach And Private Island Hotel Bora Bora
Sofitel Bora Motu Private Island
Accor Bora Motu Private Island
Bora Bora Sofitel
Sofitel Motu Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing