We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit if you are a foodie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa Mahana

La Villa Mahana
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $97 - $243
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The World Famous 7 table restaurant located in Paradise
Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Must visit if you are a foodie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Unbelievable dinner. I read all of the Trip Advisor reviews...good, bad, indifferent. First off, after reading all the "complaints" about too much food...get over your lack of self control selves. Secondly, who forced you to order a tasting menu. We just left this fabulous small gem and loved every minute. We each ordered an appetizer and a main. I had foie gras (tons) and my husband had seafood (again,tons) I had filet (saw it recommended many times) and Husband had lamb. Both were soooo happy, although enough to feed a small village. So after all the good and bad reviews I read....here is what I came away with. The portions are big, so only order the tasting menu if you are hungry or...be prepared to take a few bites and walk away. The other option is to order ale carte, which is what we did and were very happy.My suggestion is to share, share, share.
When I read about people complaining about too big of portions, I wanted to say....."Get a life, and portion control." Fab.service, great menu, nice shuttle service......Bora Bora at it's best,

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RoboColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Ia Orana :)

Thank you very much for that comment. Appreciate it !

Hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near furure

Wish you all the best

Damien :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    122
    71
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, incomparable setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were late because of some inconsiderate guests on our boat to the island, and I felt terrible, but they were SO nice about it! Everything was fabulous, and a little limoncello to round out the evening was a great way to end it!! Must get reservations!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizkWhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Ia Orana :)

Thank you for that comment. Appreciate it !

Wish all the best for 2014 and hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near future

Damien :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wow, just wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Being from NYC, we're generally hard to please.

This was not the case for Villa Mahana.

If you event think you may be in the French Polynesia, you should immediately attempt to book a reservation here.

Service was 'island Service' but definitely 'up-trained'. Food was perfect, my wife and I each has one of the two chef tastings.

Best wine list on the island, and the location is memorable. You are basically eating at the chef's home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank El M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Ia Orana :)

Thank you for that comment. Appreciate it !

Wish all the best for 2014 and hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near future

Damien :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A pearl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very unique restaurant in the town. The food and service were outstanding. Very Very expensive but worth the price. This is something you do once in a lifetime.Highly recommend.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Ia Orana :)

Thank you for that comment. Appreciate it !

Wish all the best for 2014 and hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near future

Damien :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I'd read about La Villa Mahana online, so I knew it would be a delicious meal, but I didn't know how highly regarded it was until we got there. Everyone we spoke to was like, "Wow, how'd you get a table there!?" and "You guys are so lucky!" We did the 5-course meal with wine pairings. The most expensive meal we've ever had, but it was very delicious. We had caviar and shrimp salad, foie gras, lobster risotto, filet with parmesan gnocchi and a chocolate cake. The atmosphere was very charming - a villa tucked away, with the dining all on the patio (lots of tropical plants, soft lighting, charming music). There are only 8 tables, so make reservations well in advance. We met and thanked the chef afterwards - he was very humble and appreciative.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank haylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Ia Orana :)

Thank you for that comment. Appreciate it !

Wish all the best for 2014 and hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near future

Damien :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Mahana also viewed

 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to La Villa Mahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing