We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
74
24
20
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
24
20
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the airport stayed longer main bora bora french polynesia hot water dream come true etoile pension tupuna motu snorkel island fishes islet lagoon rain boat
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 130 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2014

Our family spent 4 days at Blue Heaven Island. Contrary to the predictable luxury of hotels costing three times as much, BHI felt to us like a private island with all the kindness and comfort of a family estate. Elie and Monique made us feel home everyday, meals were delicious, the coral gardens in front of the hotel spectacular. The bungalows were authentic, spacious and quiet, in a 10 acre property bordering the lagoon. Kayaks and snorkeling equipment were available to discover neighboring islands. Our children loved it as much as we did, starting with the kindness and attention of the owners, who even have a small music studio. Blue Heaven Island probably offers some of the best price/experience ratio of all Bora. We cannot wait to return, and are thankful to the generous and joyful owners for making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank FrRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

It was inbelivablle the moment we took a glance at our final destination. ..BORA BORA. ..my eyes started to sparkle, beauty on the right, beautiful on the left,georgous in the middle. ...where did we land ?it seems to be not real....are we still in Hollywood where THEY can make everything everywhere look so breath taking.....no no no...it's real we are in paradise...the island of Tahitti..finally.
A beautiful lady aproched me and put an amazing flowers necklace perfect sent and beauty around my neck..and said Hello and welcome....in english !
Okay...she introduce her self as Monique the owner of blueheavenisland our private island where we will stay and with a big smile showed us the way to the private boat taking us to our island ...let's the adventure begin. .The ride was really short,but we could already admire the beautiful surrounding. ..and POoooF...blueheanveisland...beautiful white beach ultra clean ,long chairs waiting for us on the beach front,kayak a gogo.snorkling equipment ...à dream.
The boat stopped on the"ponton",tied up,we jump on the deck with suitcases and plenty of smiles...the nice manager Elie took us to bungalow 3,perfect size king bed,mosquito net,armoire for clothes, nice cozy bathroom with hot shower, all in local tahitian look...great start:)
We had to rest a bit.few hours after we got called for dinner, prepared in cozy,practical,full equip kitchen, where we had a drink and made all fomel introduction. ...so Now. .we are in the family and this island is completely ours, this feeling of ownership, is much better than the stuffy,rules,regulations that the other over expensive hotel have...here we did feel at home right away. .the lagoon in front of us is stunning, the colors are amazing, the fishes,the corals. ..we were so far away from busy freeway and pollution :) the dinner was home style,excellent food,fresh,delicious.
Time to bed..tomorrow is the first day of paradise. .
Swimming hours in the lagoon,snorkeling, kayaking, floating. ...hours of fun in the water.
After a short rest,captain Elie took us to town VAHITAPEE,small but practical for all your needs.
Then back to the island ( 15 minutes on the boat) first evening under the stars,the quietness, the surrounding beauty..the moon..
Day two..BIGGER BOAT ,visiting,and going to dive and play with the black RAYS. ..and
the lemon shark....!!! Nice...:)
Lots of snorkeling, lots of fun. ..
Back on the island exausted, nice dinner,little music show from Élie. ..and straight to bed.
WELL well well, plenty of others adventures and fun happen on this great Blueheavenisland. ..we are so glad we came to this fantastic place,as Arnold would say....I'll BE BACK bringing other friend to discover the hidden trésor of Borabora. ...Blueheanveisland.com
It was the trip of my life. .
Thank you Monique, TODA Elie..
Not to forget the beautiful PO ,ETOILE. Poe ti.....thanks amazing sweet protector of the island... now. .it's your time to go visit. I LOVED BORA BORA

Stayed: November 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Frederic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2014

My husband, daughter (aged 25) and I stayed at Blue Heaven Island for five days in September (2014) and would have been content to stay on for weeks. So Run to Blue Heaven Island if your idea of paradise is being on a gorgeous motu (island) and living in an intimate, family style way with an ever changing number and type of people. Perhaps three to 11 other individuals you have never met, while you all snorkel and kayak at your leisure. In the evening you can sit out on a dock watching millions of stars at the edge of a turquoise lagoon.
If you are lucky, Elie and Monique will have a visit from To'mateo (spelling?) from the private island across the lagoon who will play his ukelele and sing love songs about bora bora for you.

The nightly rate is very reasonable, but remember that every thing else is "a la carte." So the three simple but abundant meals are all charged separately as is the wifi, and a trip to the airport to catch a ferry to the main island will cost extra. To pay these expenses, bring cash with you to the island and expect about $6000cf per person per day for food. When we were there they were not able to accept credit cards. For excursions, which they can arrange easily with wonderful local people who can provide any kind of adventure, you must also pay cash (in francs usually), as these fabulous people certainly do not have credit card machines! So get plenty of francs before you go and save yourself time during and at the end of the trip.

Blue Heaven Island is a pension run by the very vibrant Monique and Elie. They are an energetic and friendly couple who know everything about the islands and have many contacts there. They love to talk to all of the guests and to take pictures at every opportunity. They will often tease each other and it seems impossible not to become the best of friends after one or two days. Even if you speak something other than French or English, you can manage.

For activities off the island, Elie can find someone to take you out for the day - to fish, go swimming with rays or or maybe go to town for the day. But really, this place is for relaxing, snorkeling, finding shells, or laying on the beautiful beaches. This is Not a resort where you will be entertained as in other tourist spots. You will not be provided with a list of suggested activities. You don't need them. This is a place to come and find peacefulness, laughter, new friends, fun in the kitchen, company when you want it and solitude if you don't.

The bungalows are simple/lovely, clean and well maintained open air buildings. There is no air conditioning so check the temperatures for the time you will be visiting. We we're provided with and electric fan when we stayed in late September but never found the need to use it. The grounds are beautiful with lots of coconut trees. The beds are comfortable and come with mosquito nets. The showers have plenty of nice hot water. The meals are good, and dinner is always a festive and entertaining time. When we were there, many meals were prepared outdoors on the grill. The fish was always fresh because someone caught it that day or because a neighbor dropped some off. There were wonderful fruits, vegetables and bread. Visitors were welcome to share in the cooking during our week, which we loved. I do not know if that happens all the time, but our particular group came together in the kitchen and we all made something from pizza to salads to stir fry to scalloped potatoes. Participation is definitely not required but many guests helped out at meal time adding to the family atmosphere.

We reccmmend Blue Heaven Island with all our hearts and souls.
Lorraine, peter and erica

Room Tip: There are five bungalows on the island. All have a double bed. You may ask for, and pay for an additional single bed for a child if necessary but the bungalows are not meant for families, though they can accommodate three people who like each other.
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Doo531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2014

I spent 3 nights at Blue Heaven Island at the end of June with my husband and 8 year old daughter. We had such an amazing time! Elie and Monique are wonderful hosts and made our stay very special. It's such a beautiful place and we feel so lucky to have been able to stay there. The snorkeling is breathtaking, the water and views are beautiful, and they are fantastic cooks. My daughter loved playing with their two dogs and one of them even went kayaking with us!. Our friends who were staying accross the lagoon came over for the day and they prepared a fantastic picnic for us all. We had a great time time that day - lots of drinking and laughing! We were there to celebrate my 50th birthday and they surprised me with a chocolate cake. If we are ever lucky enough to get to go to Bora Bora again, we will definitely stay at Blue Heaven.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank travelmom800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful island or Mohu near the airport on the Northern fringe of the Bora Bora lagoon. Such peace and tranquility pervades this place that it takes you back to what it must have been like before the Europeans found it (except for all the modern conveniences). Your host is Elie and he is such a welcoming and wonderfully charismatic man who is most interesting and inspirational and does some beautiful cooking of local produce and the lovely Mahi Mahi fish: not to be missed!

Highly recommended to those who want a beautiful location and to be completely at one with nature.

Stayed: September 2014, traveled solo
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews