We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful meal in a perfect setting”
Review of La Villa Mahana

La Villa Mahana
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $101 - $253
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The World Famous 7 table restaurant located in Paradise
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in a perfect setting”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had tried to get reservations at La villa Mahana before leaving for Bora Bora and were disappointed to learn they were booked for weeks beyond our visit. We happened to mention this to the concierge at our hotel when we checked in and a few days later she let us know they had an open table for that evening if we were interested. We were in luck and it couldn't have happened on a better day- our anniversary. The restaurant has an italian feel to it, we sat outside in the courtyard and could look into the kitchen to watch the chefs at work.

We started with the ahi tuna salad; hands down one of the best pieces of ahi we've eaten. The greens and olive oil dressing were also delicious. The wine list is good, more options in the high range than average. My spouse had the leg of lamb and I had the Mahi Mahi with vanilla sauce. Both were simply amazing, the combination of banana and vanilla is a perfect compliment to the Mahi. The lamb was tender and brimming with bold spices and flavor. After that, they brought a special dessert for our anniversary, an unexpected treat, merci.

What could be better than a bottle of french wine, listening to Andre Bocelli outside in a beautiful setting while eating a wonderful meal? It was an evening we will cherish.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveltoujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Ia Orana :)

Thank you that lovely comment and hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near future.

Best regards

Damien :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    123
    72
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exceptional restaurant in Bora Bora”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We felt lucky to have dinner at the Villa Mahana in June, had booked several months ahead.

The restaurant is indeed pretty small, with all the tables outside (except for a small room at the top of the stairs). I feared I would be disappointed but it was our best meal in French Polynesia . We opted for the exotic menu with the wine pairing and everything was perfect. What we had in our plates could compare to the very best restaurants in Paris and we could feel that the other guests were as impressed as we were. My husband could see the chef working in his small kitchen from his seat and it’s true that he’s working alone, that’s very impressive even though the number of guests is limited. The service was very nice and the chef came to greet us at the end of the dinner.

We felt very privileged being able to enjoy the Villa Mahana, it’s definitely a must do in Polynesia .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nokinsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for that comment .

Hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near future:)

Best regards

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than NYC restaurants”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Living in NYC, it is hard to go on vacation and always find great meals as we have some o the best restaurants at our finger tips. This was not the case at Villa Mahana! The Chef was absolutely amazing putting on a small show from his picture window kitchen as we sat, drank and ate, and watched him in amazement. You must make a reservation long before you go to Bora Bora, but it is worth it! From the minute you sit down to the time you try and stand (you are full in the best of ways!) the meal was an experience. My husband and I went on our honeymoon and this was going to be our big night out. Bora Bora is very casual, but this is the night to dress up and enjoy yourselves, enjoy being a couple in this most romantic of places. The minute we sat, the two women who serve were attentive and gracious, helping us navigate our way through the menu (I have some food allergies). We were so pleasantly excited by all I could eat and what could be altered if necessary to accommodate me. If you go no where else while in Bora Bora, this is the place to go! Hands down our favorite meal while on our honeymoon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alissyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Madame

Thank you very much for that pleasant note .

Wish you and your husband all the best for the future

Take care

Damien:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Not only the best restaurant on the island but quite possibly one of the best restaurants I've been too. The food, staff, and setting are one of a kind. Highly recommend going! Get your reservations in early though, they book up 5-6 months in advance

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Ia Orana:)

Thank you very much for that coment.

Hope to see you back back with us in Paradise in a near futur

Best Regards

Damien :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best in the world”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I came here for my honeymoon nearly 3 years ago. I still remember and long to return to Villa Mahana. The chef's philosophy of "cuisine avec amour" really puts this place over the top. I've been to a few 3 stared Michelin restaurants, but I can honestly say this was better. I could taste every ingredient and the freshness was remarkable. It was a fine dining experience that is also nurturing. Awesome. Plus, the quaint setting and small number of tables sealed the deal for me. My only regret is only having gone here once while in Bora Bora.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LRG_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Ia Orana:)

Thank you for that note. You 've made my day:)

Take care

Damien:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Mahana also viewed

 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to La Villa Mahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing