We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pass on this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Montclair, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pass on this hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Tahiti, a trip of a lifetime for us. We stayed 5 nites at the Intercontinentel Resort on Moorea and were spoiled as we hoped, but were let down here at the Sofitel.
Bumpy ride from airport to hotel in a small boat. Our owb was #50 which was the best location for privacy on the deck, the bed was comfortable, room spacious, but the odor from the bathroom was overwhelming and unpleasant to say the least! We closed the sliding doors to the bathroom and shower area and opened all the louvers to get a breeze and fresh air which helped.
There is only 1 English tv station, and sometimes an English movie(FU-movies, rejected by USA)
The breakfast left a lot to be desired! Same options every day and often couldn't find anyone to cook up an egg or waffle for you. We did enjoy snorkeling in the coral garden in the center of the owb area, where we saw rays and fishes.
We went into town and found a wonderfully delicious café,( Aloe Café) for lunch and ate there more than once. My husband said their Mussels and seafood in cream sauce were the best he has ever had, anywhere! The MahiMahi was also perfection! and washed down with an icy cold Hinano Ambre' and we were very satisfied.
We bought food at the local market across the street and took back to our hotel. One nite we had pizza from a place by the hotel, it was very good.
I will say that at the hotel we did receive warm friendly service from PiPi. She was the only one who seemed to make an effort to be friendly and pleasant.(especially disappointing after the Intercontinental on Moorea service and staff being soo very warm and helpful).
This hotel BADLY NEEDS some work. the decks and railings are loose and unsafe.

Room Tip: Overwater bungalow #50 gives you good amount of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank timmersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Your comment are really important for us, i read carrefully all your remarks. Our goal is to provide the best experience to all our guest in our beautiful location. Thank you for taking time to wite a review and there is always a great follow up from our side to make sure we can succeed in making everyone happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    379
    203
    128
    84
See reviews for
114
919
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our third trip to Tahiti although our first to the island of Bora Bora where we spent six nights.
We first realized this maybe wasn't one of the better resorts when we were escorted to the boat which was to take us to The Sofitel resort. There were quite a few other boats taking people to various resorts, some of them large some small but all in good shape. However, the Sofitel boat was very run down and shabby as were the rest of their "fleet".
The bungalow we were given was in a good location, however the housekeeping left a lot to be desired. The shower in the bathroom needed a good clean as did the glass viewing panel in the floor. Our bed pillows smelled terribly and despite us requesting new pillows these were not forthcoming. We ended up wrapping the pillows in the terry toweling robes which were provided in the room. At no point in time did we detect the smell of any kind of cleaning fluid so not sure exactly what they cleaned the bathrooms with.
The ice making machine on our block of bungalows was not working and we reported this several times but alas nobody fixed it. So we had to trek to the bungalow block adjacent to ours to get our ice.
One morning (as usual) we walked down to the restaurant for breakfast which was served buffet style. Usually the restaurant was nice and quiet so we were quite surprised that morning to find the inside and outside full of families of local people and the atmosphere was very noisy. There were still some tables obviously saved for the paying guests so we sat down at one of those. But when we went inside the restaurant to get our food we found many of the food containers almost empty and the staff rushing around trying to keep the food stocked up. They did eventually catch up as the local families began vacating the restaurant and moving on to the swimming pool. The local children monopolized the pool and we even saw a couple of the younger ones standing on the edge peeing into the pool. We decided not to use the pool that day.
So we decided to sit on the beach instead and "horrors" there was a hug Blue inflatable water slide right on the beach. I won't go into further detail but needless to say our initial vision of beautiful Bora Bora was shattered at that point and we spent the rest of the day at our bungalow.
We later learned that management had opened the resort to underprivileged children and their families which of course was very generous of them. However management failed to tell the paying guests prior to this event and also it wasted one of our six precious (and expensive) days at this resort.
To summarize: The resort was very run down. The resort's boats were very run down. The food was average to say the least. The rooms needed to be thoroughly cleaned. The water around the over the water bungalows was murky, which we believe was due to boats constantly going in and out thus stirring up the bottom.
We would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Go to a different resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 2Bailey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest

I acknowledge all your comments which are always very useful and important for us. We need to have all feed back from everyone.
I thank you for your stay with us, i understand we did not succeed as we may not be what you expected for your hollidays
It's always very desapointing for all of us, as well, but your comment will help us to always find the best way to give the best of ourselves and to try to please everyone coming in our property, this is our goal and our commitment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just returned from 3 nights here celebrating our honeymoon and the resort is quite run down and needing some TLC! There are several parts of the deck where hand rails are missing because they rotted away and the wood fell apart. I would not suggest leaning against any part of the rail throughout the resort unless you want to fall into the water, there is no way it could support the weight of a person without crumbling. There is a spot of the floor near the bar that is very spongy and you could step through it if you tried too. The chairs in the bar area are from the original hotel launch in the 1970's, along with much of the décor. The resort is in major need of TLC and repair, if you are expecting a resort that feels and seems clean/fresh, this is not the place.

When we arrived at 4pm, our luxury overwater bungalow wasn't ready, so they placed us in another luxury overwater bungalow to relax/change clothes if we wanted, however this room had no electricity so no way to cool off or relax. We finally moved to our actual bungalow and the A/C didn't work for 3 days and the bathroom had a horrible smell, finally after 2 days of requesting repair and cleaning/inspection, maintenance made the request to reception that we be move to another bungalow, which was much better (AC worked, bathroom didn't smell). Also, they have these fences around all of the bungalows, obviously for privacy, but you lose a lot of your view with them, not to mention they are rotting away and leaning everywhere.

There were other small things that were not handled very well, but nothing is perfect and we don't expect to be. You can't control a lot of things, but you can control your customer service and maintenance of a property, they were lacking here and with that being said I would suggest another resort.

Room Tip: We had bungalow #50, smelled horrible and AC didn't work. Moved to bungalow #62, smelled better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. Your comment are important and we take all your remarks very seriously.
"Maururu" for your honey moon trip with us and we wish you all the best in your future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parachute, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We came to the Sofitel for our honeymoon and it was truly magical!! I've read some reviews and I'm sorry but they're overwater bungalows so no they don't look brand new. My husband and I never noticed anything needing to be repaired while we were there but we were too infatuated by the amazing scenery and water to notice I guess. If we needed anything they were right there! I loved the pool but the ocean was amazing! We could jump off our balcony first thing in the morning and it was like warm bath water! We are divers and it was the best we've seen so far! The spotted eagle rays are majestic to watch under water! The coffee is still the best I've ever had and I can't wait to taste it again! We will always hold a special place in our heart for them because we conceived our baby boy here :) It was an amazing wedding gift and we will be bringing our son when he gets a little older! I will count the days until we get to come back and see you all!!! Mahalo!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiths2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Congratulations for celebrating your honey moon with us and all my team join me to thanks you for your great comment coming from true lovers!
we are happy to be part of your souvenirs in such important time of your life
welcoming honeymooners is always someting important for all of us. Now we are waiting for you with your baby !
I wish you all the best for your magnifique future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALBUQUERQUE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have read some reviews that were not so good for the Sofitel. I am writing to say none of the complaints I read were true. First, we had plenty of hot water. Second the linens were changed every other day. Third it is humid in the tropics, get over it. We loved our stay at the Sofitel. The breakfast buffet offered plenty of choices for even the pickiest eater. The service was perfect. The manager, Jean-Louis Deguara, was a hard working go getter. He cares about his staff and all of the guests. The special events during the week were very enjoyable. Our half over the water bungalow was perfect. We had lovely breezes, great views, and saw many types of sea life from lots of areas of the resort at the Sofitel. We were We will always remember our wonderful vacation. We were there from 6/3//2013 to 6/13/2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
"Maururu roa" for sharing your experience at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara beach Resort, all the team join me to thank you for your geat comments which enpower their sense of service, their spirit and the happiness to share with all of you their culture in this little paradise.....
We all hope we will have the chance to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I wouldn't consider myself to be a complainer. However, I would not recommend this hotel to friends or family. We paid for a Luxury Overwater Bungalow to celebrate our anniversary. This resort seems very run down and in need of a lot of repair. Our room had many things needing repaired (deck boards on the verge of breaking under our feet, railing on deck was about to fall off, mold covering the ladder leading into the water, light fixtures broken leaving our room very dark in the evening/night, a comment box mounted on the wall of our bungalow was bottomless...the woman who showed us to our room even suggested that we leave comments in the box...a box that had no top or bottom, just four pieces of wood mounted to a wall. Also, the air conditioning unit was loud inside the room and ran constantly. I had to sleep with ear plugs. The compressor was located just outside the sliding door on the deck right where the deck chairs sit. So this loud machine ran constantly on the deck and took away from the tranquil peaceful area where we would normally sit and enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inahaze75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
i read very carefully all your comment and i 'm really sorry we did not reach your level of expectation you are waiting for your luxury experience at Sofitel in Bora Bora at the Marara beach Resort.
You are unique and important for us, for our hotel and for our brand. So you can be sure that we are on a ongoing nenovation process at all time, we will continue to improve all our efforts in that direction for your satisfaction
Thank you for your stay with us at Bora Bora!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengarry, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at Sofitel marara beach resort, we were celebrating our 30 wedding anniversary and Wow Sofitel Bora Bora did not disappoint. Before we left I was worried because we were reading alot of not very good reviews, so on arriving it was just Wow, Wow our rooms were amazing, clean everything that you needed. Great access to the water from our deck. I agree with the review below us some people are just whingers, and you can never please them. We were so glad staying on the main island to explore it at ease, or as we did one day and hired bikes and rode around the island which was just another fantastic day, kayaking over to the private island was another memorable day. Over all one of the best holidays so don't listen to the negative reviews.

Room Tip: Any rooms at first disappointed not having bungalow further out over the water, ours was Third, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your great feed back. Our goal and our pleasure is to give you a manifique and memorable experience for your hollidays. Thank you for having choosing us for your stay at Bora Bora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.3 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
4.7 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Property: Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Address: BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort is located on the island of Bora Bora in the heart of the exceptional Matira Bay. The island of Bora Bora is encircled by a protective necklace of coral. Breathtaking lush mountains provide a dramatic backdrop for the luminous turquoise, lapis and aquamarine of the sheltered lagoon. There is something truly unique about Bora Bora, with its sugary sands, rugged mountains, vivid blues, lush greens and soothing lagoon waters that make it the most romantic destination in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach And Private Island Hotel Bora Bora
Sofitel Bora Motu Private Island
Accor Bora Motu Private Island
Bora Bora Sofitel
Sofitel Motu Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing