We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, very impressive fine dining”
Review of La Villa Mahana

La Villa Mahana
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $106 - $264
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The World Famous 7 table restaurant located in Paradise
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, very impressive fine dining”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

As foodies my husband and I had high expectations and the food did not disappoint. Go with an empty tummy. Free pick up and drop off from our hotel boat harbour was great and took any hassle out of the night. We ordered the french tasting menu with matched wines. Every course was amazing flavours, really enjoyed them. 3 types of breads to begin with and great macaroons to finish- see photo. We were too full when the macaroons came out after dinner so we took them home and ate the next day. They also gave us some of the leftover bread to take for breakfast the next day.

My only disappointment of the night is that the moment you have finished one course they brought out the next. Even the staff were remarking to us that this always happens and they are sorry. Couldn't even finish the matched wine before i received the next. We ended up just taking a long time to eat each course, keeping a few bites on the plate so they wouldn't take the plate and bring the next course yet. At the end we were considering ordering a coffee or tea but the bill was brought out before we had a chance.

The atmosphere is very romantic i really liked the swing in the middle of the dining area (see photo). The servers were very friendly and made jokes. In total our bill was around 55,000XPF.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobnNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Owner at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Ia Orana

Your comment is already take in consideration

Thank you very much and hope to see you back soon with us in Paradise :)

Best regards

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    125
    73
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Honeymoon Bliss”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

While spending our honeymoon in Bora Bora, my husband brought me to Villa Mahana. I had no idea what to expect. Damien is a fantastic chef and his time management skills are beyond amazing as there are 7 tables and he is the only chef. Most order the 5 course meal, which makes this task even more challenging. The food was great and we left full :) Great way to end a memorable trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Owner at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Ia Orana

Thank you very much and hope to see you back soon with us in Paradise :)

Best regards

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and service, poor food quality”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our entree was almost inedible. I noticed other diners were not finishing theirs either. The meal cost $394 for two people so it was not worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Madam or Sir ,


I have been reading with attention your comment, and I deeply regret that your experience was that diapointing.
Out of a concern for improvement, I ensure you that your whole comment will be taken into consideration.
However, most of the points you highlighted could have been improved on the moment, giving us the opportunity to correct something.

Honestly, this would have been a win-win ending where you would have enjoyed your dinner rather than an anonymous opinion that do to my team and me a lot of unnecessary harm.

Yours faithfully,

Damien Rinaldi-Dovio, Chef / owner of La Villa Mahana Bora Bora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful dinner in the private room.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed a delicious prix fixe Polynesian/French dinner with champagne and wine. The owner/chef Damien Rinaldi is great.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a romantic dinner on the main island of Bora Bora

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank monasobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Ia Orana

Thank you very much and hope to see you back soon with us in Paradise :)

Best regards

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great French Cuisine”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Chef Damian fixes your personal meal and serves up dishes that really stimulate your taste buds. His plates are large so bring a good appetite.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank john2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Ia Orana:)

Thank you very much for that note

Hope to see you back soon with us in Paradise ! :)

Take care

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Mahana also viewed

 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
 

Been to La Villa Mahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing