We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was our second visit to this cafe”
Review of Wildflower Cafe

Wildflower Cafe
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This was our second visit to this cafe”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate here two years ago and really enjoyed it. So when we were in Talkeetna this time, we wanted to go back. Thankfully, the food was still excellent and the staff super-friendly

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandeeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    230
    76
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“First class food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

One would not expect to find such outstanding food in such a small town. We had halibut, and it was as good as it was in Homer. We sat outside. It is a fascinating town. It would be fun to stay here for a few daysl

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kapcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Meal and Good Draft Beer Selection”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stopped here for a bit nicer dinner and enjoyed some good food along with an impressive draft beer selection from Alaska breweries.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gsbstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“what a treat!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel recommended dinner here and it was the perfect choice! a local hangout, we had outstanding salmon, drank the local beer and had the chance to visit with and talk to the locals! We could even eat outside!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank reindeer367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“True Five Star gourmet food in a casual setting”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This place is popular. We came just as they opened at 5:30 for dinner service and selected a table on the deck under a large umbrella. All the tables were filled within 15 minutes.

The service was friendly and attentive and the food was divine!
Their Coconut Shrimp appetizer was perfect with a mild curry dip.
The shrimp/scallop bisque was delicious. This rich and creamy soup was the perfect combination of sweet and smoky bacon flavor with bursts of seafood and subtle seasoning.
I fearfully ordered the slow-baked, stuffed halibut while crossing my fingers that it wouldn't be overdone. It arrived perfectly cooked; fresh, moist and incredibly flavorful. The stuffing complemented it perfectly and the glazed crabmeat garnish was a unique and wonderful touch. My husband was also impressed with his pork chop with caramelized onion.
Our vegetables were al dente, with just the right amount of crisp.

When the heavens opened and the rain poured down, other diners quickly went inside or crowded their table under an overhang. We stayed under our large umbrella and finished the best purchased dinner we've had in years! Service slacked off a bit but our server laughingly inquired from under the porch a few times and I'm sure he would have dashed through the rain if we'd asked.

With an appetizer, two entree's and a $44.00 bottle of wine, our total was $120.00 plus tip.

We liked it so well we returned the next morning for a gourmet breakfast at $10-$12 a plate.

Definitely a dining experience you don't want to miss.

Oh! And if you need someone else's recommendation too, George Bush Sr. asked the owner to cook for him when he went to the White House. I believe he was head White House chef for three years.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SharonInAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wildflower Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing