We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No question why Damien is #1”
Review of La Villa Mahana

La Villa Mahana
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $101 - $252
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The World Famous 7 table restaurant located in Paradise
Level Contributor
275 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“No question why Damien is #1”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We just got back from our honeymoon.

We were lucky enough to have our amazing concierge get us a table at La Villa Mahana.

Damien is a master in his tiny kitchen in his spectacular home.

I hope he is not offended, but he is the "Paula Dean of French food".

Rich, creamy and delicious dishes.

Indescribable desserts.

Starved ourselves before we went and well worth every penny!

Hopefully will be blessed enough to get a return experience one day.

By far the best meal in all of French Polynesia for us!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pras499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    125
    72
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great food. We got the best table thanks to Pacific for Less. Run by the chef and his wife is a must go place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ginnyluc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food....overpriced though”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

thought the food was very good. They made a special change for me since I don't care for seafood. made me some yummy chicken but in the end still felt it was a bit overpriced. We were on our honeymoon though and we enjoyed the change of atmosphere. Felt like it was cozy and romantic with just 6 tables. Would have appreciated if the chef had come and introduced himself to us since there were such few tables. When you charge approx $300 for 2 people you would think that you could at least come and shake our hand.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank townie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, quaint, yet sophisticated”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I'm not sure if those who placed poor reviews were just having a bad day, were overly (unrealistcally) biased or picky. My husband and I went to Bora Bora for our 8 year anniversary. We heard nothing but fabulous things about this restaurant and wanted to experience it for ourselves. It did not disappoint! This husband and wife run establishment was encased in quaint, sophisticated ambiance that felt like a tucked away local gem. The food was spectacular, from the crispy skin fois gras to the lobster risotto to the decadent lava chocolate cake for dessert. The chef and his wife even took time to take pictures with us at the end of the meal. You will not be disappointed! We will remember this experience for a lifetime!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea_Hoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We saved the best for last. We went to Villa Mahana on our last night in Bora Bora. My husband and I ordered the exotic menu with the wine pairing. It was a 4 course meal that left us in food heaven. The food portion is great. The service is just awesome. Chef Damien and his wife were just great. My husband has shellfish allergies and they were on top of it. I made reservations about three months prior and made that note. The moment we sat down the chef's wife followed up on my husband's allergies. They also sent us home with traditional coconut bread that we ate before our flight the next day. This is a must do in Bora Bora.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cmoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa Mahana also viewed

 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
 

Been to La Villa Mahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing