We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full day tour, 4x4 plus Motu picnic and snorkelling” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maohi Nui

Maohi Nui
Ranked #5 of 52 Tours in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Bora Bora, we provide lagoon tours (with or without lunch) and jeep safari excursions, as well as polynesian weddings and shows.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Full day tour, 4x4 plus Motu picnic and snorkelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had actually considered not going on this tour as it was a rainy morning but we are SO glad we went! Patrick himself took us up the mountain in his LandRover. We thought the roads would be washed out with all the rain, but there really were no roads! It was quite the Polynesian roller coaster ride! Not for the faint of heart but SO much fun. Patrick was a wonderful guide sharing lots of information about plant life and island life in general. We had some rain but never when we stopped to take photos so that worked out well. He took us to 3 different lookout points. Do not miss the 4x4 part, it was one of the most memorable moments of our trip. Patrick even said he would do a human sacrifice so it would not rain the next day and it didn't rain! (we had a lot of rain). Then he passed us off to Ed and an outrigger canoe for the rest of the day. Ed played the ukulele and sang on our way to a Motu where they were barBQing lobster and tuna for lunch plus they had an Imu, a traditional Tahitian oven in the ground where they made pig, breadfruit, banana pudding etc. Of the 3 motu picnics we did on our trip, this was the only one who showed us an imu. They made a tray out of woven leaves with a leaf on top and that was your plate. You piled on your food and ate with your fingers. We had champagne and mango mimosas and beer and water, etc.. to drink. All too soon it was time to go and we made a coral garden snorkel stop and a stop to feed both the stingrays and the sharks. It was too rough to go outside the reef but the sharks must have felt so too since they were in the lagoon. (Usually ere are 3 stops) Then it was back to the ship. This was a great day and worth every penny, even if the weather was not cooperating! Thanks to Patrick and Ed and the rest of the Maohi Nui team for a great day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PsyFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAOHI_NUI, RESERVATION at Maohi Nui, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Ia orana, thank you for your nice and complete post with all details, we appreciate because people can have a good and real description of our excursion. I read it for Ed and Patrick, they appreciate. We hope to see you next time. Mauruuru Maeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    8
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Patricks Tours - snorkel and 4x4 safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have just returned from Tahiti, and during my stay there, I used Patricks Tours on 3 occasions. Two snorkel tours and one 4x4 safari.
On each occasion, we were dealt with in a professional, safe, secure and reliable manner, and every one just loved the tours.
Compared to many other tour / boat operators on the dock, Patricks Tours ruled supreme. (The other snorkel boats were constantly breaking down, leaving many passenger frustrated and concerned).
Patricks Tours DO need to be booked ahead of time - it will be impossible to get on his tours otherwise. Well worth the time to do some research ahead of your trip, and then relax and look forwward to some incredible adventures with Patrick Tairua.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank poppylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAOHI_NUI, RESERVATION at Maohi Nui, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Ia orana. Thank you for the post. Patrick enjoy it and appreciate that you enjoy the 3 times with us!!!! Maybe we will see you for 4th time???? Mauruuru roa Maohi Nui's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Morning snorkel tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Although I am not an experienced snorkeler, I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. I felt confident with our guide. We snorkelled with the rays and the sharks inside the atoll and then snorkelled in the coral gardens to see more fish. The whole experience was quite amazing. Our guide was in the water with us - he towed me back to our boat because I had swum a bit far away. The outrigger motor boat is covered to protect from sun and rain. Our guide sang local songs and pointed out sights. Recommended!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Francestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAOHI_NUI, RESERVATION at Maohi Nui, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Ia orana, thank you for your review. We always try to do our best for our guest. Mauruuru from all our team Maeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top notch tour with Rapa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent two days with Rapa in September. Day one was a 4x4 excursion around the island. Rapa picked us up by boat and played guitar and sang most of the way to the dock. Best singer I have ever heard. Once in the jeep we made several stops along the way sampling coconut and bananas growing wild, all the while listening to the history and culture of the island. The views from the mountain were simply spectacular. We talked history, music, and tennis and by the end of the day, Rapa was a personal friend of ours. Day two was a boat tour with a shark feeding and snorkeling with the mantas. Rapa arrived with homegrown grapefruit and mangos the likes of which I have never tasted. It was a magical two days filled with stories, friendship and even a free polynesian dance lesson. Thanks Rapa and we will see you next time for sure.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAOHI_NUI, RESERVATION at Maohi Nui, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Ia orana from Bora-Bora, theank you for your review, Rapa appreciate your post. We hope to see you next time. Mauruuru Maeva & Maohi Nui's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great Day in Bora Bora with Patrick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked the Lagoon Tour and Snorkel with MN several months in advance via email. Miriam in the office was very easy to deal with. She took emails from 4 separate couples who were trying to arrange a shared tour from an online message board and patiently followed up until we had the tour set exactly when and how we all wanted it. Most of us were arriving on the Paul Gauguin for a 2 day stay, one couple was staying at the BB IC Thallasso.

The day of the tour, The couple staying on BB forgot to take the water shuttle to the main island but Miriam was there to meet us at the dock, and watch our gear while we shopped the local craft markets and waited for Patrick to take the boat out to pick those folks up (he could have easily said "you are out of luck" to them, but did not do that!). We were able to pay by cash or CC at the dock before the tour. We started a bit later than planned, but had more than the time allotted to enjoy our tour!

We started by taking an unplanned stop to see a whale mother and calf frolicking, which was a thrill. I'm pleased to report that all of the tour boat operators with MN stayed at the proper distance from the whales, while assisting us to spot them. The first official stop was to see the sharks. This was amazing, not only for seeing the animals, but also because Patrick and the other fellows who work for him are able to "free dive". Seeing these men practicing the traditional cultural practice of free diving 20-30 feet down and remaining underwater for 2-3 minutes while holding their breathe was a cultural thrill in addition to the natural ones! They obliged us by taking photos of us snorkeling far above them.
The second stop was a shallow reef where rays come to feed and are close to the surface. You can stand in the water while they swim all around you.
Between stops, we traveled in Patrick's custom made outrigger power boat which is beautifully decorated. Patrick regaled us with island tales and played the ukulele for for us, while we enjoyed cold water or Hineo's and fresh fruit. Our last stop was a coral garden with loads of coral and colorful fish. We returned by circling the entire island enjoying refreshments, laughs, memories and stretching out on the padded bow of the boat to warm up.

This tour was an incredible opportunity to enjoy the all the wildlife and culture and scenery offered on BB from the water. I highly recommend Maohi Nui. They are easy to work with when making plans from afar and provide and excellent tour once you get to FP!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank familygoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAOHI_NUI, Reservation at Maohi Nui, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Ia orana, I remember this tour, I hope this Myriam is me Maeva!!!!! It's ok, thank you very much for this message, we all appreciate. We hope that you have nice time for Christmas and wishes you and your family the best for 2013. Maybe I will have pleasure to deal with you again for a 2nd time on Bora-Bora with us. Mauruuru Maeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maohi Nui also viewed

 

Been to Maohi Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing